CTNF 18/696,693 CTNF 101876 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. PNG media_image1.png 509 712 media_image1.png Greyscale PNG media_image2.png 738 623 media_image2.png Greyscale 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaoka et al. (US 10510806 B2), hereinafter referred to as "Yamaoka", as evidenced by H. H. Li (“Refractive index of alkali halides and its wavelength and temperature derivatives”), hereinafter referred to as “Li” and O de Melo et al. (“Optical and electrical properties of MoO 2 and MoO 3 thin films prepared from the chemically driven isothermal close space vapor transport technique”), hereinafter referred to as “O de Melo” . In regards to claim 1, Yamaoka discloses A light-emitting apparatus (262a in figure 4A) comprising: a first light-emitting device (222R in figure 4A); and a second light-emitting device (222G in figure 4A), the first light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode (104 in figure 4A); a second electrode (102 in figure 4A); a first light-emitting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (170 in figure 4A comprises a multi-layered structure as seen in figure 1A, which has a first light-emitting layer 140b); a first layer interposed between the first electrode and the first light-emitting layer (electron-injection layer 114 in figure 4A); and a second layer interposed between the first layer and the first light-emitting layer (hole-injection layer 116 in figure 4A), the second light-emitting device comprising: a third electrode (103 in figure 4A); a fourth electrode (102 in figure 4A); a second light-emitting layer interposed between the third electrode and the fourth electrode (170 in figure 4A comprises a multi-layered structure as seen in figure 1A, which has a second light-emitting layer 140a); a third layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer (electron-injection layer 114 in figure 4A); a fourth layer positioned between the third layer and the second light-emitting layer (hole-injection layer 116 in figure 4A); and a fifth layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer (alternatively 113, 115, or 117 in figure 4A), wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first light-emitting substance (140b comprises light -emitting material 142b in figure 1B), wherein the second light-emitting layer comprises a second light-emitting substance (140a comprises light -emitting material 142a in figure 1B), wherein an emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance is shorter than an emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (layer 140b emits a peak between 600nm and 740nm, and layer 140a emits a peak between 480 and 550 nm, see column 10, lines 13-19), wherein the first layer and the third layer comprise the same material (see figure 4A; both are same material for 114), and the second layer and the fourth layer comprise the same material (see figure 4A; both are the same material for 116), wherein an ordinary refractive index of the first layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the second layer at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (electron-injection layer 114 can be made of lithium fluoride [see column 24, lines 49-51] which is known to have an index of refraction of 1.395-1.393 in the wavelength range of 480nm-550nm, see Li page 347. Hole-injection layer 116 can be made of molybdenum oxide [see column 22, lines 10-13], which is known to have an index of refraction of well above 1.7 in the wavelength range of 480nm-550nm, see O de Melo figure 7 on page 6), wherein an ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the fourth layer at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (electron-injection layer 114 can be made of lithium fluoride [see column 24, lines 49-51] which is known to have an index of refraction of 1.392-1.390 in the wavelength range of 600nm-740nm, see Li page 347. Hole-injection layer 116 can be made of molybdenum oxide [see column 22, lines 10-13], which is known to have an index of refraction of well above 1.7 in the wavelength range of 600nm-740nm, see O de Melo figure 7 on page 6), and wherein the fifth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the third layer, between the third layer and the fourth layer, or between the fourth layer and the second light- emitting layer (fifth layer 113 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the third layer 114; fifth layer 115 is positioned between third layer 114 and fourth layer 116; fifth layer 117 is positioned between fourth later 116 and second light emitting layer 140a). In regards to claim 4, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the third layer (fifth layer 113 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the third layer 114). In regards to claim 5, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 4, and further discloses that the fifth layer and the third layer are in contact with each other (fifth layer 113 and third layer 114 are in direct contact with each other), and the third layer and the fourth layer are in contact with each other (third layer 114 and fourth layer 116 are in electrical contact with each other through layer 115). In regards to claim 6, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the third layer and the fourth layer (fifth layer 115 is positioned between third layer 114 and fourth layer 116). In regards to claim 7, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 6, and further discloses that the third layer and the fifth layer are in contact with each other (third layer 114 and fifth layer 115 and in direct contact with each other), and the third layer and the fourth layer are in contact with each other (third layer 114 and fourth layer 116 are in electrical contact with each other through layer 115). In regards to claim 8, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 1, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the second light-emitting layer (fifth layer 117 is positioned between fourth layer 116 and second light emitting layer 140a). In regards to claim 9, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 8, and further discloses that the third layer and the fourth layer are in contact with each other (third layer 114 and fourth layer 116 are in electrical contact with each other through layer 115), and the fourth layer and the fifth layer are in contact with each other (fourth layer 116 and fifth layer 117 are in direct contact with each other). PNG media_image3.png 238 278 media_image3.png Greyscale In