DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “blocking element” in claim 1 and 8. The claim limitation uses a generic placeholder “element” that is coupled with functional language “blocking” without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function. The generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier in claims 1 and 8.
According to paragraph 0035 in the publication or page 11-13 of the specification, and Fig. 2, The corresponding structure of the “blocking element” is an extension of a corrugation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hong (KR 10-2013-0047825 A).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses a plate (100, Fig. 5) for a heat exchanger (Fig. 4), the plate comprising:
a peripheral rib (a periphery edge of the plate 100 and it appears as a rib in Fig. 4) defining a boundary of the plate (a boundary having two straight opposite sides and two round opposite sides in Fig. 5); and
a plurality of corrugations (150) formed within the peripheral rib of the plate (within the periphery edge),
wherein the corrugations formed on the plate in conjunction with corrugations formed on adjacent overlapping plates (corrugations 150 a middle plate 100 in Fig. 4 contact corrugations 150 in adjacent plates above and below the middle plate) define first fluid flow passages “A” and second fluid flow passages “B” on opposite sides of the plate (a black arrow flow over the middle plate, and a gray arrow flow under the middle plate),
wherein the second fluid flow passages “B” are adjacent to the first fluid flow passages “A” (the black arrow flow over the middle plate and the gray arrow flow under the middle plate are adjacent),
wherein a first set of inlet and outlet holes (openings 111 on opposite diagonal ends of the middle plate) define a first inlet and outlet that are in fluid communication with the first fluid passages “A” (the openings 111 supply and collect the black arrow flow over the middle plate), and
wherein a second set of inlet and outlet holes (openings 121 on another opposite diagonal ends of the middle plate) define a second inlet and outlet that are in fluid communication with the second fluid passages “B” (the openings 121 supply and collect the gray arrow flow under the middle plate),
wherein at least one of the plates comprises at least one blocking element (interception portions S1, Fig. 5, as extensions of the corrugations 150 to block spacing portions S2) formed on the plate (100) and adapted to at least partially block a gap between at least one corrugation of the plurality of corrugations and the peripheral rib (that blocks corrugations 150 with the spacing portions S2),
wherein the corrugations are angular corrugations (corrugations 150 have an angle with the straight edge of the plate 100) that converge on a central axis "C" of the plate from the peripheral rib (the corrugations converge on a central axis in an annotated figure 5 below), and
wherein the at least one blocking element extends from the peripheral rib till an extreme end of the angular corrugations converging on the central axis "C" of the plate (the interception portions S1 extend from the straight periphery edge till an extreme end of the corrugations 150 defining the spacing portions S2, see “extension” in the annotated figure below).
Regarding claim 6, Hong in claim 1 further discloses wherein the blocking element extends from at least one of the adjacent plates (the interception portions S1 of a plate extend from a contact point of at least one of the adjacent plates, see cross-section of the interception portion S1 in Fig. 6), and wherein the blocking element is adapted to at least partially block a gap between an extreme end of at least one corrugation of the plurality of corrugations and a corresponding peripheral rib formed on one of the adjacent plates (the interception portion S1 blocks a gap between the extreme end and the rib in annotated figure 6 below).
Regarding claim 7, Hong in claim 1 further discloses wherein the blocking element is inclined towards the corrugations (the interception portions S1 is inclined towards the corrugations 150) and directs fluid to the fluid flow passages defined by the corrugations (the interception portions S1 blocks the spacing portions S2 and directs the fluid to an open space around the corrugations in the passage).
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses a heat exchanger (Fig. 4) comprising:
a plurality of plates (plurality of plates 100, Fig. 4) stacked overlapping with respect to each other (Fig. 4),
each plate (100) comprising:
a peripheral rib (a periphery edge of the plate 100 and it appears as a rib in Fig. 4) defining a boundary of the plate (a boundary having two straight opposite sides and two round opposite sides in Fig. 5);
a plurality of corrugations (150) formed on a plate (middle plate in Fig. 4) in conjunction with corrugations (150) on an adjacent overlapping plate (a plate below the middle plate in Fig .4), which together define first fluid flow passages “A” and second fluid flow passages “B” on opposite sides of the plate (the black arrow flow over the middle plate and the gray arrow flow under the middle plate),
wherein the second fluid flow passages “B” are adjacent to the first fluid flow passages “A” (the black arrow flow and the gray arrow flow are adjacent);
a first (openings 111 on opposite diagonal ends of the middle plate) and second set of inlet and outlet holes (openings 121 on another opposite diagonal ends of the middle plate),
a first inlet and outlet defined by the first set of inlet and outlet holes (the openings 111),
wherein the first inlet and outlet are in fluid communication with the first fluid flow passages for ingress and egress of first fluid with respect to the first fluid passages “A” (the openings 111 supply and collect the black arrow flow over the middle plate); and
a second inlet and outlet defined by the second set of inlet and outlet holes (the openings 121),
wherein the second inlet and outlet are in fluid communication with the second fluid flow passages for ingress and egress of second fluid with respect to the second fluid passages “B” (the openings 121 supply and collect the gray arrow flow under the middle plate),
wherein at least one of the plates comprises at least one blocking element (interception portions S1, Fig. 5, as extensions of the corrugations 150 to block spacing portions S2) formed on the plate (100) and adapted to at least partially block a gap between at least one corrugation of the plurality of corrugations and the peripheral rib (that blocks corrugations 150 with the spacing portions S2),
wherein the corrugations are angular corrugations (corrugations 150 have an angle with the straight edge of the plate 100) that converge on a central axis "C" of the plate from the peripheral rib (the corrugations converge on a central axis in an annotated figure 5 above), and
wherein the at least one blocking element extends from the peripheral rib till an extreme end of the angular corrugations converging on the central axis "C" of the plate (the interception portions S1 extend from the straight periphery edge till an extreme end of the corrugations 150 defining the spacing portions S2, see “extension” in the annotated figure above).
Regarding claim 9, Hong in claim 8 further discloses wherein the first inlet and outlet are defined by aligning a first set of inlet and outlet holes formed on the respective adjacent plates (see the diagonal openings 111 are aligned in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Hong in claim 8 further discloses wherein the second inlet and outlet are defined by aligning the second set of inlet and outlet holes formed on the respective adjacent plates (see the diagonal openings 121 are also aligned in Fig. 4).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 8 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/F.K.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3763