DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 19, 25, 31, 36, and 41-42 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
The 35 U.S.C. 112 rejections of claims 19-42 are withdrawn in view of the amendments made to claims 19, 25, 31, 36, and 41-42.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhatoolaul et al. (US 2023/0144930 A1)(hereinafter “Bhatoolaul”) in view of Yang et. al. (US 12526816 B2)(hereinafter “Yang”)(cited in previous office action mailed 04/30/2026).
Regarding claim 19, Bhatoolaul discloses a method performed by a terminal device (Fig. 2, [¶0028]:: UE 204 “a terminal device”) for handling downlink control information, comprising:
receiving downlink control information (DCI) from a network node (Fig. 2, [¶0031]: at 220, eNB 202 “a network node”) may send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE.); and
determining one or more bits in the DCI available for forming a joint encoding DCI field indicating both physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling delay and hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement, (HARQ-ACK) delay, based at least in part on a 14 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes feature being configured (Fig. 2, [¶0032]: at 222, UE 204, upon receiving the DCI from the eNB, may determine HARQ-ACK delay and PDSCH offset for the 14 HARQ processes. In some implementations, for example, as the UE is aware that it is configured to support 14 HARQ processes (as described above in reference to 218), UE 204 may interpret that a plurality of fields of the DCI being jointly encoded. In an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. [¶0024]: a PDSCH offset may refer to a time offset between the transmission of machine type communications (MTC) physical downlink control channel (MPDCCH) and the PDSCH. A HARQ-ACK delay may be defined as a time delay or offset between the reception of the PDSCH and the transmission of the HARQ-ACK. Accordingly, a PDSCH offset is equivalent to the claimed “PDSCH scheduling delay”.).
Although Bhatoolaul discloses indicating HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, Bhatoolaul does not explicitly disclose wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (see [¶0025]). However, Yang discloses wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (col. 3, line 45 to col. 4, lines 8 and Table 1: Table 1 discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero. For example, in the entry having HARQ-ACK delay fields of “011”, only one of the fields of the HARQ-ACK delay of the DCI field is equal to zero. Yang further discloses in col. 4, lines 3-8 that this encoding supports 14 HARQ processes in the downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, as taught by Bhatoolaul, to include wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL), as taught by Yang. Doing so allows for support of the 14 HARQ to improve the downlink peak rate of communications (see Yang (col. 4, lines 3-8)).
Regarding claim 20, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 19 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more bits in the DCI comprise 3 bits from a HARQ-ACK delay field ([¶0032]: in some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK delay may be 3 bits.).
Regarding claim 21, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 19 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein when a total number of the one or more bits in the DCI is less than a number of bits required to jointly indicate the PDSCH scheduling delay and the HARQ-ACK delay, the joint encoding DCI field includes one or more other bits in addition to the one or more bits in the DCI ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. [¶0039]: in an example implementation, the eNB may perform joint encoding of a plurality of DCI fields which may include a PDSCH offset, a HARQ-ACK delay, and/or a HARQ process number to generate joint encoded index values 302 which may then communicated to the UE to indicate HARQ-ACK delay 308 and PDSCH offset 306 for the HARQ processes 304. In some implementations, for example, the PDSCH offset flag may be 1 bit in size (or length), the HARQ-ACK delay field may be 3 bits in size, and a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size, and the eNB may perform joint encoding of these three fields, which add up to 8 bits, to generate a total of 256 (28) unique states (or index values) to support the additional HARQ-ACK delay values and/or PDSCH offsets.).
Regarding claim 22, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 4 bits ([¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size.).
Regarding claim 23, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 21 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 2 bits ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. Accordingly, the HARQ-ACK bundling flag and the PDSCH offset total 2 bits in size. Also see [¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size. Examiner notes that the HARQ process number field 4 bits in size meets the claim language of that the one or more other bits “comprises” 2 bits).
Regarding claim 24, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 19 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the terminal device is a long-term evolution-machine type communication (LTE-MTC) user equipment (UE) ([¶0018]: the various example implementations may be applied to a wide variety of wireless technologies or wireless networks, such as LTE, LTE-A, 5G, IoT, MTC, eMTC, eMBB, URLLC, etc., or any other wireless network or wireless technology.).
