Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 10/05/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-12,14, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/05/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: It is suggested to recite “MS” as “mass spectroscopy (MS)” to establish the acronym. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trojanowicz et al. (TROJANOWICZ et al., "Proteomic approach 1-15 reveals novel targets for retinoic acid-mediated therapy of thyroid carcinoma", MOLECULAR AND CELLULAR ENDOCRINOLOGY, ELSEVIER IRELAND LTD, IE, vol. 325, no. 1-2, August 30, 2010, pages 110-117; cited in the IDS filed 06/10/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Trojanowicz teaches a composition comprising (i) cesium iodide, (ii) ethylamine and/or formic acid, and (iii) methanol and/or water (page 112, left column, first paragraph, teaches “cesium iodide (Sigma) dissolved in a mixture of water/methanol/formic acid”).
Regarding claim 9, Trojanowicz further teaches wherein said composition is a universal calibration solution for positive mode and for negative mode MS (interpreted as an intended use, see MPEP 2114; section 2.6, section paragraph teaches the cesium iodide, water/methanol/formic acid is used for mass calibration of a mass spectrometer; the composition of Trojanowicz is identical to the presently claimed composition. Trojanowicz discloses the claimed composition and therefore, would have the ability to perform the use recited in the claim; See MPEP 2112.01 (I)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowicz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Loukou et al. (Loukou et al., “Determination of biogenic amines as dansyl derivatives in alcoholic beverages by high-performance liquid chromatography with fluorimetric detection and characterization of the dansylated amines by liquid chromatography–atmospheric pressure chemical ionization mass spectrometry”, Journal of Chromatography A, 996 (2003) 103–113).
Regarding claim 2, Trojanowicz further teaches the composition of claim 1, comprising (i) cesium iodide, and (iii) methanol and/or water (page 112, left column, first paragraph, teaches “cesium iodide (Sigma) dissolved in a mixture of water/methanol/formic acid”).
While Trojanowicz teaches mass spectrometric analysis and calibration with a mixture (section 2.6), Trojanowicz fails to teach the composition of claim 1, comprising: (ii) ethylamine.
Loukou teaches a sensitive chromatographic method for determination of amines involving addition of an internal standard (abstract). Loukou teaches stock standard solutions of each amines and of an internal standard were prepared in methanol water (1:1) (page 105, right column, first full paragraph). Loukou teaches standard solutions including mixtures of amines at different concentrations, including ethylamine (section 2.4.1), wherein an appropriate amount of amine solutions were added and bringing to volume with water (section 2.4.1). Loukou teaches the standard mixtures were used for construction of calibration curves and for calibration (section 2.4.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Trojanowicz to incorporate Loukou’s teachings of determination of amines and using standard mixtures including ethylamine (page 105, right column, first full paragraph ; section 2.4.1) to provide: the composition of claim 1, comprising: (ii) ethylamine. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving calibration of a mass spectrometer for desired analytes, such as including ethylamine.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the composition comprising (i) cesium iodide, (ii) ethylamine, (iii) methanol and/or water) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. calibration of a mass spectrometry system), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. adding ethylamine to the composition would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of enabling further calibration of a mass spectrometry system). See MPEP 2143(A).
Regarding claim 5, Trojanowicz further teaches wherein said composition comprises cesium iodide, formic acid, methanol, and water (page 112, left column, first paragraph, teaches “cesium iodide (Sigma) dissolved in a mixture of water/methanol/formic acid”).
While Trojanowicz teaches mass spectrometric analysis and calibration with a mixture (section 2.6), Trojanowicz fails to teach said composition comprises ethylamine.
Loukou teaches a sensitive chromatographic method for determination of amines involving addition of an internal standard (abstract). Loukou teaches stock standard solutions of each amines and of an internal standard were prepared in methanol water (1:1) (page 105, right column, first full paragraph). Loukou teaches standard solutions including mixtures of amines at different concentrations, including ethylamine (section 2.4.1), wherein an appropriate amount of amine solutions were added and bringing to volume with water (section 2.4.1). Loukou teaches the standard mixtures were used for construction of calibration curves and for calibration (section 2.4.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Trojanowicz to incorporate Loukou’s teachings of determination of amines and using standard mixtures including ethylamine (page 105, right column, first full paragraph ; section 2.4.1) to provide: said composition comprises ethylamine. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving calibration of a mass spectrometer for desired analytes, such as including ethylamine.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the composition comprising cesium iodide, ethylamine, formic acid, methanol, and water) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. calibration of a mass spectrometry system), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. adding ethylamine to the composition would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of enabling further calibration of a mass spectrometry system). See MPEP 2143(A).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowicz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cooks et al. (US 20210225625 A1).
