DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
Claims 1-17 are pending and presented for examination.
Double Patenting
1. Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of copending Application No. 18/696519 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of Application No. 18/696519 anticipates claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
2. Claim(s) 1-8 and 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 107312231, hereinafter ‘231 of which reference is made to the provided English translation.
I. Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 16, ‘231 teaches a polymer composition comprising: a Ziegler-Natta catalyzed LLDPE copolymer of butene and ethylene (Example 2, page 11); a processing aid consisting essentially of 1000 ppm of polyethylene glycol having a molecular weight of 10,000 (Example 2, page 12), and the composition is substantially free of fluorine (Example 2, pages 11-12). ‘231 also teaches that the Ziegler-Natta polymer can have a density of 0.92 g/cm3, a melt index of 0.1 g/10 min, and a molecular weight distribution of 5.8 (see Example 3, page 13). ‘231 teaches all the limitations of claims 1, 2, 4-8 and 16; therefore, ‘231 anticipates the claims.
II. Regarding claim 3, ‘231 teaches the polymer composition of claim 1 including the Ziegler-Natta catalyzed polymer, wherein the polymer has a density, melt index and molecular weight distribution as claimed (see above). ‘231 fails to explicitly teach the melt index ratio. However, as ‘231 is teaching an essentially identical composition wherein the polymer has all of a density, melt index and molecular weight distribution as claimed, then inherently the melt index ratio will fall within the claimed range. Therefore, ‘231 anticipates claim 3.
III. Regarding claims 13-15, the Examiner notes that claims 13-15 are directed towards a polymer composition and the manner in which it is prepared holds no patentable weight. An identical polymer composition prepared by a different method of mixing will anticipate the claims if the final composition is identical. In this case, ‘231 teaches a polymer composition comprising the Ziegler-Natta catalyzed LLDPE (see above, and note that one portion of this polymer can correspond to the polymer of the composition and a second portion of this polymer can correspond to the substantially identical carrier resin) and polyethylene glycol having a molecular weight of 10000, and the composition free of fluorine (see above). Therefore, the composition of ‘231 also anticipates claims 13-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 9-12 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ‘231 in view of Toni et al. (U.S. PGPUB No. 2020/0331242).
I. Regarding claims 9, 10 and 17, ‘231 teaches the polymer composition of claim 1 (see above) and the processing aid consisting essentially of polyethylene glycol (see above). ‘231 also teaches that a polysorbate may be included (middle of page 8), but fails to teach the polysorbate meeting the limitations of structural formula (I)
However, Toni teaches the inclusion of a specific polysorbate, polysorbate 80 (which meets the limitations of the structural formula (I), in a polymer composition of a linear low density polyethylene (see Table 1, LLDPE-md4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute polysorbate 80 for the generic polysorbate of ‘231. One would have been motivated to make this substitution as one could have made this substitution with a reasonable expectation of success (particularly given that Toni teaches polysorbate 80 in combination with a LLDPE similar to ‘231’s polymer), and the predictable result of providing a polymer composition.
II. Regarding claims 11 and 12, ‘231 in view of Toni make obvious claim 9, but fail to teach the ratio of polyethylene glycol to polysorbate. However, it is well known within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art that the amount of processing agents will need to be adjusted to provide optimal properties of a polymer coating composition while minimizing costs associated with the addition of each agent. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to choose the instantly claimed ratio through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Conclusion
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 1-17 are rejected.
/ROBERT S WALTERS JR/
July 26, 2026Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717