Regarding claim 25, Bhatoolaul discloses a terminal device (Fig. 2, [¶0028]:: UE 204 “a terminal device”), comprising:
processing circuitry and memory (Fig. 5, [¶0075]: FIG. 5 is a block diagram of a wireless station (e.g., user equipment (UE)/user device or AP/gNB/MgNB/SgNB) 500 according to an example implementation…The wireless station also includes a processor or control unit/entity (controller) 504/508 to execute instructions or software and control transmission and receptions of signals, and a memory 506 to store data and/or instructions.), the memory storing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the terminal device is configured to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) from a network node (Fig. 2, [¶0031]: at 220, eNB 202 “a network node”) may send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE.); and
determine one or more bits in the DCI available for forming a joint encoding DCI field indicating both physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling delay and hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) delay, based at least in part on a 14 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes feature being configured (Fig. 2, [¶0032]: at 222, UE 204, upon receiving the DCI from the eNB, may determine HARQ-ACK delay and PDSCH offset for the 14 HARQ processes. In some implementations, for example, as the UE is aware that it is configured to support 14 HARQ processes (as described above in reference to 218), UE 204 may interpret that a plurality of fields of the DCI being jointly encoded. In an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. [¶0024]: a PDSCH offset may refer to a time offset between the transmission of machine type communications (MTC) physical downlink control channel (MPDCCH) and the PDSCH. A HARQ-ACK delay may be defined as a time delay or offset between the reception of the PDSCH and the transmission of the HARQ-ACK. Accordingly, a PDSCH offset is equivalent to the claimed “PDSCH scheduling delay”.).
Although Bhatoolaul discloses indicating HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, Bhatoolaul does not explicitly disclose wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (see [¶0025]). However, Yang discloses wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (col. 3, line 45 to col. 4, lines 8 and Table 1: Table 1 discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero. For example, in the entry having HARQ-ACK delay fields of “011”, only one of the fields of the HARQ-ACK delay of the DCI field is equal to zero. Yang further discloses in col. 4, lines 3-8 that this encoding supports 14 HARQ processes in the downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, as taught by Bhatoolaul, to include wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL), as taught by Yang. Doing so allows for support of the 14 HARQ to improve the downlink peak rate of communications (see Yang (col. 4, lines 3-8)).
Regarding claim 26, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 25 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more bits in the DCI comprise 3 bits from a HARQ-ACK delay field ([¶0032]: in some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK delay may be 3 bits.).
Regarding claim 27, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 25 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein when a total number of the one or more bits in the DCI is less than a number of bits required to jointly indicate the PDSCH scheduling delay and the HARQ-ACK delay, the joint encoding DCI field includes one or more other bits in addition to the one or more bits in the DCI ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. [¶0039]: in an example implementation, the eNB may perform joint encoding of a plurality of DCI fields which may include a PDSCH offset, a HARQ-ACK delay, and/or a HARQ process number to generate joint encoded index values 302 which may then communicated to the UE to indicate HARQ-ACK delay 308 and PDSCH offset 306 for the HARQ processes 304. In some implementations, for example, the PDSCH offset flag may be 1 bit in size (or length), the HARQ-ACK delay field may be 3 bits in size, and a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size, and the eNB may perform joint encoding of these three fields, which add up to 8 bits, to generate a total of 256 (28) unique states (or index values) to support the additional HARQ-ACK delay values and/or PDSCH offsets.).
Regarding claim 28, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 27 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 4 bits ([¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size.).
Regarding claim 29, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 27 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 2 bits ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. Accordingly, the HARQ-ACK bundling flag and the PDSCH offset total 2 bits in size. Also see [¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size. Examiner notes that the HARQ process number field 4 bits in size meets the claim language of that the one or more other bits “comprises” 2 bits).
Regarding claim 30, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 25 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the terminal device is a long-term evolution-machine type communication (LTE-MTC) user equipment (UE) ([¶0018]: the various example implementations may be applied to a wide variety of wireless technologies or wireless networks, such as LTE, LTE-A, 5G, IoT, MTC, eMTC, eMBB, URLLC, etc., or any other wireless network or wireless technology.).
