REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claims 1-7, drawn to an acrylic polymer including an ureido moiety and photosensitive compositions including it.
Group II, claims 8-13, drawn to methods of using a photoresist including an acrylic polymer including an ureido moiety
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of an acrylic polymer including an ureido moiety , this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of the 5 “X” references cited in the international search report of June 1, 2022
During a telephone conversation with Alan E. Schiavelli (32087) on September 8, 2026, a provisional election was made with traverse to prosecute the invention of group I, claims 1-7. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 8-13 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
The examiner has required restriction between product or apparatus claims and process claims. Where applicant elects claims directed to the product/apparatus, and all product/apparatus claims are subsequently found allowable, withdrawn process claims that include all the limitations of the allowable product/apparatus claims should be considered for rejoinder. All claims directed to a nonelected process invention must include all the limitations of an allowable product/apparatus claim for that process invention to be rejoined.
In the event of rejoinder, the requirement for restriction between the product/apparatus claims and the rejoined process claims will be withdrawn, and the rejoined process claims will be fully examined for patentability in accordance with 37 CFR 1.104. Thus, to be allowable, the rejoined claims must meet all criteria for patentability including the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 101, 102, 103 and 112. Until all claims to the elected product/apparatus are found allowable, an otherwise proper restriction requirement between product/apparatus claims and process claims may be maintained. Withdrawn process claims that are not commensurate in scope with an allowable product/apparatus claim will not be rejoined. See MPEP § 821.04. Additionally, in order for rejoinder to occur, applicant is advised that the process claims should be amended during prosecution to require the limitations of the product/apparatus claims. Failure to do so may result in no rejoinder. Further, note that the prohibition against double patenting rejections of 35 U.S.C. 121 does not apply where the restriction requirement is withdrawn by the examiner before the patent issues. See MPEP § 804.01.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Wakata et al. JP 2004302371
Wakata et al. JP 2004302371 (machine translation attached) teaches polymers having the repeating unit bounded by formula (I),
where R .sup.1 Represents a hydrogen atom or a methyl group. R .sup.2 Represents a single bond or a divalent hydrocarbon group having 1 to 18 (preferably 1 to 10) carbon atoms. The hydrocarbon group may be substituted with a hydroxyl group, a halogen atom, an alkoxy group, an aryloxy group, an acyl group, an acyloxy group, an alkoxycarbonyl group, an aryloxycarbonyl group, or an amide group to form a branched or ring structure It may also have an ether bond or an ester bond in the middle. Specific examples of R2 are as follows: a single bond, (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.k Linear alkylene groups (k is an integer of 1 to 18, preferably 1 to 10), branched alkylene groups such as isopropylidene group (an integer of 1 to 18 carbon atoms, preferably an integer of 1 to 10) A group having an aromatic ring such as a cyclic alkylene group such as a cyclohexylene group, a phenylene group, a tolylene group, a xylylene group or a naphthylene group, (C .sub.2 H .sub.4 O) .sub.p1 (Where p1 is an integer from 1 to 5), (C .sub.3 H .sub.6 O) .sub.p2 (Wherein p2 is an integer of 1 to 5, preferably an integer of 1 to 3) or the like via an ether bond (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q1 -OCO- (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q2 Or (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q1 ―COO- (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q2 Via an ester bond (where q1 + q2 is an integer of 1 to 9), via a carbon-carbon double bond or a carbon-carbon triple bond, -CH .sub.2 CH (OH) CH .sub.2 -, -CH .sub.2 CH (OCH .sub.3 ) CH .sub.2 And those having a substituent in the middle, and combinations thereof. Among these, those having a single bond, a linear alkylene group, a group having an aromatic ring such as phenylene, and an ether bond are preferable. R .sup.3 , R .sup.4 And R .sup.5 Each independently represents a hydrogen atom or a monovalent hydrocarbon group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms. The hydrocarbon group may be substituted with a hydroxyl group, a halogen atom, an alkoxy group, an aryloxy group, an acyl group, an acyloxy group, an alkoxycarbonyl group, an aryloxycarbonyl group, or an amide group to form a branched or ring structure May be. R .sup.3 , R .sup.4 And R .sup.5 Preferable examples of are hydrogen atom, alkyl group (for example, methyl group, ethyl group, n-propyl group, i-propyl group, n-butyl group, sec-butyl group, t-butyl group, hexyl group, 2- Ethylhexyl group, decyl group, dodecyl group, octadecyl group), cyclic alkyl group (for example, cyclopentyl group, cyclohexyl group), aralkyl group (for example, benzyl group, phenethyl group), aryl group (for example, phenyl group, tolyl group) , A xylyl group, a naphthyl group), and a group containing a substituent (for example, trifluoroethyl group, hexafluoroisopropyl group, methoxyphenyl group, methoxypropyl group) and the like. R .sup.3 And R .sup.4 is particularly preferably a hydrogen atom, R .sup.5 Is particularly preferably a hydrocarbon group. X is —O— or —N (R .sup.6 )-. R .sup.6 Represents a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 to 10 carbon atoms, an aryl group or an aralkyl group (preferably a hydrogen atom or an alkyl group having 1 to 6 carbon atoms, or a phenyl group). X is particularly preferably —O— or —NH—. m and n each independently represents 1 or 0 [0018-0023]. Examples of monomers used to form the repeating units include (pages 9 and 10).
