CTNF 18/695,963 CTNF 90543 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-27 Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed on March 27, 2024. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on March 27, 2024, April 2, 2024, January 17, 2025 is being considered by the examiner. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. 06-11-01 AIA The following title is suggested: Imaging Device With Antireflection Layers For Improved Incident Light Efficiency Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-2 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito (US 2012/0075509). Claim 1 , Ito discloses (Fig. 15B) an imaging device, comprising: a first filter ( G , color filter, Para [0096]) that allows light of a first wavelength band ( G is a green filter allowing green light of a first wavelength, Para [0070]) to pass therethrough ( G allows green light to pass through); a first photoelectric converter ( 21 under G , photoelectric conversion unit, Para [0097], hereinafter” pc1 ”) that photoelectrically converts the light of the first wavelength band having passed through the first filter ( pc1 converts the light to green to pass through filter G , Para [0097]); a second filter ( R , color filter, Para [0096]) that is provided adjacent to the first filter ( R is adjacent G ), and allows light of a second wavelength band to pass therethrough ( R allows Red light to pass through); and a second photoelectric converter ( 21 under G , photoelectric conversion unit, Para [0097], hereinafter” pc1 ”) that photoelectrically converts the light of the second wavelength band having passed through the second filter ( pc2 converts the light to red to pass through filter R , Para [0097]), wherein a refractive index of the first filter for the light of the first wavelength band is higher than a refractive index of the second filter for the light of the first wavelength band (since claim 2 states that the first wavelength band is a green light and the second wavelength band can be red, Ito teaches these color lights and so the refractive index of the first filter would be higher than the refractive index of the second filter). Claim 2 , Ito discloses (Fig. 15B) The imaging device according to claim 1, wherein the first wavelength band includes a wavelength of green light ( G has the wavelength band of green), and the second wavelength band includes a wavelength of red light or a wavelength of blue light ( R has the wavelength band of red) . Claim 15 , Ito discloses (Fig. 15B) the imaging device according to claim 13, wherein a substrate ( 11/25/29 , substrate/wire layer/flat insulation film considered substrate, Para [0065], hereinafter “ sub ”) is provided in which a plurality ( 21 are proved in 11 of sub ) of photoelectric converters ( 21 , photoelectric conversion units, Para [0065]) including the first photoelectric converter ( pc1 ) and the second photoelectric converter ( pc1 ) is provided, the first filter ( G ) and the second filter ( R ) are provided on the substrate ( G and R are provided on sub ), and the isolator ( 31 ) reaches at least to the substrate ( 31 reaches top surface of 29 of sub ) . 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1, 5-6, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Naya (US 2014/0346629) . Claim 1 , Naya discloses (Figs. 1 and 6) an imaging device, comprising: a first filter ( 21G , green filters, Para [0044]) that allows light of a first wavelength band to pass therethrough ( 21G allows green light wavelength band to pass); a first photoelectric converter ( 26G , photodiode for green filter, Para [0044]) that photoelectrically converts the light of the first wavelength band having passed through the first filter ( 26G photoelectrically converts green light passed) ; a second filter ( 21R , red filters, Para [0044]) that is provided adjacent to the first filter, and allows light of a second wavelength band to pass therethrough ( 21G allows red light wavelength band to pass); and a second photoelectric converter ( 26R , photodiode for red filter, Para [0044]) that photoelectrically converts the light of the second wavelength band having passed through the second filter ( 26R photoelectrically converts red light passed), wherein a refractive index of the first filter for the light of the first wavelength band is higher than a refractive index of the second filter for the light of the first wavelength band (since claim 2 states that the first wavelength band is a green light and the second wavelength band can be red, Naya teaches these color lights and so the refractive index of the first filter would be higher than the refractive index of the second filter). Claim 5 , Naya discloses (Figs. 1 and 6) the imaging device according to claim 1, comprising: a third filter ( 21B , blue filters, Para [0044]) that is provided adjacent to the second filter ( 21B is adjacent to 21R ), and allows light of a third wavelength band to pass therethrough ( 21B allows blue light wavelength band to pass); and a third photoelectric converter ( 26B , photodiode for red filter, Para [0044]) that photoelectrically converts the light of the third wavelength band having passed through the third filter ( 26B photoelectrically converts blue light passed), wherein the refractive index of the first filter for the light of the first wavelength band is higher than a refractive index of the third filter for the light of the first wavelength band (since claim 6 states that the first wavelength band is a green light and the third wavelength band can be blue, Naya teaches these and so the refractive index of the first filter would be higher than the refractive index of the third filter). Claim 6 , Naya discloses (Figs. 1 and 6) the imaging device according to claim 5, wherein the first wavelength band includes a wavelength of green light, the second wavelength band includes a wavelength of red light, and the third wavelength band includes a wavelength of blue light (the first filter is green 21G , the second filter is red 21R and the third filter is blue 21B ). Claim 11 , Naya discloses (Figs. 1 and 6) the imaging device according to claim 5, wherein in a wavelength band from 400 nm to 700 nm (see Fig. 6, example 500 nm), each of the refractive index of the first filter (green), the refractive index of the second filter (red), and the refractive index of the third filter (blue) is higher (at 500 nm green has an index of 1.68, red has an index of 1.68 and blue has an index of 1.57 which is higher than index of silicon dioxide at 1.35) than a refractive index of silicon dioxide (SiO2) (silicon dioxide refraction index is 1.35, Para [0051]). Claim 12 , Naya discloses (Figs. 1 and 6) the imaging device according to claim 11, wherein in the wavelength band from 400 nm to 700 nm (at 500 nm for example), each of the refractive index of the first filter (green), the refractive index of the second filter (red), and the refractive index of the third filter (blue) is higher by 0.05 or more than the refractive index of silicon dioxide (SiO2) (at 500 nm each of red blue and green filters has a refractive index