regards to claim 10, Yamaoka discloses a display device (portable information terminal 910 in figure 14C, which has a display and is thus a display device) comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (Yamaoka discloses that the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the invention can be used, and the previous embodiment 3 discloses all of the limitations of claim 1; Yamaoka column 56, lines 1-4). In regards to claim 11, Yamaoka discloses An electronic appliance (portable information terminal 910) comprising: the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (Yamaoka discloses that the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the invention can be used, and the previous embodiment 3 discloses all of the limitations of claim 1; Yamaoka column 56, lines 1-4); and at least one of a sensor (touch sensor in display portion, Yamaoka column 56, lines 5-6), an operation button (operation button 913 in figure 14C), a speaker (speaker 915 in figure 14C), and a microphone (microphone 916 in figure 14C). In regards to claim 2, Yamaoka discloses A light-emitting apparatus (262a in figure 4A) comprising: a first light-emitting device (222R in figure 4A); and a second light-emitting device (222G in figure 4A), the first light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode (104 in figure 4A); a second electrode (102 in figure 4A); a first light-emitting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (170 in figure 4A comprises a multi-layered structure as seen in figure 1A, which has a first light-emitting layer 140b); a first layer interposed between the first electrode and the first light-emitting layer (electron-injection layer 114 in figure 4A); and a second layer interposed between the first layer and the first light-emitting layer (hole-injection layer 116 in figure 4A), the second light-emitting device comprising: a third electrode (103 in figure 4A); a fourth electrode (102 in figure 4A); a second light-emitting layer interposed between the third electrode and the fourth electrode (170 in figure 4A comprises a multi-layered structure as seen in figure 1A, which has a second light-emitting layer 140a); a third layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer (electron-injection layer 114 in figure 4A); a fourth layer positioned between the third layer and the second light-emitting layer (hole-injection layer 116 in figure 4A); and a fifth layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer (alternatively 113, 115, or 117 in figure 4A), wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first light-emitting substance (140b comprises light -emitting material 142b in figure 1B), wherein the second light-emitting layer comprises a second light-emitting substance (140a comprises light -emitting material 142a in figure 1B), wherein an emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance is shorter than an emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (layer 140b emits a peak between 600nm and 740nm, and layer 140a emits a peak between 480 and 550 nm, see column 10, lines 13-19), wherein the first layer and the third layer are formed using the same material (see figure 4A; both are same material for 114), and the second layer and the fourth layer are formed using the same material (see figure 4A; both are the same material for 116), wherein an ordinary refractive index of the first layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the second layer at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (electron-injection layer 114 can be made of lithium fluoride [see column 24, lines 49-51] which is known to have an index of refraction of 1.395-1.393 in the wavelength range of 480nm-550nm, see Li page 347. hole-injection layer 116 can be made of molybdenum oxide [see column 22, lines 10-13], which is known to have an index of refraction of well above 1.7 in the wavelength range of 480nm-550nm, see O de Melo figure 7 on page 6), wherein an ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the fourth layer at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (electron-injection layer 114 can be made of lithium fluoride [see column 24, lines 49-51] which is known to have an index of refraction of 1.392-1.390 in the wavelength range of 600nm-740nm, see Li page 347. Hole-injection layer 116 can be made of molybdenum oxide [see column 22, lines 10-13], which is known to have an index of refraction of well above 1.7 in the wavelength range of 600nm-740nm, see O de Melo figure 7 on page 6), and wherein the fifth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the third layer, between the third layer and the fourth layer, or between the fourth layer and the second light- emitting layer (fifth layer 113 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the third layer 114; fifth layer 115 is positioned between third layer 114 and fourth layer 116; fifth layer 117 is positioned between fourth later 116 and second light emitting layer 140a). In regards to claim 12, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses the fifth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the third layer (fifth layer 113 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the third layer 114). In regards to claim 13, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the third layer and the fourth layer (fifth layer 115 is positioned between third layer 114 and fourth layer 116). In regards to claim 14, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 2, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the second light-emitting layer (fifth layer 117 is positioned between fourth layer 116 and second light emitting layer 140a). In regards to claim 15, Yamaoka discloses a display device (“a portable electronic device, a wearable electronic device (wearable device), an e-book reader, or the like” which have displays and are thus display devices, Yamaoka) comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (Yamaoka discloses that the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the invention can be used, and the previous embodiment 3 discloses all of the limitations of claim 2; Yamaoka column 54 line 66 – column 55 line 2). In regards to claim 16, Yamaoka discloses an electronic appliance (portable information terminal 910) comprising: the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 2 (Yamaoka discloses that the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the invention can be used, and the previous embodiment 3 discloses all of the limitations of claim 