CTNF 18/695,677 CTNF 91719 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application JP 2021-156297 filed in Japan Patent Office (JPO) on September 27, 2021 and receipt of a certified copy thereof. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) filed on March 26, 2024 and IDS filed on March 4, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDSs are considered by the examiner. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1, 11-12 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities: In claim 1, line 8, “a side sur-face” should read --a side surface--. In claim 1, lines 10-11. “the side sur-face” should read --the side surface--. In claim 10, line 5, “dis-posed” should read --disposed--. In claim 11, line 2, “where-in” should read --wherein--. In claim 12, line 4, “outside the edge” should read --outside the edge of the opening--. In claim 17, line 5, “to-ward” should read --toward --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-4, 6, 9-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) or 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Ishii JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) . Regarding claim 1, Ishii teaches an optical component mounting package (e.g., Figs. 1-2; translation [10]-[24]) comprising: a mount (e.g., 11, Figs. 1-2) on which an optical component (e.g., 141, Fig. 2, translation [12]) is to be mounted; a wall (e.g., 16, Figs. 102) comprising an opening (e.g., 16a, Fig. 2); a light-transmitting member (e.g., 17, Figs. 1-2, translation [13]) configured to cover the opening; and a joint material (e.g., 17a, Fig. 2, translation [13]) configured to join the light-transmitting member to the wall, wherein the light-transmitting member comprises a first surface (e.g., first surface (upper surface) of 17 facing 16a, Fig. 2) facing the opening or disposed inside the opening, a second surface (e.g., second surface (lower surface) of 17 opposite the first surface (discussed above), Fig. 2) disposed opposite the first surface, and a side sur-face (e.g., side surface of 17 between the first and second surfaces (discussed above), Fig. 2) disposed between the first surface and the second surface; and the joint material is a low-melting glass (e.g., translation [13]) and is in contact with the wall, the side sur-face, and the second surface (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 2, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein a thickness of the joint material is greater than a thickness of the light-transmitting member (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 3, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein the joint material protrudes above the second surface (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 4, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, a contour of the joint material comprises an outward curve (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 6, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, a length of a contact between the joint material and the wall is greater than a length of a contact between the joint material and the side surface (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 9, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein the joint material is further in contact with the first surface (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 10, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to of claim 1, wherein the wall comprises a third surface (e.g., third surface of 16 surrounding 16a and facing the first surface of 17 (discussed above), Fig. 2) surrounding the opening and facing the first surface; and in a space between the first surface and the third surface, the joint material is dis-posed in a first range (e.g., first range in which 17a is disposed between the third surface of 16 and the first surface of 17, Fig. 2) farther from the opening and a gap (e.g., gap in which 17a is not disposed between the third surface of 16 and the first surface of 17, Fig. 2) is disposed in a second range closer to the opening. Regarding claim 11, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 9, where-in in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, a length of a contact between the joint material and the first surface is greater than a length of a contact between the joint material and the second surface (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 12, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein as viewed through in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, an inner peripheral edge of the joint material overlaps an edge of the opening, or is disposed outside the edge (e.g., Fig. 2). Regarding claim 20, Ishii teaches an optical apparatus comprising: the optical component mounting package according to claim 1; and an optical component (e.g., 141, Fig. 2, translation [12]) mounted in the optical component mounting package . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 5, 7, 13 and 18 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hasegawa JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) . Regarding claim 1, Hasegawa teaches an optical component mounting package (e.g., Fig. 1; translation [22]-[49]) comprising: a mount (e.g., bottom part of 1, Fig. 1) on which an optical component (e.g., 4, Fig. 1, translation [22]) is to be mounted; a wall (e.g., side part of 1, Fig. 1) comprising an opening (e.g., 1a, Fig. 1); a light-transmitting member (e.g., 5, Fig. 1, translation [22]) configured to cover the opening; and a joint material (e.g., 7, Fig. 1, translation [22]) configured to join the light-transmitting member to the wall, wherein the light-transmitting member comprises a first surface (e.g., first surface (lower surface) of 5 facing 1a, Fig. 1) facing the opening or disposed inside the opening, a second surface (e.g., second surface (upper surface) of 5 opposite the first surface (discussed above), Fig. 1) disposed opposite the first surface, and a side sur-face (e.g., side surface of 5 between the first and second surfaces (discussed above), Fig. 1) disposed between the first surface and the second surface; and the joint material in contact with the wall, the side sur-face, and the second surface (e.g., Fig. 1). Hasegawa does not explicitly teach the joint material is a low-melting glass. Hasegawa, however, recognizes that the joint material 7 may be made of glass (e.g., translation [32]), and the joint material 6 joining the mount and the optical component may be made of low-melting point glass (e.g., translation [29]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package of Hasegawa to include the joint material is a low-melting glass for the purpose of reducing energy consumption and joining without damage from high heat for example. Regarding claim 5, Hasegawa teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein as viewed in a direction perpendicular to the first surface, the joint material has an annular shape along an edge of the light-transmitting member (e.g., translation [24]). Regarding claim 7, Hasegawa teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein the light-transmitting member is joined to an outer surface of the wall (e.g., Fig. 1). Regarding claim 13, Hasegawa teaches the optical component mounting package according to of claim 1, wherein the light-transmitting member comprises a groove (e.g., 5a, Fig. 1, surrounding the opening in plan view and disposed in a region of the second surface overlapping the wall in plan view (e.g., Fig. 1, translation [13], [36]). Regarding claim 18, Hasegawa teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1, wherein the wall is made of ceramic (e.g., translation [25]) .. 