DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed on 07/29/2025 and 03/26/2024 comply with all application rules and regulations. Therefore, the information referred to therein have been considered
Claim Objection
Claims 6-8, and 20 objected to because of the following informalities:
• Claim 8, line 4, missing colon or semicolon.
• Claims 6, 7, 20 are included “and/or” interpreted as “or” since no definition for them
in the specification.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification Objection
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the
disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a
separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the
disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the
full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in
the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The use of the term Bluetooth, Wi-Fi, Zigbee or Z-Wave which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore, the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18, 21 and 23 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second
paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential structural cooperative relationships of
elements, such omission amounting to a gap between the necessary structural connections.
See MPEP § 2172.01.
The omitted structural cooperative relationships are missing the structure causes the device to perform the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 12, 14-20, 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atawia et al. (EP-3337221-A1), in view of Rappaport et al. (US-20060019679-A1).
As to claims 1, 3-7 see similar rejections to claims 14, 16-20 respectively. The apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 12 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the method of claim 1.
Atawia teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions for causing a device to perform the method of claim 1 ([0144] states “some embodiments are also intended to cover program storage devices, e.g., digital data storage media, which are machine or computer readable and encode machine-executable or computer-executable programs of instructions, wherein said instructions perform some or all of the steps of said above-described methods“ that implies transitory computer readable storage medium storing a computer program comprising computer-executable instructions for causing a device to perform the method, see also [0147]).
Regarding claim 14 (Currently Amended), Atawia teaches a device configured to remotely control deployment of a fixed wireless access (FWA) device ([0001] states “method for optimizing a deployment of an access network in a home network; to an access node for providing access to a home network; to a controller for controlling an access nod” and [0008] states “first aspect of the present invention there is provided a method for optimizing a deployment of an access node in a home network.” [0031] states “The access node may comprise: a backhaul interface configured for coupling the access node to a backbone network; a fronthaul interface configured for wirelessly coupling the access node to a user device” which confirm the apparatus for remotely controlling the FWA device, where the FWA is designed for deployment in a fixed location, as described in [0031], see also [0070 and [0069]-[0070] describe how the access node can be connected with master node (BS)) comprising: a processing unit; and a memory, said memory containing instructions executable by said processing unit (Fig. 7, [0047]-[0052] and [0146] describe the processor and memory types that can be included in the devise, the computer-executable program of instructions to perform, when executed on a computer the processor can perform the steps of the method), wherein the radio base station is operative ([0018] and [0020] illustrate the master access node serves as the central node that connected the FWA/AP to the backbone network for communication between the devices and the network infrastructure) to: determine quality of a first radio channel established with the FWA device to be deployed ([0008] describes the determination of the signal parameter pertaining to decide whether the quality of the radio channel meets the user’s requirements, as indicated in [0028]. [0058] provides the signal parameter measurement and [0118]-[0119] describes the parameters, such as RSSI [0118], channel capacity [0124], throughput and latency [0116], which are the key indicators of the measuring the quality of a wireless s communication channel as stated in [0105]. Theses parameters can be compared with reference values (thresholds) [0098] for determining the quality (performance) of the first channel established with FWA device.); determine quality of at least a second radio channel established with a wireless communication device being located in a vicinity of the FWA device to be deployed ([0022] states “monitoring respective signal strength parameters of neighboring access nodes and/or neighboring user devices; and detecting whether at least one of the monitored respective signal strength parameters changed more than a predetermined third threshold.” And Claim 6. That implies the system can measure and monitor the channel quality that established with other neighbored wireless devices, see also [0030], [0106]-[0107]);
Atawia does not explicitly teach determine a difference in quality between the first and the at least one second radio channel, and if the quality of the second channel exceeds the quality of the first channel by a quality threshold value, indicate a redeployment action to be performed for the FWA device to increase the quality of the first radio channel
