DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Preliminary amendment filed 28 March 2024 is acknowledged. Claims 21-24 have been canceled. Claims 4-9 and 11-19 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
Information disclosure statement filed 28 March 2024 has been fully considered.
Specification
The preliminary amendments to the specification were received on 28 March 2024. These preliminary amendments to the specification are acceptable.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: METHOD OF MANUFACTURING LIGHT-EMITTING LAYERS.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation, “a second sacrifice layer.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for the term “second” in the claim as there is no preceding first sacrifice layer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0403922, hereinafter Wang ‘922).
With respect to claim 1, Wang ‘922 teaches (FIG. 2) a method of manufacturing a display device as claimed, the method comprising:
a step (FIG. 2b) of forming a first sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) on a charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) ([0073-0082]);
a step (FIG. 2d) of exposing the charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) by removing a part of the first sacrifice layer (“photoresist) ([0073-0082]);
a step (FIG. 2e) of forming a first light-emitting layer (“red quantum dots”) containing first quantum dots and first ligands on the first sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) and the charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) ([0073-0082]); and
a step (FIGs. 2f-2g) of patterning the first light-emitting layer (“red quantum dots”) by removing the first sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) using a first detaching solution (“ligand solution”) containing second ligands ([0073-0082]).
With respect to claim 2, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the second ligands are configured to be coordinated to the first quantum dots ([0073-0082]).
With respect to claim 3, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the first light-emitting layer (“red quantum dots”) contains the second ligands after the first sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) is removed ([0073-0082]).
With respect to claim 4, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the first ligands and the second ligands are made of different materials ([0046]).
With respect to claim 5, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the first ligands and the second ligands are made of a same material ([0046]).
With respect to claim 9, Wang ‘922 teaches further comprising: a step of forming (sub-step (1)) a second sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) including a first region overlapping the first light-emitting layer (formed in “step 1”) and a second region (“green pixel region”) not overlapping the first light-emitting layer; a step of exposing (sub-steps (2) and (3)) the charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) by removing at least a part of the second region; a step of forming (sub-step (4)) a second light-emitting layer (“green quantum dots”) containing second quantum dots on the second sacrifice layer and the charge functional layer; and a step of patterning (sub-step (5)) the second light-emitting layer by removing the second sacrifice layer using a second detaching solution (“exchange with ligands”) containing third ligands ([0083-0090]).
With respect to claim 10, Wang ‘922 teaches (FIG. 2) a method of manufacturing a display device as claimed, the method comprising:
a step (“step 1”) of forming a patterned first light-emitting layer (“red quantum dots”) containing first quantum dots and first ligands on a charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) ([0073-0082]);
a step of forming (sub-step (1)) a second sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) including a first region overlapping the first light-emitting layer (“red quantum dots” formed in “step 1”) and a second region (“green pixel region”) not overlapping the first light-emitting layer ([0083-0090]);
a step of exposing (sub-steps (2) and (3)) the charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) by removing at least a part of the second region (“green pixel region”) ([0083-0090);
a step of forming (sub-step (4)) a second light-emitting layer (“green quantum dots”) containing second quantum dots on the second sacrifice layer and the charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) ([0083-0090]); and
a step of patterning (sub-step (5)) the second light-emitting layer (“green quantum dots”) by removing the second sacrifice layer using a second detaching solution (“exchange with ligands”) containing third ligands ([0083-0090]).
With respect to claim 11, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the third ligands are configured to be coordinated to the first quantum dots ([0046, 0080, 0088]).
With respect to claim 12, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the first light-emitting layer (“red quantum dots”) contains the third ligands after the second sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) is removed ([0080, 0088]).
With respect to claim 13, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the first ligands and the third ligands are made of different materials ([0046, 0080, 0088]).
With respect to claim 14, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the first ligands and the third ligands are made of a same material ([0046, 0080, 0088]).
With respect to claim 17, Wang ‘922 teaches wherein the second quantum dots emit green or blue light ([0083-0090]).
