DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-11) in the reply filed on 6/26/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 5, 6, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the sensor element" in claim 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Although claim 3 recites a sensor element, claim 4 does not depend upon claim 3.
Claims 5-8 inherit the limitations of claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flatow U.S. Patent No. 4,204,956.
Regarding claim 1, Flatow discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment, with a number of elongated UV radiators 26 (“each UV lamp 31 to be disposed axially through a cylindrical quartz jacket 32” [col. 3; lines 48-49]) arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 3), the UV radiators being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 1), and with a UV sensor 41 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation” [col. 4; lines 13-14]) wherein the two parallel rows are offset in a direction (T) transverse to a direction of water flow (W) so that, seen in direction W of the water flow, and that UV sensor is arranged between the two rows (in figure 1, the direction of water flow is from left to right, as indicated by the arrows in figure 3, and the transverse direction is the vertical in figure 1; thus it can be seen from figure 1 that one row of UV radiators 26 is spaced apart from another row of UV radiators by UV sensor(s) 41).
Regarding claim 2, Flatow discloses that the UV sensor 41 comprises a sensor housing which is tubular (“Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), and which is aligned parallel to the UV radiators within the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 3).
Regarding claim 3, Flatow discloses that a sensor element 41 is arranged inside the sensor housing 44 (“Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), the sensor element being sensitive to UV radiation (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation” [col. 4; lines 13-14]) in a line of sight parallel to a central axis of the sensor housing (“The sensors 42 may be mounted and operated in many different ways, and the illustration of FIG. 6 is only exemplary. The sensor 42 is preferably located adjacent the longitudinal center of the quartz jacket thereabout and by rotating the sensor, the output thereof will indicate the UV radiation level incident upon the sensing unit from all sides thereof, so as to identify proper operation and radiation of each of the ultra-violet lamps” [col. 4; lines 24-31]).
Regarding claim 9, Flatow discloses a water or wastewater treatment plant with a number of UV radiator modules wherein each UV lamp module is equipped with exactly one UV sensor. In the following annotated copy of figure 1 of Flatow, a first UV radiator module is highlighted, having a number of UV radiators arranged in parallel rows with exactly one UV sensor between:
In the following annotated copy of figure 1 of Flatow, a second UV radiator module is highlighted, having a different number of UV radiators arranged in parallel rows with exactly one UV sensor between:
Regarding claim 10, Flatow discloses a water or wastewater treatment plant with a number of UV radiator modules wherein each UV lamp module is equipped with exactly one UV sensor. In the following annotated copy of figure 1 of Flatow, a first UV radiator module is highlighted, having a number of UV radiators arranged in parallel rows with exactly one UV sensor between:
In the following annotated copy of figure 1 of Flatow, a second UV radiator module is highlighted, having a different number of UV radiators arranged in parallel rows with exactly one UV sensor between:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 6, and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flatow U.S. Patent No. 4,204,956 in view of Sasges WIPO Publication WO 01/17907 A1.
Regarding claim 4, Flatow discloses the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses a plurality of UV sensors 41 arranged inside a respective sensor housing 44 (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation. Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), there is no explicit disclosure that the sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section and that a mirror element is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element.
Sasges discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment (“It is known that the irradiation of water with ultraviolet light will disinfect the water by inactivation of microorganisms in the water” [page 1; lines 13-14]), with a number of elongated UV radiators 120 arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 2), the UV radiators being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 2), and with a UV sensor 130 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“Radiation source assembly 130 also comprises an optical radiation sensor 150” [page 6; lines 5-6]); wherein a sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section 152 (“Since radiation collector 152 is a solid body, it is preferred that it be constructed from a radiation transparent material (e.g., quartz and the like)” [page 6; lines 18-20]) and that a mirror element 153 is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element 154 (“Radiation collector 152 comprises a concave surface 153. Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the mirror element is rotationally symmetrical (“This radiation will impinge on reflective material 155 on concave surface 153 and be reflected toward sensor photo-diode 154. In this manner, optical radiation sensor 150 may be viewed as a "360 ° sensor" in that it can receive and detect radiation from a substantially 360° plane (2-dimensional) or conoid (3-dimensional) around the collector” [page 6; lines 24-29]); wherein the mirror element is mirror-plated on its surface (“Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the UV sensor 130 with its end section 152 is arranged at a position within the UV lamp module which is located centrally between two UV lamps 120 and 140 assigned to different rows and neighboring each other (as illustrated in figure 1); and in that wherein the UV sensor 130 is arranged with its end section 152 at a position within the module which is located along the discharge length of the adjacent UV radiators 120 and 140 (as illustrated in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow with the construction of the UV sensor of Sasges in order to utilize a radiation sensor which is capable of 360° detection (as discussed in Sasges: [col. 6; lines 21-30]) so as to decrease the number of UV sensors required to accurately analyze the ultraviolet radiation output by a plurality of UV radiators.
