DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 6/27/24. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ushikubo (US PGPub 2023/0389369, hereinafter referred to as “Ushikubo”).
Ushikubo discloses the semiconductor method and device as claimed. See figures 1-22 and corresponding text, where Ushikubo teaches, in claim 1, a display device comprising:
a first light-emitting device (130R);
a second light-emitting device (130B);
a third light-emitting device (130G);
a first coloring layer;
a second coloring layer;
a first insulating layer; and
a second insulating layer, wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a first pixel electrode (124R), a first light-emitting layer (132R) over the first pixel electrode, and a common electrode over the first light-emitting layer, wherein the second light-emitting device comprises a second pixel electrode, a second light-emitting layer (132B) over the second pixel electrode (124B), and the common electrode over the second light-emitting layer, wherein the third light-emitting device comprises a third pixel electrode, a third light-emitting layer (132G) over the third pixel electrode (124G), and the common electrode (128) over the third light-emitting layer, wherein the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer comprise the same light-emitting material, wherein a wavelength of light emitted by the third light-emitting device is shorter than a wavelength of light emitted by the first light-emitting device and a wavelength of light emitted by the second light-emitting device, wherein a color of light transmitted by the first coloring layer is different from a color of light transmitted by the second coloring layer, wherein the first coloring layer overlaps with the first light-emitting device, wherein the second coloring layer overlaps with the second light-emitting device, wherein the first insulating layer covers a part of a top surface and a side surface of the first light-emitting layer and a part of a top surface and a side surface of the second light-emitting layer, wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first light-emitting layer and the part of the top surface of the second light-emitting layer with the first insulating layer therebetween, wherein the second insulating layer comprises a portion between the side surface of the first light-emitting layer and the side surface of the second light-emitting layer, and wherein the common electrode covers a top surface of the second insulating layer (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 2, wherein the first light-emitting device further comprises a first functional layer between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the second light-emitting layer further comprises a second functional layer between the second light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the third light-emitting layer further comprises a third functional layer between the third light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the first insulating layer covers a part of a top surface and a side surface of the first functional layer, and a part of a top surface and a side surface of the second functional layer, and wherein the second insulating layer overlaps with the part of the top surface of the first functional layer, and the part of the top surface of the second functional layer with the first insulating layer therebetween (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 3, wherein the first functional layer, the second functional layer, and the third functional layer each comprise at least one of a hole-injection layer, an electron-injection layer, a hole-transport layer, an electron-transport layer, a hole-blocking layer, and an electron-blocking layer (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 4, wherein the first light-emitting device and the second light-emitting device are configured to emit yellow light, wherein the third light-emitting device is configured to emit blue light, wherein the first coloring layer is configured to transmit red light, and wherein the second coloring layer is configured to transmit green light (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 5, further comprising a third coloring layer that is configured to transmit blue light in a position overlapping with the third light-emitting device (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 6, wherein an end portion of the second insulating layer has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90° in a cross-sectional view (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 7, wherein the second insulating layer covers at least part of a side surface of the first insulating layer (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 8, wherein an end portion of the second insulating layer is on an outer side of an end portion of the first insulating layer (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 9, wherein the top surface of the second insulating layer has a convex shape (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 10, wherein an end portion of the first insulating layer has a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90° in a cross-sectional view (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 11, wherein the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer each comprise: a portion overlapping with a top surface of the first pixel electrode; and a portion overlapping with a top surface of the second pixel electrode (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 12, wherein the first light-emitting layer covers a side surface of the first pixel electrode, wherein the second light-emitting layer covers a side surface of the second pixel electrode, and wherein the third light-emitting layer covers a side surface of the third pixel electrode (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 13, wherein an end portion of the first pixel electrode, an end portion of the second pixel electrode, and an end portion of the third pixel electrode each have a tapered shape with a taper angle less than 90° in a cross-sectional view (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 14, wherein the first insulating layer is an inorganic insulating layer, and wherein the second insulating layer is an organic insulating layer (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 15, wherein the first insulating layer comprises aluminum oxide (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Ushikubo teaches, in claim 16, wherein the first light-emitting device comprises a common layer between the first light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the second light-emitting device comprises the common layer between the second light-emitting layer and the common electrode, wherein the third light-emitting device comprises the common layer between the third light-emitting layer and the common electrode, and wherein the common layer is between the second insulating layer and the common electrode (figures 1-4; [0032-0042]).
Conclusion
/STANETTA D ISAAC/Examiner, Art Unit 2898 September 5, 2026