DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application is the national stage entry of PCT/US2022/077022 filed 26 September 2022. Acknowledgement is made of the Applicant’s claim of domestic priority to provisional US application 63/261,599.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-17 and 28-30 are pending.
Claims 1-4, 10-17, and 28 are rejected.
Claims 5-9 and 29-30 are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 10-17, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US 2018/0071024) in view of Cunha et al. (Chem. Mater. 2013, 25, 2767−2776).
Harris teaches a composition that can comprise a plurality of photoreactive particles and a skin lightening agent wherein the particles have a concentration of 109-1013 particles per mL [0036]. The particles can be nanoparticles with a diameter in the range of from 10-900 nm [0056]. The agent (skin lightening agent) can be included in a therapeutically effective amount which can include the range of from 0.05-25% by weight or volume [0057]. Regarding the skin lightening agent, the agent can comprise monobenzone [0058]. The composition can also comprise a cosmetically acceptable carrier that can consist of surfactants such as lipids [0062]. Moreover, the nanoparticle can comprise a liposome and can encapsulate a material [0063]. In one embodiment, the nanoparticle can comprise solid metal particles [0026]. Moreover, the particles can be stabilized, thus implying a stabilizing agent [0027]. Harris teaches performing targeted enhancement of permeability of the nanoparticles and topically applying said nanoparticles in order to penetrate the skin surface [0065, 0082]. That being said, the composition can alternatively be administered by injection or orally [0112]. The particles are used to treat skin tissue and, in some embodiments, for the prevention and treatment of melanoma [0050].
Harris does not teach all the components in one formulation. Harris does not teach wherein the carrier is UiO-66.
Cunha teaches porous metal-organic frameworks (MOFs) for use in biomedicine (pg 2767, ¶1). In relation to caffeine as the active agent, it is taught that due to poor skin penetration the active is usually employed in emulsions, hydrogels, or liposomes (pg 2768, ¶2). Cunha has discovered that UiO-66, a MOF, are promising carriers for topical administration of caffeine (an active with poor skin permeation) with both spectacular cosmetic payloads and progressive releases (pg 2775, ¶2).
It must be remembered that “[w]hen a patent simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” KSR v. Teleflex, 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1740 (2007) (quoting Sakraida v. A.G. Pro, 425 U.S. 273, 282 (1976)). “[W]hen the question is whether a patent claiming the combination of elements of prior art is obvious,” the relevant question is “whether the improvement is more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions.” (Id.). Addressing the issue of obviousness, the Supreme Court noted that the analysis under 35 USC 103 “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSR at 1741. The Court emphasized that “[a] person of ordinary skill is… a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 1742. Consistent with this reasoning, it would have been obvious to have selected various combinations of active agents, nanoparticles, stabilizing agents, and carrier agents from within Harris, to arrive at compositions “yielding no more than one would expect from such an arrangement.” The resulting composition would comprise a nanoparticle with active embedded within wherein the active can be monobenzone. The nanoparticle can comprise lipids or liposomes as the carrier and can also comprise a metal structure. The concentration of the active overlaps with the claimed amount, as required in instant claims 2 and 4. Regarding the diameter, Harris teaches a diameter that overlaps with that of the claimed invention but does not teach it to be a hydrodynamic diameter. In lieu of evidence to the contrary, the diameter taught in Harris is presumed to be accurate both in water and out of water, thus addressing instant claim 3. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144.05 (I).
Since Harris teaches the particles can comprise metal, it would have been obvious to look to Cunha, which teaches a method for providing a nanoparticle with improved skim permeability wherein the particle comprises UiO-66 as the carrier. Generally, it is prima facie obvious to select a known material for incorporation into a composition, based on its recognized suitability for its intended use (see MPEP § 2144.07), thus addressing instant claims 10-15. The composition of Harris can be administered topically or by injection (systemically), for the treatment of melanoma, thus addressing instant claims 16-17.
Since Harris teaches the components of the nanoparticle, it would have been obvious to combine them together (the lipid carrier, the liposome carrier, the active monobenzone) to form a nanoparticle as required in claim 28.
Claims 1-4, 10-17, and 28 are accordingly obvious in view of the prior art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9, which require the monobenzone be modified at the benzyl ring para position appears to be free of the art. The prior art does not teach these modified monobenzone derivatives in a nanoparticle carrier. Regarding claims 29-30, the art does not teach forming the nanoparticule monobenzone in a free-dry process followed by an extrusion process.
Conclusion
/ANDREW S ROSENTHAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613