DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7, 9-12, 15, 17, 20, 21, 24-26, 29 and 35 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9-12, 15, 17, 18, 20, 21, 24-26, 29 and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (20160343284) in view of Wang et al. (WO2022052834) (Wang 20230087603 is used for translation purposes) further in view of Li et al. (2021/0217372)
Regarding Claim 1, in Figs. 1-9 and paragraphs 0038, 0050, 0067 and 0074, Sun discloses a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate, comprising a first display area and a second display area; a first pixel group 10/20/31, located in the first display area and comprising a first sub-pixel, a second sub-pixel, and a third sub-pixel; and a line, located in the second display area, wherein, in the first pixel group, the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub- pixel are arranged in sequence in a first direction; the line extends in a second direction, and a value of an angle between the first direction and the second direction ranges from 30 to 60 degrees; the first sub-pixel includes a first edge and a second edge disposed opposite each other in the first direction, and the third sub-pixel includes a third edge and a fourth edge disposed opposite each other in the first direction, the first edge is disposed on a side of the second edge away from the second sub-pixel, the fourth edge is disposed on a side of the third edge away from the second sub-pixel, at least a part of the first edge is curved, and at least a part of the fourth edge is curved. Sun fails to expressly disclose the line to be a power line. However, Wang et al. disclose a display device where in Figs. 1-3 and paragraphs 0075-0078, 0139, 0140, 0201 and 0202, the required power lines are disclosed.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the power lines in Sun as taught by Wang et al, in order to prevent color jagged phenomenon.
Sun and Wang combination fails to disclose the newly added limitation where the first display area comprises a light transmitting area, which allows light to pass through, a pixel density of the first display area is less than a pixel density of the second display area, the first display area comprises a plurality of first pixel groups, two adjacent first pixel groups of the plurality of first pixel groups do not share sub-pixels. However, such limitation with respect to the density and light transmittance is disclosed in paragraphs 0046 and 0053 of Li et al.
It would have been obvious to one of having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the newly added limitation in Sun and Wang et al. combination as taught by Li et al. in order to have enhanced display and fingerprint sensing performance.
Regarding Claim 2, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, the first edge is a first curved edge and the fourth edge is a second curved edge.
Regarding Claim 3, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, an included angle between the first direction and the second direction ranges from 40 to 50 degrees. (Please note that density is not defined in the claim language. Examiner is including Liu et al. CN110379836 as a pertinent prior art reference that is NOT relied upon on this rejection but that discloses density variation for the sub-pixels)
Regarding Claim 4, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, a second pixel group, located in the second display area and includes a fourth sub-pixel, a fifth sub-pixel, and a sixth sub-pixel; wherein, in the second pixel group, the fourth sub-pixel, the fifth sub-pixel, and the sixth sub-pixel are arranged in sequence along a third direction; the first sub-pixel and the fourth sub-pixel are configured to emit light of a first color, the second sub-pixel and the fifth sub-pixel are configured to emit light of a second color, and the third sub-pixel and the sixth sub-pixel are configured to emit light of a third color; an area of the first sub-pixel is larger than an area of the fourth sub-pixel, and/or, an area of the second sub-pixel is larger than an area of the fifth sub-pixel, and/or, an area of the third sub- pixel is larger than an area of the sixth sub-pixel.
Regarding Claim 5, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, an extending direction of the first sub-pixel and an extending direction of the fourth sub-pixel are the same or parallel.
Regarding Claim 7, in Sun and Wang et al. combination an angle between the first direction and the third direction is in a range of 0-10 degrees.
Regarding Claim 9, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, a light-shielding structure, located in the first display area; wherein an orthographic projection of the first edge of the first sub-pixel on the base substrate is overlapped with an orthographic projection of the light-shielding structure on the base substrate; an orthographic projection of the fourth edge of the third sub-pixel on the base substrate is overlapped with the orthographic projection of the light-shielding structure on the base substrate, an outline of the light-shielding structure is a shape surrounded by arcs; alternatively, an outline of the light-shielding structure is a shape surrounded by arcs and a straight line segment, and both ends of the straight line segments are connected to the arcs.
Regarding Claim 10, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein a shape of the orthographic projection of the light-shielding structure on the base substrate does not include an angle, the angle being formed by an intersection of two straight line segments.
Regarding Claim 11, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein at least a part of the outline of the light-shielding structure is overlapped with a part of an edge of at least one sub-pixel of the first sub-pixel, the second sub-pixel, and the third sub-pixel.
Regarding Claim 12, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein at least a part of the outline of the light-shielding structure has intersections with an edge of the first sub-pixel, an edge of the second sub-pixel, and an edge of the third sub-pixel.
Regarding Claim 15, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, at least a part of at least one of the first edge and the fourth edge is overlapped with an edge of the orthographic projection of the light-shielding structure on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 17, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, the second edge is a third curved edge and the third edge is a fourth curved edge.
Regarding Claim 18, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein the second sub-pixel further comprises a fifth curved edge and a sixth curved edge disposed opposite to each other in the first direction, the fifth curved edge is disposed opposite to and spaced apart from the third curved edge, and the sixth curved edge is disposed opposite to and spaced apart from the fourth curved edge points on the fifth curved edge have substantially equal shortest distances from the third curved edge, and points on the sixth curved edge have substantially equal shortest distances from the fourth curved edge.
Regarding Claim 20, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein the second sub-pixel further comprises a seventh curved edge and an eighth curved edge disposed opposite each other in a fourth direction that is perpendicular to the first direction, at least one of the seventh curved edge and the eighth curved edge is overlapped with an edge of an orthographic projection of the light- shielding structure on the base substrate.
Regarding Claim 21, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein the second edge of the first sub-pixel is a first straight edge, and the third edge of the third sub-pixel is a second straight edge, the second sub-pixel comprises a third straight edge and a fourth straight edge disposed opposite each other in the first direction, the third straight edge is disposed on a side of the fourth straight edge away from the third sub-pixel.
Regarding Claim 24, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein a geometric center of an orthographic projection of the light-shielding structure on the base substrate is located between the first sub-pixel and the third sub-pixel.
Regarding Claim 25, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, wherein a maximum distance between the first edge and the second edge is smaller than a maximum distance between the third edge and the fourth edge.
Regarding Claim 26, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, a shape of the first sub-pixel comprises a first ellipse, two intersections of the first edge and the second edge are located on a long axis of the first ellipse.
Regarding Claim 29, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, a shape of the first sub-pixel comprises a first circle, two intersections of the first edge and the second edge are located on a virtual straight line perpendicular to the first direction and through a center of the first circle.
Regarding Claim 35, in Sun and Wang et al. combination, a light-sensitive device, wherein an orthographic projection of the light-sensitive device on the base substrate is located in the first display area.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FAZLI ERDEM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812 9/11/2026