DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10, 12-13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin (US 2021/0132490; IDS, 06/04/2026).
Lin discloses a robust, high transmission pellicle that is resistant to temperature- and pressure-induced deformation and that transmits a high percentage (e.g., greater than eighty-two percent, and in some examples greater than ninety percent) of radiation onto the photomask. (Para, 0015). Lin discloses in one example, the pellicle membrane comprises a carbon-based or silicon-based material, such as a transparent carbon nanotube film or a transparent silicon nanowire film, which is coated with a shell to ensure environmental stability. (Para, 0015). Lin discloses the pellicle membrane is mechanically robust while allowing for improved transmission of radiation. (Para, 0015). These disclosures teach the limitation of claims 12-13 and 16.
Lin discloses and illustrates an example pellicle-photomask structure 200, according to examples of the present disclosure. (Para, 0037; Fig.2A). Lin also discloses and illustrates an isometric view of the example pellicle-photomask structure 200. (Para, 0037; Fig.2B). Lin discloses the photomask 108 may include a mask substrate 202 and a mask pattern 204 positioned over the mask substrate 204, where the photomask 108 is an EUV mask. (Para, 0037). Lin discloses the photomask 108 may be an optical mask. (Para, 0037). Lin discloses and illustrates, the pellicle 114 may be positioned over the photomask 108 and the pellicle 114 includes a pellicle frame 206 that may be positioned over at least one of the mask substrate 202 and the mask pattern 204. (Para, 0038; Fig.2A-2B). Lin also discloses the pellicle-mask structure 200 may further include a pellicle membrane 222 positioned over the pellicle frame 206 and the pellicle membrane adhesive 220. (Para, 0048; Fig.2A-2B). Lin discloses and illustrates, the pellicle membrane adhesive 220 may be positioned between the pellicle membrane 222 and the pellicle frame 206. (Para, 0048; Fig. 2A-2B).
Lin discloses the pellicle membrane 222 may include a border 224 positioned over the pellicle membrane adhesive 220 and a top membrane portion 226 positioned over the border 224. (Para, 0049: Fig.2A-2B). Lin explains, the pellicle frame 206 may mechanically support the border 224 and the top membrane portion 226 of the pellicle membrane 222 on the photomask 108. (Para, 0050; Fig. 2A-2B). Lin discloses the top membrane portion 226 may be formed from a transparent carbon-based film or a transparent silicon-based film, such as a carbon nanotube film or a silicon nanowire film. (Para, 0051; Fig.2C). Lin discloses and illustrates this top membrane portion 226 of the pellicle membrane 222. (Para, 0052; Fig.2C). Lin discloses and illustrates the top membrane portion 226 comprises a carbon nanotube film, where the network of carbon nanotubes making up the carbon nanotube film may have a structure density of between 0.2 and one, depending on the desired percentage of radiation to be transmitted by the pellicle 114. (Para, 0052; Fig.2C). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figure 2C teach the limitation of claim 1, ‘An extreme ultraviolet (EUV) photolithography nanotube film comprising: a plurality of nanotubes that are intersected randomly to form an interconnected network structure in a planar orientation…’
Lin explains, carbon nanotube films have been shown to achieve up to approximately ninety percent visible light transmittance; therefore, a one nanometer tube thickness for the carbon nanotubes should translate into approximately 0.5 to one percent absorption for radiation in the extreme ultraviolet wavelengths. (Para, 0052). Lin further explains the precise structure density may be chosen to maximize EUV radiation transmission while minimizing passage of particles through the top membrane portion 226. (Para, 0052). Lin discloses, although a looser structure density may allow for greater EUV radiation transmission, the looser structure density may also allow particles to fall through to the photomask 108. (Para, 0052).
