DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Due to communications filed 9/18/25, the following is a final office action. Claims 1-3, 14, and 16 are amended. Claims 18-19 are new. Claims 1-19 are pending in this application and are rejected as follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory
basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
set forth in this Office action:
not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention
and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the
claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention
was made.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 4, 8, 10, 1, 12, 16, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over FENG (CN 209955776 U), and further in view of IKEDA (JP 2007074897 A), and further in view of BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1).
As per claim 1, FENG (CN 209955776 U) discloses:
at least one control unit for controlling charging events at one or more of the at least two charging points, (FENG (CN 209955776 U) the master controller is further adapted to demand the charging voltage and charging the required current to the charging pile, and in response to detecting the charging pile output voltage to inform at least a charging direct current -direct current converter to start working);
wherein the control unit is configured to:
receive at least charging resource data of the charging arrangement and charging event data about
concurrent charging events at the charging points of the charging arrangement; identify a change
concerning the charging events, (FENG CN 209955776 U): The vehicle end charging requirement caused
by excessive charging pile enters the constant current mode, namely, the main controller detects the
voltage V3 is less than V1, then it can has 3 processing algorithm: 1) continuously maintaining V3 until
the charging pile output voltage by reducing the required current by the charging device, the method
will reduce the charging power and speed; 2) the charging device through charging demand voltage
increases the charging pile output voltage boost to other reasonable voltage V5, This scheme can
maintain the charging power and speed is not changed, 3) when more than two solutions cannot solve
the problem then device controller gives the charging stop instruction. above combined charging direct
technical parameter and the vehicle end of the battery voltage of the converter for optimum decision
and execution controller 3 in the control mode needs device):
generate output data configured to be provided to an end user of the first charging event, the output
data enabling the end user to select between the determined preferred charging mode and at least one
second charging mode, (FENG CN 209955776 U): "For example, the charging device with built - in
parameter configuration item, the user may select the method 1) or 2) execution plan as a preferred
method. charging device can also be configured to automatically adapt, preferably according to method
2),");
selectively determine a preferred charging mode based on at least the charging resource data and
concurrent charging event data in response to the identified change concerning the charging events for
at least a first charging event, (FENG, et al (CN 209955776 U) Fig The vehicle end charging
requirement caused by excessive charging pile enters the constant current mode, namely, the main
controller detects the voltage V3 is less than V1, then it can has 3 processing algorithm: 1) continuously
maintaining V3 until the charging pile output voltage by reducing the required current by the charging
device, the method will reduce the charging power and speed; 2) the charging device through charging
demand voltage increases the charging pile output voltage boost to other reasonable voltage V5, This
scheme can maintain the charging power and speed is not changed, 3) when more than two solutions
cannot solve the problem then device controller gives the charging stop instruction. above combined
charging direct technical parameter and the vehicle end of the battery voltage of the converter for
optimum decision and execution controller 3 in the control mode needs device. For example, the
charging device with built-in parameter configuration item, the user may select the method 1) or 2)
execution plan as a preferred method);
For further clarity, Examiner cites IKEDA. Like FENG, IKEDA discloses that the user selects a charging
mode :
(IKEDA et al (JP 2007074897 A) discloses the following: "As shown in FIG. 10, the battery pack 1 can be
provided with a mode selection switch 10 that allows the user to select a charging mode. As described
above, the mode selection signal input unit 64 (FIG. 3) transmits the charging mode selected by the
mode selection switch 10 to the mode switching unit 51. When there is an input of a charging mode
selection signal from the mode selection signal input unit 64, the mode switching unit 51 selects the
charging mode according to this signal, for example, in preference to the initial setting mode. Thereby,
the user can avoid the annoyance of having to set the charging mode by operating the charger 3 in spite
of charging in the same charging mode every time. In addition, the user can use a plurality of battery
packs 1 so as to extend the life and use another for quick charging).
However, IKEDA further discloses: When receiving the charge count signal, the mode switching unit 51
determines whether or not the charge count exceeds a given charge count corresponding to a value close to the battery life. The low rate charging mode is selected in preference to the user selection. Thereby, the lifetime of the battery built in the battery pack 1 can be kept long. Even when the number of times of charging is close to the battery life, for example, when charging in the quick charge mode is
necessary, for example, when the change-over switch 5 is pressed for 3 seconds, the mode switching
unit 51 selects the quick charge mode. 3 may be configured.". Here, Examiner interprets IKEDA's "charge
count" as the present invention's "concurrent charging event data" and IKEDA's "given charge count
corresponding to a value close to the battery life" as the present invention's "charging resource data".
