DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communication filed on 4/21/2026.
Claims 1-13 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, and 13 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026, with respects to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 13 have under 35 USC § 103 been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection of claims 1-13 under 35 USC § 103 as being unpatentable over Wyatt et al. (US 2017/0346853) in view of Huang et al. (US 2011/0117905) is maintained for the reason set forth in the previous Office and as further explained below.
The amendments to claims 1, 2, and 13 are primarily grammatical and structural clean-up regarding the “either … or” language around the certificate, hash, and PSK alternatives. These amendments do not patentably distinguish the claims over the cited prior art. The detail mapping set forth in the previous Office Action applies equally to the amended claims.
Applicant’s primary argument is that neither Wyatt nor Huang, alone or in combination, teaches or suggest “obtaining one or more configuration parameters for establishing a Transport Layer Security, TLS, session between the client application and a trusted server application, the one or more configuration parameters comprising: a hash of the certificate of the trusted server application” as recited in amended claim 1 (and similarly in claim 13). Applicant acknowledges that Wyatt teaches certificate and key pinning in which a client application has prior knowledge of pinning information (including hashes of certificates or public keys), and during a TLS handshake, receives a certificate from a server, computes a hash of the received certificate, and compares it to a pinned/expected hash value to detect mismatch or failure (e.g., MITM). However, Applicant contends that Wyatt obtains the full certificate from the server and then computes the hash client-side, rather than obtaining the hash itself as a configuration parameter. Applicant further asserts that “a hash of a certificate of the trusted server application is received by the client application from the server application”.
These arguments are not persuasive and mischaracterize both the claim language and the teaching of Wyatt.
First, the pinning and hash comparison teaching quoted in the Remarks (including the language at what Applicant labeled as Huang paragraph [0072] regarding “prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information” and the failure of a pinned connection on mismatch, as well as the hash comparison) are teaching of Wyatt, not Huang. The Office corrects the record on this misattribution.
Second, Wyatt explicitly teaches that the client application obtains (has “prior knowledge of”) pinning information that can comprise or consist of a hash of the trusted server’s certificate (or public key information contained in the certificate) as configuration data for TLS verification. See, Wyatt [0072] “Certificate or key pinning is a well-known method in which an application has prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information contained in such certificates, that are considered allowable for connection to a particular destination host”, [0210] “a CSP (operating in any of modes (1), (2), or (3)) observes the server certificate chain information that is part of a TLS handshake protocol for a DESTHOST. The CSP may determine, according to a policy 318 having a common use certificate checking qualifier, whether the certificate chain used matches one of the certificates used in an historical store of certificate information by DESTHOST, or matches certificate information for DESTHOST obtained by the CSP requesting current certificate information for DESTHOST from security server 320. Security server 320 determines the current certificate information for DESTHOST by performing at least the first part of a TLS handshake protocol with DESTHOST to obtain the server certificate information from the DESTHOST”, [0213] “a policy may additionally specify pinning information for certificates for a particular DESTHOST, where pinning information is information that can be used to verify that a particular certificate, or a public key contained in a certificate, is present for communications to that particular DESTHOST. Pinning information may be collected by CSPs on computing devices: by observing actual certificates in use for a DESTHOST; or by observing HPKP directives in HTTP headers sent from a DESTHOST (HPKP is the Request for Comments (RFC) 7469, Public Key Pinning Extension for HTTP)”.
Wyatt further teaches that the client computes a hash (e.g., SHA256 or SPKI hash) of the certificate received during the TLS handshake and compares it to the pinned/expected hash value, with mismatch constituting an error/failure. See, Wyatt [0072] “Certificate or key pinning is a well-known method in which an application has prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information contained in such certificates, that are considered allowable for connection to a particular destination host. If an application makes a network connection to a particular destination host and the received certificates or certificate chain information do not match the pinning information, the pinned network connection is said to fail”, [0210] “a CSP (operating in any of modes (1), (2), or (3)) observes the server certificate chain information that is part of a TLS handshake protocol for a DESTHOST. The CSP may determine, according to a policy 318 having a common use certificate checking qualifier, whether the certificate chain used matches one of the certificates used in an historical store of certificate information by DESTHOST, or matches certificate information for DESTHOST obtained by the CSP requesting current certificate information for DESTHOST from security server 320. Security server 320 determines the current certificate information for DESTHOST by performing at least the first part of a TLS handshake protocol with DESTHOST to obtain the server certificate information from the DESTHOST”. These are examples of the mechanism recited in amended claim 1 and 2 as interpreted as:
obtain configuration parameters comprising (expected) hash of the trusted server’s certificate;
perform TLS handshake during which the client receives a certificate from the server application;
compute a hash of the received certificate;
compare the hash from the configuration parameters to the computed hash; and
determine error on mismatch.
