DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because the phrase “at least one axial outflow channel that forms of an axial flow path” includes the typographical error “of an.” Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rounding” as recited in claim 23 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Eichenmuller et al. (US 2015/0276002) in view of Yu (US 2013/0333993).
Regarding claim 16, Eichenmuller discloses a valve assembly for a vibration damper (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: a main valve (2, 9), having: a main valve body (2); and at least one main valve disk (9) for influencing a flow resistance of a main volumetric flow (see ¶ 0024, FIG. 1); a tension-side auxiliary valve (3, 10), having: a tension-side auxiliary valve body (3); and at least one tension-side valve disk (10) for influencing a secondary flow resistance of a secondary volumetric flow on a tension side (see ¶ 0024; FIG. 1); and a compression-side auxiliary valve (4, 11) having: a compression-side auxiliary valve body (4); and at least one compression-side valve disk (11) for influencing the secondary flow resistance of the secondary volumetric flow on a compression side (see ¶ 0024; FIG. 1); a support section (12) for axially securing the main valve and the tension-side auxiliary valve and the compression-side auxiliary valve (see ¶ 0025; FIG. 1), wherein the main valve body is arranged on the support section axially between the tension-side auxiliary valve body and the compression-side auxiliary valve body (see FIG. 1) and defines a tension-side and a compression-side working space (see FIG. 1).
Eichenmuller does not disclose that the compression-side auxiliary valve opens into a pressure chamber, which is chambered off relative to the compression-side working space, wherein the pressure chamber is bounded in an axial direction by a further valve disk for influencing the flow resistance of the secondary volumetric flow.
Yu teaches a valve assembly for a vibration damper (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising: a main valve (100) and a compression-side auxiliary valve (500), the compression-side auxiliary valve comprising a compression-side auxiliary valve body (500), at least one compression-side valve disk (511), wherein the compression-side auxiliary valve opens into a pressure chamber (see FIG. 1, space bounded between disk (511) and disk (522)), which is chambered off relative to the compression-side working space (via (522)), wherein the pressure chamber is bounded in an axial direction by a further valve disk (522) for influencing the flow resistance of the secondary volumetric flow (see ¶ 0054).
It would have been obvious to configure the valve assembly of Eichenmuller to have the compression-side auxiliary valve open into a pressure chamber bounded by a further valve disk to provide a further blowoff point that generates a soft and smooth transition between differing damping force characteristics at differing speeds (see e.g. Yu, ¶¶ 0008, 0012-0016).
Regarding claim 17, Eichenmuller discloses at least one secondary flow channel (2) that connects the tension-side auxiliary valve and the compression-side auxiliary valve to one another fluidically (see FIG. 1); wherein, when there is a movement of the valve assembly in a tension direction, the secondary volumetric flow runs from the tension-side working space, via the tension-side auxiliary valve, the secondary flow channel, via the compression-side auxiliary valve (see FIG. 1). Yu teaches that fluid flows from the auxiliary valve into the pressure chamber and from the pressure chamber into the compression-side working space (see FIG. 2); and wherein a flow rate of the secondary volumetric flow from the pressure chamber into the compression-side working space is limited by the further valve disk (see FIG. 2; ¶ 0024).
Regarding claim 18, Eichenmuller discloses that the compression-side auxiliary valve body and/or the compression-side auxiliary valve disk have/has at least one radial outflow channel (21) for formation of a radial flow path for the secondary volumetric flow (see ¶ 0031), wherein the secondary volumetric flow runs at least partially in a radial direction via the radial outflow channel (see ¶ 0031; FIG. 1). Yu teaches that fluid flows from the auxiliary valve into the pressure chamber (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 19, Yu teaches that the pressure chamber is bounded in a radial direction by a cylindrical shell section (520), wherein the cylindrical shell section has on its axial end an encircling valve seat surface for the further valve disk (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 20, Eichenmuller discloses at least one axial outflow channel (16c) (see FIG. 6) that forms an axial flow path for the secondary volumetric flow that fluidically connects to the compression-side working space (see FIG. 6; ¶ 0036, 0037). It would have been obvious to configure the further valve disk (combined from Yu) to have an axial flow passage because Eichenmuller discloses that all of the disks in the assembly have an axial flow passage, and further teaches that the axial flow passages connecting the chambers defines the amount of choking of fluid passing through the opening (e.g. little resistance at slow speeds, and increased resistance at higher speeds when the fluid is choked).
