DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1 as seen in figures 1-7 corresponding to claims 1-10 in the reply filed on 12/30/2025 is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the a back surface on a side of the skin material, first pad surface, second pad surface must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claims not addressed below are rejected as being dependent upon a rejected base claim.
Claim 1, line 5, recites limitation “a back surface on a side of the skin material”. It is unclear what surface is a back surface or a side of the skin material. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, lines 9 and 12 recite limitation “first pad portion”. It is unclear what element is the first pad portion is. Is it the inner/outer pads or the first/second/third sections of the center? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, lines 9-10 and 13 recite limitation “second pad portion”. It is unclear what element is the first pad portion is. Is it the inner/outer pads or the first/second/third sections of the center? Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1 lines 13-16 recite limitation “and heater connecting portions that are disposed to straddle the pull-in grooves, connect the first heater portion and the second heater portion, and are formed to be narrower than the first heater portion and the second heater portion”. It is unclear in what way the heater connector portions are narrower than the first heater portion and the second heater portion. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3, lines 1-4 recite limitation “wherein the first heater portion and the second heater portion are disposed at positions facing a portion of the seat body in contact with an occupant when the occupant is seated on the seat body, and are disposed at positions not facing the second pull-in grooves”. It is unclear what direction facing and not facing includes. The metes and bounds of the heater facing or not are not clear. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210031657 A1 Sato; Kohei et al.
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches, a conveyance seat comprising: a seat body (fig. 8, element S) including a pad material (element P1/P2) and a skin material covering the pad material (element K11); and a sheet-shaped seat heater (element 10 and 20) disposed between the pad material and the skin material inside the seat body and attached to a back surface on a side of the skin material, wherein: the pad material has pull-in grooves each formed on a surface of the pad material and used to pull in a skin end portion of the skin material (elements 130/140), the pull-in grooves extend along a predetermined direction on the surface of the pad material and are provided to partition the pad material into a first pad portion and a second pad portion (figs. 11-14, plurality of pad sections P11, P12, P21, P22), the seat heater has: a first heater portion disposed on a surface of the first pad portion; a second heater portion disposed on a surface of the second pad portion (figs. 11 and 14, elements 210, 220, 230, 310, 320); and heater connecting portions that are disposed to straddle the pull-in grooves (fig. 13, element 213), connect the first heater portion and the second heater portion (fig. 13), and are formed to be narrower than the first heater portion and the second heater portion (fig. 13), and the heater connecting portions are attached to the skin end portion of the skin material and are at least partially pulled into the pull-in grooves together with the skin end portion (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 2, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 1, wherein: the pull-in grooves have: first pull-in grooves for partitioning the pad material into a central pad portion and side pad portions located outside the central pad portion in a seat width direction (element 131 and 141); and second pull-in grooves for partitioning the central pad portion into a first central pad portion and a second central pad portion in the seat width direction and a direction orthogonal to a thickness direction of the pad material (element 133 and 143), and the heater connecting portions are at least partially pulled into the first pull-in grooves together with the skin end portion, and are disposed at positions aligned with or overlapping the second pull-in grooves (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 3, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 2, wherein the first heater portion and the second heater portion are disposed at positions facing a portion of the seat body in contact with an occupant when the occupant is seated on the seat body, and are disposed at positions not facing the second pull-in grooves (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 4, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 2, wherein the heater connecting portions are disposed outside the first heater portion and the second heater portion in the seat width direction (figs. 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 5, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 2, wherein: the first pull-in grooves are formed on right and left sides in the seat width direction (figs. 11 and 14, elements 131/141), the heater connecting portions are disposed on the right and left sides in the seat width direction (figs. 11 and 14), and the right and left heater connecting portions are at least partially pulled into the right and left first pull-in grooves, respectively (figs. 11 13 and 14, elements 131/141).
Regarding claim 6, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 2, wherein: the second pull-in grooves have a plurality of second pull-in grooves (elements 133/143) dividing the central pad portion into the first central pad portion, the second central pad portion, and a third central pad portion in the orthogonal direction (fig. 11, and fig 14, elements), the seat heater has: a first heater portion disposed on a surface of the first central pad portion; a second heater portion disposed on a surface of the second central pad portion; a third heater portion disposed on a surface of the third central pad portion (fig. 11, elements 211, 212, 231 and fig 14, elements 310); a first heater connecting portion connecting the first heater portion and the second heater portion; and a second heater connecting portion connecting the second heater portion and the third heater portion, and the first heater connecting portion and the second heater connecting portion are disposed at positions aligned in the orthogonal direction (fig. 13).
Regarding claim 7, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 2, wherein: the first pull-in grooves are formed on the right and left sides in the seat width direction (figs. 11 and 14), the heater connecting portions are disposed on the right and left sides in the seat width direction, and the right and left heater connecting portions are disposed at overlapping positions in the orthogonal direction and the thickness direction of the pad material (figs. 11 and 14).
Regarding claim 8, Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 1, wherein: the seat heater has a sheet-shaped seat base material and a heater wire (para 0150) that is attached to the seat base material and extends along the seat base material (para 0150), and a portion of the heater wire attached to the seat base material of each of the heater connecting portions extends along an extending direction of each of the heater connecting portions and extends while forming a plurality of bent portions (para 0150).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato.
Regarding claim 9 Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 8, wherein the portion of the heater wire attached to the seat base material of each of the heater connecting portions extends while forming a meandering shape or a zigzag shape. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to zigzag heat wires to evenly heat a larger area. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sato with zigzag wiring. The motivation to do so would be to heat a larger area.
Regarding claim 9 Sato teaches, the conveyance seat according to claim 1, wherein an outer end portion of each of the heater connecting portions in the seat width direction is attached to the skin end portion by sewing. The Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the art to sew the seams of the seat skin to secure sections to one another. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Sato with sewing skin section. The motivation to do so would be to secure skin sections to each other.
Conclusion
/C.M.C/
Examiner
Art Unit 3642
/JOSHUA J MICHENER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3642