With respect to claim 18, Wang ‘922 teaches further comprising: a step of forming (sub-step (1)) a third sacrifice layer (“photoresist”) including: a third region overlapping either one or both of the first light-emitting layer and the second light-emitting layer (formed in “step 1” and “step 2”); and a fourth region (“blue pixel region”) overlapping neither the first light-emitting layer nor the second light-emitting layer; a step of exposing (sub-steps (2) and (3)) the charge functional layer (“zinc oxide thin film”) by removing at least a part of the fourth region; a step of forming (sub-step (4)) a third light-emitting layer (“blue quantum dots”) containing third quantum dots on the third sacrifice layer and the charge functional layer; and a step of patterning (sub-step (5)) the third light-emitting layer by removing the third sacrifice layer using a detaching solution (“exchange with ligands”) containing fourth ligands ([0091-0098]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘922 as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0243084, hereinafter Kim ‘084).
With respect to claims 6 and 15, Wang ‘922 teaches the method as described in claims 1 and 9 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein the first ligands contain at least one of alkyl thiol, alkyl amine, alkyl carboxylic acid, and alkylated phosphorus, and the second ligands contain at least one of alkyl thiol, alkyl amine, alkyl carboxylic acid, and alkylated phosphorus; and wherein the first ligands contain at least one of alkyl thiol, alkyl amine, alkyl carboxylic acid, and alkylated phosphorus, and the third ligands contain at least one of alkyl thiol, alkyl amine, alkyl carboxylic acid, and alkylated phosphorus.
However, Kim ‘122 teaches alkyl amines as ligands suitable for the intended use of ligand exchange in the formation of quantum dots ([0097]). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first, second, and third ligands of Wang ‘922 containing at least one of alkyl thiol, alkyl amine, alkyl carboxylic acid, and alkylated phosphorus as taught by Kim ‘122 as art-recognized materials suitable for the intended use of ligand exchange in the formation of quantum dots.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘922 as applied to claims 1 and 9 above, and further in view of Ippen (Chinese Patent Application Publication 111718716, hereinafter Ippen ‘716).
With respect to claim 7, Wang ‘922 teaches the method as described in claims 1 and 9 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein the first ligands contain at least one of tetrabutyl ammonium halide and zinc halide, and the second ligands contain at least one of tetrabutyl ammonium halide and zinc halide; and wherein the first ligands contain at least one of tetrabutyl ammonium halide and zinc halide, and the third ligands contain at least one of tetrabutyl ammonium halide and zinc halide.
However, Ippen ‘716 teaches zinc halide as a ligand suitable for the intended use of ligand exchange in the formation of quantum dots ([0319]). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first, second, and third ligands of Wang ‘922 containing at least one of tetrabutyl ammonium halide and zinc halide as taught by Ippen ‘716 as an art-recognized material suitable for the intended use of ligand exchange in the formation of quantum dots.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘922 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0021056, hereinafter Zhang ‘056).
With respect to claim 8, Wang ‘922 teaches the method as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the first sacrifice layer includes: a protective layer on the charge functional layer; and a resist layer on the protective layer.
However, Zhang ‘056 teaches (FIG. 2) a first sacrifice layer (203 and 206) including a protective layer (203) on a charge functional layer (202), and a resist layer (206) on the protective layer ([0056]) to facilitate lift-off, and to provide good film-formability and structural stability ([0080-0081]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first sacrifice layer of Wang ‘922 including a protective layer on the charge functional layer; and a resist layer on the protective layer as taught by Zhang ‘056 to facilitate lift-off, and to provide good film-formability and structural stability.
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang ‘922 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0149004, hereinafter Lee ‘004).
With respect to claims 19 and 20, Wang ‘922 teaches the method as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein the charge functional layer contains nanoparticles of a metal oxide; and wherein the charge functional layer includes a hole injection layer, and the hole injection layer contains a nickel oxide as the metal oxide.
However, Lee ‘004 teaches (FIG. 4) a light emitting device comprising a charge functional layer (“hole injection layer” and “hole transport layer”) containing nickel oxide nanoparticles, wherein the charge functional layer includes a hole injection layer (“hole injection layer”) ([0062]) to adjust bandgap energy in order to facilitate movement of holes ([0058]). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) and In re Leshin, 277 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.07.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the charge functional layer of Wang ‘922 containing nanoparticles of a metal oxide, wherein the charge functional layer includes a hole injection layer, and the hole injection layer contains a nickel oxide as the metal oxide as taught by Lee ‘004 to adjust bandgap energy in order to facilitate movement of holes.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Li et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0108842); Mei (US Patent Application Publication 2022/0251446); Wang (US Patent Application Publication 2024/0032319); and Adachi (WIPO Publication 2026/069420) teach methods of manufacturing light emitting layers.
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893