Regarding claim 5, Flatow discloses the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses a plurality of UV sensors 41 arranged inside a respective sensor housing 44 (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation. Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), there is no explicit disclosure that the sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section and that a mirror element is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element.
Sasges discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment (“It is known that the irradiation of water with ultraviolet light will disinfect the water by inactivation of microorganisms in the water” [page 1; lines 13-14]), with a number of elongated UV radiators 120 arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 2), the UV radiators being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 2), and with a UV sensor 130 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“Radiation source assembly 130 also comprises an optical radiation sensor 150” [page 6; lines 5-6]); wherein a sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section 152 (“Since radiation collector 152 is a solid body, it is preferred that it be constructed from a radiation transparent material (e.g., quartz and the like)” [page 6; lines 18-20]) and that a mirror element 153 is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element 154 (“Radiation collector 152 comprises a concave surface 153. Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the mirror element is rotationally symmetrical (“This radiation will impinge on reflective material 155 on concave surface 153 and be reflected toward sensor photo-diode 154. In this manner, optical radiation sensor 150 may be viewed as a "360 ° sensor" in that it can receive and detect radiation from a substantially 360° plane (2-dimensional) or conoid (3-dimensional) around the collector” [page 6; lines 24-29]); wherein the mirror element is mirror-plated on its surface (“Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the UV sensor 130 with its end section 152 is arranged at a position within the UV lamp module which is located centrally between two UV lamps 120 and 140 assigned to different rows and neighboring each other (as illustrated in figure 1); and in that wherein the UV sensor 130 is arranged with its end section 152 at a position within the module which is located along the discharge length of the adjacent UV radiators 120 and 140 (as illustrated in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow with the construction of the UV sensor of Sasges in order to utilize a radiation sensor which is capable of 360° detection (as discussed in Sasges: [col. 6; lines 21-30]) so as to decrease the number of UV sensors required to accurately analyze the ultraviolet radiation output by a plurality of UV radiators.
Regarding claim 6, Flatow discloses the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses a plurality of UV sensors 41 arranged inside a respective sensor housing 44 (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation. Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), there is no explicit disclosure that the sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section and that a mirror element is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element.
Sasges discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment (“It is known that the irradiation of water with ultraviolet light will disinfect the water by inactivation of microorganisms in the water” [page 1; lines 13-14]), with a number of elongated UV radiators 120 arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 2), the UV radiators being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 2), and with a UV sensor 130 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“Radiation source assembly 130 also comprises an optical radiation sensor 150” [page 6; lines 5-6]); wherein a sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section 152 (“Since radiation collector 152 is a solid body, it is preferred that it be constructed from a radiation transparent material (e.g., quartz and the like)” [page 6; lines 18-20]) and that a mirror element 153 is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element 154 (“Radiation collector 152 comprises a concave surface 153. Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the mirror element is rotationally symmetrical (“This radiation will impinge on reflective material 155 on concave surface 153 and be reflected toward sensor photo-diode 154. In this manner, optical radiation sensor 150 may be viewed as a "360 ° sensor" in that it can receive and detect radiation from a substantially 360° plane (2-dimensional) or conoid (3-dimensional) around the collector” [page 6; lines 24-29]); wherein the mirror element is mirror-plated on its surface (“Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the UV sensor 130 with its end section 152 is arranged at a position within the UV lamp module which is located centrally between two UV lamps 120 and 140 assigned to different rows and neighboring each other (as illustrated in figure 1); and in that wherein the UV sensor 130 is arranged with its end section 152 at a position within the module which is located along the discharge length of the adjacent UV radiators 120 and 140 (as illustrated in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow with the construction of the UV sensor of Sasges in order to utilize a radiation sensor which is capable of 360° detection (as discussed in Sasges: [col. 6; lines 21-30]) so as to decrease the number of UV sensors required to accurately analyze the ultraviolet radiation output by a plurality of UV radiators.
Regarding claim 7, Flatow discloses the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses a plurality of UV sensors 41 arranged inside a respective sensor housing 44 (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation. Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), there is no explicit disclosure that the sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section and that a mirror element is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element.