Regarding claim 3, modified Trojanowicz fails to explicitly teach: the composition of claim 1, wherein the concentration of (i) cesium iodide is of from 1 ug/mL to 100 mg/mL; (ii) ethylamine, if present, is of from 0.1 ug/mL to 1 mg/mL formic acid, if present, is of from 0.01% (v/v) to 10% (v/v) (iii) methanol, water , or a mixture thereof is to 100%.
Cooks teaches mass spectrometry (abstract). Cooks teaches chemical standards were used and diluted in 50:50: methanol/ water with 0.1% formic acid ([0088],[0100]). Cooks teaches peaks of known standards were used for calibration to confidently assign m/z values ([0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the concentrations of the components of the composition of Trojanowicz to incorporate Cook’s teachings of chemical standards for calibration ([0088],[0100],[0117]) to provide: the composition of claim 1, wherein the concentration of (i) cesium iodide is of from 1 ug/mL to 100 mg/mL; (ii) ethylamine, if present, is of from 0.1 ug/mL to 1 mg/mL formic acid, if present, is of from 0.01% (v/v) to 10% (v/v) (iii) methanol, water , or a mixture thereof is to 100% for the predictable result of calibrating a mass spectrometry system. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowicz as applied to claim 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, Trojanowicz fails to teach: wherein the concentration of cesium iodide is 500 ug/mL, wherein the concentration of ethylamine, if present, is 10 ug/mL, wherein the concentration of formic acid, if present, is 1% (v/v), and/or wherein the concentration of methanol is 25% (v/v) and wherein water is added to 100%.
Trojanowicz teaches a mixture of water/methanol/formic acid (49.5/49.5/1) (page 112, left column, first paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the concentrations of the components of the composition of Trojanowicz to provide: wherein the concentration of cesium iodide is 500 ug/mL, wherein the concentration of ethylamine, if present, is 10 ug/mL, wherein the concentration of formic acid, if present, is 1% (v/v), and/or wherein the concentration of methanol is 25% (v/v) and wherein water is added to 100% for the predictable result of calibrating a mass spectrometry system. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowicz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zeng et al. (US 20220404380 A1; effectively filed 06/17/2021).
Regarding claim 6, modified Trojanowicz fails to teach wherein said composition further comprises Cyclosporine A at a concentration of from 0.1 ug/mL to 1000 ug/mL.
Zeng teaches a detection kit for immunosuppressors using mass spectrometry (abstract), wherein immunosuppressors include cyclosporine A ([0010]). Zeng teaches an internal standard is added with an internal standard diluent containing water and methanol for sample pretreatment ([0008]). Zeng teaches the detection kit includes formic acid ([0040]-[0041]). Zeng teaches preparation of an internal standard solution including cyclosporine A at 1 ug/mL ([0069]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Trojanowicz to incorporate Zeng’s teachings of detection of immunosuppressors such as cyclosporine A with mass spectrometry using internal standards including cyclosporine A at 1 ug/mL (abstract; [0069]) to provide: said composition further comprises Cyclosporine A at a concentration of from 0.1 ug/mL to 1000 ug/mL. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving calibration of a mass spectrometer for desired analytes, such as including Cyclosporine A.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the composition comprising Cyclosporine A) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. calibration of a mass spectrometry system), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. adding Cyclosporine A to the composition would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of enabling further calibration of a mass spectrometry system). See MPEP 2143(A).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowicz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Suzuki et al. (Suzuki et al., “A new method for simultaneous quantification of fosphenytoin, phenytoin and its primary metabolite 5-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin in whole blood by ultra-performance liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry”, Legal Medicine 34 (2018) 64–69).
Regarding claim 7, Trojanowicz fails to teach wherein said composition further comprises 5-(4-Hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin at a concentration of from 0.1 ug/mL to 1000 ug/mL.
