Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Claims 1-18 in the reply filed on 12/10/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 19 is withdrawn
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 8, 9, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaizu (US 20220281152) in view of Ramrakhyani (US 20120018928) further in view of Valyi US 3851030, listed in IDS.
Regarding Claim 1 MIsaizu molding system for manufacturing a hollow molded product by blow molding (abstract), comprising: a molding machine having a mold equipment in which the hollow molded product is blow-molded in a cavity (Figure 4, cavity mold-306, bottom mold-308, [0057]); an abutting portion arranged by being spaced apart from the insert portion, and abutting on a part of an outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product that is spaced apart by a predetermined distance from the blow pin extraction port (Figure 4a, abutting portion-21, core is inserted through the inser portion, preform-20, [0041] ); a recess provided between the insert portion and the abutting portion (Figure 4a, core mold-302 is inserted, [0060]), the recess forming a closed space communicating with an internal space in the hollow molded product when a part of the hollow molded product where the blow pin extraction port is formed is accommodated in the recess in a state where the abutting portion is abutting on the outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product (Figure 4b); a suction port for sucking air in the internal space and the closed space (Figure 4B , [0061]) and wherein the mold equipment including: a first mold member having a first bottom wall surface portion of a bottom wall surface of the cavity ( Figure 4b, cavity mold-306, [0057]); and a second mold member provided adjacent to the first mold member and having a second bottom wall surface portion of the bottom wall surface of the cavity (Figure 4b, second mold member-308 ), wherein portion of the first mold member and the second bottom wall surface portion of the second mold member form the bottom wall surface of the cavity when in a closed-mold state (Figures 4a-4b) . Further Misaizu discloses that preform 20 is expanded to a shape of a resin container 30 and is held by first mold member-306 (Figure 4A-4B, [0056], [0057]) , but didn’t disclose that wherein the mold equipment is configured to suck and hold the hollow molded product at the first bottom wall surface portion of the first mold member after the hollow molded product is molded.
In the related filed of endeavor pertaining to the art, Ramrakhyani discloses that mold equipment is configured to suck and hold the hollow molded product at the first bottom wall surface portion (Figure 1A, [0039], , mold member-27, molded product-15 is held at the first bottom wall surface portion of the first mold member).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s teaching with that of teaching of Ramrakhyani ‘s teaching for the purpose of positioning the hollow molded body as to secure the finished part before ejection takes place.
Further, Misaizu discloses take out part-14, however didn’t disclose that wherein the apparatus for taking out molded product that sucks the hollow molded product molded in the mold equipment by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from the mold equipment, wherein the suction portion of the apparatus for taking out molded product including: an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product through a blow pin extraction port of the hollow molded product. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Valyi discloses apparatus for taking out molded product that sucks the hollow molded product molded in the mold equipment by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from the mold equipment, (Figure 1, Col 1 line 58-65suction port-13), and wherein the suction portion of the apparatus for taking out molded product including: an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product through a blow pin extraction port of the hollow molded product (Figure 2, Col 1line 51-60, Col 3 line 53-56, plug-5a is inserted to take out the finished article).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s teaching with that of Valyi’s teaching of suction port for the purpose of removing the finished article.
Regarding Claim 5 Misaizu’s molding system for manufacturing a hollow molded product by blow molding (abstract), comprising: a molding machine having a mold equipment in which the hollow molded product is blow-molded (Figure 4); an abutting portion arranged by being spaced apart from the insert portion, and abutting on a part of an outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product that is spaced apart by a predetermined distance from the blow pin extraction port (Figure 4a, abutting portion-21, preform-20, [0041]); a recess provided between the insert portion and the abutting portion (Figure 4a, core mold-302 is inserted, [0060] ), the recess forming a closed space communicating with an internal space in the hollow molded product when a part of the hollow molded product where the …is formed is accommodated in the recess in a state where the abutting portion is abutting on the outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product (Figure 4b); a suction port for sucking air in the internal space and the closed space (Figure 4b, [0061])
Further, Misaizu discloses take out part-14, however didn’t disclose that wherein the apparatus for taking out molded product that sucks the hollow molded product molded in the mold equipment by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from the mold equipment, wherein the suction portion of the apparatus for taking out molded product including: an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product through a blow pin extraction port of the hollow molded product. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Valyi discloses apparatus for taking out molded product that sucks the hollow molded product molded in the mold equipment by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from the mold equipment, (Figure 1, Col 1 line 58-65suction port-13), and wherein the suction portion of the apparatus for taking out molded product including: an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product through a blow pin extraction port of the hollow molded product (Figure 2, Col 1line 51-60, Col 3 line 53-56, plug-5a is inserted to take out the finished article).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s teaching with that of Valyi’s teaching of suction port for the purpose of removing the finished article.