control, a charging power supply of at least the first charging event by the electric power supply
connection, FENG (CN 209955776 U) discloses: if still cannot ensure the voltage to a maximum value
by increasing the charging voltage needed, it starts according to method 1), reducing the charging
current of the charging side, reduce the charging power").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by IKEDA in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
FENG does not specifically disclose the following, however, IKEDA discloses:
control, a charging power supply on the basis of a mode selection response indicating a selection of
the preferred charging mode or the at least one second charging mode received from the end user,
(IKEDA: "As already described, it is also possible to prepare three modes with different average values of
charging currents as charging modes that do not cause overcharging. In the example shown in FIG. 13,
the charger 3 prepares a "rest mode" which is a mode in which the charging current I is sufficiently
lowered to complete the charging using the full nighttime, particularly as the low rate charging mode.
Yes. The "rest mode" is a mode assuming charging at night, and when the mode switching unit 51
selects this mode, the power switch of the cooling fan is turned off to eliminate noise caused by the
operation of the fan. The medium rate charging mode is a "lunch mode" that assumes charging during
the lunch break of work, and the charging current I is adjusted so that the charging is completed in
about one hour. The high-rate charging mode is a "small break mode" that assumes charging during a
small break of work, and the charging current I is adjusted so that charging is completed in about 15
minutes.").
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by IKEDA in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
FENG does not disclose the following limitations, however BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1) discloses:
A charging arrangement for electric vehicles, wherein the charging arrangement comprises at least two
charging points connected to a common electric power supply connection, (BROMBACH: “In addition to the supply device, the charging station further comprises a plurality of charging terminals... Additionally, it is preferably provided that a plurality of electric vehicles can be connected to a charging terminal. This connection can also be executed simultaneously. According to one form of embodiment, two electric vehicles can be simultaneously connected to the same charging terminal, for the purposes of charging. Additionally, it is preferably provided that a plurality of electric vehicles can be connected to a charging terminal. This connection can also be executed simultaneously. According to one form of embodiment, two electric vehicles can be simultaneously connected to the same charging terminal, for the purposes of charging”);
wherein each one of the at least two charging points is configured to enable charging of one electric vehicle at a time, and wherein the at least two charging points are configured to enable simultaneous use of the charging points, (BROMBACH: “Each charging terminal A comprises two DC current controllers 226, which are configured in a mutually parallel arrangement between the supply input 200 and the charging output 202... Where two DC current controller are provided in the charging terminal A, the resulting layout of the terminal thus comprises two transverse lines QL1, QL2 and two charging points 222”
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above limitations as taught by BROMBACH in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 2, FENG discloses:
wherein the generated output data is configured to guide the end user to select the preferred charging
mode for the new charging event. (FENG CN 209955776 U): "For example, the charging device with
built-in parameter configuration item, the user may select the method 1) or 2) execution plan as a
preferred method. charging device can also be configured to automatically adapt, preferably according
to method 2)").
As per claim 3, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the generated output data comprises price information, whereby the output data is
configured to guide the end user to select the preferred charging mode on the basis of the price
information.
However, IKEDA (JP 2007074897 A) discloses: FIG. 4is a graph showing an example of a pattern of the
charging current I output from the charger 3. FIG. 4A shows a case where the user has selected the
quick charge made, and FIG. 4B shows a case where the low rate charge mode has been selected. A
characteristic difference between the two patterns is that the average value of the charging current I
is different. That is, in the quick charge mode, the pattern of the charge current I is set so that the average value of the charge current is larger than that in the low rate charge mode. In the quick charge made, since the average current is large, charging can be completed in a short time. On the other hand, the low-rate charging mode has an advantage that the battery life can be kept long while it takes a long time to complete charging because the average current is small. Therefore, the user can select a desired
mode depending on whether battery life is important or workability is important. In addition, the user
can select any one of quick charging and low rate charging including battery activation by using a single
charger 3, so that it can meet the demand for workability at low cost. However, the life of the battery
can be extended.
As per claim 4, wherein the control unit is configured to generate control commands configured to
control charging power supply of the first charging event, and to provide control commands for at least
the first charging point.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by IKEDA in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 8, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the preferred charging mode comprises at least one of a charging power and a charging time.
However, IKEDA discloses: "Whenever the charging mode is switched, the charging time being measured
is reset and the pattern corresponding to the new charging made is repeated from the beginning".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by IKEDA in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 10, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the charging arrangement further comprises a user interface configured to display at least one
of the output data and the updated output data to the end user and to receive at least one of the mode
selection response or the updated mode selection response from the end user.