Suzuki teaches a method for quantification of 5-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin (HPPH) in whole blood using mass spectrometry (abstract). Suzuki teaches it is important to analyze analytes together, such as HPPH in bodily fluid to clarify the cause of intoxication and to provide for forensic evidence (page 64, last paragraph – page 65, first paragraph). Suzuki teaches preparation of calibration standards and validation samples (section 2.2) including HPPH at concentrations between 0.1 ug/mL and 50 ug/mL (section 2.2, second paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Trojanowicz to incorporate Suzuki’s teachings of important analytes in blood, including 5-(4-hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin (HPPH) using mass spectrometry (abstract) and preparing calibration standards including HPPH at concentrations between 0.1 and 50 ug/mL (section 2.2) to provide: said composition further comprises 5-(4-Hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin at a concentration of from 0.1 ug/mL to 1000 ug/mL. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving calibration of a mass spectrometer for desired analytes, such as including 5-(4-Hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin, therefore improving analysis of important analytes in whole blood as taught by Suzuki.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the composition comprising 5-(4-Hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. calibration of a mass spectrometry system), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. adding 5-(4-Hydroxyphenyl)-5-phenylhydantoin to the composition would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of enabling further calibration of a mass spectrometry system). See MPEP 2143(A).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojanowicz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US 20080145836 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Trojanowicz fails to teach wherein said composition further comprises ammonium formate at a concentration of from 0.1 mM to 1 M.
Zhang teaches compositions for performing assays of enzyme activity associated with lysosomal storage diseases (abstract). Zhang teaches assay mixtures includes an internal standard ([0005]). Zhang teaches quantifying is performed by mass spectrometry ([0021]). Zhang teaches the amount of product and internal standard present in assay samples are determined by mass spectrometry analysis ([0156]), wherein prior to analysis, samples are reconstituted in a mixture of acetonitrile, water, and formic acid ([0156]). Zhang teaches alternative organic solvent compositions used to reconstitute the samples can include 5 mmol/L ammonium formate in acetonitrile-water ([0156]). Zhang teaches the internal standard is used to calculate activity of each enzyme ([0156]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the composition of Trojanowicz to incorporate Zhang’s teachings of internal standards including organic solvents, such as 5 mmol/L ammonium formate (abstract; [0156]) to provide: wherein said composition further comprises ammonium formate at a concentration of from 0.1 mM to 1 M. Doing so would have a reasonable expectation of successfully improving reconstitution of samples and standards for mass spectrometry analysis.
Furthermore, the claimed limitations are obvious because all of the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements (i.e. the composition comprising ammonium formate at a concentration of from 0.1 mM to 1 M) by known methods with no change in their respective functions (i.e. calibration of a mass spectrometry system), and the combinations yielded nothing more than predictable results (i.e. adding composition further comprises ammonium formate at a concentration of from 0.1 mM to 1 M to the composition would yield nothing more than the obvious and predictable result of enabling further calibration of a mass spectrometry system for analysis of activity of desired analytes). See MPEP 2143(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hofmann et al. (US 20180246062 A1) teaches a method for determining an unknown carbohydrate using mass spectrometry (abstract). Hofmann teaches IM-MS experiments were performed, which was mass calibrated prior to measurements using a solution of cesium iodide (100 mg/mL) ([0104]).
Riviere et al. (US 20030180954 A1) teaches a method of determining a molecular descriptor of absorption for a candidate compound (abstract). Riviere teaches calibration compounds for GC/MC analysis ([0166]-[0167]; table III) including methanol N, N-, and ethylamine (page 15, table III).
Dang et al. (US 20120121515 A1) teaches methods of treating and evaluating subjects (abstract). Dang teaches a cancer characterized by spectroscopy ([0013]), such as mass spectroscopy ([0047]). Dang teaches methods can be used with any cancer, such as thyroid cancer ([0630]). Dang teaches analysis of reaction products and standards was performed on a mass spectroscopy system using 90:10 (ammonium formate, pH 3.6:methanol) ([0679]). Dang teaches analysis using 2mM of ammonium formate ([0726]).
Gelb et al. (US 20180209989 A1) teaches assays for enzymes using mass spectrometry (abstract). Gelb teaches internal standards are incubated in a suitable buffer, including 100 mM ammonium formate ([0199]).
Roussis et al. (US 20020086434 A1) teaches those having ordinary skill in the mass spectrometer art would know how to use the standard calibration mixtures to calibrate the mass scale in either the positive or negative ion mode; such calibration procedures are conventional and are typically part of the training courses on the use of the instruments ([0033]).
/HENRY H NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1758