The fact that the full certificate (rather than merely its hash) is received from the server during the TLS handshake is not a distinction, it is a necessary and inherent step to enable computation of the hash for comparison against the pre-obtained pinned hash. HPKP style pinning (referenced in Wyatt) was specifically designed to use compact hashes for bandwidth and storage efficiency, the same efficiency rationale of the instant application. Wyatt’s client “has prior knowledge of” or is configured with the pinning hash via policy, trusted store, or prior observation. This discloses the limitation “obtaining one or more configuration parameters … comprising a hash of a certificate”.
Third, amended independent claim 1 does not require that the hash in the configuration parameters be received from the server application. The claim require only that the client application obtain configuration parameters that comprises the hash (or certificate or PSK). During the handshake, the client receives the certificate from the server application.
Applicant’s arguments do not address with any particularity the mapping or motivation for the “responsive to determining that the error has occurred, performing one or more actions that directly or indirectly trigger reinitialization of the one or more configuration parameters” limitation, nor do they traverse the motivation to combine Wyatt with Huang. As set forth in the previous Office Action, Wyatt teaches responses to detected certificate anomalies or pinning failures (including reporting anomalies to a security server/network node, breaking the connection, switching networks, or applying policy, action that directly or indirectly require or trigger reset or reacquisition of valid TLS configuration parameters).
Huang supplements this by teaching that, upon detected failure or error in a cellular connection (e.g., radio resource failure), the terminal initiates a reestablishment require that cases the network to deliver reinitialized/reconfigured parameters for the connection/session. See Huang [0028-0034] Step S01-Step S03.
For at least the foregoing reasons, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Claims 1-13 remain rejected under 35 USC § 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wyatt et al. (US 2017/0346853) in view of Huang et al. (US 2011/0117905).
Regarding claim 1, Wyatt discloses a method performed by a client application, comprising:
obtaining one or more configuration parameters for establishing a Transport Layer Security, TLS, session between the client application and a trusted server application, the one or more configuration parameters comprising: a hash of the certificate of the trusted server application (Wyatt discloses obtaining configuration parameter, including pinning information such as hashes of certificates or public keys, for establishing TLS sessions. The client application (AMD) has prior knowledge of pinning information (hashes) for trusted servers, obtained from policies or trusted stores; see [0072] “AMD 304 may periodically perform active MITM detection methods without triggering by a network change event. Certificate or key pinning is a well-known method in which an application has prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information contained in such certificates, that are considered allowable for connection to a particular destination host”, See Wyatt [0072] “Certificate or key pinning is a well-known method in which an application has prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information contained in such certificates, that are considered allowable for connection to a particular destination host”, [0210] “a CSP (operating in any of modes (1), (2), or (3)) observes the server certificate chain information that is part of a TLS handshake protocol for a DESTHOST. The CSP may determine, according to a policy 318 having a common use certificate checking qualifier, whether the certificate chain used matches one of the certificates used in an historical store of certificate information by DESTHOST, or matches certificate information for DESTHOST obtained by the CSP requesting current certificate information for DESTHOST from security server 320. Security server 320 determines the current certificate information for DESTHOST by performing at least the first part of a TLS handshake protocol with DESTHOST to obtain the server certificate information from the DESTHOST”, [0213] “a policy may additionally specify pinning information for certificates for a particular DESTHOST, where pinning information is information that can be used to verify that a particular certificate, or a public key contained in a certificate, is present for communications to that particular DESTHOST. Pinning information may be collected by CSPs on computing devices: by observing actual certificates in use for a DESTHOST; or by observing HPKP directives in HTTP headers sent from a DESTHOST (HPKP is the Request for Comments (RFC) 7469, Public Key Pinning Extension for HTTP)”.);
performing a TLS handshake procedure with a server application during which the client application receives a certificate from the server application (Wyatt discloses performing a TLS handshake where the client receives the server’s certificate and chain during the handshake for verification; [0188] “During the TLS handshake protocol a certificate or certificate chain for a destination host are sent from the destination host to CSP 310”);
determining that an error has occurred based on: a comparison of: the hash of the certificate of the trusted server application and a computed hash of the certificate received from the server application during the TLS handshake (Wyatt discloses determining errors based on hash or certificate comparisons during the TLS handshake. The client computes and compares hashes (e.g., SHA256, or SPKI hashes) of received certificates against pinned/expected values; See Wyatt [0072] “Certificate or key pinning is a well-known method in which an application has prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information contained in such certificates, that are considered allowable for connection to a particular destination host. If an application makes a network connection to a particular destination host and the received certificates or certificate chain information do not match the pinning information, the pinned network connection is said to fail”, [0210] “a CSP (operating in any of modes (1), (2), or (3)) observes the server certificate chain information that is part of a TLS handshake protocol for a DESTHOST. The CSP may determine, according to a policy 318 having a common use certificate checking qualifier, whether the certificate chain used matches one of the certificates used in an historical store of certificate information by DESTHOST, or matches certificate information for DESTHOST obtained by the CSP requesting current certificate information for DESTHOST from security server 320. Security server 320 determines the current certificate information for DESTHOST by performing at least the first part of a TLS handshake protocol with DESTHOST to obtain the server certificate information from the DESTHOST”).
