DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a machine readable code is arranged on the treatment region” as recited in claims 6 and 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “the treatment region includes at least one material properties compared to a portion of the wood pulp-based material”. It would appear the claim should recite ‘the treatment region includes at least one material property compared to a portion of the wood pulp-based material’.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, there is no antecedent basis for the term “the entire flange portion”.
Regarding claim 8, applicant’s specification, page 2, line 28 – 29, recites “the proximal portion of the storage portion may be defined as a portion that connects to the flange portion”, however applicant’s specification, page 6, line 6, also defines the “a proximal portion refers to a portion of the side wall in immediate proximity to the base” and that “proximal and distal are defined herein as relative the base”. Therefore it is unclear what would constitute a proximal portion of the storage portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 5 and 7 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf-Rooney WO 2018/002223 (FI 3400184 is the English translation thereof) in view of Kumamoto et al. EP 1 126 083 in view of Mondillon et al. US 2018/0178972.
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Wolf-Rooney discloses a container capable of use with a machine capable of preparing a beverage and/or foodstuff or a precursor thereof which container comprises a storage portion (lower part 11) capable of containing a precursor material (coffee) (page 2, ln 25), a closing member (lid 12) to close the storage portion, a flange portion (19) (page 6, ln 6 – 7) connecting the storage portion and the closing member (page 5, ln 20 – 24), and at least part of the flange portion is formed of a wood pulp-based material (page 3, ln 1 – 5). Further Wolf-Rooney discloses the flange portion would comprise a treatment region in that an O-ring type seal would be provided thereon on the underside, that is the lower surface of the flange (page 5, line 2 – 8) which O-ring type seal would necessarily be thicker than the surrounding surface of the flange, which is to say that said surrounding surface would obviously have a reduced thickness which reduced thickness is seen to comprise a treatment region.
Claim 1 differs from Wolf-Rooney in the wood pulp-based material includes a treatment region that comprises a glassified wood pulp-based material.
First it is noted that applicant defines the term “glassified” as being “characterized by one or more of the following material properties: a glass transition temperature above ambient temperature; a harder material; a more brittle material; a material with low energy adsorption before fracture; a thinner section material; a material with reduced fiber interstices; reduced water adsorption; increased stiffness”. (specification page 2, paragraph 4).
Kumamoto discloses that it was conventional and well established in the art to employ wood-pulp to form containers capable of storing a beverage which containers comprise an opening, a body, a bottom (paragraph [0006]) and would be formed from 100% pulp (paragraph [0034]). Kumamoto also discloses that the desired properties of containers formed from wood-pulp would be reduced water absorbency (inhibits liquid penetration), increased stiffness (suitable rigidity) (paragraph [0041]), increased brittleness (surface tension) (paragraph [0043] – [0044]), and reduced thickness (reduced void) (paragraph [0041]) (represented by the width x . . . having no thick walled portion . . .which suffices to secure the mechanical strength) (paragraph [0059] – [0060] and fig. 6). Kumamoto further discloses the thickness of the body would vary depending on the specific application(decided according to use), i.e., the intended use of the container (paragraph [0107] and [0137]), which is to say that Kumamoto is disclosing the region of the container subjected to glassification, i.e., the treatment as claimed is seen to be a result effective variable which the ordinarily skilled artisan would conventionally and routinely optimize absent compelling evidence to the contrary (MPEP § 2144.05 II)
Mondillon discloses that it was conventional and well established in the art to employ plant based materials to form containers capable of preparing a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof which containers comprise an opening, a body, a bottom (paragraph [0009] – [0010] and Fig. 1 and 2). Mondillon also discloses that the desired properties of containers formed from plant based materials would include increased brittleness (breakable, rupturable, or punchable) (paragraph [0085]), and reduced thickness (smaller dimensions of the edges, 61 – 64) (paragraph [0087] – [0088] and fig. 10 – 12) which are applicant’s disclosed properties identifying the container plant based material was subjected to glassification. Mondillon is employing plant based material to form a container capable of storing a beverage and/or foodstuff or a precursor thereof for the art recognized function of creating a biodegradable/compostable container having increased brittleness and reduced thickness to more easily punch, i.e., pierce the container and provide increased stiffness (strengthening rib) in areas that would not be pierced (paragraph [0061]) all of which are applicant’s reasons for doing so as well. To therefore modify Wolf-Rooney given the prior art taken as a whole, that is, taking into account the teachings of Kumamoto with respect to providing a wood pulp-based container with properties based on the particular application and Mondillon’s teachings of providing a biodegradable/compostable container having increased brittleness and reduced thickness to more easily pierce the container and provide increased stiffness in areas that would not be pierced would have been an obvious matter of choice and/or design to the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 3, Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon disclose a treatment region (sections 66, 67, and 68) would have a reduced thickness (localized reduction in the thickness of the body 2) (‘972, paragraph [0088]). Once it was known to provide a treatment region that has a reduced thickness compared to portions of said container that would not be treated it is not seen that patentability would be predicated on the amount by which the thickness would be reduced. Limitations relating to the thickness of the treatment region would not be sufficient to patentably distinguish over the prior art. The mere scaling up or down of a prior art treatment region capable of being so scaled, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old treatment region so scaled. Where the only difference between the prior art and the claimed container is a recitation of relative dimensions, i.e., a reduced thickness, of the claimed container and a container having the claimed reduced thickness would not perform differently than the prior art container, the claimed container is not seen to be patentably distinct from the prior art device. Nevertheless, Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon disclose that it appears a treatment region of the container would have a reduced thickness by at least 30% compared to a portion that is not treated (area 660 has a thickness of zero or almost zero) (‘972, paragraph [0092] and fig. 11 – 14).