The polymers formed in table 1 use monomers M-1a, M-3a and M-4a [0130].
The photoresist composition at [0131] includes polymer V-1 (29/45/12/4/10 of methacrylic acid/methyl methacrylate/ethylhexyl acrylate/benzyl methacrylate/M-1a), dodecapropylene glycol diacrylate, tetramethylene glycol diacrylate, 4,4’-bis(diethylamino)benzophenone (photoinitiator, sensitizer), 2,2’ bis(o-chlorophenyl)-4,4’,5,5’-tetraphenyl bimidazole (a hexarylbiimidazole compound, photoinitator), tribromphenylmethylsulfone, leuco crystal violet, malachite green oxalate (sensitizing dye) p-toluenesulfonamide and solvents. This solution was coated upon a 20 microns PET substrate and a 12 micron polypropylene protective film formed over it [0132]. Useful photopolymerizable monomers are disclosed including polyethylene glycol di (meth) acrylate, bis [p- (3- (meth) acryloxy-2-hydroxypropoxy) phenyl] dimethylmethane, polypropylene glycol di (meth) acrylate, 0ropylene glycol di (meth) acrylate, and bis [p-((meth) acryloxyethoxy) phenyl] dimethylmethane [0071-0080]. Useful photoinitiators are disclosed at [0081-0096]. Useful sensitizers can be added to the exposure of the dry film photoresist when a visible ray or ultraviolet laser is used as a ray (active energy ray). Examples of the sensitizer include known polynuclear aromatics (eg, pyrene, perylene, triphenylene), xanthenes (eg, fluorescein, eosin, erythrosine, rhodamine B, rose bengal), cyanines (eg, thiacarbocyanine, oxaxene). Carbocyanine), merocyanines (eg, merocyanine, carbomerocyanine), thiazines (eg, thionine, methylene blue, toluidine blue), acridines (eg, acridine orange, chloroflavin, acriflavine), anthraquinones (eg, anthraquinone) , Squaliums (for example, squalium), and compounds represented by general formulas (XIV) to (XVIII) described in JP-A No. 2000-305734, which do not have photosensitivity in the visible light region of 500 nm or more. It can be used to apply [0097-0098]. The color changing agent is added to give a visible image (printing function) to the photosensitive resin composition layer after exposure. Examples of the color changing agent include tris (p-dimethylaminophenyl) methane (leuco crystal violet), tris (p-diethylaminophenyl) methane, tris (p-dimethylamino-o-methylphenyl) methane, and tris (p-diethylamino). -O-methylphenyl) methane, bis (p-dibutylaminophenyl)-[p- (2-cyanoethyl) methylaminophenyl] methane, bis (p-dimethylaminophenyl) -2-quinolylmethane, and tris (p-di Aminotriarylmethanes such as propylaminophenyl) methane; 3,6-bis (dimethylamino) -9-phenylxanthine, and 3-amino-6-dimethylamino-2-methyl-9- (o-chlorophenyl) xanthine Aminoxanthines such as 3,6-bis (die Aminothioxanthenes such as (lamino) -9- (o-ethoxycarbonylphenyl) thioxanthene and 3,6-bis (dimethylamino) thioxanthene; 3,6-bis (diethylamino) -9,10-dihydro-9 -Amino-9,10-dihydroacridine such as phenylacridine and 3,6-bis (benzylamino) -9,10-dividro-9-methylacridine; amino such as 3,7-bis (diethylamino) phenoxazine Phenoxazines; aminophenothiazines such as 3,7-bis (ethylamino) phenothiazone; aminodihydrophenazines such as 3,7-bis (diethylamino) -5-hexyl-5,10-dihydrophenazine; bis (p- Aminophenylmethanes such as dimethylaminophenyl) anilinomethane; 4 Aminohydrocinnamic acids such as amino-4′-dimethylaminodiphenylamine and 4-amino-α, β-dicyanohydrocinnamic acid methyl ester; hydrazines such as 1- (2-naphthyl) -2-phenylhydrazine; 1,4-bis (ethylamino) -2,3-dihydroanthraquinones amino-2,3-dihydroanthraquinones; phenethylanilines such as N, N-diethyl-p-phenethylaniline; 10-acetyl-3, Acyl derivatives of leuco dyes containing basic NH such as 7-bis (dimethylamino) phenothiazine; have no oxidizable hydrogen such as tris (4-diethylamino-o-tolyl) ethoxycarbonylmentane, but are oxidized to chromogenic compounds Possible leuco-like compound; leucoin digoid pigment; US Pat. No. 3,425,515 And organic amines (for example, 4,4′-ethylenediamine, diphenylamine, N, N-dimethylaniline, 4,4′-methylene which can be oxidized to a colored form as described in US Pat. No. 3,425,517. Diamine triphenylamine, N-vinylcarbazole). A particularly preferred discoloring agent is leuco crystal violet [0104-0105]. In the present invention, a dye can be used in the photosensitive resin composition layer for the purpose of coloring the composition for improving handleability or imparting storage stability. Examples of suitable dyes include brilliant green sulfate, eosin, ethyl violet, erythrosine B, methyl green, crystal violet, basic fuchsin, phenolphthalein, 1,3-diphenyltriazine, alizarin red S, thymolphthalein, methyl Violet 2B, Quinaldine Red, Rose Bengal, Methanyl-Yellow, Thymolsulfophthalein, Xylenol Blue, Methyl Orange, Orange IV, Diphenyltylocarbazone, 2,7-Dichlorofluorescein, Paramethyl Red, Congo Red, Benzopurpurin 4B, α-naphthyl-red, Nile blue A, phenacetalin, methyl violet, malachite green oxalate, parafuchsin, oil blue # 603 (Orien Chemical Industry Co., Ltd.), may be mentioned rhodamine B, and Rotamin 6G and the like. A particularly preferred dye is malachite green oxalate [0106-0107]
As 4,4’-bis(diethylamino)benzophenone is a photoinitiator, it is considered to also be a sensitizer as it increases the sensitivity of the composition
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Yamada et al. JP 2018197325.
Yamada et al. JP 2018197325 (machine translation attached) teaches photoresist using the polymer bounded by formula (1)
where R .sup.1 is a hydrogen atom or a methyl group, and a methyl group is particularly preferable from the viewpoint of ease of polymerization. R .sup.2 represents a hydrogen atom, a methyl group or an ethyl group, and a hydrogen atom is particularly preferable. R .sup.3 is an alkyl group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms. Examples of the alkyl group having 1 to 18 carbon atoms include methyl group, ethyl group, propyl group, isopropyl group, n-butyl group, iso-butyl group, tert- butyl group, an n-hexyl group, an n-octyl group, a 2-ethylhexyl group, a decyl group, a dodecyl group, and a stearyl group. From the viewpoint of ease of synthesis and adhesion, R .sup.3 has 2 carbon atoms. 12 is preferable and 3-6 is more preferable [0013-0014]. Specifica monomers disclosed are taught with respect to table 1.
[0035]. A copolymer of monomer A1, acrylic acid, cyclohexyl methacrylate is formed [0039-0040]. Resist copolymers 2-6 are formed similarly [0041-0045]. The polymers are combined with dipentaerythritol hexaacrylate (monomer) bisphenol A epoxy (JER-834) and a photoinitiator (irgacure 907)in a solvent. This is coated upon a glass substrate to and dried to form a layer and is exposed using a photomask [0047-0048]. Table 2,
evidences shortened development time, the increased resolution, improved close contact, reduced number of tears and higher peeling time (page 31). As a result of repeated research, the present inventor has found that a vinyl copolymer containing a repeating unit having a carboxyl group and a repeating unit having a urea group in the side chain as a binder component of a dry film photoresist comprising the above-described components. It has been found that the photosensitive resin composition using the above can form a tent film having a high resolution and which is relatively difficult to break even if the thickness thereof is reduced, leading to the present invention.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Helling et al. 4756998.