However, Rappaport teaches determine a difference in quality between the first and the at least one second radio channel (Abstract clearly provides that Measured RF channel characteristics for wireless devices are compared against the performance lookup tables to determine the set of lookup tables that most closely match the measured RF channel characteristics., see also [0010]. [0055] states “the present invention may utilize predictive models to calculate one or more RF channel characteristics given known or supposed network equipment within the environment; these calculated RF channel characteristics are stored in lookup tables that correlate multiple RF channel characteristics with a position in the environment” where for example, RF channel characteristics such as RSSI, SIR, SNR, delay spread, and other parameters as stated in [0058]), where [0067] states “This is accomplished by comparing the measured RF channel characteristics or performance of the wireless device with predicted RF channel characteristics in lookup tables.” That explain how determine a difference in quality between the first and the at least one second radio channel, the system always monitor the performance of the FWA, even after the redeployment, as stated in [0150]); and if the quality of the second channel exceeds the quality of the first channel by a quality threshold value, indicate a redeployment action to be performed for the FWA device to increase the quality of the first radio channel ([0067] states “the present invention determines the set of lookup tables providing the best match with the measured RF channel characteristics and performance to identify possible positions of the wireless devices.” Where [0118] describes the collecting measurements for the RF channel characteristics (also referred to as performance) may include received signal strength intensity (RSSI), throughput, BER, PER, FER, system noise (SNR), system interference (SIR), delay spread levels, power delay profile, packet jitter, quality of service (QoS), packet error rate, and packet latency, and compare them with threshold values as stated in [0187]. [0222] and [0226] describe an example that the system can adjust the power of the FWA device, as redeployment action that can be performed for the FWA device, to improve the quality of the channel, first channel. [0233] lines 5-15 describes another example for redeployment/reassign the FWA device to the second channel for better quality connection with the neighbor wireless device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia to incorporate the teachings of Rappaport (in analogous art) by adding send control information to an app executing on a device of the user guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action. This allows the mobile network client to configure itself much more efficiently for its desired level of network performance and interaction without wasting battery life, (Rappaport, [0228], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 15 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 14.
Atawia teaches further being operative to indicate the redeployment action to be performed to a user of the FWA device ([0062] states “It may further be configured for providing the determined at least one redeployment recommendation to the access node 110 (for example in particular to the physical output interface 114 via a connection 170) for outputting, preferably in user-comprehensible form on the basis of the physical output 150 as such, the determined at least one redeployment recommendation” Another example in [0017], lines 15-20 states “if the user response is detected, respectively associating a detected change in at least one signal parameter pertaining to at least one of the backhaul interface and the fronthaul interface, with the determined at least one redeployment recommendation.” That confirms the device can indicate the redeployment action to be performed to the user of the FWA) , an operator of a network serving the FWA device or a 3rd party.
Regarding claim 16 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 15, further being operative to,
Atawia further teaches when indicating the redeployment action: send control information to the FWA device being configured to control a visual indicator of the FWA device guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action ([0035] illustrates that the diagnostic module of the controller may be configured for obtaining the signal parameter and the recommendation module of the controller may be configured for providing the determined redeployment recommendation to the physical output interface of the access node, see also [0038]. [0033] states “the physical output interface may comprise at least one of the following: a display configured for visual output” and [0013] confirms that the physical output interface may comprise at least one of: a display configured for visual output. [0102] lines 8-12 describes how to guide the user to perform the redeployment action with instructions “the access node may display a message on a display, the message indicating in natural language form a redeployment recommendation such as "Move the access node 5 meters closer to the user device" or the like.”).
Regarding claim 17 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 15, further being operative to, when indicating the redeployment action:
Atawia further teaches send control information to the FWA device being configured to control an audio indicator of the FWA device guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action ([0014] states “the output may be a textual representation, preferably in natural language form. In another exemplary embodiment, the output may be a pictorial representation. If the physical output interface comprises a speaker configured for auditory output, the output may for example be a spoken message in natural language form”, [0034]and [0136] states also “The physical output interface 714 may for example comprise a display configured for visual output, and/or a speaker configured for auditory output”. From the above, we can conclude that the control information to the FWA can be used to control the audio indicator for directing the user on how to perform the redeployment process).