higher by .05 than 1.35) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-22-aia AIA Claim (s) 3-4 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2012/0075509) as applied to claim 1 and 13 above, and further in view of Toda (US 2006/0044429). Claim 3 , Ito discloses the imaging device according to claim 2. Ito does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wavelength band includes a wavelength band from 500 nm to 550 nm. However, Toda discloses (Fig. 7) that a wavelength of green color can be 540 nm (Para [0188]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the green filter of Ito would have the wavelength of Toda as it is a common wavelength for green light (Toda, Para [0188]). Claim 4 , Ito in view of Toda discloses the imaging device according to claim 3, wherein in the wavelength band from 500 nm to 550 nm (green of Toda is 540 nm), the refractive index of the first filter (Fig. 7 Toda green can have a refractive index of 4.1) is higher by 0.05 or more than the refractive index (Fig. 7 Toda red can have a refractive index of 3.8) of the second filter (4.1 is more than .05 higher than 3.8). Claim 14 , Ito discloses (Fig. 15B) the imaging device according to claim 13, a refractive index of the isolator ( 31 s refractive index is 1.45). Ito does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the refractive index of the first filter and the refractive index of the second filter is higher by 0.4 or more than a refractive index of the isolator. However, Toda discloses (Fig. 7) that the refractive index of a green filter ma be 4.1 and the refractive index of a red filter may be 3.8. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the green filter and red filter of Ito can have the refractive indices of Toda as it is a common index for filters in an optimized structure (Toda, Para [0188]). As a result, Ito’s G can have an index of 4.1 and Ito’s R can have an index of 3.8 which are 0.4 higher than 1.45 . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 7 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naya (US 2014/0346629) as applied to claim 6, and further in view of Toda (US 2006/0044429). Claim 7 , Naya discloses the imaging device according to claim 6. Naya does not explicitly disclose wherein the first wavelength band includes a wavelength band from 500 nm to 550 nm. However, Toda discloses (Fig. 7) that a wavelength of green color can be 540 nm (Para [0188]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the green filter of Naya would have the wavelength of Toda as it is a common wavelength for green light (Toda, Para [0188]). Claim 9 , Naya discloses the imaging device according to claim 6. Naya does not explicitly disclose wherein the third wavelength band includes a wavelength band from 430 nm to 480 nm. However, Toda discloses (Fig. 7) that a wavelength of blue color can be 460 nm (Para [0188]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the blue filter of Naya would have the wavelength of Toda as it is a common wavelength for blue light (Toda, Para [0188]). Claim 10 , Naya in view of Toda discloses the imaging device according to claim 6 wherein in the wavelength band from 430 nm to 480 nm (blue filter as taught by Toda), the refractive index of the third filter (Fig. 7, refractive index of blue is 4.6) is higher by 0.05 or more than the refractive index of the second filter (Fig. 7, refractive index of red is 3.8) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Naya (US 2014/0346629) as applied to claim 7, and further in view of Hsu (US 2016/0099270). Claim 8 , Naya discloses the imaging device according to claim 7. Naya does not explicitly disclose wherein in the wavelength band from 500 nm to 550 nm, the refractive index of the first filter is higher by 0.05 or more than the refractive index of the second filter, and is higher by 0.05 or more than the refractive index of the third filter. However, Hsu discloses (Fig. 2) a green filter with a refractive index of 1.7, a red filter with a refractive index of 1.5 and a blue filter with a refractive index of 1.5. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the larger green filter refractive index materials of Hsu to the filters of Naya as the larger index of the green filter can improve the quantum efficiency of the device (Hsu, Para [0074]). Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2012/0075509). Claim 16 , Ito discloses (Fig. 15B) The imaging device according to claim 1, comprising a lens ( 43 , on-chip lens, Para [0096]) where light enters, wherein the first photoelectric converter photoelectrically converts light having passed through the lens and the first filter ( pc1 converts light passing through 43 and G ). Ito Fig. 15B does not explicitly disclose and a refractive index of the lens is higher than a refractive index of silicon dioxide (SiO2). However, Ito discloses (Fig. 5D) lens member material 33 may be an organic material with a refractive index of 1.6 higher than SiO2 refractive index of 1.45 (Para [0075]) . Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the lens member material to have a higher refractive index than silicon oxide as the refractive index ensures the transmittance of the light in the particular color (Para [0075]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito (US 2012/0075509) as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Ueno (US 2011/0175187). Claim 17 , Ito discloses the imaging device according to claim 1. Ito does not explicitly disclose comprising a fixed electric charge film and an antireflective film provided between the first filter and the first photoelectric converter . However, Ueno discloses (Fig. 1) a fixed electric charge film ( 28a , negative fixed charge layer, Para [0019]) and an antireflective film ( 28b/28c , insulating layer of antireflection structure, Para [0019]) provided between a first filter ( 30 , color filter, Par a[0018]) and a first photoelectric converter ( 24/26 , n-type diffusion/p-type diffusion constituting pn photodiode, Para [0018]). Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply the antireflection layer of Ueno including the fixed electric charge film as it can reduce dark current generated by interfacial defects (Ueno, Para [0072]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to GUSTAVO G RAMALLO whose telephone number is (571)272-9227. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 10am - 6pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, William Partridge can be reached at (571) 270-1402. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /GUSTAVO G RAMALLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 2 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 3 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 4 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 5 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 6 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 7 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 8 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 9 Art Unit: 2812 Application/Control Number: 18/695,963 Page 10 Art Unit: 2812