DETAILED ACTION
Amendment
This office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 9/16/26. As directed by the amendment: claims 1-3, 9, 15 and 18 have been amended, claims 16-17 and 19-20 have been canceled, and new claims 21-34 have been added. Thus, claims 1-15, 18 and 21-34 are presently pending in the application.
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 31 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 15 (lines 8-9) and 31 (lines 11-12) recite “a treatment period,” suggested to be changed to --the treatment period-- for consistency. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 and 31-34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “an existing positive airway pressure system” in line 2, however it is unclear is this system is the same as the positive airway pressure system from claim 1 or a new and different system.
Claims 4 and 31 limitations of “a memory component to modulate air flow” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Any remaining claims are rejected as being dependent on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-11, 15, 18, 21-23, 28-29 and 31-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Colbaugh et al. (2019/0183417).
Regarding claim 1, in fig. 1 Colbaugh discloses a method for delivering air to a patient throughout the patient's respiratory cycle [0016], the method comprising: providing a positive airway pressure system (via pressure generator 140), the system including a flow generator 140 and conduit 182 having an outlet configured to connect to a patient's respiratory system (outlet connected to interface appliance 184); applying an inspiratory positive airway pressure through the outlet during an inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle [0019] over a treatment period (at least two breaths); and applying an expiratory positive airway pressure through the outlet during an expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle [0019] over the treatment period; wherein the inspiratory positive airway pressure is less than the expiratory positive airway pressure [0019] resulting in improved comfort of the patient during the treatment period while maintaining a prescribed pressure therapy ([0042] comfort is provided by continuing to provide less pressure to a user during inhalation until an obstruction for example is reaches, such that too much pressure is not provided, which may disturb sleep); wherein the treatment period extends throughout a time when the patient is asleep (the patient is asleep during use).
Regarding claim 4, Colbaugh discloses that the positive airway pressure system includes a computer with a processor 110 for executing instructions stored in a memory 130 component to modulate air flow through the outlet such that the expiratory positive airway pressure is greater than the inspiratory positive airway pressure [0004][0025].
Regarding claim 5, Colbaugh discloses that the patient sets the inspiratory positive airway pressure (via user interface 120 [0026]).
Regarding claim 6, Colbaugh discloses that the patient sets the expiratory positive airway pressure (via user interface 120 [0026]).
Regarding claim 7, Colbaugh discloses that the method further comprising setting a maximum inspiratory positive airway pressure (recommended IPAP level [0042]) and a maximum expiratory positive airway pressure (recommended EPAP level [0042]); wherein the patient sets the inspiratory positive airway pressure at or below the maximum inspiratory positive airway pressure [0042][0026].
Regarding claim 8, Colbaugh discloses that the patient sets the expiratory positive airway pressure at or below the maximum expiratory positive airway pressure [0004][0038].
Regarding claim 9, Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive airway pressure is lower when the patient falls asleep and gradually increases over the treatment period (the IPAP changes throughout the sleep period of a patient and therefore an increase occurs as needed [0053]).
Regarding claim 10, Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive airway pressure is determined based on a patient parameter [0028][0041].
Regarding claim 11, Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive airway pressure is determined based on an ambient condition [0028-0030].
Regarding claim 15, in fig. 1 Colbaugh discloses positive airway pressure system comprising: a flow generator 140; a conduit 182 operably connected to the flow generator, the conduit having an outlet configured to connect to a patient's respiratory system (outlet connected to interface appliance 184); wherein the flow generator provides an inspiratory positive airway pressure through the outlet during each inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle over a treatment period extending through a time when the patient is asleep ([0019][0042-0043] over the course of multiple breathing cycles and challenges until a particular condition occurs) and an expiratory positive airway pressure through the outlet during each expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle over a treatment period [0019]; the positive airway pressure system further includes a passive air flow resistor (a portion of the conduit 182 due to friction) to reduce air flow through the outlet during the inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle proportionally to air flow through the passive air flow resistor without affecting the expiratory positive airway pressure providing that the inspiratory positive airway pressure is less than the expiratory positive airway pressure ([0019][0042-0043]) wherein the passive air flow resistor has no moving parts (the tubing has no moving parts).
Regarding claim 18, Colbaugh discloses that a portion of the conduit is configured to function as the air flow resistor (a portion of the conduit 182 due to friction).
Regarding claim 21, Colbaugh discloses that during each expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle, the expiratory positive airway pressure begins equal to the inspiratory positive airway pressure and increases during the expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle up to a maximum expiratory positive airway pressure greater than the inspiratory positive airway pressure (this will occur due to the fact that Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive air pressure is greater than the expiratory positive airway pressure).
