DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are indicated in the table below, along with corresponding structure and/or lack thereof:
Claim limitation
Claim Numbers
Structure (PGPUB citation)
Receiving means
11, 14
A wireless or wired receiver [0033]
Data processing means
11, 14
Programmable logic or microcontroller [0035]
35 USC § 101 – Eligibility
Examiner notes that although the claims are directed to data analysis, the step of optimization of a charging event, claimed in each of the independent claim 1, 14 and 16 in light of the specification refers to optimization of an actual charging of the vehicle, and thus positively recites a physical transformation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter because the computer-readable storage medium covers both non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals. As such, these claims are drawn to signals per se and are not directed to one of the statutory categories of invention (See MPEP 2106.01).
A non-transitory computer readable storage medium that would permit the functionality of the program to be realized, would be directed to a product and be within a statutory category of invention. Since Applicant’s computer-readable storage medium covers both non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals, amending the claims to add the limitation “non-transitory” would typically not raise the issue of new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 recites “selecting the maximum power” such that the “maximum charging power is balanced between vehicles”. It appears two different means of maximum charging power are used here. One, the maximum that the vehicle can accept as in claim 6, the other, the maximum that the system is able to provide. It is unclear which takes precedence and which is being used in which instance in the claim. Examiner suggests amending claim 7 to differentiate between the “maximums”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Metzger US PGPUB 2019/0263286.
Regarding claims 1 and 16-17, Metzger discloses an apparatus for controlling a charging event [fig. 1, 15/40], characterized in that the apparatus is configured:
to receive data from at least two of the following types of sources:
vehicle data from a vehicle at a charging site [par. 29; identify vehicle based on vehicle data including charging profile], external data from an external source [pars. 13, 29 & 33; database 30 has charging profiles used to ID the vehicle, and is stored externally on a computer 40 which is connected via a network connection], and charging apparatus data detected by a charging apparatus [par. 29; the data from the vehicle is passed to the charging apparatus data, thus is also charging apparatus data],
to determine, during the charging event, a vehicle type of the vehicle automatically on the basis of at least two of said vehicle data, said external data, and said charging apparatus data [pars. 13, 29 & 33; based on the vehicle data from the vehicle and received at the charger and an external database 30, the vehicle type is to be determined], and to optimize, on the basis of at least the vehicle type data determined during the charging event, the charging event for at least one of the following: the vehicle [par. 18] and a charging apparatus, and
wherein the vehicle type comprises at least one of the following: a make of the vehicle [par. 14], a model of the vehicle [par. 14], or a capacity of the energy storing means of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, the method steps disclosed therein would have been are deemed as being inherent based on the teachings of the prior art reference(s) applied above, since the prior art of record herein is construed as teaching or suggesting all of the elements recited in the method claim, as pointed out in the above rejection of claim 1. The claim is accordingly rejected.
Regarding claim 17, the method steps would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill based on the teachings of the reference, above, as pertains to rejection of the apparatus of claim 1. Furthermore, the reference teaches a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions that when executed by a computer, perform the claimed method steps [par. 25].
Regarding claim 2, Metzger discloses wherein the vehicle data is configured to be received from the vehicle wirelessly, via a wired connection [fig. 1, par. 29, cable 13] and/or via a charging connection [fig. 1, par. 29, cable 13], and
wherein the vehicle data comprises at least one of the following: data related to a charge level of energy storing means of the vehicle, vehicle make [par. 14], vehicle model [par. 14], vehicle identification, capacity of the energy storing means of the vehicle, desired amount of energy for the vehicle, a maximum current indicated by the vehicle, voltage indicated by the vehicle, and a maximum power limit indicated by the vehicle.
Regarding claim 4, Metzger discloses wherein the external data comprises at least one of the following: weather information related to a location, road weather data, electricity price data, data related to the determined vehicle type [pars. 13, 29 & 33], statistical data related to the determined vehicle type [pars. 13, 29 & 33], traffic data, and data related to nearby charging stations.
Regarding claim 5, Metzger discloses wherein the vehicle is an electric vehicle powered at least partly by electric energy [par. 3].
Regarding claim 11, Metzger discloses wherein the apparatus comprises receiving means configured to receive said data, and data processing means configured to determine the vehicle type of the vehicle [par. 29-30 & 32-33; the charger 15/computer 40 receives data from the vehicle/charger (via sensor 21)/external data base 30 and processes it to determine the vehicle type].
Regarding claim 12, Metzger discloses wherein the apparatus is the charging apparatus, a control unit of the charging apparatus or an apparatus connected to the charging apparatus [pars. 29-30 & 32-33; all of 15/40/22/23 are part of apparatus 100 (a charging system)].
Regarding claim 13, Metzger discloses a charging apparatus comprising an apparatus according to claim 1 [pars. 29-30 & 32-33; all of 15/40/22/23 are part of apparatus 100 (a charging system)].