However, IKEDA discloses: "A display 35 is provided on the surface of the charger 3. The display 35
displays a mode currently selected from the three charging modes. The change-over switch5 provided
on the same upper surface as the display 35 is, for example, a toggle type, and the three charging modes
are cyclically switched every time the user presses once".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by IKEDA in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 11, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the user interface is configured to display at least one of the output data and the updated
output data to the end user as a push notification.
However, IKEDA discloses: "Abstract: the main controller is adapted and the charging pile to BMS
protocol handshake communication and after the communication success notification".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by IKEDA in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 12, FENG discloses:
wherein the change concerning the charging events comprises at least one of the following: initiation of
a new charging event at one of the charging points, ending a charging event at one of the charging
points, and changing the charging power supply for one of the charging points, (As a further
improvement of this utility model of the first aspect, the main controller is further adapted to, in
response to the end-of-charge condition is reached, notifying at least one charging direct current -direct
current converter and/or battery simulative direct current-direct current converter stops working").
As per claim 16, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 1 and is
therefore rejected for similar reasons.
As per claim 17, this claim recites limitations similar to those disclosed in independent claim 16, and is
therefore rejected for similar reasons.
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG (CN 209955776 U), and further in view of IKEDA (JP 2007074897 A), and further in view of BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1), and further in view of PAVLOVIC (CA 2285353 C).
As per claim 5, FENG does not disclose: wherein the control unit is configured to generate the control
commands configured to control charging power supply of the first charging event on the basis of at
least the mode selection response or the charging resource data and the charging event data at a given
moment during the charging.
However, PAVLOVIC(CA 2285353 C) discloses: "In response to the inputs, the process control program
for the battery charger calculates and updates the control commands for the programmable power
supply 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to
include the above limitations as taught by PAVLOVIC in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention
is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 6, FENG does not disclose: wherein the control unit is configured to generate a control
command configured to change the charging power supply of the first charging event during the first
charging event in response to identifying a second change concerning charging events.
However, PAVLOVIC (CA 2285353 C) discloses: "In response to the inputs, the process control program
for the battery charger calculates and updates the control commands for the programmable power
supply 16.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by PAVLOVIC in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention
is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 7, FENG does not disclose: wherein the control unit is further configured to enable updating
at least one optimization variable determining maximum charging power for the charging arrangement
and to store the updated optimization variable in a memory of the charging arrangement to be used for
automatic optimization of the charging events.
However, PAVLOVIC (CA 2285353 C) discloses: "Referring back to Fig. 2, the charging control program
100 checks if the status has been set to HIGH instep 113. The status is set to HIGH by the Ramp-Up
procedure 300 when the maximum charging current I,, is reached as described above. If status is HIGH,
then the charging control program 100 calls a High Current Control procedure 500 in step 115. Referring
to Fig. 4, the High Current Control procedure 500 controls the charging current I once it has been
camped-up to the maximum value I,,",~. ~As shown in Fig. 4, the first operation involves updating the
value for the terminal voltage V=fin step 501. The terminal voltage V=f is updated in step 501 based on
the current values obtained by the data acquisition module 201 for the voltage V, current I, and
resistance R.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by PAVLOVIC in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention
is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 9, 13, 14, 18, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG (CN 209955776 U), and further in view of IKEDA (JP 2007074897 A), and further in view of BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1), and further in view of Ferro ET AL (US 20090313034 A1).
As per claim 9, FENG discloses:
wherein the control unit is further configured to identify the a make and/or the a model of the electric
vehicle and the current state of the an energy storing means of the electric vehicle in response to
connecting the electric vehicle to the first charging point, Feng 2) the utility model can form a plurality
of rated power specification, volume sizes convenient for placing on a different vehicle, it is convenient
to use, ("2) the utility model can form a plurality of rated power specification, volume sizes convenient
for placing on a different vehicle, it is convenient to use").
FENG does not disclose:
and wherein the preferred charging mode is further determined on the basis of at least one of the
following: make of the electric vehicle, model of the electric vehicle, and the a capacity of the energy
storing means of the electric vehicle.
However, Ferro et al discloses: "[0097] Dynamic energy transaction plan comprises a set of terms for
governing all aspects of the charging transaction based on the set of preferences. The charging
transaction is implemented and completed in accordance with the terms of the charging transaction.
