DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 14-19, Applicant pointed out that in the interview conducted on May 12, 2026, an agreement was reached that claim 14 with the amendment submitted herein would overcome the 102 rejection, subject to further search and consideration. Upon further consideration, the newly added limitation “wherein said stepped collar is configured to move axially with respect to said socket body” is taught by Zhou et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0088763) in paragraph 0053. Zhou et al. teaches “The insulation member 354 can be formed of a resilient material, and can be connected to the outer surface of the shell 346 due to a radially compressive force exhibited by the insulation member 354 when pulled onto the shell 346… The free end of the shell 346 can be inserted through the opening 356 in the insulation member 354, thereby causing the insulation member 354 to expand or stretch to fit around the shell 346”. Therefore, Zhou et al. teaches the newly added limitation in claim 14 “wherein said stepped collar is configured to move axially with respect to said socket body”.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks (pages 1-2), filed 05/13/2026, with respect to claim 20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 20 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7, 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHUNG (WO 2021/162314 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHUNG teaches a method of forming a contact probe and a contact probe comprising: a shell (123) comprising a first end and an opposed second end (as shown in fig. 2), said shell (123) defining an interior chamber therein (as shown in fig. 2) and a longitudinal axis (VD) extending through said first end and said second end (as shown in fig. 2); a plunger (121) partially received within the interior chamber (as disclosed by CHUNG “The barrel 123 may be formed in a cylindrical shape, and the upper plunger 121 and the lower plunger 122 are partially inserted into the cylindrical space of the barrel 123”) and extending longitudinally outward of said first end (as shown in fig. 2), said plunger (121) comprising a tip for electrically connecting said contact probe to an external chip (30) (as shown in fig. 1 and disclosed by CHUNG “the probe 120 is in contact with the terminal 31 of the device under test”); and a stepped collar (130) comprising a first axial end (where 131 is located, as shown in fig. 2) and a second, opposed axial end (where 135 is located, as shown in fig. 2), said stepped collar (130) coupled to, and in contact with said shell (123) (as shown in fig. 2), said stepped collar (130) further comprising a first step (131) at the first axial end and a second step (135) at the second axial end, said second step (135) extending from said shell (123) and said first step (131) extending around said plunger (121) longitudinally between said second step (135) and said tip (as shown in fig. 2), said first step (131) and said second step (135) each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of said shell (123) (as shown in fig. 2), wherein said shell (123) further comprises a ledge (horizontal line in 123 located inside 135 where 121 extends from) configured to contact said second step (135) at said stepped collar (130) second axial end (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 2, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said first step (131) has a first diameter (in the HD direction, as shown in fig. 2-3) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (VD) and said second step (135) has a second diameter (in the HD direction, as shown in fig. 2-3) perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (VD), and wherein the first diameter is less than the second diameter (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said first step (131) comprising an outer surface extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second step (135) (as shown in fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 3, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said first axial end defines a first opening (133) and said second axial end defines a second opening (as shown in fig. 2), and wherein said plunger (121) extends through the first opening (133) and said shell (123) extends through the second opening (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, CHENG teaches the limitations of claim 3, in addition, CHENG teaches wherein said stepped collar (130) comprises a first interior surface and a second interior surface (as shown in fig. 2), said first interior surface extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second interior surface (as shown in fig. 2), said second interior surface extending longitudinally from said first interior surface to said second axial end (as shown in fig. 2), and wherein said first interior surface and said second interior surface cooperatively define a slot (133) sized to receive the plunger (121) therein (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 5, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said second interior surface extends circumferentially about said shell (123) radially outward of said first interior surface (as shown in fig. 2-3).
Regarding claim 8, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said stepped collar (130) defines a longitudinally extending slot (133), and wherein said shell (123) comprises an outer surface received within said slot (133) (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 11, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said plunger (121) is a first plunger and said tip is a first tip, and wherein said contact probe (120) further comprises: a second plunger (122) at least partially received within the interior chamber (123) and extending longitudinally outward of said second end (as shown in fig. 2), said second plunger (122) comprising a second tip for electrically connecting said contact probe (120) to a conductive pad (22) (as shown in fig. 1); and a biasing element (124) connecting said first plunger (121) to said second plunger (122) (as shown in fig. 2 and disclosed by CHUNG “The elastic member 124 is positioned between the upper and lower plungers 121 and 122 and applies an elastic force to the upper and lower plungers 121 and 122 in the vertical direction VD”).
Regarding claim 12, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said stepped collar (top 130) is a first collar, and wherein said contact probe (120) further comprises a second collar (bottom 130) coupled to said shell (123) longitudinally between said second end and said stepped collar (top 130) (as shown in fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said stepped collar (130) is formed of an insulative material (as disclosed by CHUNG an insulating member 130).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHUNG (WO 2021/162314 A1) in view of Zhou et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0088763).
Regarding claim 6, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 5, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said plunger (121) comprises a neck extending outward of said shell (123) to said tip (as shown in fig. 2).
CHUNG fails to specifically teach wherein said first interior surface contacts said neck. However, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) contacts said neck (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have said first interior surface contact said neck as taught by Zhou et al. with the invention of CHUNG in order to securely fit the contact probe.