Regarding claim 22, Colbaugh discloses that during each inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle, the inspiratory positive airway pressure begins equal to the expiratory positive airway pressure and decreases during the inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle down to a minimum inspiratory positive airway pressure less than the expiratory positive airway pressure (this will occur due to the fact that Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive air pressure is greater than the expiratory positive airway pressure).
Regarding claim 23, Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive airway pressure increases over multiple treatment periods ([0052] during various portions of a user’s sleep the inspiratory positive airway pressure increases due to a particular determination or condition).
Regarding claim 28, Colbaugh discloses that the passive air flow resistor is integrally formed (via tubing 182).
Regarding claim 29, Colbaugh discloses that the passive air flow resistor is positioned inline between the flow generator and outlet (see tubing 182).
Regarding claim 31, in fig. 1 Colbaugh discloses a positive airway pressure system comprising: a conduit 182 having an outlet configured to connect to a patient's respiratory system (outlet connected to interface appliance 184); a flow generator 140 including a fan [0031], the flow generator operably connected to the conduit such that changing the speed of the fan affects pressure provided to the patient's respiratory system by the conduit [0017][0019][0031]; a computer with a processor 110 for executing instructions stored in a memory component 130 to modulate the speed of the fan [0004][0025][0031]; wherein the flow generator provides an inspiratory positive airway pressure through the outlet during each inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle [0019] over a treatment period (at least two breaths) extending through a time when the patient is asleep (the patient is asleep during use) and an expiratory positive airway pressure through the outlet during each expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle over a treatment period [0019]; and wherein the inspiratory positive airway pressure is less than the expiratory positive airway pressure [0019].
Regarding claim 32, Colbaugh discloses that during each expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle, the expiratory positive airway pressure begins equal to the inspiratory positive airway pressure and the computer increases the speed of the fan throughout the expiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle until a maximum expiratory positive airway pressure greater than the inspiratory positive airway pressure is achieved (this will occur due to the fact that Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive air pressure is greater than the expiratory positive airway pressure).
Regarding claim 33, Colbaugh discloses that during each inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle, the inspiratory positive airway pressure begins equal to the expiratory positive airway pressure and the computer decreases the speed of the fan throughout the inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle until a minimum inspiratory positive airway pressure less than the expiratory positive airway pressure is achieved (this will occur due to the fact that Colbaugh discloses that the inspiratory positive air pressure is greater than the expiratory positive airway pressure).
Regarding claim 34, Colbaugh discloses that the computer is programmed to automatically increase the inspiratory positive airway pressure over multiple treatment periods ([0052] during various portions of a user’s sleep the inspiratory positive airway pressure automatically increases due to a particular determination or condition).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbaugh, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Truitt et al. (6,915,705).
Regarding claim 2, Colbaugh is silent regarding that the positive airway pressure system further includes a passive air flow resistor with no moving parts, wherein the passive air flow resistor reduces air flow through the outlet during the inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle proportionally to air flow through the passive air flow resistor thereby providing that the expiratory positive airway pressure is greater than the inspiratory positive airway pressure. However, in fig. 1 and 6A-7 Truitt teaches a positive airway pressure system further includes a passive air flow resistor 74 with no moving parts (Col. 6, ll. 41-42) attached to flow sensing structure 72. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s sensor 142 with an air flow sensor having an air flow resistor, as taught by Truitt, for the purpose of determining flow through the system. The modified Colbaugh discloses that the passive air flow resistor (74 Truitt) reduces air flow through the outlet during the inspiration phase of the patient's respiratory cycle proportionally to air flow through the passive air flow resistor (due to the openings in the resistor 74, Truitt) thereby providing that the expiratory positive airway pressure is greater than the inspiratory positive airway pressure (since Colbaugh already teaches expiratory positive airway pressure is greater than the inspiratory positive airway pressure).
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbaugh, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Hakim et al. (“Expiratory and inspiratory positive airway pressures in obstructure sleep apnea: how much pressure is necessary? A different point of view” 2015).
Regarding claim 12, Colbaugh is silent regarding that the inspiratory positive airway pressure is substantially zero. However, Hakim teaches an inspiratory positive airway pressure is substantially zero (Fig. 2, Page 135 second column, bottom half of page, starting at the first complete sentence). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s inspiratory pressure with an inspiratory pressure of substantially zero, for the purpose of treating obstructive sleep apnea (abstract) and preventing upper airway collapse at the end of expiration (Page 135, right column).
Regarding claim 13, Colbaugh is silent regarding that the expiratory positive airway pressure is between 4 and 20 cm H20. However, Hakim teaches expiratory positive airway pressure is between 4 and 20 cm H20 (Fig. 2, Page 135 second column, bottom half of page, starting at the first complete sentence). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s expiratory positive airway pressure with an expiratory positive airway pressure between 4 and 20 cm H20, for the purpose of treating obstructive sleep apnea (abstract) and preventing upper airway collapse at the end of expiration (Page 135, right column).