After the charging transaction begins in accordance with dynamic energy transaction plan 424, dynamic
energy transaction planner 402 continues to receive set of preferences updates 435, device capabilities
updates 436, and current state of devices updates 437. The updates inform dynamic energy transaction
planner 402 of any changes in the preferences of the principals, changes in the state of device, and/or
changes in device capabilities. For example, during the charging transaction, a battery cable associated
with electric vehicle may become disconnected rendering one battery on electric vehicle inoperable. If
electric vehicle contains one or more other batteries, the charging transaction may be able to continue.
Dynamic energy transaction planner 402 updates dynamic energy transaction plan 424 to reflect this
change in the storage capacity of electric vehicle 400".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 13, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the control unit is further configured to perform an automatic optimization of the charging
events in the charging arrangement in response to an identified change concerning the charging events.
However, Ferro et al discloses: [0010] The charging transaction information may include, without
limitation, a set of preferences for the set of principles, charging transaction information, and/or device
capabilities information. The set of preferences comprises a subset of preferences for each principal in
the set of principles. A preference in the set of preferences specifies a parameter of the charging
transaction that is to be minimized, maximized, or optimized.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 14, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the automatic optimization of the charging events comprises comparing charging resource data
and/or concurrent charging event data with predetermined criteria or an algorithm for optimizing utilization of charging power of the charging arrangement to determine dynamically in response to an identified change concerning the charging events charging powers for at least one charging event in such a manner that the maximum charging power of the charging arrangement is utilized in an optimal way.
However, Ferro et al discloses: [0010] The charging transaction information may include, without
limitation, a set of preferences for the set of principles, charging transaction information, and/or device
capabilities information. The set of preferences comprises a subset of preferences for each principal in
the set of principles. A preference in the set of preferences specifies a parameter of the charging
transaction that is to be minimized, maximized, or optimized.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 18, FENG does not disclose: wherein the electric power supply connection comprises a
power unit configured to distribute charging power via the one or more charging points.
However, Ferro discloses: [0101] "Energy data services 418 provide information describing the current
state of one or more devices. The devices may include, without limitation, electric vehicle 400 and/or
charging station 403. For example, and without limitation, the state information may describe the
current level of charge on one or more batteries on electric vehicle 400, the operational state of one or
more charging ports associated with charging station 403, or any other state information".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 19, FENG does not disclose the following limitations:
wherein selectively determine a preferred charging mode based on at least the charging resource data
and concurrent charging event data comprises evaluating: (1) charging resource data comprising at least
one of a maximum charging power of the charging arrangement and a target charging power.
However, Ferro discloses in [0084]: "A parameter of the charging transaction is any feature of the
charging transaction, such as, without limitation, a rate of charging, a length of time for charging, a time
to begin charging, a time to cease charging, a maximum level of charge, a minimum level of charge, or
any other aspect of the charging transaction"); and
(11) concurrent charging event data comprising at least one of: a number of ongoing charging events, a
current charging power of each event, a planned duration for each event, and any anticipated changes
in charging power for each event.
However, Ferro discloses in [0149]: "The process begins by generating a dynamic energy transaction
plan having a first set of terms to control a first portion of a charging transaction (step 1202). The
dynamic energy transaction plan having the first set of terms is generated based on charging transaction
information, such as a set of preferences, device capabilities information, and/or current state of device
information. The dynamic energy transaction planner sends the dynamic energy transaction plan having
the first set of terms to an execution engine, such as energy transaction execution engine 316 in FIG. 3,
or an approval service, such as energy transaction approval service 312 in FIG. 3 (step 1204). The
dynamic energy transaction planner may monitor for updates or changes to the charging transaction
information".
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 20, FENG does not disclose: wherein the generated output data comprises a benefit for the end user for selecting the preferred charging mode.
However, Ferro discloses: [0098] (“Likewise, during the charging transaction, the operator may update preferences to indicate that instead of leaving the charging station at 5:00 p.m., the operator will not be leaving until 7:30 p.m. As a result, dynamic energy transaction planner 402 may alter dynamic energy transaction plan 424 to permit electric vehicle 400 to discharge electric power in the afternoon when electric power usage is higher and then charge electric vehicle 400 beginning at 6:00 p.m., when electricity rates are lower so that electric vehicle will have sufficient charge to return to the operators home when the operator is ready to leave at 7:30 p.m. In this manner, dynamic energy transaction plan 424 is able to change in response to changing conditions to maximize the benefits of charging, discharging, and/or storing electricity associated with electric vehicle 400 at charging station 403.