07-21-aia AIA Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) in view of Sugiki et al. JP 2015-195330 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) . Regarding claim 14, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1 as discussed above. Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the joint material is a lead-free low-melting glass. Sugiki teaches wherein the joint material is a lead-free low-melting glass (e.g., translation [46]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package of Ishii to include wherein the joint material is a lead-free low-melting glass as suggested by Sugiki for the purpose of reducing adverse influences on the environment for example (e.g., Sugiki, translation [46]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) in view of Oda et al. JP 2008-124255 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) . Regarding claim 15, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1 as discussed above. Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the light-transmitting member has thereon a non-oxide film extending over the second surface. Oda teaches wherein the light-transmitting member has thereon a non-oxide film (e.g., magnesium fluoride, translation [27]) extending over the second surface. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package of Ishii to include wherein the light-transmitting member has thereon a non-oxide film extending over the second surface as suggested by Oda for the purpose of reducing light reflection of the light-transmitting member, thereby improving clarity for example (e.g., Oda, translation [27]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) in view of Tamaki et al. US 2017/0033267 . Regarding claim 16, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1 as discussed above. Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, the side surface has a convex shape or a concave shape. Tamaki teaches wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, the side surface has a convex shape or a concave shape (e.g., shapes of 20, Fig. 6(c), [44]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package of Ishii to include wherein in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, the side surface has a convex shape or a concave shape as suggested by Tamaki for the purpose of preventing the light-transmitting member from falling off from the wall of the optical component mounting package for example (e.g., Tamaki, [44]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) in view of Fukuda et al. US 2014/0226308 . Regarding claim 17, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1 as discussed above. Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the second surface comprises a first portion connected to the side surface; and in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, the first portion is inclined to-ward a center of the second surface with increasing distance from the first surface toward the second surface. Fukuda teaches wherein the second surface comprises a first portion connected to the side surface; and in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, the first portion is inclined to-ward a center of the second surface with increasing distance from the first surface toward the second surface (e.g., surface 7 of 40, Fig. 1F, [54]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the package of Ishii to include wherein the second surface comprises a first portion connected to the side surface; and in a cross-section perpendicular to the first surface, the first portion is inclined to-ward a center of the second surface with increasing distance from the first surface toward the second surface as suggested by Fukuda for the purpose of enhancing the bonding strength between the light-transmitting member and the wall of the optical component mounting package for example (e.g., Fukuda, [54]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii JP 2019-144374 (the original document and a machine-generated English translation thereof are used in rejection) in view of Kawase et al. US 5,006,143 . Regarding claim 19, Ishii teaches the optical component mounting package according to claim 1 as discussed above. Ishii does not explicitly teach wherein the joint material contains bubbles in a corner between the side surface and the wall. Kawase teaches wherein the joint material (e.g., low-melting glass), when melting for joining, contains bubbles in a corner between the side surface and the wall (e.g., col. 3, lines 1-12). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the joint material (i.e., low-melting glass) of Ishii may contain bubbles in a corner between the side surface and the wall as suggested by Kawase because the joint material (i.e., low-melting glass) of Ishii, when joining, melts to join the wall and the light-transmitting member for example. Allowable Subject Matter Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if amended to overcome the above claim objection. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Bo Bin Jang whose telephone number is (571) 270-0271. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F from 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice . If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Eva Montalvo can be reached at (571) 270-3829. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) OR 571-272-1000. /BO B JANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 April 26, 2022 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 8 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 9 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 10 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 11 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/695,677 Page 12 Art Unit: 2818