The prior art does not explicitly disclose responsive to determining that the error has occurred, performing one or more actions that directly or indirectly trigger reinitialization of the one or more configuration parameters.
Huang in the field of the same endeavor discloses techniques for LTE RRC connection re-establishment in a cellular network, where upon detecting an error (e.g., radio resource failure, bottom layer error), the terminal initiates a re-establishment request with a cause value, triggering reinitialization of configuration of parameters. In particular, Huang teaches the following:
responsive to determining that the error has occurred, performing one or more actions that directly or indirectly trigger reinitialization of the one or more configuration parameters (Huang discloses that upon determining a failure/error, the LTE terminal performs actions (initiating RRC connection re-establishment request) that trigger reinitialization of the configuration parameters in the cellular network; see [0056] “the LTE terminal initiates the RRC connection re-establishment request to a network side, wherein the RRC connection re-establishment request includes a failure cause value indicating the failure reason”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to modify the prior art with the teaching of Huang to incorporate techniques for LTE RRC connection re-establishment in a cellular network. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to combine the prior art to explicitly incorporate a standardized re-establishment request mechanism upon detecting connection errors, thereby enhancing the reliability and recovery process for secure TLS sessions in cellular network by triggering reinitialization of configuration parameters in a predictable manner.
Regarding claim 2, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the method further comprises:
computing the hash of the certificate received from the server application during the TLS handshake (Wyatt [0072] “Certificate or key pinning is a well-known method in which an application has prior knowledge of pinning information, i.e., the certificates, or the certificate chain information, or the public key information contained in such certificates, that are considered allowable for connection to a particular destination host. If an application makes a network connection to a particular destination host and the received certificates or certificate chain information do not match the pinning information, the pinned network connection is said to fail”, [0210] “a CSP (operating in any of modes (1), (2), or (3)) observes the server certificate chain information that is part of a TLS handshake protocol for a DESTHOST. The CSP may determine, according to a policy 318 having a common use certificate checking qualifier, whether the certificate chain used matches one of the certificates used in an historical store of certificate information by DESTHOST, or matches certificate information for DESTHOST obtained by the CSP requesting current certificate information for DESTHOST from security server 320. Security server 320 determines the current certificate information for DESTHOST by performing at least the first part of a TLS handshake protocol with DESTHOST to obtain the server certificate information from the DESTHOST”); and
determining that the error has occurred comprises:
comparing the hash of the certificate of the trusted server application comprised in the one or more configuration parameters and the hash of the received certificate (Wyatt [0210] “…whether the certificate chain used matches one of the certificates used in an historical store of certificate information by DESTHOST… If the certificate chain information matches, the CSP allows the network connection to continue… If the certificate does not succeed, the CSP warns the user, or sends a notice to security server 320… or breaks the network connection…” and [0213] “…pinning information is information that can be used to verify that a particular certificate, or a public key contained in a certificate, is present for communications to that particular DESTHOST”); and
determining that there is an error based on a result of comparing the hash of the certificate of the trusted server application comprised in the one or more configuration parameters and the hash of the received certificate (Wyatt [0215] “In any of the above embodiments for policy based detection of a certificate being used where the certificate does not match a commonly used certificate or a certificate allowed by policy, such a detection is considered another form of MITM detection, and one or more of the previously responses to MITM detection are taken” and [0188] “SP 310 may inspect the certificates for anomalies (such as invalid values in certificate fields, or expired certificates) and may interrogate locally cached or remote certificate revocation list information. In an embodiment, anomalies in certificates may be reported to security server 320, and CSP 310 may display a warning on computing device 200, or break the network connection, or a combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 3, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 2 wherein the one or more configuration parameters comprise an Internet Protocol, IP, address associated to the trusted server application, an indication of a security protocol type, and a TLS for Authentication record, TLSA, that contains the hash of the certificate of the trusted server application (Wyatt [0037] “These communication protocols may include TCP/IP, UDP, HTTP protocols, wireless application protocol (WAP), BLUETOOTH, Zigbee, 802.11, 802.15, 6LoWPAN, LiFi, Google Weave, NFC, GSM, CDMA, other cellular data communication protocols, wireless telephony protocols, Internet telephony, IP telephony, digital voice, voice over broadband (VoBB), broadband telephony, Voice over IP (VoIP), vendor-specific protocols, customized protocols, and others”).
