DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues “However, Biderman does not teach or suggest defining a
primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration as part of a single transmission configuration for a UE, nor does Biderman describe different angular areas from which a UE receives power and uses those angular distinctions to define coordinated reception configurations. Rather, Biderman's beams are separate power transmission paths that are managed to avoid intersection, not jointly utilized reception configurations based on distinct angular power areas.” See page 7 of applicant’s remarks.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., … as part of a single transmission configuration for a UE… and uses those angular distinctions to define coordinated reception configurations) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
The applicant argues “Accordingly, Jia and Biderman each fail to teach or suggest "receiving information indicative of at least one expanded transmission configuration from a node apparatus wherein the expanded transmission configuration comprises a primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration wherein the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus," as recited in some form or another by independent claims 1 and 9, and "receiving a report from a User Equipment (UE) indicating at least a primary beam configuration and an availability of one or more secondary beam configurations wherein the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus," as recited by independent claim 11.” See page 7 of applicant’s remarks. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
Jia teaches "receiving information indicative of at least one expanded transmission configuration from a node apparatus wherein the expanded transmission configuration comprises beam configurations" as recited in some form or another by independent claims 1 and 9, and "receiving a report from a User Equipment (UE) indicating at least a primary beam configuration and an availability of one or more secondary beam configurations" as recited by independent claim 11.”
Biderman has been shown to teach “comprises a primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration wherein the primary beam configuration (i.e., beam 3 sent from multi beam transmitter 1 is aimed at target 8 of multi beam receiver 7; see figure 1) and the secondary beam configuration (i.e., beam 4 sent from multi beam transmitter 1 is aimed at target 9 of multi beam receiver 7; see figure 1) comprise different angular areas (in other words, beams 3 and 4 are moving in same direction to the same receiver but clearly different angular areas one for each beam; shown in figure 1) from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus (i.e., Both beams 3 and 4 are used to deliver power to multi target receiver 7. Beam 3 is aimed at target 8 and beam 4 is aimed at target 9. Receiver 7 converts the optical power from both beam 3 and 4 into electrical power, sums up the power from both beams and delivered it to the device to be charged; see paragraph [0132] and figure 1)," as recited in some form or another by independent claims 1 and 9 and “wherein the primary beam configuration (i.e., beam 3 sent from multi beam transmitter 1 is aimed at target 8 of multi beam receiver 7; see figure 1) and the secondary beam configuration (i.e., beam 4 sent from multi beam transmitter 1 is aimed at target 9 of multi beam receiver 7; see figure 1) comprise different angular areas (in other words, beams 3 and 4 are moving in same direction to the same receiver but clearly different angular areas one for each beam; shown in figure 1) from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus (i.e., Both beams 3 and 4 are used to deliver power to multi target receiver 7. Beam 3 is aimed at target 8 and beam 4 is aimed at target 9. Receiver 7 converts the optical power from both beam 3 and 4 into electrical power, sums up the power from both beams and delivered it to the device to be charged; see paragraph [0132] and figure 1)” as recited by independent claim 11.
Biderman also shows in figure 2, a primary beam configuration (i.e., Multi beam transmitter 21 includes a first beam module composed of laser 23 for being received and for powering receiver 24) and a secondary beam configuration (i.e., Multi beam transmitter 21 includes a first beam module composed of laser 26 for being received and for powering receiver 24) comprising different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus (i.e., different angular areas producing FOV1 and FOV2 where the receiver 24 is inside both FOVs).
As such, the combination of Jia and Biderman disclose "receiving information indicative of at least one expanded transmission configuration from a node apparatus wherein the expanded transmission configuration comprises a primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration wherein the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus," as recited in some form or another by independent claims 1 and 9, and "receiving a report from a User Equipment (UE) indicating at least a primary beam configuration and an availability of one or more secondary beam configurations wherein the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus," as recited by independent claim 11.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia et al. (Jia), U.S. Publication No. 2020/0323015 in view of Biderman et al. (Biderman), U.S. Publication No. 2021/0075269.