Regarding claim 31, Bhatoolaul discloses a method performed by a network node (Fig. 2, [¶0027]:: eNB 202 “a network node”) for handling downlink control information, comprising:
determining one or more bits in downlink control information (DCI) available for forming a joint encoding DCI field indicating both physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling delay and hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) delay based at least in part on a 14 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes feature being configured (Fig. 2, [¶0030]: at 218, UE 204, upon receiving the configuration message from eNB, may configure the UE to support 14 HARQ processes. Fig. 2, [¶0032]: at 222, UE 204, upon receiving the DCI from the eNB, may determine HARQ-ACK delay and PDSCH offset for the 14 HARQ processes. In some implementations, for example, as the UE is aware that it is configured to support 14 HARQ processes (as described above in reference to 218), UE 204 may interpret that a plurality of fields of the DCI being jointly encoded. In an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. [¶0024]: a PDSCH offset may refer to a time offset between the transmission of machine type communications (MTC) physical downlink control channel (MPDCCH) and the PDSCH. A HARQ-ACK delay may be defined as a time delay or offset between the reception of the PDSCH and the transmission of the HARQ-ACK. Accordingly, a PDSCH offset is equivalent to the claimed “PDSCH scheduling delay”.)…; and
transmitting the DCI to a terminal device ([¶0031] at 220, eNB 202 may send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE.).
Although Bhatoolaul discloses indicating HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, Bhatoolaul does not explicitly disclose wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (see [¶0025]). However, Yang discloses wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (col. 3, line 45 to col. 4, lines 8 and Table 1: Table 1 discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero. For example, in the entry having HARQ-ACK delay fields of “011”, only one of the fields of the HARQ-ACK delay of the DCI field is equal to zero. Yang further discloses in col. 4, lines 3-8 that this encoding supports 14 HARQ processes in the downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, as taught by Bhatoolaul, to include wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL), as taught by Yang. Doing so allows for support of the 14 HARQ to improve the downlink peak rate of communications (see Yang (col. 4, lines 3-8)).
Regarding claim 32, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 31 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more bits in the DCI comprise 3 bits from a HARQ-ACK delay field ([¶0032]: in some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK delay may be 3 bits.).
Regarding claim 33, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 31 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein when a total number of the one or more bits in the DCI is less than a number of bits required to jointly indicate the PDSCH scheduling delay and the HARQ-ACK delay, the joint encoding DCI field includes one or more other bits in addition to the one or more bits in the DCI ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. [¶0039]: in an example implementation, the eNB may perform joint encoding of a plurality of DCI fields which may include a PDSCH offset, a HARQ-ACK delay, and/or a HARQ process number to generate joint encoded index values 302 which may then communicated to the UE to indicate HARQ-ACK delay 308 and PDSCH offset 306 for the HARQ processes 304. In some implementations, for example, the PDSCH offset flag may be 1 bit in size (or length), the HARQ-ACK delay field may be 3 bits in size, and a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size, and the eNB may perform joint encoding of these three fields, which add up to 8 bits, to generate a total of 256 (28) unique states (or index values) to support the additional HARQ-ACK delay values and/or PDSCH offsets.).
Regarding claim 34, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 33 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 4 bits ([¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size.).
Regarding claim 35, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 33 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 2 bits ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. Accordingly, the HARQ-ACK bundling flag and the PDSCH offset total 2 bits in size. Also see [¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size. Examiner notes that the HARQ process number field 4 bits in size meets the claim language of that the one or more other bits “comprises” 2 bits).
Regarding claim 36, Bhatoolaul discloses a network node (Fig. 2, [¶0027]:: eNB 202 “a network node”), comprising:
processing circuitry and memory, the memory storing instructions executable by the processing circuitry whereby the network node is configured to (Fig. 5, [¶0075]: FIG. 5 is a block diagram of a wireless station (e.g., user equipment (UE)/user device or AP/gNB/MgNB/SgNB) 500 according to an example implementation…The wireless station also includes a processor or control unit/entity (controller) 504/508 to execute instructions or software and control transmission and receptions of signals, and a memory 506 to store data and/or instructions.):
determine one or more bits in downlink control information (DCI) available for forming a joint encoding DCI field indicating both physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling delay and hybrid automatic repeat request- acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) delay, based at least in part on a 14 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes feature being configured (Fig. 2, [¶0030]: at 218, UE 204, upon receiving the configuration message from eNB, may configure the UE to support 14 HARQ processes. Fig. 2, [¶0032]: at 222, UE 204, upon receiving the DCI from the eNB, may determine HARQ-ACK delay and PDSCH offset for the 14 HARQ processes. In some implementations, for example, as the UE is aware that it is configured to support 14 HARQ processes (as described above in reference to 218), UE 204 may interpret that a plurality of fields of the DCI being jointly encoded. In an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. [¶0024]: a PDSCH offset may refer to a time offset between the transmission of machine type communications (MTC) physical downlink control channel (MPDCCH) and the PDSCH. A HARQ-ACK delay may be defined as a time delay or offset between the reception of the PDSCH and the transmission of the HARQ-ACK. Accordingly, a PDSCH offset is equivalent to the claimed “PDSCH scheduling delay”.)…; and
transmit the DCI to a terminal device ([¶0031] at 220, eNB 202 may send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE.).