2; Yamaoka column 56, lines 1-4); and at least one of a sensor (touch sensor in display portion, Yamaoka column 56, lines 5-6), an operation button (operation button 913 in figure 14C), a speaker (speaker 915 in figure 14C), and a microphone (microphone 916 in figure 14C). In regards to claim 3, Yamaoka discloses A light-emitting apparatus (262a in figure 4A) comprising: a first light-emitting device (222R in figure 4A); and a second light-emitting device (222G in figure 4A), the first light-emitting device comprising: a first electrode (104 in figure 4A); a second electrode (102 in figure 4A); a first light-emitting layer interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode (170 in figure 4A comprises a multi-layered structure as seen in figure 1A, which has a first light-emitting layer 140b); a first layer interposed between the first electrode and the first light-emitting layer (electron-injection layer 114 in figure 4A); and a second layer interposed between the first layer and the first light-emitting layer (hole-injection layer 116 in figure 4A), the second light-emitting device comprising: a third electrode (103 in figure 4A); a fourth electrode (102 in figure 4A); a second light-emitting layer interposed between the third electrode and the fourth electrode (170 in figure 4A comprises a multi-layered structure as seen in figure 1A, which has a second light-emitting layer 140a); a third layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer (electron- injection layer 114 in figure 4A); a fourth layer positioned between the third layer and the second light-emitting layer (hole-injection layer 116 in figure 4A); and a fifth layer interposed between the third electrode and the second light-emitting layer (alternatively 113, 115, or 117 in figure 4A), wherein the first light-emitting layer comprises a first light-emitting substance (140b comprises light -emitting material 142b in figure 1B), wherein the second light-emitting layer comprises a second light-emitting substance (140a comprises light -emitting material 142a in figure 1B), wherein an emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance is shorter than an emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (layer 140b emits a peak between 600nm and 740nm, and layer 140a emits a peak between 480 and 550 nm, see column 10, lines 13-19), wherein the first layer and the third layer have similar structures (see figure 4A; both are same material for 114), and the second layer and the fourth layer have similar structures (see figure 4A; both are the same material for 116), wherein an ordinary refractive index of the first layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the second layer at the emission peak wavelength of the first light-emitting substance (electron-injection layer 114 can be made of lithium fluoride [see column 24, lines 49-51] which is known to have an index of refraction of 1.395-1.393 in the wavelength range of 480nm-550nm, see Li page 347. Hole-injection layer 116 can be made of molybdenum oxide [see column 22, lines 10-13], which is known to have an index of refraction of well above 1.7 in the wavelength range of 480nm-550nm, see O de Melo figure 7 on page 6), wherein an ordinary refractive index of the third layer is lower than an ordinary refractive index of the fourth layer at the emission peak wavelength of the second light-emitting substance (electron-injection layer 114 can be made of lithium fluoride [see column 24, lines 49-51] which is known to have an index of refraction of 1.392-1.390 in the wavelength range of 600nm-740nm, see Li page 347. Hole-injection layer 116 can be made of molybdenum oxide [see column 22, lines 10-13], which is known to have an index of refraction of well above 1.7 in the wavelength range of 600nm-740nm, see O de Melo figure 7 on page 6), and wherein the fifth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the third layer, between the third layer and the fourth layer, or between the fourth layer and the second light- emitting layer (fifth layer 113 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the third layer 114; fifth layer 115 is positioned between third layer 114 and fourth layer 116; fifth layer 117 is positioned between fourth later 116 and second light emitting layer 140a). In regards to claim 17, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 3, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the third electrode and the third layer (fifth layer 113 is positioned between the third electrode 103 and the third layer 114). In regards to claim 18, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 3, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the third layer and the fourth layer (fifth layer 115 is positioned between third layer 114 and fourth layer 116). In regards to claim 19, Yamaoka discloses all of the limitations of claim 3, and further discloses that the fifth layer is positioned between the fourth layer and the second light-emitting layer (fifth layer 117 is positioned between fourth layer 116 and second light emitting layer 140a). In regards to claim 20, Yamaoka discloses a display device (“a portable electronic device, a wearable electronic device (wearable device), an e-book reader, or the like” which have displays and are thus display devices, Yamaoka) comprising the light-emitting apparatus according to claim 1 (Yamaoka discloses that the light-emitting device of one embodiment of the invention can be used, and the previous embodiment 3 discloses all of the limitations of claim 3; Yamaoka column 54 line 66 – column 55 line 2). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to DANIEL K ELLIOTT whose telephone number is (571)357-4606. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8:00 -5:00. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Brent Fairbanks can be reached at 408-918-7532. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /DANIEL KURT ELLIOTT/ Examiner, Art Unit 2899 /DALE E PAGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 2 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 3 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 4 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 5 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 6 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 7 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 8 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 9 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 10 Art Unit: 2899 Application/Control Number: 18/696,693 Page 11 Art Unit: 2899