Regarding Claim 1, Jia discloses a User Equipment (UE) (i.e., terminal
equipment 1200; see figure 12) comprising:
at least one processor (i.e., processor 1210; see figure 12); and
at least one memory (i.e., memory 1220; see figure 12) including computer
program code (described in paragraph [0199]),
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the
at least one processor, cause the UE at least to perform:
receiving information indicative of at least one expanded transmission configuration from a node apparatus, wherein (i) the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises beam configuration (i.e., based on the report of the UE, the network device may provide the UE with dedicated configurations for beam failure recovery; see paragraphs [0111] and [0115]); and
in response to receiving the information indicative of the at least one expanded transmission configuration enabling the UE to use the beam configuration to receive signals from the node apparatus (i.e., the terminal equipment may correspondingly restart or stop the timer according to the indication information; see paragraph [0128]).
Although Jia discloses beam configurations, Jia fails to disclose comprises a
primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration and (ii) the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus and primary beam configuration and/or the secondary beam.
Biderman discloses comprises a primary beam configuration and a secondary
beam configuration and (ii) the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus and primary beam configuration and/or the secondary beam (i.e., transmitters 21 and 22 having laser beams (such as a primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration) positioned and directed to cover specific field of views as shown in figure 2). See examiner’s response above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Biderman’s primary and secondary beams with Jia’s beam configurations for recovery to improve resources and avoid intersecting as discussed throughout Jia and Biderman.
Regarding Claim 9, Jia discloses a method comprising:
receiving information indicative of at least one expanded transmission
configuration from a node apparatus, wherein (i) the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises beam configuration (i.e., based on the report of the UE, the network device may provide the UE with dedicated configurations for beam failure recovery; see paragraphs [0111] and [0115]); and
in response to receiving the information indicative of the at least one expanded transmission configuration enabling the UE to use the beam configuration to receive signals from the node apparatus (i.e., the terminal equipment may correspondingly restart or stop the timer according to the indication information; see paragraph [0128]).
Although Jia discloses beam configurations, Jia fails to disclose comprises a
primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration and (ii) the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which a user equipment (UE) receives power from the node apparatus and primary beam configuration and/or the secondary beam.
Biderman discloses comprises a primary beam configuration and a secondary
beam configuration and (ii) the primary beam configuration and the secondary beam configuration comprise different angular areas from which a user equipment (UE) receives power from the node apparatus and primary beam configuration and/or the secondary beam (i.e., transmitters 21 and 22 having laser beams (such as a primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration) positioned and directed to cover specific field of views as shown in figure 2). See examiner’s response above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Biderman’s primary and secondary beams with Jia’s beam configurations for recovery to improve resources and avoid intersecting as discussed throughout Jia and Biderman.
Regarding Claim 11, Jia discloses a node apparatus (i.e., network device
1100; see figure 11) comprising:
at least one processor (i.e., processor 1110; se figure 11); and
at least one memory (i.e., memory 1120; see figure 11) including computer
program code (described in paragraph [0199]),
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the
at least one processor, cause the node apparatus at least to perform:
receiving a report from a User Equipment (UE) indicating at least a primary beam configuration and an availability of one or more secondary beam configurations (i.e., For example, if the UE currently has 4 serving beams, when CSI-RS measurement results of 2 serving beams are less than the threshold TH, the UE transmits a report to the network device; and the report may include: an indication that beam failure may possibly occur in the UE, the number of current measurement layers the UE, and high priority indication; see paragraph [0111]); and
in response to receiving the report enabling at least one expanded transmission configuration based, at least in part, on the availability of the one or more secondary beam configurations, wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises the beam configuration (i.e., based on the report of the UE, the network device may provide the UE with dedicated configurations for beam failure recovery; see paragraph [0111]).
Although Jia discloses beam configurations, Jia fails to disclose wherein the
primary beam configuration and the one or more secondary beam configurations comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus, primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration.
Biderman discloses wherein the primary beam configuration and the one or more
secondary beam configurations comprise different angular areas from which the UE receives power from the node apparatus, primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration (i.e., transmitters 21 and 22 having laser beams (such as a primary beam configuration and a secondary beam configuration) positioned and directed to cover specific field of views as shown in figure 2). See examiner’s response above.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Biderman’s primary and secondary beams with Jia’s beam configurations for recovery to improve resources and avoid intersecting as discussed throughout Jia and Biderman.
Regarding Claim 2, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above having at least the primary beam configuration and secondary beam configuration as described above in Biderman. Jia further discloses wherein the information indicative of the at least one expanded transmission configuration is received in response to a report transmitted by the UE indicating at least configuration and an availability of one or more beam configurations (see paragraph [0111]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Biderman’s primary and secondary beams with Jia’s beam configurations for recovery to improve resources and avoid intersecting as discussed throughout Jia and Biderman.