Regarding claim 18 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of any one of claim 15, further being operative to, when indicating the redeployment action:
Atawia does not explicitly teach send control information to an app executing on a device of the user guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action.
However, Rappaport teaches send control information to an app executing on a device of the user guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action ([0031] lines 7-14, [0080] and [0209] states “This position information along with the site-specific environment model and/or the performance lookup tables can be provided to the new devices and applications depending on their authorization to receive it. In this situation, new devices connected to the network can automatically receive information on their current position as well as the position and configuration information for nearby wireless equipment.” That allowed the device to make very accurate decisions regarding what its own configuration should be, based on its location. [0226] and [0227] states “ the present invention can then communicate the new configuration or operating state information to the network devices 1700, 1702, 1708 using some form of communication protocol (which is an application). The present invention may effect this communication of new configuration or operating state information automatically or manually. The present invention may also display or notify a human observer or network administrator or technician using a computerized display or audible alert of the desirable configuration or operating state information.” see also claims 27 and 29. These sections confirm that the system can send the control messages/instructions to the user devices to guide then in performing the redeployment process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia to incorporate the teachings of Rappaport (in analogous art) by adding send control information to an app executing on a device of the user guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action. This allows the mobile network client to configure itself much more efficiently for its desired level of network performance and interaction without wasting battery life, (Rappaport, [0228], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 19 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 15.
Atawia further teaches the redeployment action being configured to comprise one or more of moving the FWA device to a different location ([0075] states “The redeployment recommendation may for example be to move the access node AN1 to a second location 312. The access node AN1, when newly situated at that second location 312, is denoted in the figure as access node AN1'. In this particular example, the redeployment recommendation may comprise a change of location (here shown as a direct displacement 32)” which implies the redeployment action may include a configuration for moving the FWA device to a different location).
Atawia fails to teach and redirecting one or more antennas with which the FWA device is equipped.
However, Rappaport teaches and redirecting one or more antennas with which the FWA device is equipped ([0118] lines 11-16 states ” it may be possible for the measuring devices 101 to determine the current configuration of the wireless devices 100 being measured, such as the current transmit power, channel, orientation, antenna configuration, current access point or carrier association, and other device configuration information. “ and [0168] states “Configuration information for each device may include but is not limited to: frequency, channel, bandwidth, modulation scheme, air interface, wireless standard, communication protocol, transmit power, antenna type, antenna orientation, current state of antenna lobes or radiation pattern for electrically steered or "smart" antennas, distribution system information”. These sections indicate that the direction/orientation of the devices can be adjusted as a part of redeployment process).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia to incorporate the teachings of Rappaport (in analogous art) by adding send control information to an app executing on a device of the user guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action. This allows the mobile network client to configure itself much more efficiently for its desired level of network performance and interaction without wasting battery life, (Rappaport, [0228], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 20 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 19.
Atawia further teaches the redeployment action being configured to assign a quality measure to each of a number of different locations to which the FWA device can be moved ([0004] lines 1-6 states “the home network owner (e.g. an operator) may determine the optimal location of the access nodes. These approaches typically use the indoor layout and user information (such as user location and traffic) to evaluate multiple candidate locations for placing the access nodes “ and [0064] lines 2-6 states “the access node 110 may evaluate its current position and may provide redeployment recommendations to the user for new positions or parameter configurations.” And [0118] states “a cause of user dissatisfaction and the reason of sub-optimality in the current position may be detected, for example by measuring a signal parameter, such as RSSI of fronthaul and backhaul, and by comparing these to predetermined thresholds.” These parts provide that the quality measure for each position/location can be calculated to select the optimal location for the FWA) and/or to each of a number of different antenna directions.
Regarding claim 25 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 14,
Atawia does not explicitly teach the device being a radio base station serving the FWA device and the wireless communication device, or a radio base station serving the FWA device while receiving an indication of the quality of the at least a second radio channel from a neighboring radio base station serving the wireless communication device, or a central device communicating with a first radio base station serving the wireless communication device and a second radio base station serving the FW A device.
