Claim(s) 1 to 6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (20180251911) in view Mitsuharu (JP2017112336).
The Kubota et al reference teaches a method of substrate separation, note entire reference. A composite substrate has a layer grown on one of the surfaces, note, para 0023 and 0024. The substrate and grown layer can be silicon carbide, note para 0024. The composite is then subjected to a laser to cause a damage layer in the composite structure, note, figures 1 and 2. The composite is then separated at the damage layer, note example. The differences between the instant claim and the prior art are the growth rate and reuse of the substrate. However, the Mitsuharu reference teaches the growth rate over 500um and to reuse the substrate by separation methods, note para 0033. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the Kubota reference by the teachings of the Mitsuharu reference to have a higher growth rate and reuse the substrates in order to increase production without lose of quality and have similar orientations in the growth from the substrates.
With regards to claim 2, the Kubota et al reference teaches a single crystal substrate over 150 um thick, which can be 4H or 6H silicon carbide, note para 0161 and 0054. The substrate is silicon carbide would have either a silicon or carbon face.
With regards to claim 3, the Kubota et al reference teaches a substrate with 0 off set from the 0001 plane, note para 0086 and 0054.
With regards to claim 4, the Kubota et al reference teaches a mono crystal layer and between 100-1000 um thick, para 0024.
With regards to claim 5, the Kubota et al reference teaches vapor deposition by chemical vapor deposition, note examples.
With regards to claim 6, the Kubota et al reference teaches surfaces to be ground and polished, note figures 1 and 2.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (20180251911) in view Mitsuharu (JP2017112336).
The Kubota et al and Mitsuharu references are relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the laser power. However, in the absence of unexpected results, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to determine through routine experimentation the optimum, operable laser pulse power in the Kubota et al process in order to damage only a thin layer in the composite reducing lost.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (20180251911) in view Mitsuharu (JP2017112336) and Seddon (2019/0362960).
The Kubota et al reference is relied on for the same reasons as stated, supra, and differs from the instant claim in the laser power. However, the Seddon reference teaches using lasers operating in a set path top to bottom, note fig 10. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant invention to modify the Kubota et al process by the teachings of the Seddon reference to operate the laser in a set path in order to uniformly affect the composite structure.
Response to Applicants’ Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 to 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
RMK
/ROBERT M KUNEMUND/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714