Regarding claim 14, Metzger discloses an arrangement for controlling a charging event [fig. 1, 15/40], characterized in that the arrangement comprises:
receiving means [fig. 1, controller of 15 or computer 40; pars. 29-30] configured to receive data from at least two of the following types of sources: vehicle data from a vehicle at a charging site [par. 29; identify vehicle based on vehicle data including charging profile], external data from an external source [pars. 13, 29 & 33; database 30 has charging profiles used to ID the vehicle, and is stored externally on a computer 40 which is connected via a network connection], and charging apparatus data detected by a charging apparatus [par. 29; the data from the vehicle is passed to the charging apparatus data, thus is also charging apparatus data], and
data processing means [fig. 1, controller of 15 or computer 40; pars. 29-30] configured to determine, during the charging event, a vehicle type of the vehicle automatically on the basis of at least two of said vehicle data, said external data, and said charging apparatus data [pars. 13, 29 & 33; based on the vehicle data from the vehicle and received at the charger and an external database 30, the vehicle type is to determine], and wherein the vehicle type comprises at least one of the following: a make of the vehicle [par. 14], a model of the vehicle [par. 14], or a capacity of the energy storing means of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 15, Metzger discloses an arrangement according to claim 14, characterized in that the apparatus is configured:
to receive data from at least two of the following types of sources: vehicle data from a vehicle at a charging site [par. 29; identify vehicle based on vehicle data including charging profile], external data from an external source [pars. 13, 29 & 33; database 30 has charging profiles used to ID the vehicle, and is stored externally on a computer 40 which is connected via a network connection], and charging apparatus data detected by a charging apparatus [par. 29; the data from the vehicle is passed to the charging apparatus data, thus is also charging apparatus data],
to determine, during the charging event, a vehicle type of the vehicle automatically on the basis of at least two of said vehicle data, said external data, and said charging apparatus data [pars. 13, 29 & 33; based on the vehicle data from the vehicle and received at the charger and an external database 30, the vehicle type is to determine], and
to optimize, on the basis of at least the vehicle type data determined during the charging event, the charging event for at least one of the following: the vehicle [par. 18] and a charging apparatus, and wherein the vehicle type comprises at least one of the following: a make of the vehicle [par. 14], a model of the vehicle [par. 14] or a capacity of the energy storing means of the vehicle.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger US PGPUB 2019/0263286 in view of Nyu et al. US PGPUB 2013/0093384.
Regarding claim 3, Metzger does not explicitly disclose wherein the charging apparatus data comprises at least one of the following: temperature at the charging site, names of the detectable wireless networks, strength of the detectable wireless networks, coverage of the detectable wireless networks, the manufacturers of the detectable wireless networks, analysis information about receivers of detectable wireless networks, and analysis information about packages sent by the detectable wireless networks.
However, Nyu discloses an electric vehicle charging system wherein the charging apparatus data comprises at least one of the following: temperature at the charging site [par. 64-65, 71 77, 90, 108, 165 & 180; ambient temperature of the battery charger where vehicle battery is being charged Is sent along with other vehicle to a server which determines information about the vehicle battery (and therefore the vehicle)], names of the detectable wireless networks, strength of the detectable wireless networks, coverage of the detectable wireless networks, the manufacturers of the detectable wireless networks, analysis information about receivers of detectable wireless networks, and analysis information about packages sent by the detectable wireless networks.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Metzger to further include wherein the charging apparatus data comprises at least one of the following: temperature at the charging site
for the purpose of improving the battery deterioration calculation, as taught by Nyu (par. 77).
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger US PGPUB 2019/0263286 in view of Nyu et al. US PGPUB 2013/0093384.
Regarding claims 6-8, Metzger discloses wherein the apparatus is configured to optimize the charging event for the vehicle by providing to the vehicle a maximum charging power the vehicle is capable to receive; wherein the apparatus is configured to optimize the charging event for the charging apparatus by selecting the maximum charging power for the vehicle in such a manner that the maximum charging power is balanced between vehicles simultaneously connected to the charging apparatus; wherein the maximum charging power is balanced between the vehicles simultaneously connected to the charging apparatus according to a predetermined criteria or strategy.
However, Examiner takes Official Notice that it is well known in the electric vehicle charging arts to charge multiple EVs simultaneously at their maximum possible power simultaneously at a station with multiple “dispensers” while ensuring the grid or substation is not overloaded. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kanno to further include wherein the apparatus is configured to optimize the charging event for the vehicle by providing to the vehicle a maximum charging power the vehicle is capable to receive; wherein the apparatus is configured to optimize the charging event for the charging apparatus by selecting the maximum charging power for the vehicle in such a manner that the maximum charging power is balanced between vehicles simultaneously connected to the charging apparatus and wherein the maximum charging power is balanced between the vehicles simultaneously connected to the charging apparatus according to a predetermined criteria or strategy for the purpose of charging vehicles as fast as possible without causing problems to the wider grid, and since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) which was ready for improvement in order to yield results predictable by one of ordinary skill the art. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 127 S. Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metzger US PGPUB 2019/0263286 in view of Peng US PGPUB 2021/0203177.
Regarding claim 9, Metzger discloses wherein the further information is based on at least one of the following: the make of the vehicle [par. 14], the model of the vehicle [par. 14], the capacity of the energy storing means of the vehicle, the data received from the vehicle during the charging event and/or the external data received during the charging event.
Metzger does not explicitly disclose wherein the apparatus is further configured to select and display further information or provide further services for a driver of the vehicle.
However, Peng discloses an electric vehicle charging system disclose wherein the apparatus is further configured to select and display further information or provide further services for a driver of the vehicle [fig. 12; pars. 137 & 145; the charging station can display a battery SOH/SOC on a display].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Metzger to further include wherein the apparatus is further configured to select and display further information or provide further services for a driver of the vehicle for the purpose of providing battery information to a consumer, as taught by Peng (pars. 135, 137 and 145).
Regarding claim 10, Metzger discloses wherein the further information or further services comprise at least one of the following: information about a condition of the vehicle, information about a condition of a battery of the vehicle [par. 16 & 30; required current/voltage is info about a condition of vehicle battery], information about a condition of the vehicle or the battery compared to data collected from other vehicles of the same vehicle type, targeted services, and a targeted advertisement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Feldman US PGPUB 2022/0228877 discloses a system which determines the make/model of a vehicle and optimizes charging accordingly.
/DAVID V HENZE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859