[0115] For example, if an operator...indicates in the operator's preferences that the operator will not return for two weeks, the operator selects a mandatory preference that electric vehicle 400 be fully charged by 7:00 p.m. on the day the operator will return. The operator also indicates that the operator would prefer that electric vehicle be used to charge, discharge, and store electric power during the two weeks to maximize the value of using electric vehicle 400 for electric power storage. In this case, during the two weeks that the operator leaves electric vehicle 400 parked at charging station 403, dynamic energy transaction planner 402 monitors the price of electricity and charges electric vehicle 400 when the price of electricity falls below a low price threshold. When dynamic energy transaction planner determines that the price of electricity reaches a certain high threshold, dynamic energy transaction planner 402 modifies dynamic energy transaction plan 424 to begin selling electricity back to the power grid for a profit”.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 21, FENG does not disclose: wherein the benefit comprises at least one of a lower price, a discount for charging or other services, additional services, loyalty customer points and benefits.
However, Ferro discloses: ([0115]:”When dynamic energy transaction planner determines that the price of electricity reaches a certain high threshold, dynamic energy transaction planner 402 modifies dynamic energy transaction plan 424 to begin selling electricity back to the power grid for a profit; [0147] The energy transaction planner determines the contractual relationship of the principals of interest (step 1108) based on the preferences and the energy data services information...The net financial terms may optionally include, without limitation, non-monetary terms, such as incentives, carbon credits, rewards, discounts, and other non-monetary commodities”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG (CN 209955776
U), and further in view of IKEDA (JP 2007074897 A), and further in view of BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1), and further in view of Ferro ET AL (US 20090313034 A1), and further in view of (JP 4088414 B2).
As per claim 15, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the control unit is configured to enable updating of the predetermined criteria.
However, (JP 4088414 B2) discloses in: ("(0064]: When charging a battery according to the third aspect
of the present invention, the battery has a predetermined end-of-charge voltage, and its modified
protection circuit voltage is for one or more charging periods during which charging current supply is not
interrupted. Determined to correspond to the voltage of the protection circuit, the battery is charged in
the protection circuit voltage control mode and applied to the protection circuit based on the modified
protection circuit voltage determined during at least part of the charging process".)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to
include the above limitations as taught by Ferro in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is
merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have
performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have
recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 22-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over FENG (CN 209955776 U), and further in view of IKEDA (JP 2007074897 A), and further in view of BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1), and further in view of LUO et al (CN 113393109 A).
As per claim 22, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the benefit comprises a discounted price for the end user selecting to delay start of a charging event.
However, LUO et al (CN 113393109 A) discloses: “The invention considers the queuing model information delay, the influence of the accuracy to the user decision; the user can not know how many other users are going to the charging station and their arrival time in the process of charging station. Therefore, the user decides whether to charge for two times, when the user receives the scheduling center recommendation information, the user according to the recommended scheme pre-estimated queuing time to compare with the expected queuing time of itself, determining whether to charge the charging station. when the user reaches the charging station, it will according to the latest queue information, estimating the queuing time and then making decision whether to continue queuing. In addition, the invention comprehensively considers the user requirement and safety stable operation to provide a charging recommendation scheme for the user, comprising the lowest charging cost, the shortest time and the charging station distance closest to three charging scheme, and the high peak electric quantity of the high user delay charging in the peak period”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above limitations as taught by LUO et al in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As per claim 23, FENG does not disclose:
wherein the benefit comprises a discounted price for the end user giving a place in a charging queue for another end user.
However, LUO et al (CN 113393109 A) discloses: “The invention considers the queuing model information delay, the influence of the accuracy to the user decision; the user can not know how many other users are going to the charging station and their arrival time in the process of charging station. Therefore, the user decides whether to charge for two times, when the user receives the scheduling center recommendation information, the user according to the recommended scheme pre-estimated queuing time to compare with the expected queuing time of itself, determining whether to charge the charging station. when the user reaches the charging station, it will according to the latest queue information, estimating the queuing time and then making decision whether to continue queuing. In addition, the invention comprehensively considers the user requirement and safety stable operation to provide a charging recommendation scheme for the user, comprising the lowest charging cost, the shortest time and the charging station distance closest to three charging scheme, and the high peak electric quantity of the high user delay charging in the peak period”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include the above limitations as taught by LUO et al in the systems of FENG, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments/remarks, filed 1/22/26, with respect to the 35 USC 101 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 USC 101 rejection of claims 1-19 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see arguments/remarks, filed 1/22/26, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-19 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of and further in view of BROMBACH (CA 3069877 A1). Examiner has also added the LUO et al (CN 113393109 A) reference for the rejections of newly added claims 22-23.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner's supervisor, Nathan Uber can be reached on 571-270-3923. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist whose telephone number is (703) 305-3900.
February 18, 2026
/AKIBA K ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628