However, Rappaport teaches the device being a radio base station serving the FWA device and the wireless communication device ([0059], lines 11-28 illustrates the role of a BS as the key component of the infrastructure of any wireless communication network. [0060] describes the role of the BS to provide the connectivity to the wireless device within its coverage area, where FWA which relay on the communication with the BS to connect to the network as stated in [0005], lines 10-13. [0117] describes the BS can serves as a measuring device to detect and measure the RF channel characteristics or performance metrics of the wireless devices within the coverage area, and [0205] lines 9-12 states “a mobile client device is the measuring device 101 while the wireless devices 100 being measured are network devices, such as access points, antennas, or base stations. “ which implies the connectivity between the wireless device and the BS for doing some measurements. [0210] provides the sharing of information among the BS and other wireless devices, including FWA and UEs, may be accomplished through any form of communication protocol or interface that allows for the transfer for data across a medium), or a radio base station serving the FWA device while receiving an indication of the quality of the at least a second radio channel from a neighboring radio base station serving the wireless communication device, or a central device communicating with a first radio base station serving the wireless communication device and a second radio base station serving the FW A device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia to incorporate the teachings of Rappaport (in analogous art) by adding send control information to an app executing on a device of the user guiding the user on how to perform the redeployment action. This allows the mobile network client to configure itself much more efficiently for its desired level of network performance and interaction without wasting battery life, (Rappaport, [0228], lines 1-3).
Claims 8, 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atawia et al. (EP-3337221-A1), in view of Rappaport et al. (US-20060019679-A1), further in view of Bendlin et al. (US-20190116500-A1).
Regarding claim 8 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the method of any one of the preceding claims of claim 1,
Atawia further teaches determining a location of the wireless communication device, and the wireless communication device is considered to be located in a vicinity of the FWA device to be deployed if the distance between the two devices does not exceed a set maximum distance (d) ([0126] states in a) “d.sub.b may be the distance between the access node and its master access node, while d.sub.f is the distance between the access node and the user device.” And c) states “which may be obtained at a new distance d.sub.f'. By using the fronthaul relations described above in step b), the new distance may be determined, and X may for example be calculated as X= d.sub.f - d.sub.f'.” which means the value X can be any value between d.sub.f - d.sub.f', which is represented a set of allowed distance between the two devices).
Atawia and Rappaport fail to teach wherein the determining of the quality of the first radio channel further comprises: determining a location of the FWA device to be deployed the determining of the quality of the at least one second radio channel further comprises: determining a location of the wireless communication device
However, Bendlin teaches wherein the determining of the quality of the first radio channel further comprises: determining a location of the FWA device to be deployed (Fig. 3 and claim 1 states “capturing, at a first position comprising a first location and a first spatial orientation of the device, a first measurement of a performance indicator based upon at least a first wireless signal from a base station of a beamformed wireless communication network” where the location can be determined using different methods, as stated in [0058], and then the location information to select the best position of the device to be deployed [0011]); the determining of the quality of the at least one second radio channel further comprises: determining a location of the wireless communication device (Claim 1 states “capturing, at a second position comprising the first location and a second spatial orientation of the device, a second measurement of the performance indicator based upon at least a second wireless signal from the base station of the beamformed wireless communication network “ and [0063] states “At step 380, the processing system provides at least one instruction for the deployment of the device at the position that is selected. For instance, the position that is selected may comprise the first location or the second location (as well as a spatial orientation)”, where the wireless device can be UE, AP or CPE [0003] and [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia in view of Rappaport to incorporate the teachings of Bendlin (in analogous art) by adding determining the quality of the at least one second radio channel further: determine a location of the wireless communication device to provide a method with optimizing the placement and orientation of CPE/FWA to ensure high throughput and low latency (Bendlin, [0228], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 21 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of any one of claim 15, further being operative to,
Atawia and Rappaport fail to teach when determining the quality of the first radio channel: determine a location of the FWA device to be deployed; and when determining the quality of the at least one second radio channel further: determine a location of the wireless communication device.
