DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment to claim 27 overcomes the objection to claim 27. Accordingly, the objection to claim 27 is withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 12 – 27 have been considered, but they are not persuasive. Further, there are no arguments provided against the rejection(s) of independent claim 28. Please see the ground(s) of rejection below. Thus, Applicant’s traversal of the instant rejection on these grounds is deemed unsuccessful.
Claim Objections
Claims 20 and 27 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 20, on lines 2 – 3, there should be a comma (“,”) after the phrase “and/or second course (VE2);”
Regarding claim 27, on line 6, the phrase “a stacking direction” should be “the stacking direction,” as this phrase is previously recited in independent claim 1;
Regarding clam 27, on line 10, the phrase “a material weakening” should be “the material weakening,” as this phrase is previously recited in independent claim 1.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 14, 25, 26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, on lines 19 – 20, the terms “first course” and “second course” are unclear. It is unclear as to what is meant by “first course” and “second course.”
Regarding claim 14, on lines 2 – 3 and 5 - 6, again the terms “first course” and “second course” are unclear. It is unclear as to what is meant by “first course” and “second course.”
Regarding claim 25, on line 2, it is unclear as to whether “the ratio” is referring to the ratio as recited in claim 19 or the ratio as recited in claim 1.
Regarding claim 26, on line 2, it is unclear as to whether “the ratio” is referring to the ratio as recited in claim 19 or the ratio as recited in claim 1.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the connection region" on line 12; “and/or a connection region” is previously recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "both material recesses" on line 14; “a material recess” is previously recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the isolation sections" on line 14; “an isolation section” is previously recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "material recesses" on lines 14 - 15; “a material recess” is previously recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the connection region" on line 15; “and/or a connection region” is previously recited. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 12 – 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gil et al. (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2023/0028429).
Regarding claim 12, in Figure 3, Gil discloses a metal-ceramic substrate (1) [1] provided as a printed circuit board for attaching electrical components, comprising - a component metallization (10) [20] and a backside metallization (20) [30], and- a ceramic element (30) [10] arranged along a stacking direction (5) [S] between the component metallization (10) and the backside metallization (20), wherein the component metallization (10) comprises a first metal section (11) [first area 20] and a second metal section (12) [a second area 20], wherein the first metal section (11) and the second metal section (12) are separated from each other by an isolation section (15) [21], and wherein the backside metallization (20) has a material weakening (25) [one second primary structuring 31], which, viewed in the stacking direction (S), is arranged at least partially congruently with the isolation section (15) [Figure 3], characterized in that a plurality of separated material weakenings (25) is formed [Figure 3], wherein two adjacent material weakenings (25) are arranged at a first distance from one another [Figure 3], which is less than 600 µm and a first total area in the component metallization occupied by the isolation sections is greater than a second total area in the backside metallization occupied by the material weakening [the total area of the two first primary structurings 21 is greater than the area occupied by one second primary structuring 31], wherein a ratio of the second total area to the first total area has a value which is between 0.6 and 0.9 [Figure 3], characterized in that a spatial overlap of more than 75% occurs between the isolation section (15) and the material weakening (25) when viewed in the stacking direction (S) [there appears to be close to a 100% overlap, Figure 3], and wherein the isolation section (15) has a first course and a second course in a direction extending parallel to the main extension plane (HSE) [Figure 3; also see 112 rejection above], the first course and the second course being arranged at an angle to one another.
Regarding claim 13, Gil discloses wherein the material weakening (25) is formed as a dome-shaped recess [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 14, Gil discloses wherein the isolation section (15) in the component metallization (10) follows a first course (V(El) in a plane extending parallel to the main extension plane (USE) and the material weakening (25) or several material weakenings (25) in the backside metallization (20) follow a second course (VE2) in a plane extending parallel to the main extension plane (USE) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 15, Gil discloses wherein the second course (VE2) of the material weakening (25) or the material weakenings (25) is formed by a series of material weakenings (25), and/or has a stabilization region along the second course (VE2) between two material weakenings (25) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 16, Gil discloses wherein a further material weakening (26) is provided, which is embedded in the backside metallization (20) in a peripheral region of the backside metallization (20) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 17, Gil discloses wherein the material weakening (25) formed as a recess in the backside metallization (20) extends to the ceramic element (30) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 18, Gil discloses wherein a residual metallization (40) is formed between the further material weakening (26) formed as a recess and the ceramic element (30) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 19, Gil discloses wherein a ratio of sections wherein the first course (VEl) and the second course (VE2) do not run congruently with one another when viewed in the stacking direction (S), to sections wherein the first course (VEl) and the second course (VE2) run congruently with one another when viewed in the stacking direction (S), has a value which is less than 1 [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 20, Gil discloses wherein per unit of length (LE) along the first course (VEl) and/or second course (VE2) the isolation section (15) has a first volume (V1) and the material weakening (25) or the material weakenings in the backside metallization (20) have a second volume (V2), wherein the first volume (V1) and the second volume (V2) are substantially equal with respect to their absolute size and are different with respect to their geometric shapes [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 21, Gil discloses wherein the material weakening (25) comprises a material recess [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 22, Gil discloses wherein the second course (VE2) is arranged congruently with the first course (VEl) in the stacking direction (S) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 23, Gil discloses wherein the series of material weakenings (25) is in the form of a row of holes [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 24, Gil discloses wherein the further material weakening (26) is embedded in the component metallization (10) independently of an isolation section (15) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 25, Gil discloses wherein the ratio has a value which is less than 0.5 [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 26, Gil discloses wherein the ratio has a value which is less than 0.2 [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 27, Gil discloses a method of manufacturing a metal-ceramic substrate (1) according to claim 12, ponent metallization (10) and a backside metallization (30) and a ceramic element (20), - bonding the component metallization (10) and the backside metallization (30) to the ceramic element (20), wherein the ceramic element (20) is arranged along a stacking direction (S) between the component metallization (10) and the backside metallization (20), - structuring the component metallization (10) by realizing isolation sections (15) and - realizing a material weakening (25) in the backside metallization (20), wherein the material weakening (25) is arranged congruently with the isolation section (15) and/or a connection region of the first metal section as viewed in the stacking direction (S) [Figure 3].
Regarding claim 28, in Figure 3, Gil discloses a metal-ceramic substrate (1) [1] provided as a printed circuit board for attaching electrical components, comprising - a component metallization (10) [20] and a backside metallization (20) [30], and- a ceramic element (30) [10] arranged along a stacking direction (S) [S] between the component metallization (10) and the backside metallization (20), wherein the component metallization (10) has a first metal section (11) [first area 20] and a second metal section (12) [second area 20], wherein the first metal section (11) and the second metal section (12) are separated from each other by an isolation section (15) [21] and/or a connection region for an electrical component is provided on the first metal section, and wherein the backside metallization (20) has a material weakening (25) [31] in the form of a material recess which, viewed in the stacking direction (S), is arranged at least partially congruent with the connection region, characterized in that a plurality of separated material weakenings (25) is formed [Figure 3], wherein the backside metallization has both material recesses which are congruent with the isolation sections and material recesses which are congruent with the connection region [claim recites an isolation section and/or a connection region – “or’ clause is met, isolation section; Figure 3].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TREMESHA W. BURNS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847
/TREMESHA W BURNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847