Regarding Claim 8 Misaizu discloses, the mold equipment comprising: a first mold member forming a part of the cavity (Figure 2, cavity mold-106, [0042]);); and a second mold member provided adjacent to the first mold member and forming a part of the cavity (Figure 4b,second mold member-0104, [0042]), wherein a constituent surface of the cavity of the first mold member and a constituent surface of the cavity of the second mold member are arranged differently from a closed-mold state (Figure 2, cavity surface-111, [0046]), and the hollow molded product molded in the cavity in a state of abutting on the constituent surface of the cavity of the first mold member is sucked and held in the mold equipment used in the molding system (Figure 4a-4B, ([0056], [0057], preform 20 is expanded to a shape of a resin container 30 and is held by first mold member-306).
Further, Misaizu didn’t disclose a suction port for sucking air mold equipment used in a molding system where a suction portion of an apparatus for taking out molded product sucks a hollow molded product blow-molded by the mold equipment of a molding machine. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Valyi discloses a suction port for sucking air in the internal space and the closed space (Figure 1, Col 1line 51-60, suction port-13), and an apparatus for taking out molded product that sucks the hollow molded product molded in the mold equipment by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from the mold equipment in which the hollow molded product is blow-molded in a cavity (Col 1 line 58-65, plug-5, cavity-4a).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s teaching with that of Valyi’s teaching of suction port for the purpose of removing the finished article.
Regarding Claim 9 Misaizu disclses mold equipment used in the molding system, wherein the first mold member has a first bottom wall surface portion of a bottom wall surface of the cavity , as a constituent surface of the cavity (Figure 4, cavity mold-306, bottom mold-308, [0057]), the second mold member has a second bottom wall surface portion of the bottom wall surface of the cavity, as a constituent surface of the cavity (Figure 4, bottom mold-308, [0057]), the first bottom wall surface portion of the first mold member and the second bottom wall surface portion of the second mold member form the bottom wall surface of the cavity when in a closed-mold state (Figures 4a-4b), and the mold equipment is used in the molding system being configured that the hollow molded product is sucked and held at the first bottom wall surface portion of the first mold member after the hollow molded product is molded (([0056], [0057], preform 20 is expanded to a shape of a resin container 30 and is held by first mold member-306).
Regarding Claim 16 Misaizu discloses a mold equipment: with an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product (Figure 4b, core mold-302 is inserted through the insert portion); an abutting portion arranged by being spaced apart from the insert portion, and abutting on a part of an outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product that is spaced apart by a predetermined distance from the blow pin extraction port (Figure 4a, abutting portion-21, preform-20, [0041]) a recess provided between the insert portion and the abutting portion (Figure 4a, core mold-302 is inserted, [0060]), the recess forming a closed space communicating with an internal space in the hollow molded product when a part of the hollow molded product where the blow pin extraction port is formed is accommodated in the recess in a state where the abutting portion is abutting on the outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product (Figure 4b). Further, Misaizu didn’t disclose taking out molded product that sucks a blow- molded hollow molded product by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from a mold equipment of a molding machine, wherein the suction portion including: an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product through a blow pin extraction port of the hollow molded product. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Valyi discloses apparatus for taking out molded product that sucks the hollow molded product molded in the mold equipment by a suction portion and takes out the hollow molded product from the mold equipment, (Figure 1, Col 1 line 58-65suction port-13), and wherein the suction portion of the apparatus for taking out molded product including: an insert portion inserted in the hollow molded product through a blow pin extraction port of the hollow molded product (Figure 2, Col 1line 51-60, Col 3 line 53-56, plug-5a is inserted to take out the finished article).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s teaching with that of Valyi’s teaching of suction port for the purpose of removing the finished article.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaizu (US 20220281152) and Ramrakhyani (US 20120018928) in view of Valyi US 3851030, listed in IDS as applied to Claim 1 further in view of Harry US 4437825.
Misaizu discloses wherein the mold equipment has plural mold members forming a wall surface except the bottom wall surface of the cavity (Figure 4a-4b, other mold members , neck mold-102), but didn’t disclose that the second mold member moves in such a way as to move the hollow molded product in a direction away from the first bottom wall surface portion. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Harry discloses that mold members 19, 21 are fixed on the platen-16 and movable mold members 21,22 are on the platen-17 , when one set of molds is in a closed cooperating position, the other set of molds is open for the discharge of articles previously blow molded (col 1line 14-20, Col 4 line 24-28) and, showing that preform is pulled into the fixed halve and away from the moving halve-21 (Figure 9) ; as the after the plural mold members are taken out from the hollow molded product (Misaizu discloses neck mold-102 attached with neck portion-21 and released once the preform is taken out, [0063]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s teaching with that of Harry’s teaching of the moving one of the mold members during the ejection of the preform and the molding cycle is faster.
