DETAILED ACTION
This communication is response to claims filed on 03/27/24 via a preliminary amendment, which is considered by the examiner.
Claims 1-5, 7-13, 15-16, 18-21 & 23-24 are presented for examination.
Claims 7-9, 18-19, 21 & 23-24 are amended.
Claims 6, 14, 17, 22 & 25-26 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement’s
6. The information disclosure statement(s) submitted on 07/15/24 have being considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Priority
7. Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d). Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawing
8. The drawings filed on 03/27/24 are accepted by the examiner.
Specification
9. The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains a legal phraseology “comprises” in line 16. Correction is required. See MPEP § 608.01(b). The form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as "means" and "said," should be avoided.
10. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Examiner suggested to change the title to “RADIO LINK MONITORING (RLM) FOR INTER-CELL MULTI-TRANSMISSION RECEPTION POINT (MTRP) OPERATION”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims Objections
11. Claim 24 is objected to because of minor informalities:
12. Claim 24, in part, recites, “…a User Equipment (UE) comprising network interface…in line 1. It’s suggested to change it to: “a User Equipment (UE) comprising: network interface”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
14. Claims 1-2, 7-9 & 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Alexandros et al. (hereinafter referred as Alexandros) International Publication No. WO 2020/069415 A1 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claims 1 & 24: Alexandros discloses an apparatus a User Equipment (UE) (See FIG. 8 & Para. 0156; a User Equipment (UE))/a method comprising
network interfaces (See FIG. 8 & Para. 0156; a User Equipment (UE) includes a Transceiver) and processing circuitry (See FIG. 8 & Para. 0156; a User Equipment (UE) includes a Processor) connected thereto, configured to:
receive a message for activating multiple Transmission Configuration Indicators (TCIs) configured for the UE (See Para. 0091; UE 115 receives an indication of a particular TCI state from a base station 105. a base station 105 may configure a set of TCI states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports used for communication with a UE 115); and
perform Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) measurements, for a plurality of Transmission Reception Points (TRPs) configured for the UE, on reference signals associated with multiple Physical Cell Identifiers (PCIs) (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; UE 115 may identify an association between a set of reference signals for RLM and a set of PCIs identifying TRPs serving the UE 115. As such, the UE 115 may receive reference signals from one or more of the serving TRPs and may identify a PCI to use to decode the received reference signals), wherein the reference signals are configured as Quasi-Colocation (QCL) source of the activated TCI state (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; A TCI state may be associated with a set of reference signals (e.g., SSBs) or different types of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs)), and the TCI state may indicate a QCL relationship between antenna ports used to transmit these reference signals and antenna ports used to transmit data or control information to a UE 115).
Regarding claim 2: Alexandros discloses a method, wherein the reference signals are associated with a PCI of a serving cell and one or more additional PCI (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; UE 115 may identify an association between a set of reference signals for RLM and a set of PCIs identifying TRPs serving the UE 115. As such, the UE 115 may receive reference signals from one or more of the serving TRPs and may identify a PCI to use to decode the received reference signals).
Regarding claim 7: Alexandros discloses a method, wherein performing the RLM measurements comprises performing RLM measurements jointly based on reference signals associated with an activated TCI state associated with a serving cell having a first PCI and reference signals associated with an activated TCI state associated with a second PCI (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; UE 115 may identify an association between a set of reference signals for RLM and a set of PCIs identifying TRPs serving the UE 115. As such, the UE 115 may receive reference signals from one or more of the serving TRPs and may identify a PCI to use to decode the received reference signals).
Regarding claim 8: Alexandros discloses a method, wherein performing the RLM measurements comprises performing RLM measurements individually based on reference signals associated with one or more activated TCI states associated with a serving cell having a first PCI and reference signals associated with activated TCI states associated with a second PCI (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; UE 115 may identify an association between a set of reference signals for RLM and a set of PCIs identifying TRPs serving the UE 115. As such, the UE 115 may receive reference signals from one or more of the serving TRPs and may identify a PCI to use to decode the received reference signals).
Regarding claim 9: Alexandros discloses a method, further comprising detecting whether there is a failure based on the RLM measurements (See Para. 0048 & 0109; To make use of other TRPs for RLF, the RLM-RS may include the SSB/CSI-RS from other TRPs (e.g., from TRP 205-b)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claims 16, 18-19 & 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandros, in view of Centonza et al. (hereinafter referred as Centonza) US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0115949 A1.