Regarding claim 4, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 3 wherein the one or more configuration parameters further comprise a port number (Wyatt [0223] “Whether and HTTPS or a TLS connection is being requested may be known initially by the requested port (e.g., port 443 is conventionally used for HTTPS while port 80 is used for HTTP, port 995 is conventionally used to make a secure POPS connection, while port 110 is used for non-encrypted POPS connections, and similarly for various other protocols), or by a known history of network connection behavior for a given CAPP. In an embodiment, security server 320 has stored information about which destination hosts a given CAPP connects to, and characteristics of how the CAPP connects, including which port(s), which protocol(s), and whether communications are encrypted or not”).
Regarding claim 5, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 3 wherein the one or more configuration parameters further comprise an authentication domain name (Wyatt discloses configuration parameters for TLS sessions that include a hostname (i.e., an authentication domain name) associated with certificates used in establishing secure connections. Specifically, Wyatt describes how certificates in TLS configuration are tied to host names, which serve as domain names for authentication purposes in SSL/TLS nomenclature. This hostname is part of the configuration for verifying and establishing TLS connections, as it identifies the host for certificate association during the handshake; see [0011] “SSL intercept is a process to decipher and inspect the content of data being transmitted via Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) or Transport Layer Security (TLS), and is possible because certificates can be created that are associated with a particular hostname, or common name, in SSL nomenclature”).
Regarding claim 6, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 1 further comprising, responsive to determining that the error has occurred, aborting setup of the TLS session (Wyatt [0188] “anomalies in certificates may be reported to security server 320, and CSP 310 may display a warning on computing device 200, or break the network connection, or a combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 7, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 1 wherein performing one or more actions that directly or indirectly trigger reinitialization of the one or more configuration parameters comprises reporting a TLS error to a network node (Wyatt discloses a context security proxy (CSP) on a computing device that inspects TLS certificate during the TLS handshake protocol for anomalies (e.g., invalid value or expired certficates), which constitutes detection of a TLS error. Upon detection, the CSP reports these anomalies to a security server (a network node). This reporting can lead to breaking the network connection or other respondes, which indirectly triggers reinitialization by necessitating a reset of the TLS session parameters (e.g., re-performing the handshake with fresh configuration to attempt reconnection); see [0188] “During the TLS handshake protocol a certificate or certificate chain for a destination host are sent from the destination host to CSP 310. In an embodiment, CSP 310 may inspect the certificates for anomalies (such as invalid values in certificate fields, or expired certificates) and may interrogate locally cached or remote certificate revocation list information. In an embodiment, anomalies in certificates may be reported to security server 320, and CSP 310 may display a warning on computing device 200, or break the network connection, or a combination thereof”).
Regarding claim 8, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 7 further comprising, responsive to reporting a TLS error to a network node (Huang [0028] “Step S01, in the case that the security has been activated, in order to keep the RRC connection, the UE at the state of connection (RRC_CONNECTED) sends an RRC connection re-establishment request message (RRCConnectionReestablishmentRequest) to the network side”), receiving a message comprising one or more re-initialized configuration parameters for establishing a TLS session between the client application and a trusted server application (Huang [0029-0034] “Step S02, the network side receives the re-establishment request sent from the UE and delivers an RRC connection re-establishment message (RRCConnectionReestablishment). After the UE receives the message, related procedures are as follows: 1. stopping related timers; 2. restoring SRB1 according to the configuration of radio resource; 3. configuring integrality protection used previously for the bottom layer reactivation; and 4. configuring a encryption algorithm used previously for the bottom layer reactivation. Step S03, The UE sends an RRC connection re-establishment complete message is (RRCConnectionReestablishmentComplete) to the network side, then the procedure of RRC connection re-establishment ends”).