Regarding claim 14, Colbaugh is silent regarding that an average negative pressure provided by the patient during inspiration is determined and the inspiratory positive airway pressure is below the average negative pressure. However, Hakim teaches that an average negative pressure provided by the patient during inspiration is determined and the inspiratory positive airway pressure is below the average negative pressure (Fig. 2, upper right figure, Page 135 second column, bottom half of page, starting at the first complete sentence, 0 cmH2O of pressure is provided during inhalation and an average of negative 5 cmH2O (since the pressure starts at 0 and moves towards -10) is provided by the patient during inhalation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s inspiratory positive airway pressure to be below the average negative pressure, for the purpose of treating obstructive sleep apnea (abstract) and preventing upper airway collapse at the end of expiration (Page 135, right column).
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbaugh, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Mersmann et al. (2015/0335839).
Regarding claim 24, Colbaugh is silent regarding a step of determining that a patient's tidal volume is large and gradually lowering the inspiratory positive airway pressure to avoid hyperventilation. However, Mersmann teaches a step of determining that a patient's tidal volume is large and gradually (compared to a larger decrease) lowering the inspiratory positive airway pressure to avoid hyperventilation [0052]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s method with the addition of a step of lowering the IPAP when the tidal volume is large, as taught by Mersmann, for the purpose of providing safety to the user.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbaugh, as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Brittelli et al. (2022/0152327).
Regarding claim 25, Colbaugh is silent regarding steps of measuring atmospheric pressure; and reducing inspiratory positive airway pressure, expiratory positive airway pressure, or both inspiratory positive airway pressure and expiratory positive airway pressure if the atmospheric pressure is below a predetermined level. However, Brittelli teaches steps of measuring atmospheric pressure [0038]; and reducing inspiratory positive airway pressure, expiratory positive airway pressure, or both inspiratory positive airway pressure and expiratory positive airway pressure if the atmospheric pressure is below a predetermined level ([0046] the pressure delivered to a user will be decreased when the atmospheric pressure increases, yet is still below a predetermined level based on altitude). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s method with the steps of measuring atmospheric pressure; and reducing inspiratory positive airway pressure, expiratory positive airway pressure, or both inspiratory positive airway pressure and expiratory positive airway pressure if the atmospheric pressure is below a predetermined level, as taught by Brittelli, for the purpose of providing safety to the user.
Claims 26-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Colbaugh, as applied to claim 15 and 29 above, respectively, in further view of Truitt et al. (6,915,705).
Regarding claim 26, Colbaugh is silent regarding that the passive air flow resistor includes an inlet side and an outlet side with an air channel defined through the air flow resistor from the inlet side to the outlet side and a resistive element is positioned to interrupt the air channel. However, in fig. 1 and 6A-7 Truitt teaches a passive air flow resistor 74 that includes an inlet side (at 76) and an outlet side (at 78) with an air channel (extending from inlet to outlet) defined through the air flow resistor from the inlet side to the outlet side and a resistive element (formed by spokes 100) is positioned to interrupt the air channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s sensor 142 with an air flow sensor having an air flow resistor, as taught by Truitt, for the purpose of determining flow through the system.
Regarding claim 27, the modified Colbaugh discloses that the resistive element defines a plurality of holes (98 Truitt).
Regarding claim 30, the modified Colbaugh is silent regarding that the passive air flow resistor includes an inlet side nearest to the flow generator and an outlet side nearest to the outlet with an air channel defined through the air flow resistor from the inlet side to the outlet side and a resistive element is positioned to interrupt the air channel. However, in fig. 1 and 6A-7 Truitt teaches a passive air flow resistor 74 that includes an inlet side (at 76) nearest to the flow generator and an outlet side (extending from inlet to outlet) nearest to the outlet with an air channel defined through the air flow resistor from the inlet side to the outlet side and a resistive element (formed by spokes 100) is positioned to interrupt the air channel. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Colbaugh’s sensor 142 with an air flow sensor having an air flow resistor, as taught by Truitt, for the purpose of determining flow through the system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/16/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues on page 14 that Colbaugh’s challenges that lower IPAP below EPAP are not for treatment and only last one or more breathing cycles.
This argument is not taken well since Colbaugh’s challenges do occur during treatment and are part of the treatment for the user to provide the appropriate amount of IPAP for a user during a sleep period. Further, the claim language does not preclude a treatment period of multiple breathing cycles when the challenges occur.
Applicant argues on page 14 that the challenges do not provide comfort as claimed.
Examiner disagrees since providing less pressure to a sleeping user does provide comfort when a higher IPAP may wake a user, particularly before a breathing disorder is identified over the course of more than one breathing cycle.
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 17-18, filed 9/16/26, with respect to the rejection of claim 2 under Colbaugh in view of Zdrojkowski have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Colbaugh in view of Truitt.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL T SIPPEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785