Regarding claims 4, 5, and 7, Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon disclose the flange would comprise an area of reduced thickness, a raised seal, i.e., a raised uncompressed area of reduced thickness arranged on a lower surface of the flange portion which is to say the treatment region is would be seen to constitute the lower surface of the flange portion not containing the raise seal area (provided on the underside of the flange) (‘184, page 5, line 2 – 8) (upper surface 82 free from protuberances 83) (‘972, paragraph [0100] and fig. 1, 6, and 9). Further regarding claims 5 and 7, since the treatment region is arranged as a seal around the flange it is obvious that in order to provide an effective seal the seal as well as the treatment region would necessarily be arranged as an annular ring central about an axis of rotation of the container which is to say that the entire flange portion would comprise the treatment region.
Regarding claim 8, Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon are seen to disclose the treatment region comprises a proximal portion of the storage portion that is not treated (internal reinforcement 25) (‘972, paragraph [0066] and fig. 5).
Claim 9 is rejected over Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon for the same reasons given above in the rejection of claim 1. Further regarding claim 9, Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon disclose there would be a machine capable of preparing a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof which machine would provide heated water which heated water would be pressed under pressure into said container which container would be perforated, i.e., penetrated when inserted into the machine (‘184, page 5, ln 29 – 34). Since the machine to prepare a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof has a penetrator and provides water heated and under pressure to produce said beverage it is obvious that there would be a processing unit and electrical circuitry to control said processing unit.
Claims 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wolf-Rooney WO 2018/002223 (FI 3400184 is the English translation thereof) in view of Kumamoto et al. EP 1 126 083 in view of Mondillon et al. US 2018/0178972 in view of Krϋger US 2024/0315482.
Regarding claim 6, as set forth Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon discloses a container capable of use with a machine capable of preparing a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof which container comprises a treatment region on the flange of said container.
Claim 6 differs from Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon in a machine-readable code is arranged on the treatment region.
Krϋger discloses a container capable of use with a machine capable of preparing a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof which container has a machine readable code on the flange of said container (bar code 6) (paragraph [0066] and fig. 2a, 2c). Krϋger is providing a machine readable code on the flange of said container for the art recognized function of controlling the preparation of a beverage based on the parameters set forth therein such as liquid volume and/or temperature (paragraph [0010] and 0012]) which is applicant’s reason for providing a machine readable code on the flange of the capsule, i.e., the treatment region, as well. To therefore modify Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon and provide a machine readable code on the flange, i.e., the treatment region of the container as taught by Krϋger would have been an obvious matter of choice and/or design to the ordinarily skilled artisan.
Regarding claim 11, as set forth in the rejection of claim 1 Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon discloses a container capable of use with a machine capable of preparing a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof which container comprises a treatment region on the flange of said container and in the rejection of claim 9 that there would be a machine provided which machine would allow for the preparation of a beverage which is to say the use of the machine to prepare a beverage from said container.
Claim 11 differs from Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon in a machine-readable code is arranged on the treatment region of said container and reading said code to prepare a beverage, and/or a foodstuff or a precursor therefor therefrom.
Krϋger discloses a container capable of use with a machine capable of preparing a beverage and/or a foodstuff or a precursor thereof which container has a machine readable code on the flange of said container (bar code 6) (paragraph [0066] and fig. 2a, 2c). Krϋger is providing a machine readable code on the flange of said container for the art recognized function of controlling the preparation of a beverage based on the parameters set forth therein such as liquid volume and/or temperature (paragraph [0010] and 0012]) which is applicant’s reason for providing a machine readable code on the flange of the capsule, i.e., the treatment region, as well. To therefore modify Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon and provide a machine readable code on the flange, i.e., the treatment region of the container as taught by Krϋger would have been an obvious matter of choice and/or design to the ordinarily skilled artisan. Once it was known to provide the container of Wolf-Rooney in view of Kumamoto in view of Mondillon with a code arranged on a flange portion of the container and that a machine capable of reading said code to produce a beverage from said container would be present it is seen that the method of preparing a beverage as claimed would have been obvious.
Conclusion
/C.S./
Chaim SmithExaminer, Art Unit 1791 21 March 2026
/VIREN A THAKUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792