Regarding claim 9, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 1 wherein performing one or more actions that directly or indirectly trigger reinitialization of the one or more configuration parameters (Wyatt discloses performing actions in response to detected anomalies (e.g., in certificates during TLS setup) that trigger changes to network configurations, including switching connections which indirectly reinitializes parameters like certificates or security settings; see [0014] “Responses to detection include one or more of displaying a warning to a user of the computing device, providing an option to disconnect the network connection, blocking the network connection, switching to a different network connection, applying a policy, and sending anomaly information to a security server”)
comprises sending, to a network node, a message for modification of the IP connectivity session (Wyatt discloses sending messages to network nodes (e.g., security servers or access points) in response to anomalies, and switching networks involves sending association or configuration requests to modify connectivity (e.g., to a new Wi-Fi AP or cell station, altering the IP session); see [0196] “When the Wi-Fi security method being used is not allowed by the policy, the CSP takes one or more of the following actions: displays a warning on computing device 200; notifies security server 320 (which in an embodiment displays a warning on an administrator console); presents an option for a user of computing device 200 to select whether to use the network connection or not; prevents the network connection from being made; and switches to a different physical network connection”)
that comprises an indication of a request for re-initialization of the one or more configuration parameters (Wyatt discloses sending anomaly information as an indication that triggers re-initialization (e.g., of certificates or policies); see [0014] “Responses to detection include one or more of displaying a warning to a user of the computing device, providing an option to disconnect the network connection, blocking the network connection, switching to a different network connection, applying a policy, and sending anomaly information to a security server”)
for establishing a TLS session between the client application and a trusted server application (Wyatt discloses that the parameters (e.g., certificates) are for establishing TLS sessions between apps and servers; [0188] “During the TLS handshake protocol a certificate or certificate chain for a destination host are sent from the destination host to CSP 310. In an embodiment, CSP 310 may inspect the certificates for anomalies (such as invalid values in certificate fields, or expired certificates) and may interrogate locally cached or remote certificate revocation list information”).
Regarding claim 10, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the client application is a Domain Name System, DNS, client, and the server application is a DNS resolver (Wyatt [0205] “policy 318 for Wi-Fi security methods may divine for a given network name (ESSID or SSID), that a particular Wi-Fi security method is used. But this provides only partial protection against an impostor MITM. In an embodiment, policy 318 may specify that one or more active verification probes be performed. For example, on the legitimate “CORP-EXAMPLE” network there are certain internal-only network resources that are visible (e.g., via DNS) or reachable (e.g., via communications on the “CORP-EXAMPLE” network) only visible or reachable on the CORP-EXAMPLE network. An active verification probe is a connection made from an AMD or a CSP to such an internal-only network resource. Policy 318 specifies the type and identifier for the internal-only network resource, together with what the expected response from a probe should be. For example, a probe type could be a DNS TXT (Text Record) query. The expected result in the policy would be the response value expected from the query”).
Regarding claim 11, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 1 wherein the client application is implemented on a wireless communication device for a cellular communications system (Wyatt [0042] “Some example computing devices include portable electronic devices (e.g., mobile communications devices) such as the Apple iPhone®, the Apple iPad®, the Palm Pre™, or any computing device running the Apple iOS™, Android™ OS, Google Chrome OS, Symbian OS®, Windows 10, Windows Mobile® OS, Palm OS® or Palm Web OS™, or any of various operating systems used for Internet of Things (IoT) devices”), and
obtaining the one or more configuration parameters comprises obtaining the one or more configuration parameters from a network node in a core network of the cellular communications system (Huang [0029-0033] “Step S02, the network side receives the re-establishment request sent from the UE and delivers an RRC connection re-establishment message (RRCConnectionReestablishment). After the UE receives the message, related procedures are as follows: 1. stopping related timers; 2. restoring SRB1 according to the configuration of radio resource; 3. configuring integrality protection used previously for the bottom layer reactivation; and 4. configuring a encryption algorithm used previously for the bottom layer reactivation”).
Regarding claim 12, Wyatt-Huang discloses the method of claim 11 wherein the cellular communication system is either a Fifth Generation System, 5GS, or an Evolved Packet System, EPS (Wyatt [0240] “a smartphone may communicate with a DESTHOST via a BLUETOOTH connection to the IoT hub, which in turn communicates via a cellular data connection (e.g., LTE) with the DESTHOST”).
Regarding claim(s) 13, do(es) not teach or further define over the limitation in claim(s) 1 respectively. Therefore claim(s) 13 is/are rejected for the same rationale of rejection as set forth in claim(s) 1 respectively.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
For the reason above, claims 1-13 have been rejected and remain pending.
JIMMY H TRAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2451
/JIMMY H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2451