Claim(s) 6, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaizu (US 20220281152) and Ramrakhyani (US 20120018928) in view of Valyi US 3851030, listed in IDS as applied to Claim 5 , 16 further in view of Hall (US 20120056356) .
Regarding Claim 6, Misaizu/Valyi disclose wherein the suction portion has a coupling portion coupling the insert portion with the abutting portion and forming the recess between the insert portion and the abutting portion (Figure 1, col 2 line 55-60), but didn’t disclose an additional suction port. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Hall discloses an additional suction port/gripper that sucks the outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product is provided at an abutting surface abutting on the hollow molded product of the abutting portion (Figure 2, [0023]), and an air flow path communicating with the suction port and the additional suction port is formed in the insert portion, the coupling portion, and the abutting portion (Figure 4, Misaizu combined with Figure 1, Valyi’s suction port-13, additional suction port-20 of Hall Figure 2).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s/Valyi’s teaching with that of Hall’s addition suction port for the purpose of ensuring guiding the molded body to be pulled uniformly against the mold walls.
Regarding Claim 17, Misaizu/Valyi disclose wherein the suction portion has a coupling portion coupling the insert portion with the abutting portion and forming the recess between the insert portion and the abutting portion (Figure 1, col 2 line 55-60), but didn’t disclose an additional suction port. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Hall’s discloses an additional suction port/gripper that sucks the outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product is provided at an abutting surface abutting on the hollow molded product (Figure 2, [0023], additional port-20).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s/Valyi’s teaching with that Hall’s addition suction port for the purpose of ensuring guiding the molded body to be pulled uniformly against the mold walls.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaizu (US 20220281152) and Ramrakhyani (US 20120018928) in view of Valyi US 3851030, listed in IDS as applied to Claim 5 further in view of Hall ( US 2012 0056356) and Brun (US 5051227) ,
Regarding Claim 7, Misuazi/Valyi and Hall disclose the suction port and the additional suction port as discussed above in claim 6.
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s/Valyi’s teaching with that Hall’s addition suction port for the purpose of ensuring guiding the molded body to be pulled uniformly against the mold walls.
However , they didn’t disclose that of the suction port and the additional suction port insert portion are also used as an injection port to inject a pressurized gas. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Brun disclose the suction port could switch to supply pressurized air (Col 5 line 41-45).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu’s/Valyi’s teaching with that of Hall’s addition suction port and Brun’s teaching of pressurized air for the purpose of forming the hollow body as the material are forced against the mold walls.
Claim(s) 14, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Misaizu (US 20220281152) and Ramrakhyani (US 20120018928) in view of Valyi US 3851030, listed in IDS as applied in Claim 8 and 16 in view of JP H06335959 in view of JP’959
Regarding Claim 14 , Misaizu discloses a second mold member provided adjacent to the first mold member (Figure 4b) but didn’t disclose that the second mold member is provided to be movable in a direction of pressing the hollow molded product molded in the cavity. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’959 discloses that bottom mold-46 can be moved up and down by the cylinder-44 (Figure 3, [0032], translated).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu/Valyi’s teaching with that of JP’959 teaching for the purpose of ensuring the molded body to be in alignment in a closed mold position.
Regarding Claim 14 , Misaizu discloses abutting on a part of an outer circumferential surface of the hollow molded product (Figure 4b) but didn’t disclose that the abutting portion has an elastic member at an abutting surface abutting on the hollow molded product. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’959 discloses that abutting portion has an elastic member at an abutting surface abutting on the hollow molded product (Figure 4 shows the lip mold-22 outer peripheral surface side through an elastic member-86, [0017], [0049]).
It would have been obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine Misaizu/Valyi’s teaching with that of JP’959 for the purpose of ensuring proper sealing to prevent damage during the manufacturing of hollow molded object.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-3, 10-13 and 15 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claims 2 and 10 Misaizu discloses the mold equipment comprising: a first mold member forming a part of the cavity (Figure 2, cavity mold-106, [0042]);); and a second mold member provided adjacent to the first mold member and forming a part of the cavity (Figure 4b,second mold member-0104, [0042]), but didn’t disclose that mold equipment is configured that the second mold member is moved so as to form a recessed part between the second bottom wall surface portion of the second mold member and an outer surface of the hollow molded product after the hollow molded product is molded, a suction-holding state, where the hollow molded product is sucked and heldto the first bottom wall surface portion of the first mold member by bringing an inside of the recessed part into a depressurized state, is prepared, anda non-suction-holding state, where the hollow molded product is not sucked and held to the first bottom wall surface portion of the first mold member is provided by bringing the inside of the recessed part into a non-depressurized state, is formed which is deemed novel and unobvious.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741