Lin discloses the carbon-based film or the silicon-based film may further be coated with a protective shell. (Para, 0053; Fig.2D). Lin discloses and illustrates a cross sectional view of an example carbon nanotube 230 of the network of carbon nanotubes such as illustrated in FIG. 2C. that is also coated with a protective shell 232. (Para, 0053; Fig.2D). Lin discloses the protective shell 232 may comprise, for instance, Ru, Mo, Zr, B, Nb, MoSi, SiN, SiO, another suitable material, or a combination thereof and the protective shell 232 may have a thickness that is between 0.1 and ten nanometers. (Para, 0053; Fig.2D). This disclosure teaches the limitation of claims 2-5. Lin explains the material and the thickness of the protective shell 232 may be selected to provide high transmission of EUV radiation, to dissipate heat from the top membrane portion 226, and to minimize dissipation with the film material (e.g., carbon or silicon). (Para, 0053; Fig.2D). These disclosures and the illustrations of Figures 2C and 2D teach the limitations of claim 1, ‘An extreme ultraviolet (EUV) photolithography nanotube film comprising: …the interconnected network structure having a thickness ranging from a lower limit of 3 nm to an upper limit of 100 nm, and a zirconium-coated layer, the zirconium-coated layer being deposited on the interconnected network structure.’ Moreover, these disclosures and illustrations of Figures 2C and 2D as well as the disclosures of Lin discussed above teach the limitation of claims 9-10.
Lin also discloses and illustrates a method 400 of fabricating a semiconductor device according to at least one embodiment of the present disclosure. (Para, 0067; Fig.4) Lin discloses at least some steps of the method 400 may be performed via a controller of an EUV lithography system, such as the lithography system illustrated in Figure 1. (Para, 0067; Fig.4). Lin discloses the method comprises a step 402 and then step 404, where an EUV light source may be activated to pattern a resist layer on a substrate (where the substrate may be a semiconductor wafer). (Para, 0069; Fig.4). Lin explains the EUV light source may be part of a lithography system such as the system illustrated in FIG. 1. (Para, 0069; Fig.4). Lin discloses in step 406, light emitted by the EUV light source may be directed onto a photomask which has a pattern etched into its surface, where the pattern is to be printed onto the resist layer on the substrate. (Para, 0070; Fig.4). Lin discloses in step 408, falling particles may be caught on a pellicle that is positioned over the photomask, in order to keep the photomask clear of the falling particles while the light is being directed onto the photomask. (Para, 0071; Fig.4). Lin explains the pellicle includes a transparent carbon-based or silicon-based film coated with a protective shell that dissipates heat from the film. (Para, 0071; Fig.4). Lin discloses the pellicle may be positioned to prevent particles from falling onto and contaminating the photomask. (Para, 0071; Fig.4). Lin discloses in step 410, light that passes through the pellicle and photomask may be collected by a projection optics module and focused onto the resist layer, to pattern the resist layer so as to cause features having a target pitch to be printed in the resist. (Para, 0072; Fig.4). These disclosures teach the limitation of claim 17.
Therefore, the recitations of claims 1-5, 9-10, 12-13 and 16-17 are anticipated by the disclosures and illustrations of Lin as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin.
The disclosures of Lin as discussed above fail to explicitly teach the limitation of claim 6, ‘The EUV photolithography nanotube film according to Claim 1, wherein an areal density of the zirconium-coated layer is 0.19 microgram/cm2 on each side of the nanotube film interconnected network structure.’ However, the disclosures of Lin do contemplate the limitation of claim 6.
As discussed in paragraph 3 above, Lin explicitly discloses and illustrates, the top membrane portion 226 comprises a carbon nanotube film, where the network of carbon nanotubes making up the carbon nanotube film may have a structure density of between 0.2 and one, depending on the desired percentage of radiation to be transmitted by the pellicle 114. (Para, 0052; Fig.2C). Lin also discloses and illustrates that carbon nanotube films have been shown to achieve up to approximately ninety percent visible light transmittance; therefore, a one nanometer tube thickness for the carbon nanotubes should translate into approximately 0.5 to one percent absorption for radiation in the extreme ultraviolet wavelengths. (Para, 0052). Lin further explains the precise structure density may be chosen to maximize EUV radiation transmission while minimizing passage of particles through the top membrane portion 226. (Para, 0052). Lin discloses, although a looser structure density may allow for greater EUV radiation transmission, the looser structure density may also allow particles to fall through to the photomask 108. (Para, 0052). One of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably understand from these disclosures of Lin that density of the membrane structure is variable based on the desired light transmittance and to prevent particles from falling through the photomask. Therefore, the disclosures and illustrations of Lin contemplate the limitations of claim 6.