Sasges discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment (“It is known that the irradiation of water with ultraviolet light will disinfect the water by inactivation of microorganisms in the water” [page 1; lines 13-14]), with a number of elongated UV radiators 120 arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 2), the UV radiators being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 2), and with a UV sensor 130 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“Radiation source assembly 130 also comprises an optical radiation sensor 150” [page 6; lines 5-6]); wherein a sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section 152 (“Since radiation collector 152 is a solid body, it is preferred that it be constructed from a radiation transparent material (e.g., quartz and the like)” [page 6; lines 18-20]) and that a mirror element 153 is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element 154 (“Radiation collector 152 comprises a concave surface 153. Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the mirror element is rotationally symmetrical (“This radiation will impinge on reflective material 155 on concave surface 153 and be reflected toward sensor photo-diode 154. In this manner, optical radiation sensor 150 may be viewed as a "360 ° sensor" in that it can receive and detect radiation from a substantially 360° plane (2-dimensional) or conoid (3-dimensional) around the collector” [page 6; lines 24-29]); wherein the mirror element is mirror-plated on its surface (“Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the UV sensor 130 with its end section 152 is arranged at a position within the UV lamp module which is located centrally between two UV lamps 120 and 140 assigned to different rows and neighboring each other (as illustrated in figure 1); and in that wherein the UV sensor 130 is arranged with its end section 152 at a position within the module which is located along the discharge length of the adjacent UV radiators 120 and 140 (as illustrated in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow with the construction of the UV sensor of Sasges in order to utilize a radiation sensor which is capable of 360° detection (as discussed in Sasges: [col. 6; lines 21-30]) so as to decrease the number of UV sensors required to accurately analyze the ultraviolet radiation output by a plurality of UV radiators.
Claims 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flatow U.S. Patent No. 4,204,956 in view of Sasges WIPO Publication WO 01/17907 A1 in further view of Zayas U.S. PGPUB No. 2008/0182454.
Regarding claim 8, Flatow discloses the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses a plurality of UV sensors 41 arranged inside a respective sensor housing 44 (“Each individual sensing units 41 includes an ultra-violet radiation sensor 42 responsive to UV radiation. Each sensor may be a rod 43 rotatably mounted within a quartz jacket 44 which may be the same as the lamp jacket 32” [col. 4; lines 14-16]), there is no explicit disclosure that the sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section and that a mirror element is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element.
Sasges discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment (“It is known that the irradiation of water with ultraviolet light will disinfect the water by inactivation of microorganisms in the water” [page 1; lines 13-14]), with a number of elongated UV radiators 120 arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figures 1 and 2), the UV radiators being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 2), and with a UV sensor 130 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“Radiation source assembly 130 also comprises an optical radiation sensor 150” [page 6; lines 5-6]); wherein a sensor housing is UV-transparent at one end section 152 (“Since radiation collector 152 is a solid body, it is preferred that it be constructed from a radiation transparent material (e.g., quartz and the like)” [page 6; lines 18-20]) and that a mirror element 153 is arranged at this end section, which deflects UV radiation incident transversely to the central axis of the sensor housing in the direction of the sensor element 154 (“Radiation collector 152 comprises a concave surface 153. Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the mirror element is rotationally symmetrical (“This radiation will impinge on reflective material 155 on concave surface 153 and be reflected toward sensor photo-diode 154. In this manner, optical radiation sensor 150 may be viewed as a "360 ° sensor" in that it can receive and detect radiation from a substantially 360° plane (2-dimensional) or conoid (3-dimensional) around the collector” [page 6; lines 24-29]); wherein the mirror element is mirror-plated on its surface (“Concave surface 153 has disposed thereon a specularly or diffuse reflective material 156 (e.g., a Teflon™ coating) which serves to reflect incident radiation impinging thereon toward sensor photo-diode 154” [page 6; lines 15-18]); wherein the UV sensor 130 with its end section 152 is arranged at a position within the UV lamp module which is located centrally between two UV lamps 120 and 140 assigned to different rows and neighboring each other (as illustrated in figure 1); and in that wherein the UV sensor 130 is arranged with its end section 152 at a position within the module which is located along the discharge length of the adjacent UV radiators 120 and 140 (as illustrated in figure 1).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow with the construction of the UV sensor of Sasges in order to utilize a radiation sensor which is capable of 360° detection (as discussed in Sasges: [col. 6; lines 21-30]) so as to decrease the number of UV sensors required to accurately analyze the ultraviolet radiation output by a plurality of UV radiators. Flatow and Sasges disclose the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses that “each UV lamp 31 to be disposed axially through a cylindrical quartz jacket 32” [Flatow: col. 3; lines 48-49], and Sasges discloses that “Radiation source assembly 120 comprises a radiation source 122 disposed within a protective sleeve 124” [Sasges: page 1; lines 29-30], there is no explicit disclosure that the UV radiators each have a discharge length extending between two electrodes of a UV radiator along the longitudinal axis of the UV radiator.