However, Bendlin teaches when determining the quality of the first radio channel:
determine a location of the FWA device to be deployed (Fig. 3 and claim 1 states “capturing, at a first position comprising a first location and a first spatial orientation of the device, a first measurement of a performance indicator based upon at least a first wireless signal from a base station of a beamformed wireless communication network” where the location can be determined using different methods, as stated in [0058], and then the location information to select the best position of the device to be deployed [0011]); and when determining the quality of the at least one second radio channel further: determine a location of the wireless communication device (Claim 1 states “capturing, at a second position comprising the first location and a second spatial orientation of the device, a second measurement of the performance indicator based upon at least a second wireless signal from the base station of the beamformed wireless communication network “ and [0063] states “At step 380, the processing system provides at least one instruction for the deployment of the device at the position that is selected. For instance, the position that is selected may comprise the first location or the second location (as well as a spatial orientation)”, where the wireless device can be UE, AP or CPE [0003] and [0034]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia in view of Rappaport to incorporate the teachings of Bendlin (in analogous art) by adding determining the quality of the at least one second radio channel further: determine a location of the wireless communication device to provide a method with optimizing the placement and orientation of CPE/FWA to ensure high throughput and low latency (Bendlin, [0228], lines 1-3).
Regarding claim 22 (Currently Amended), Atawia, Rappaport and Bendlin teach the device of claim 21,.
Atawia further teaches wherein the wireless communication device is considered to be located in a vicinity of the FWA device to be deployed if the distance between the two devices does not exceed a set maximum distance (d) ([0126] states in a) “d.sub.b may be the distance between the access node and its master access node, while d.sub.f is the distance between the access node and the user device.” And c) states “which may be obtained at a new distance d.sub.f'. By using the fronthaul relations described above in step b), the new distance may be determined, and X may for example be calculated as X= d.sub.f - d.sub.f'.” which means the value X can be any value between d.sub.f - d.sub.f', which is represented a set of allowed distance between the two devices).
Claims 10, 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Atawia et al. (EP-3337221-A1), in view of Rappaport et al. (US-20060019679-A1), further in view of Hermersdorf et al. (US-20090262673-A1).
As to claim 10 see similar rejections to claim 23, the apparatus teaches the method.
Regarding claim 23 (Currently Amended), Atawia and Rappaport teach the device of claim 15, further being operative to:
Atawia and Rappaport fail to teach detect type of FWA device to be deployed, the detected FWA device type being taking into account when determining the redeployment action to be performed, wherein the detecting type of FWA device to be deployed comprises detecting whether the FWA device is stationary or semi-stationary.
However, Hermersdorf teaches detect type of FWA device to be deployed, the detected FWA device type being taking into account when determining the redeployment action to be performed, wherein the detecting type of FWA device to be deployed comprises detecting whether the FWA device is stationary or semi-stationary (Claim 22 states “a detector configured to determine that a wireless device is stationary; and a processor configured to change an operating mode of the wireless device from mobile mode to access point mode, in response to said detector.” That implies the system is capable to detect the type of the wireless device, which can be achieved by different ways: [0005] using charger connection; [0006] using passive/active sensors; [0032]detection the user activities. [0029] describes the system uses the sensors to detect the change in the movement (stationary or semi stationary (moving). [0012] states “when the wireless device is in the access point mode, the method can enable the wireless device to provide stationary location services to other mobile wireless devices, such as providing the absolute position of the wireless device to other mobile wireless devices or by providing information on geographically local points of interest to other mobile wireless devices.” [0013] describes the system is designed to dynamically switch between mobile mode and access point mode based on the state of device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Atawia in view of Rappaport teach to incorporate the teachings of Hermersdorf (in analogous art) by adding determining whether the FWA device is stationary or semi-stationary to improve the user experience with seamless connectivity (Hermersdorf, [0049], lines 1-4).
Relevant Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's
disclosure.
Sheu et al. (US-20130130732-A1), Sukiasyan et al. (US-20100316003-A1), Sidi et al. (US-20100041429-A1), and Monogioudis et al. (US-20120108246-A1) teach methods for optimization the deployment of the access nodes in a stationary/semi-stationary network or indoor environments with a wireless connection.
Conclusion
/SANAA AL SAMAHI/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463