Regarding Claim 3, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above. Jia further discloses wherein the report indicates one or more beam configurations that the UE has determined to be receiving power above a threshold level (see paragraph [0106]).
Regarding Claim 4, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above. Jia fails to disclose wherein (i) the primary beam configuration makes use of a Primary - Angular Power Area (P-APA) and the secondary beam configuration makes use of a Secondary Useable - Angular Power Area (SU- APA) and (ii) an angular power area comprises a range of angular directions from which the UE is receiving power from the node apparatus. Biderman discloses wherein (i) the primary beam configuration makes use of a Primary - Angular Power Area (P-APA) and the secondary beam configuration makes use of a Secondary Useable - Angular Power Area (SU- APA) and (ii) an angular power area comprises a range of angular directions from which the UE is receiving power from the node apparatus (see paragraph [0012]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Biderman’s primary and secondary beams with Jia’s beam configurations for recovery to improve resources and avoid intersecting as discussed throughout Jia and Biderman.
Regarding Claim 12, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as described above. Jia further discloses wherein the report indicates one or more beam configurations that the UE has determined to be receiving power above a threshold level (see paragraph [0106]).
Regarding Claim 13, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as described above. Jia fails to disclose wherein (i) the primary beam configuration makes use of a Primary - Angular Power Area (P-APA) and the secondary beam configuration makes use of a Secondary Useable - Angular Power Area (SU- APA) and (ii) an angular power area comprises a range of angular directions from which the UE is receiving power from the node apparatus. Biderman discloses wherein (i) the primary beam configuration makes use of a Primary - Angular Power Area (P-APA) and the secondary beam configuration makes use of a Secondary Useable - Angular Power Area (SU- APA) and (ii) an angular power area comprises a range of angular directions from which the UE is receiving power from the node apparatus (see paragraph [0012]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Biderman’s primary and secondary beams with Jia’s beam configurations for recovery to improve resources and avoid intersecting as discussed throughout Jia and Biderman.
Regarding Claim 14, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as described above. Jia further discloses wherein the at least one processor and at least one memory are configured to perform transmitting information indicative of the at least one expanded transmission configuration to the UE (see paragraph [0111]).
Regarding Claim 18, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as described above. Jia further discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration is enabled based on one or more requirements of the node apparatus (see paragraphs [0111] and [0115]).
Claim(s) 5-8 and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jia and Biderman in view of Cao, U.S. Publication No. 2021/0273699.
Regarding Claim 5, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above. Jia
and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration is indicated by using one or more bits in a pre- agreed structure within a message. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration is indicated by using one or more bits in a pre- agreed structure within a message (see paragraph [0077]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Regarding Claim 6, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above. Jia
and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises an indication of a cell and a bandwidth part. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises an indication of a cell and a bandwidth part (see paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Regarding Claim 7, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above. Jia
and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration enables the node apparatus to transmit Downlink (DL) signals and/or enables the UE to receive signals based on one or more Quasi Co- Location (QCL) assumptions. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration enables the node apparatus to transmit Downlink (DL) signals and/or enables the UE to receive signals based on one or more Quasi Co- Location (QCL) assumptions (see paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Regarding Claim 8, Jia and Biderman disclose the UE as described above. Jia
and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states (see paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Regarding Claim 15, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as
described above. Jia and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration is indicated by using one or more bits in a pre- agreed structure within a message. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration is indicated by using one or more bits in a pre- agreed structure within a message (see paragraph [0077]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Regarding Claim 16, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as
described above. Jia and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration enables the node apparatus to transmit Downlink (DL) signals and/or enables the UE to receive signals based on one or more Quasi Co- Location (QCL) assumptions. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration enables the node apparatus to transmit Downlink (DL) signals and/or enables the UE to receive signals based on one or more Quasi Co- Location (QCL) assumptions (see paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Regarding Claim 17, Jia and Biderman disclose the node apparatus as
described above. Jia and Biderman fails to disclose wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states. Cao discloses wherein the at least one expanded transmission configuration comprises one or more Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states (see paragraph [0070]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to consider Cao’s invention with Jia’s and Biderman’s invention for preventing degrade system performance and degrade user experience (see paragraph [0005] of Cao).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANTELL L HEIBER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645
July 28, 2026