Regarding claim 16: Alexandros discloses a method in a network node, the method comprising:
Transmitting a message for activating multiple Transmission Configuration Indicator (TCI) states configured for a User Equipment (UE) (See Para. 0091; the base station 115 transmits an indication of a particular TCI state to a UE. a base station 105 may configure a set of TCI states that correspond to different QCL relationships between antenna ports used for communication with a UE 115), wherein the activated TCI states have references signals configured as Quasi-Colocation (QCL) source (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; A TCI state may be associated with a set of reference signals (e.g., SSBs) or different types of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs)), and the TCI state may indicate a QCL relationship between antenna ports used to transmit these reference signals and antenna ports used to transmit data or control information to a UE 115), the configured references signals being associated with multiple Physical Cell Identifiers (PCIs) and used for Radio Link Monitoring (RLM) measurements for a plurality of Transmission Reception Points (TRPs) configured for the UE (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; UE 115 may identify an association between a set of reference signals for RLM and a set of PCIs identifying TRPs serving the UE 115. As such, the UE 115 may receive reference signals from one or more of the serving TRPs and may identify a PCI to use to decode the received reference signals); and
Alexandros discloses the first PCI being different from a second PCI of a serving cell (See Para. 0008; a set of TRPs identified by a set of PCIs); but does not explicitly disclose receiving a radio link failure indication for a first PCI from the multiple PCIs.
However, Centonza from the same field of endeavor discloses receiving a radio link failure indication for a first PCI from the multiple PCIs (See FIG. 5 & Para. 0040-0046; the network (EUTRAN) receives UEInformationResponse message with detailed RLF report. Also, the network (eNB1 receives RLF indication that comprises a failure CELL ID and a PCI of the cell in which the UE was connected before the failure occurred ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a radio link failure indication for a first PCI from the multiple PCIs as taught by Centonza in the system of Alexandros in order to detect short stay handover in a telecommunication system (See Para. 0001; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 18: The combination of Alexandros and Centonza disclose a method.
Furthermore, Alexandros discloses a method, wherein the reference signals are associated with the second PCI of the serving cell and one or more additional PCI (See Para. 0091-0094 & 0106-0110; UE 115 may identify an association between a set of reference signals for RLM and a set of PCIs identifying TRPs serving the UE 115. As such, the UE 115 may receive reference signals from one or more of the serving TRPs and may identify a PCI to use to decode the received reference signals).
Regarding claim 19: The combination of Alexandros and Centonza disclose a method.
Furthermore, Centonza discloses a method, further comprising transmitting a configuration for Radio Link Failure (RLF) (See Para. 0059 & 0073; the user equipment responds by sending a UElnformationResponse message with a detailed RLF report).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include transmitting a configuration for Radio Link Failure (RLF) as taught by Centonza in the system of Alexandros in order to detect short stay handover in a telecommunication system (See Para. 0001; lines 1-2).
Regarding claim 23: The combination of Alexandros and Centonza disclose a method.
Furthermore, Centonza discloses a method, further comprising receiving a radio link failure indication for the second PCI of the serving cell (See Para. 0023 & 0025; receiving an RLF indication message for the neighboring cell).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include receiving a radio link failure indication for the second PCI of the serving cell as taught by Centonza in the system of Alexandros in order to detect short stay handover in a telecommunication system (See Para. 0001; lines 1-2).
17. Claims 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandros, in view of Ericsson et al. (hereinafter referred as Ericsson) NPL Document, “Connected mode mobility aspects for NTN GEO” Prague, CZ. August 26-30, 2019 (as disclosed in the IDS).
Regarding claim 3: Alexandros discloses all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of obtaining a configuration for Radio Link Failure (RLF).
However, Ericsson from the same field of endeavor discloses obtaining a configuration for Radio Link Failure (RLF) (See Section 2.2; radio link failure is declared due to one of the following tree reasons: physical layer radio problems, random access procedure failure or RLC failure to deliver a PDU).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include obtaining a configuration for Radio Link Failure (RLF) as taught by Ericsson in the system of Alexandros ,would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Regarding claim 4: The combination of Alexandros and Ericsson disclose a method.
Furthermore, Ericsson discloses a method, wherein the configuration for RLF comprises a set of timers and counters (See Section 2.2; Timer T310 and counted handover failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the configuration for RLF comprises a set of timers and counters as taught by Ericsson in the system of Alexandros ,would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
18. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alexandros, in view of Centonza, further in view of Ericsson.
Regarding claim 20: The combination of Alexandros and Centonza disclose all the limitations of the claimed invention with an exception of wherein the configuration for RLF comprises a set of timers and counters.
However, Ericsson from the same field of endeavor discloses wherein the configuration for RLF comprises a set of timers and counters (See Section 2.2; Timer T310 and counted handover failure).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include wherein the configuration for RLF comprises a set of timers and counters as taught by Ericsson in the combined system of Alexandros and Centonza, would have yield predictable results of interoperability and compatibility between the telecommunication equipment vendors and service providers and resulted in the improve system (KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 1742, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007)).
Allowable Subject Matter
18. Claims 5, 10-13, 15 & 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
19. The prior art of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
A. Wu et al. 2022/0377630 A1 (Title: Method and apparatus for performing mobility robustness optimization in a handover procedure) (See Abstract, Para. 0012 & 0037-0038).
B. Khatibi et al. 2022/0360313 A1 (Title: Beam group specific mobility robustness optimization) (See abstract, Para. 0006 & 00813-0016).
C. Tao et al. 2021/0068000 A1 (Title: User equipment involved in performing measurements) (See FIG. 1, Para. 0046, 0050 & 0160).
/MEWALE A AMBAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469