Moreover, it necessarily follows from the disclosures of Lin, which do explicitly teach the nanotube film structure of claim 1, including the thickness and material composition, that the membrane would also exhibit the characteristics recited in claims 7-8. Therefore, Lin also contemplates the limitation of claim 7-8.
While the disclosures of Lin do not explicitly teach the limitations of claims 6-8, the disclosures of Lin as discussed above do contemplate the limitations of claims 6-8.
Claim(s) 11 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lin as applied to claims 1-5, 9-13 and 16-17 in paragraph 3 above, and further in view of Lima (WO 2020243112; IDS, 01/16/2026).
The disclosures of Lin as discussed in paragraph 3 above fail to explicitly teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 14, ‘The EUV photolithography nanotube film according to The EUV photolithography nanotube film according to wherein the plurality of nanotubes further includes single-walled carbon nanotubes, double-walled carbon nanotubes, and multi-walled carbon nanotubes, and wherein a number of walls of the single-walled carbon nanotubes is one, a number of walls of the double-walled carbon nanotubes is two, and a number of walls of the multi-walled carbon nanotubes is three or more.’ However, the disclosures and illustrations of Lin further in view of the disclosures of Lima provide such teaching.
Lima is also directed to nanofiber membranes, which include multiple layers of nanofiber structures, where each structure is a composite composition of multiwall carbon nanotubes and one or both of single wall and/or few walled carbon nanotubes. (Abstract). Lima discloses that by selecting the relative proportions of multiwall and one or more of single/few wall carbon nanotubes in a nanofiber film, the membrane can be fabricated to withstand the heating that occurs during operation in an EUV lithography machine, while also having enough mechanical integrity to withstand pressure changes of between 1 atmosphere (atm) and 2 atm between operating cycles of an EUV lithography machine. (Abstract).
Lima discloses example nanofiber membranes. In Example 1 Lima discloses, a nanofiber membrane comprises a first layer of carbon nanofibers comprising from 50 weight percent to 80 weight percent multiwall carbon nanofibers and from 20 weight percent to 50 weight percent single wall or few walled carbon nanofibers, so as to total 100 weight percent. (Para, 0004). Lima discloses in example 2, a second layer of carbon nanofibers comprising from 50 weight percent to 80 weight percent multiwall carbon nanofibers and from 20 weight percent to 50 weight percent single wall or few walled carbon nanofibers, so as to total 100 weight percent; and a third layer of carbon nanofibers between the first layer and the second layer, the third layer comprising more 50 weight percent or more of single wall and/or few walled carbon nanofibers and less than 50 weight percent multiwall carbon nanofibers, so as to total 100 weight percent. (Para, 0005). Lima also explains that multiwall carbon nanofibers comprise from 4 walls to 20 walls; the few wall carbon nanofibers comprise 2 walls and/or 3 walls; and the single wall carbon nanofibers comprise 1 wall.(Para, 0006). The disclosures and illustrations of Lin as discussed above further in view of these disclosures of Lima teach and/or suggest the limitation of claims 14-15. Lima also discloses these example pellicles exhibits a transmittance of radiation having a wavelength of 550 nm that is greater than 85%. (Para, 0018). The disclosures and illustrations of Lin as discussed above further in view of this disclosure of Lima teach and/or suggest the limitation of claim 11.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the present application by Applicant to modify the disclosures of Lin further in view of the disclosures of Lima because both are directed to analogous pellicle with a carbon-nanotube based pellicle membrane and Lima discloses compositional parameters for types of carbon-nanotubes include in the pellicle membrane which would produce a pellicle membrane in Lin that is fabricated to withstand the heating that occurs during operation in an EUV lithography machine, while also having enough mechanical integrity to withstand pressure change.
Conclusion
/CALEEN O SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2899