Although Bhatoolaul discloses indicating HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, Bhatoolaul does not explicitly disclose wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (see [¶0025]). However, Yang discloses wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (col. 3, line 45 to col. 4, lines 8 and Table 1: Table 1 discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero. For example, in the entry having HARQ-ACK delay fields of “011”, only one of the fields of the HARQ-ACK delay of the DCI field is equal to zero. Yang further discloses in col. 4, lines 3-8 that this encoding supports 14 HARQ processes in the downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, as taught by Bhatoolaul, to include wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL), as taught by Yang. Doing so allows for support of the 14 HARQ to improve the downlink peak rate of communications (see Yang (col. 4, lines 3-8)).
Regarding claim 37, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 36 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more bits in the DCI comprise 3 bits from a HARQ-ACK delay field ([¶0032]: in some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK delay may be 3 bits.).
Regarding claim 38, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 36 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein when a total number of the one or more bits in the DCI is less than a number of bits required to jointly indicate the PDSCH scheduling delay and the HARQ-ACK delay, the joint encoding DCI field includes one or more other bits in addition to the one or more bits in the DCI ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. [¶0039]: in an example implementation, the eNB may perform joint encoding of a plurality of DCI fields which may include a PDSCH offset, a HARQ-ACK delay, and/or a HARQ process number to generate joint encoded index values 302 which may then communicated to the UE to indicate HARQ-ACK delay 308 and PDSCH offset 306 for the HARQ processes 304. In some implementations, for example, the PDSCH offset flag may be 1 bit in size (or length), the HARQ-ACK delay field may be 3 bits in size, and a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size, and the eNB may perform joint encoding of these three fields, which add up to 8 bits, to generate a total of 256 (28) unique states (or index values) to support the additional HARQ-ACK delay values and/or PDSCH offsets.).
Regarding claim 39, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 38 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 4 bits ([¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size.).
Regarding claim 40, Bhatoolaul in view of Yang discloses all features of claim 38 as outlined above.
Bhatoolaul also discloses wherein the one or more other bits comprises 2 bits ([¶0032]: in an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. In some implementations, the size of HARQ-ACK bundling flag, HARQ-ACK delay, PDSCH offset, and HARQ process number may be 1 bit, 3 bits, 1 bit, and 4 bits, respectively. Accordingly, the HARQ-ACK bundling flag and the PDSCH offset total 2 bits in size. Also see [¶0039]: in some implementations, for example, a HARQ process number field may be 4 bits in size. Examiner notes that the HARQ process number field 4 bits in size meets the claim language of that the one or more other bits “comprises” 2 bits).
Regarding claim 41, Bhatoolaul discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program ([¶0081]: Implementations may also be provided on a computer readable medium or computer readable storage medium, which may be a non-transitory medium.) for controlling a terminal device (Fig. 2, [¶0028]:: UE 204 “a terminal device”), the computer program comprising software instructions that, when run on the terminal device, cause the terminal device to:
receive downlink control information (DCI) from a network node (Fig. 2, [¶0031]: at 220, eNB 202 “a network node”) may send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE.); and
determine one or more bits in the DCI available for forming a joint encoding DCI field indicating both physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling delay and hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) delay, based at least in part on a 14 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes feature being configured (Fig. 2, [¶0032]: at 222, UE 204, upon receiving the DCI from the eNB, may determine HARQ-ACK delay and PDSCH offset for the 14 HARQ processes. In some implementations, for example, as the UE is aware that it is configured to support 14 HARQ processes (as described above in reference to 218), UE 204 may interpret that a plurality of fields of the DCI being jointly encoded. In an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. [¶0024]: a PDSCH offset may refer to a time offset between the transmission of machine type communications (MTC) physical downlink control channel (MPDCCH) and the PDSCH. A HARQ-ACK delay may be defined as a time delay or offset between the reception of the PDSCH and the transmission of the HARQ-ACK. Accordingly, a PDSCH offset is equivalent to the claimed “PDSCH scheduling delay”.).
