DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/09/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The amendment to the specification filed on 04/09/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/09/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that amended Claims 1, 14 and 20 include certain limitations, in particular, a first step and a second step each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell, that are not identified in the Office Action as being described in the cited art. The examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhou et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0088763) teaches a first step (section in 616A around 610A) and a second step (section in 616A around 614A) each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell (614A) (As shown in fig. 6A and further shown in fig. 6B. Note that the diameter between the external walls of the first step and the second step are greater than the diameter between the external walls of the shell.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0088763).
Regarding claims 1 and 20, Zhou et al. teaches a method of forming a contact probe and a contact probe (660) comprising: a shell (614A) comprising a first end (620A) and an opposed second end (622A), said shell (614A) defining an interior chamber therein (as shown in fig. 3A and disclosed in para. 0038-0039) and a longitudinal axis extending through said first end and said second end (as shown in fig. 6A-6B); a plunger (610A) partially received within the interior chamber (as shown in fig. 3A) and extending longitudinally outward of said first end (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said plunger (610A) comprising a tip for electrically connecting said contact probe (660) to an external chip (110) (as disclosed in para. 0039); and a stepped collar (616A) coupled to said shell (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said stepped collar comprising a first step (section in 616A around 610A) and a second step (section in 616A around 614A), said second step extending about said shell (614A) and said first step extending around said plunger (610A) longitudinally between said second step and said tip (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said first step (section in 616A around 610A) and said second step (section in 616A around 614A) each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of said shell (614A) (As shown in fig. 6A and further shown in fig. 6B. Note that the diameter between the external walls of the first step and the second step are greater than the diameter between the external walls of the shell.).
Regarding claim 2, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said first step (section in 616A around 610A) has a first diameter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and said second step (section in 616A around 614A) has a second diameter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first diameter is less than the second diameter (as shown in fig. 6A-6B and discussed in para. 0102).
Regarding claim 3, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) further includes a first axial end on said first step (section in 616A around 610A) and a second, opposed axial end on said second step (section in 616A around 614A), said first step comprising an outer surface extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second step (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 4, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 3, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said first axial end defines a first opening (opening in 616A where 610A goes through) and said second axial end defines a second opening (opening in 616A where 614A goes through), and wherein said plunger (610A) extends through the first opening and said shell (614A) extends through the second opening (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 5, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 3, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) comprises a first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) and a second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through)(as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through)(as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said second interior surface extending longitudinally from said first interior surface to said second axial end (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), and wherein said first interior surface and said second interior surface cooperatively define a slot sized to receive the plunger (610A) therein (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 6, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 5, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said plunger (610A) comprises a neck (portion between tip and 304, as shown in fig. 3A) extending outward of said shell (614A) to said tip, and wherein said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) contacts said neck (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 7, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 5, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through) extends circumferentially about said shell (614A) radially outward of said first interior surface (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 8, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) defines a longitudinally extending slot, and wherein said shell (614A) comprises an outer surface received within said slot and a ledge (305) extending radially outward of said outer surface, said ledge (305) being positioned on said shell (614A) to contact said first step (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 9, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said plunger (610A or 301, which is the equivalent) further comprises: a base portion (304) received within the interior chamber; a shoulder (305) positioned to contact said first end of said shell (614A or 306, which is the equivalent); a crown (302) comprising said tip (as shown in fig. 3A and 6A); and a neck (portion between 302 and 305) extending from said shoulder to said crown (as shown in fig. 3A and 6A).
Regarding claim 10, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 9, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) further comprises an interior surface that engages said neck (portion between 302 and 305), and wherein said crown (302) extends radially outward of said neck (as shown in fig. 3A and 6A).
Regarding claim 11, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said plunger (610A) is a first plunger and said tip is a first tip, and wherein said contact probe (660) further comprises: a second plunger (612A) at least partially received within the interior chamber and extending longitudinally outward of said second end (622A) (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said second plunger (612A) comprising a second tip for electrically connecting said contact probe to a conductive pad (as disclosed in para. 0039); and a biasing element (308) connecting said first plunger (610A) to said second plunger (612A) (as shown in fig. 3A and disclosed in para. 0042).
Regarding claim 12, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) is a first collar, and wherein said contact probe (660) further comprises a second collar coupled to said shell (614A) longitudinally between said second end (622A) and said stepped collar (616A) (as shown in fig. 6A-6B and disclosed in para. 0104).
Regarding claim 13, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 1, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) is formed of an insulative material (as disclosed in para. 0102).
Regarding claim 14, Zhou et al. teaches an electrical connector assembly (100) comprising: a socket body (602 and 606) comprising a neck (portion in 662 where 610A is located) and a central portion (portion in 662 where 614A is located) extending within said socket body (602 and 606) and cooperatively defining a cavity (662) therein (as shown in fig. 6A-6B); and a contact probe (660) at least partially positioned within the cavity (662), said contact probe (660) comprising: a shell (614A) comprising a first end (620A) and an opposed second end (622A), said shell (614A) defining an interior chamber therein and a longitudinal axis extending through said first end and said second end (as shown in fig. 3A and 6A); a plunger (610A) partially received within the interior chamber and extending longitudinally outward of said first end (as shown in fig. 3A and 6A), said plunger (610A) comprising a tip for electrically connecting said contact probe (660) to an external chip (110) (as disclosed in para. 0039); and a stepped collar (616A) coupled to said shell (614A), said stepped collar (616A) comprising a first step (section in 616A around 610A) sized in correspondence with said neck and a second step (section in 616A around 610A) sized in correspondence with said central portion (portion in 662 where 614A is located) (as shown in fig. 6A), said first step (section in 616A around 610A) and said second step (section in 616A around 614A) each having a respective diameter that is greater than a diameter of the shell (614A) (As shown in fig. 6A and further shown in fig. 6B. Note that the diameter between the external walls of the first step and the second step are greater than the diameter between the external walls of the shell.).
Regarding claim 15, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 14, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said first step (section in 616A around 610A) has a first diameter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis and said second step (section in 616A around 610A) has a second diameter perpendicular to the longitudinal axis, and wherein the first diameter is less than the second diameter (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 16, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 14, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) further includes a first axial end on said first step (section in 616A around 610A) and a second, opposed axial end on said second step (section in 616A around 614A), said first step comprising an outer surface extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second step (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 17, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said first axial end defines a first opening (opening in 616A where 610A goes through) and said second axial end defines a second opening (opening in 616A where 614A goes through), and wherein said plunger (610A) extends through the first opening and said shell (614A) extends through the second opening (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 18, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 16, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said stepped collar (616A) comprises a first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) and a second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through)(as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) extending longitudinally from said first axial end to said second interior surface (surface in 616A where 614A goes through)(as shown in fig. 6A-6B), said second interior surface extending longitudinally from said first interior surface to said second axial end (as shown in fig. 6A-6B), and wherein said first interior surface and said second interior surface cooperatively define a slot sized to receive the plunger (610A) therein (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Regarding claim 19, Zhou et al. teaches the limitations of claim 18, in addition, Zhou et al. teaches wherein said plunger (610A) comprises a neck (portion between tip and 304, as shown in fig. 3A) extending outward of said shell (614A) to said tip, and wherein said first interior surface (surface in 616A where 610A goes through) contacts said neck (as shown in fig. 6A-6B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROBERTO VELEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858