Helling et al. 4756998 teaches monomers M1, M2, M34,M38,M-42. These are bounded by formula
(1/61-3/2). This is copolymerized to form the polymeric coupler 3.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Yamada et al. JP 2018197327.
Yamada et al. JP 2018197327 (machine translation attached) teaches resists including repeating units A1,A4 and A5.
where R3 is butyl or dodecyl. [0041]. A resist co-polymer of A1, acrylic acid, ethyl methacrylate is formed [0047-0048]. Other resist co-polymers are formed [0049-0055].
Claim 1 and 3-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Wakata et al. JP 2005250416.
Wakata et al. JP 2005250416 (machine translation attached) teaches monomers,
[0069]. The synthesis of polymers using monomers U-1, U-2 and U-3 are disclosed [0268]. These polymers are combined with N,N-diethylamino benzophenone, 2-(o-chlorophenyl)4,5-diphenylimidazole dimer (hexaryl imidazole), tribrormomethylphenylsulfone, leuco crystal violet (photochromic), malachite green oxalate (sensitizer), p-tolenesulfonmide and solvents. This is then coated onto a 25 microns PET substrate and provided with a 12 microns polypropylene cover sheet [0271-0273].
The position of the examiner is that during the exposure of the resist layer, the urea/ureido monomer is polymerized and forms a polymer bounded by the claim 1. As this occurs in the presence of the other components, claims 3-7 are also met.
Claim 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully anticipated by Bortnick 2847400
Bortnick 2847400 in example 10(a) copolymerizes 10 parts N- -methacryloxy- ethyl-N'-t-octylurea and 90 parts of ethyl acrylate. In example 10(c) teaches 5 to 95 parts of N-3- methacryloxyethyl-N'-t-decylurea and 95 to S parts of octadecyl itaconate. Example 11 teaches copolymerizing 25 parts of Ny- methacryloxypropyl-N'-t-octadecylurea, 75 parts of vinyl dodecyl. Example 13 copolymerizes N-p3-acryloxy-t-butyl-N'-t- butylurea, 50 parts of dodecyl maleate.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakata et al. JP 2004302371.
Wakata et al. JP 2004302371 does not exemplify an acrylic polymer including an ureido moiety where the linking group between the (meth)acrylate moiety and the ureido moiety is an alkylene oxide
It would have been obvious to modify exemplified polymers and the resist compositions including them of Wakata et al. JP 2004302371 by replacing the acrylic monomer where the (meth)acryloxy group and the ureido group are connected by an alkyene groups with a similar acrylic monomer where the (meth)acryloxy group and the ureido group are connected by an alkylene oxide group based upon the their equivalence as R2 in the formula
where R2 can be R .sup.2 Represents a single bond or a divalent hydrocarbon group having 1 to 18 (preferably 1 to 10) carbon atoms. The hydrocarbon group may be substituted with a hydroxyl group, a halogen atom, an alkoxy group, an aryloxy group, an acyl group, an acyloxy group, an alkoxycarbonyl group, an aryloxycarbonyl group, or an amide group to form a branched or ring structure It may also have an ether bond or an ester bond in the middle. Specific examples of R2 are as follows: a single bond, (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.k Linear alkylene groups (k is an integer of 1 to 18, preferably 1 to 10), branched alkylene groups such as isopropylidene group (an integer of 1 to 18 carbon atoms, preferably an integer of 1 to 10) A group having an aromatic ring such as a cyclic alkylene group such as a cyclohexylene group, a phenylene group, a tolylene group, a xylylene group or a naphthylene group, (C .sub.2 H .sub.4 O) .sub.p1 (Where p1 is an integer from 1 to 5), (C .sub.3 H .sub.6 O) .sub.p2 (Wherein p2 is an integer of 1 to 5, preferably an integer of 1 to 3) or the like via an ether bond (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q1 -OCO- (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q2 Or (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q1 ―COO- (CH .sub.2 ) .sub.q2 Via an ester bond (where q1 + q2 is an integer of 1 to 9), via a carbon-carbon double bond or a carbon-carbon triple bond, -CH .sub.2 CH (OH) CH .sub.2 -, -CH .sub.2 CH (OCH .sub.3 ) CH .sub.2 And those having a substituent in the middle, and combinations thereof [0018-0023] with a reasonable expectation of forming a useful polymer and photoresist composition containing the modified polymer. Further it would have been obvious to add the disclosed sensitizing dyes such as the polynuclear aromatics (eg, pyrene, perylene, triphenylene), xanthenes (eg, fluorescein, eosin, erythrosine, rhodamine B, rose bengal), cyanines (eg, thiacarbocyanine, oxaxene). Carbocyanine), merocyanines (eg, merocyanine, carbomerocyanine), thiazines (eg, thionine, methylene blue, toluidine blue), acridines (eg, acridine orange, chloroflavin, acriflavine), anthraquinones (eg, anthraquinone) , Squaliums (for example, squalium), and compounds taught at [0097-0098] with a reasonable expectation of improving the sensitivity.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JP-WO2008/075531 (machine translation attached) includes examples 1-4 including binders with styrene, benzyl methacrylate and methacrylic acid (comparative examiner may include methyl methacrylate or ethylhexyl methacrylate. HABI photoinitiator (tables 2, page 23), useful polymerizable compounds include 31g of 2,2-bis (4- (methacryloxypentaethoxy) phenyl) propane (FA-321M) and 15g of a compound represented by general formula (IX), wherein R .sup.38 and R .sup.39 are each a methyl group, m .sup.3 = 6 (average value), and n .sup.2 + n .sup.3 = 12 (average value)
(FA-024M), 0.8 g of 9,10,-dibutoxyanthracene, 0.25g leuco crystal violet, 0.03 g malachite green and solvents [0058,0103]. This is coated in a 16 micron PET substrate and dried to form a photosensitive layer [0104]. Useful polymerizable monomers are disclosed [0046-0062]. Photoinitiators are disclosed at [0063-0068]. Useful sensitizing dyes (D) or amine compounds are disclosed [0069-0070] photochromic materials are also disclosed [0071].
Ajioka et al. WO 2011114593 (machine translation attached) teaches in table 2 [0116], the composition including 50g of a binder, 1 g of tribromomethylphenylsulfone, 0.5 g of leuco crystal violet, 0.05 of malachite green, and solvents. These are combined with the monomers of table 3 [0117], B1 is Polyethylene glycol # 400 dimethacrylate, B2 is Polyethylene glycol # 600 dimethacrylate, B3 is Polyethylene glycol # 1000 dimethacrylate, B4 is 2,2-bis (4- (methacryloxypentaethoxy) phenyl) propane (FA-321M), B5 is Nonylphenoxytetraethylene glycol acrylate, B6 is Nonylphenoxy octaethylene glycol acrylate, B-7 is γ-chloro-β-hydroxypropyl-β'-methacryloyloxyethyl-o-phthalate, B8 is EO, PO-modified urethane dimethacrylate, B9 is Tris ((meth) acryloxytetraethylene glycol isocyanate) hexamethylene isocyanurate, C1-5 are acridine compounds [0118-0123].
Miyasaki et al. WO 2007004619 (machine translation attached) in the examples includes a binder or methacrylic acid/methyl methacrylate/styrene, 46 g of EO-modified bisphenol A dimethacrylate represented by the following general formula (3) (product name (FA-321M), 0.3g of leuco crystal violet, 0.03 g malachite green and solvents (page 24). These are combined with 9,10-dibutoxyanthracene , a coumarin dyes (C1) HABI and 2 benzyl 2 dimethylamino 1— (4 morpholinophenol) butanone (I-369) (tables pages 25,28)
Takahashi et al. JP 2004317595 (machine translation attached) exemplifies compositions including a methacrylic acid / methyl methacrylate / 2-ethylhexyl methacrylate / benzyl methacrylate copolymer, styrene / acrylic acid copolymer, dodecapropylene glycol diacrylate, tetraethylene glycol dimethacrylate, polymerizable compound (M-1a), 4,4'-bis (diethylamino) benzophenone 0.06 parts by mass, 2,2′-bis (o-chlorophenyl) -4,4 ′, 5,5′-tetraphenylbiimidazole, Phenyltribromomethylsulfone, Leuco Crystal Violet, malachite green oxalate, p-toluenesulfonamide.