Regarding claim 21, Yu teaches that the pressure chamber is connected fluidically to the compression-side working space via at least one further radial outflow channel for formation of a radial flow path for the secondary volumetric flow (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 22, Yu discloses that an encircling annular trough is formed within the pressure chamber between the compression-side auxiliary valve body and a cylindrical shell section (520) (see FIG. 1), and wherein a flow direction of the secondary volumetric flow within the pressure chamber is deflected by the annular trough (see FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 23, Yu discloses that at least an inner edge of the cylindrical shell section has a rounding (see e.g. FIG. 1, shell section is annular, thereby having a “rounding”).
Regarding claim 24, Yu discloses that the valve assembly has a cylinder pot (520) for the formation of the pressure chamber (see FIGS. 1, 2), and wherein the compression-side auxiliary valve body is accommodated in the cylinder pot (see FIGS. 1, 2), and the cylinder pot has the cylindrical shell section (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 25, Yu discloses that the pressure chamber is partially formed by the compression-side auxiliary valve body (520), and wherein the compression-side auxiliary valve body has the cylindrical shell section (see FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 26, Eichenmuller discloses that the main valve body has a receiving space on the compression side (see FIG. 1), and wherein the main valve opens on the compression side into the receiving space and wherein the receiving space is bounded by a bottom section of the compression-side auxiliary valve in order to influence a flow resistance of the main volumetric flow in the axial direction (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 27, Eichenmuller discloses that either the compression-side auxiliary valve body or a cylinder pot has the bottom section (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 28, Eichenmuller discloses that the receiving space is bounded in a radial direction by a piston skirt section (see FIG. 1), and wherein an encircling annular gap for fluidically connecting the receiving space to the compression- side working space is formed between the cylindrical shell section and the piston skirt section (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 29, Yu teaches that the bottom section is connected to the cylindrical shell section by an encircling run-in chamfer (see FIG. 1, top corners of (500) are chamfered), wherein the main volumetric flow runs into the annular gap via the run-in chamfer (see FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Eichenmuller discloses a vibration damper comprising a valve assembly (see Abstract, FIGS. 1, 2), comprising: a main valve (2, 9), having: a main valve body (2); and at least one main valve disk (9) for influencing a flow resistance of a main volumetric flow (see ¶ 0024, FIG. 1); a tension-side auxiliary valve (3, 10), having: a tension-side auxiliary valve body (3); and at least one tension-side valve disk (10) for influencing a secondary flow resistance of a secondary volumetric flow on a tension side (see ¶ 0024; FIG. 1); and a compression-side auxiliary valve (4, 11) having: a compression-side auxiliary valve body (4); and at least one compression-side valve disk (11) for influencing the secondary flow resistance of the secondary volumetric flow on a compression side (see ¶ 0024; FIG. 1); a support section (12) for axially securing the main valve and the tension-side auxiliary valve and the compression-side auxiliary valve (see ¶ 0025; FIG. 1), wherein the main valve body is arranged on the support section axially between the tension-side auxiliary valve body and the compression-side auxiliary valve body (see FIG. 1) and defines a tension-side and a compression-side working space (see FIG. 1).
Eichenmuller does not disclose that the compression-side auxiliary valve opens into a pressure chamber, which is chambered off relative to the compression-side working space, wherein the pressure chamber is bounded in an axial direction by a further valve disk for influencing the flow resistance of the secondary volumetric flow.
Yu teaches a valve assembly for a vibration damper (see Abstract, FIG. 1), comprising: a main valve (100) and a compression-side auxiliary valve (500), the compression-side auxiliary valve comprising a compression-side auxiliary valve body (500), at least one compression-side valve disk (511), wherein the compression-side auxiliary valve opens into a pressure chamber (see FIG. 1, space bounded between disk (511) and disk (522)), which is chambered off relative to the compression-side working space (via (522)), wherein the pressure chamber is bounded in an axial direction by a further valve disk (522) for influencing the flow resistance of the secondary volumetric flow (see ¶ 0054).
It would have been obvious to configure the valve assembly of Eichenmuller to have the compression-side auxiliary valve open into a pressure chamber bounded by a further valve disk to provide a further blowoff point that generates a soft and smooth transition between differing damping force characteristics at differing speeds (see e.g. Yu, ¶¶ 0008, 0012-0016).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
June 27, 2026