Zayas discloses an ultraviolet radiator wherein “The lamp is typically inserted endwise into a sleeve installed in the water, other liquid or air purifier with or without the use of a quartz sleeve. To simplify insertion and electrical connection, the pins are conveniently mounted on one of the end caps. When the electrodes are energized by voltage from an electrical power supply, an electrical discharge is initiated in the gas between the electrodes” [0005]. Zayas illustrates in figure 8 that “A pair of electrodes 40, 42 is respectively mounted within the tube at the end regions 36, 38” [0063].
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow and Sasges with the discharge radiation source of Zayas in order to utilize a commercially available radiation source for producing the ultraviolet radiation required to sterilize water passed around the ultraviolet light sources of Flatow and Sasges. Flatow, Sasges, and Zayas disclose the claimed invention except that while Sasges illustrated in figure 1 that the UV sensor is located substantially along 50% of the length of the UV radiators 120 and 140, and Zayas illustrates in figure 8 that the discharge electrodes are located at the ends of the UV radiator (thereby creating a discharge length that substantially coincides with the length of the UV radiator), there is no explicit disclosure that the UV sensor is arranged at a distance of at least 10% of the discharge length from the electrodes of the UV radiators. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to set the UV sensor is arranged at a distance of at least 10% of the discharge length from the electrodes of the UV radiators since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. One would have been motivated to set the UV sensor is arranged at a distance of at least 10% of the discharge length from the electrodes of the UV radiators for the purpose of ensuring that a UV sensor is positioned so as to receive a sufficient amount of UV radiation from an adjacent UV radiator so as to accurately characterize the UV radiation emitted from such a UV radiator. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flatow U.S. Patent No. 4,204,956 in view of Rudkowski U.S. PGPUB No. 2006/0231764.
Regarding claim 11, Flatow discloses the claimed invention except that while Flatow discloses that the UV sensors of the UV lamp modules are connected to a common control unit, there is no explicit disclosure that the control unit is designed to dim or switch off individual rows of the UV lamp modules.
Rudkowski discloses a UV radiator module, for water or waste water treatment (“The present invention relates to a device for the UV treatment of flowing media, in particular to a device for the UV disinfection of drinking water or waste water” [0001]), with a number of elongated UV radiators 3 arranged with their longitudinal axes parallel to one another in the UV radiator module (as illustrated in figure 1), the UV radiators 3 being arranged in two parallel rows which are spaced apart from one another (as illustrated in figure 1), and with a UV sensor 10 which is set up to detect UV radiation emitted by the UV radiators (“A UV sensor 10 is arranged approximately centrally in the emitter arrangement 3.1 to 8.4. The UV sensor 10 comprises a silicon carbide diode and is electrically connected to a control device 11. The control device 11 controls a number of electronic series connection or power supply units 13 via a connection line 12, an electronic power supply unit 13 being associated with each UV emitter” [0025]) wherein the two parallel rows are offset in a direction (T) transverse to a direction of water flow (W) so that, seen in direction W of the water flow, and that UV sensor is arranged between the two rows (as illustrated in figure 1); wherein the UV sensor 10 of the UV lamp modules 3 are connected to a common control unit 11 (“The UV sensor 10 comprises a silicon carbide diode and is electrically connected to a control device 11” [0025]) and that the control unit is designed to dim or switch off individual rows of the UV lamp modules (“The operating voltage of each individual emitter may, for example, be modulated separately in such a way that each emitter may be checked individually” [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one possessing ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Flatow with the individual UV radiator control of Rudkowski in order to provide a radiation profile that is tailored to deliver an optimized dose of radiation to water passing by the UV radiators depending on factors such as turbidity, turbulence, etc., and/or to provide individual monitoring of the performance of each UV radiator, by selectively sensing each UV radiator independent of the other UV radiators.
Conclusion
/JASON L MCCORMACK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2881