Hallock et al. 5981147 establishes that Leuco Crystal Violet (photosensitive dye) is , 4, 4', 4"-methylidynetris (N,N-dimethylaniline) (col 16/lines 12-13)
Bowker et al. WO 2018234530 teaches examples of suitable leuco dyes include Benzol leuco methylene blue ([3,7- bis(dimethylamino)phenothiazin-10-yl]-phenylmethanone), Leuco malachite Green (4-[[4- (dimethylamino)phenyl]-phenylmethyl]-N,N-dimethylaniline), Leuco crystal Violet (4-[bis[4- (dimethylamino)phenyl]methyl]-N,N-dimethylaniline), Leuco Gentian Violet-d6 (4-[[4- [bis(trideuteriomethyl)amino]phenyl]-[4-(dimethylamino)phenyl]methyl]-N.sub.!N- dimethylaniline), 4-(2,4-dinitroanilino)phenol, Leuco-indoaniline (4-[4-(dimethylamino)anilino]cyclohexa-2,5-dien-1 -one), Leuco sulphur Blue 1 1 (disodium;4- (2,4-dinitroanilino)phenolsulfanide hydroxide) and Leucoquinizarin (anthracene-1 ,4,9,10- tetrol) (8/17-25)
Snaith et al. 20160141535 teaches that photoactive material may further comprise a dye or a pigment. The dye or pigment may be incorporated in the photoactive material or may be disposed on the surface of the photoactive material. The dye may be selected from any dye suitable for use in a photoactive layer or an optoelectronic device. These are well known to the skilled person. An example of a suitable dye is the indoline dye D102, an organic “push-pull” dye such as those described in T. Horiuchi et al. (“High Efficiency of Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells Based on Metal-Free Indoline Dyes”, J. Am. Chem. Soc. 126, 12218-12219 (2004)), a ruthenium complex dye, an organic dyes such as those described in W. Zeng, et al. (“Efficient Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells with an Organic Photosensitizer Featuring Orderly Conjugated Ethylenedioxythiophene and Dithienosilole Blocks”, Chem. Mater. 22, 1915-1925 (2010)) a rylene based dye such as those described in US 2012/0017995, Rhodamine dyes (including rhodamine B (9[9-(2-carboxyphenyl)-6-diethylamino-3-xanthenylidene]-diethylammonium chloride) and Rhodamine 6G (C.sub.27H.sub.29ClN.sub.2O.sub.7)), DCM (4-(dicyanomethylene)-2-methyl-6-(4-dimethylaminostyryl)-4H-pyran), Sulphan blue ([4-(α-(4-diethylaminophenyl)-5-hydroxy-2,4-disulfophenylmethylidene)-2,5-cyclohexadien-1-ylidene]diethylammonium hydroxide), Naphthol green B (trisodium; iron (3.sup.+); 5-nitroso-6-oxidonaphthalene-2-sulfonate), Azophloxin (sodium 8-acetamido-1-hydroxy-2-phenylazonaphthalene-3,6-disulphonate), Martius yellow (C.sub.10H.sub.6N.sub.2O.sub.5), Methyl orange (Sodium 4-[(4-dimethylamino)phenyldiazenyl]benzenesulfonate), Fluorescein (Spiro[isobenzofuran-1(3H),9′-[9H]xanthen]-3-one, 3′,6′-dihydroxy-), Coumarin (2H-chromen-2-one), Stilbene ((E)-1,2-diphenylethene), Umbelliferone (7-Hydroxychromen-2-one), tetracene, Malachite green (4-[(4-dimethylaminophenyl)phenyl-methyl]-N,N-dimethylaniline), Crystal violet (tris(4-(dimethylamino)phenyl)methylium chloride), Congo red (disodium 4-amino-3-[4-[4-(1-amino-4-sulfonato-naphthalen-2-yl)diazenylphenyl]phenyl]diazenyl-naphthalene-1-sulfonate) and Nile red (9-diethylamino-5-benzo[α]phenoxazinone) [0211]
Takahashi et al. JP 2003238835 teaches copolymer of monomers M1-M25
Nishita et al. WO 2018143359 teaches underlayer polymers with urea structures. Useful monomers include ij-1 and 1j-2 (page 17), 1i-1 to 1i-18 (page 16), 1h-1 and 1h-2 (pages 15)
MARTIN J. ANGEBRANNDT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1737
/MARTIN J ANGEBRANNDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 September 12, 2026