Although Bhatoolaul discloses indicating HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, Bhatoolaul does not explicitly disclose wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (see [¶0025]). However, Yang discloses wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (col. 3, line 45 to col. 4, lines 8 and Table 1: Table 1 discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero. For example, in the entry having HARQ-ACK delay fields of “011”, only one of the fields of the HARQ-ACK delay of the DCI field is equal to zero. Yang further discloses in col. 4, lines 3-8 that this encoding supports 14 HARQ processes in the downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, as taught by Bhatoolaul, to include wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL), as taught by Yang. Doing so allows for support of the 14 HARQ to improve the downlink peak rate of communications (see Yang (col. 4, lines 3-8)).
Regarding claim 42, Bhatoolaul discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium storing a computer program codes ([¶0081]: Implementations may also be provided on a computer readable medium or computer readable storage medium, which may be a non-transitory medium.) for controlling a network node (Fig. 2, [¶0027]:: eNB 202 “a network node”), the computer program codes comprising software instructions that, when run on the network node, cause the network node to:
determine one or more bits in downlink control information (DCI) available for forming a joint encoding DCI field indicating both physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduling delay and hybrid automatic repeat request-acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) delay, based at least in part on a 14 hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes feature being configured (Fig. 2, [¶0030]: at 218, UE 204, upon receiving the configuration message from eNB, may configure the UE to support 14 HARQ processes. Fig. 2, [¶0032]: at 222, UE 204, upon receiving the DCI from the eNB, may determine HARQ-ACK delay and PDSCH offset for the 14 HARQ processes. In some implementations, for example, as the UE is aware that it is configured to support 14 HARQ processes (as described above in reference to 218), UE 204 may interpret that a plurality of fields of the DCI being jointly encoded. In an example implementation, the plurality of fields that the UE may consider as being jointly encoded include one or more of: a HARQ-ACK bundling flag, a HARQ-ACK delay, a PDSCH offset, and/or a HARQ process number. [¶0024]: a PDSCH offset may refer to a time offset between the transmission of machine type communications (MTC) physical downlink control channel (MPDCCH) and the PDSCH. A HARQ-ACK delay may be defined as a time delay or offset between the reception of the PDSCH and the transmission of the HARQ-ACK. Accordingly, a PDSCH offset is equivalent to the claimed “PDSCH scheduling delay”.)…; and
transmit the DCI to a terminal device ([¶0031] at 220, eNB 202 may send downlink control information (DCI) to the UE.).
Although Bhatoolaul discloses indicating HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, Bhatoolaul does not explicitly disclose wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (see [¶0025]). However, Yang discloses wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL) (col. 3, line 45 to col. 4, lines 8 and Table 1: Table 1 discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero. For example, in the entry having HARQ-ACK delay fields of “011”, only one of the fields of the HARQ-ACK delay of the DCI field is equal to zero. Yang further discloses in col. 4, lines 3-8 that this encoding supports 14 HARQ processes in the downlink).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the HARQ-ACK delay values in the DCI field, as taught by Bhatoolaul, to include wherein only one HARQ-ACK delay field in the DCI field is set to zero to support of the 14 HARQ processes feature in downlink (DL), as taught by Yang. Doing so allows for support of the 14 HARQ to improve the downlink peak rate of communications (see Yang (col. 4, lines 3-8)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yan et al. (US 2023/0269743 A1) – Scheduling Delay Determination For EMTC – discloses example entries indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in which only one of the HARQ-ACK delay field may be set to zero in Tables 1-2.
Sun et al. (US 2018/0279274 A1) – Apparatus and Method For Semi-Persistent Scheduling and Power Control In Wireless Communication System – discloses indicating a HARQ-ACK delay field in a DCI field in Tables 1-2.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463