Regarding claim 9, CHUNG teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said plunger (121) further comprises: a base portion (portion inside 123) received within the interior chamber; a crown comprising said tip (as shown in fig. 2-3); and a neck extending from said shoulder to said crown (as shown in fig. 2-3).
CHUNG fails to specifically teach wherein said plunger further comprises: a shoulder positioned to contact said first end of said shell. However, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said plunger (610A or 301, which is the equivalent) further comprises: shoulder (305) positioned to contact said first end of said shell (614A or 306, which is the equivalent).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have said plunger further comprise: a shoulder positioned to contact said first end of said shell as taught by Zhou et al. with the invention of CHUNG in order to accurately and effectively send and receive signals.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of CHUNG and Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 9, in addition, CHUNG teaches wherein said stepped collar (130) further comprises an interior surface that engages said neck (as shown in fig. 2-3), and wherein said crown extends radially outward of said neck (as shown in fig. 2-3).
Claims 14-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0088763).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou et al. teaches an electrical connector assembly (100) comprising: a socket body (120) comprising a neck (portion in 120 where 341 is located) and a central portion (where 380 is located) extending within said socket body (120) and cooperatively defining a cavity (380) therein (as shown in fig. 3E); and a contact probe (340) at least partially positioned within the cavity (380), said contact probe (340) comprising: a shell (346) comprising a first end (where 354A is located) and an opposed second end (where 354B is located), said shell (346) defining an interior chamber therein (tube-shaped, as disclosed in para. 0048) and a longitudinal axis extending through said first end and said second end (as shown in fig. 3E); a plunger (341) partially received within the interior chamber (as disclosed in para. 0048) and extending longitudinally outward of said first end (as shown in fig. 3E), said plunger (341) comprising a tip for electrically connecting said contact probe (340) to an external chip (110) (as disclosed in para. 0039); and a collar (354) coupled to said shell (346), wherein said collar (354) is configured to move axially with respect to said socket body (120) (as disclosed in para. 0053).
Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3E) fails to specifically teach a stepped collar coupled to said shell, said stepped collar comprising a first step sized in correspondence with said neck and a second step sized in correspondence with said central portion, said first step and said second step each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell. However, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches a stepped collar (616A) coupled to said shell (614A), said stepped collar (616A) comprising a first step (section in 616A around 610A) sized in correspondence with said neck and a second step (section in 616A around 610A) sized in correspondence with said central portion (portion in 662 where 614A is located) (as shown in fig. 6A), said first step (section in 616A around 610A) and said second step (section in 616A around 614A) each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell (614A) (As shown in fig. 6A and further shown in fig. 6B. Note that the diameter between the external walls of the first step and the second step are greater than the diameter between the external walls of the shell.).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have a stepped collar coupled to said shell, said stepped collar comprising a first step sized in correspondence with said neck and a second step sized in correspondence with said central portion, said first step and said second step each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell as taught by Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) with the invention of the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) in order to maintain a consistent impedance through the probe (Zhou et al. para. 0103).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) and Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches the limitations of claim 14, in addition, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches wherein said first step (section in 616A around 610A) has a first diameter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and said second step (section in 616A around 610A) has a second diameter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first diameter is less than the second diameter (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) and Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches the limitations of claim 14, in addition, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) further includes a first axial end on said first step (section in 616A around 610A) and a second, opposed axial end on said second step (section in 616A around 614A), said first step comprising an outer surface extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second step (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have said stepped collar further include a first axial end on said first step and a second, opposed axial end on said second step, said first step comprising an outer surface extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second step as taught by Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) with the invention of the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) in order to securely fit the contact probe in the socket body.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) and Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches wherein said first axial end defines a first opening (opening in 616A where 610A goes through) and said second axial end defines a second opening (opening in 616A where 614A goes through), and wherein said plunger (610A) extends through the first opening and said shell (614A) extends through the second opening (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) and Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) comprises a first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) and a second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through)(as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through)(as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said second interior surface extending longitudinally from said first interior surface to said second axial end (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), and wherein said first interior surface and said second interior surface cooperatively define a slot sized to receive the plunger (610A) therein (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) and Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) teaches wherein said plunger (341) comprises a neck (portion between tip and 354, as shown in fig. 3C) extending outward of said shell (346) to said tip.
Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) fails to specifically teach wherein said first interior surface contacts said neck. However, Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) teaches wherein said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) contacts said neck (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
It would have been obvious, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine and have said first interior surface contact said neck as taught by Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 6A-6B) with the invention of the combination of Zhou et al. (embodiment of fig. 3C-3F) in order to securely fit the contact probe in the socket body.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 20, the prior art fails to specifically teach a method of forming a contact probe comprising: providing a shell including a first end and an opposed second end and a ledge therebetween, and coupling a stepped collar to the shell between the shell ledge and the plunger tip, the stepped collar including a first step and a second step, the second step extending from the ledge toward the first step and about the shell, and the first step extending around the plunger longitudinally between the second step and the tip, the first step and the second step each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell, in combination with all the limitations of the claim.
Conclusion
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858