DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 12, 13, 14, 15, and 16 objected to because of the following informalities: in each of the listed claims remove the parentheses from “(mass%)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 13 and 14 recite the limitation of “further containing, by mass%, at least one of Zr, Fe, Ge, Ga, P, As, Pb, Zn, Mg, Cr, Ti, Mn, Mo, Pt, Pd, Au, Al, and Si: 0.1% or less in total” however, both claims 13 and 14 depend from independent claim 1. It is unclear whether claim 1 is “open” or “closed” with the use of the transitional phrase “consisting of” but then further requiring at least one of the elements within the list. Additionally, it is unclear whether any of the elements is actually required as the lower limit can be zero percent. For the sake of compact prosecution, the Examiner is interpreting claim 1 as closed but allows for impurity levels of the elements listed in claims 13 and 14. Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 5-6 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teng et al. (CN 108994480A, hereinafter “Teng”).
Applicant provided the foreign document with the IDS filed 4/9/2024 and the Examiner is providing a machine translation. All citations refer to the translation except for the tables in the original document.
Regarding claim 5, Teng teaches a lead-free solder alloy comprising the following powder composition (Teng, [0008-0019] and Table 1):
Element
Present Invention, mass%
Teng, wt.%
Teng Example 4
Ag
1.0-3.8
0.1-5.0
1.0
Cu
0.4-0.8
0.4-4
0.7
Sb
0.03-2.90
0.1-10
2.0
In
1.1-4.2
0.5-10
1.5
Ni
0.01-0.14
0.01-0.5
0.01
Bi
0.1-5.0
0.5-10
0.5
Optional Co
0-0.1
0
0
Optional at least one of: Zr, Fe, Ge, Ga, P, As, Pb, Zn, Mg, Cr, Ti, Mn, Mo, Pt, Pd, Au, Al, and Si
0-0.1 in total
P: 0-200ppm, 0-0.02 wt.%
Ga: 0-200ppm, 0-0.02 wt.%
Ge: 0-200ppm, 0-0.02 wt.%
P: 150 ppm, 0.015%
Ga: 0
Ge: 60ppm, 0.006%
Total: 0.021
Balance
Sn
Sn and impurities
Sn
The composition of the solder alloy example 4 of Teng falls within the ranges of claim 5 and therefore anticipates the claim.
Regarding claim 6, Teng teaches the alloy of Example 4 has a Relation (3) value of approximately 0.143, i.e., 0.5/(1.5+2.0) = 0.143, which falls within the requirements of claim 6.
Regarding claims 21, 22, 23, and 24, Teng teaches the lead-free solder is any one of a powder, paste, solder ball, coreless or cored solder wire, rod, strip, ingot, and foil (Teng, [0029]). The above uses of the solder of Teng corresponds to a solder ball, solder preform, solder paste, and solder joint comprising the alloy of claims 21-24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 1-3 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by, or in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (CN 108994480A, hereinafter “Teng”).
Regarding claim 1, Teng teaches a lead-free solder alloy comprising the following powder composition (Teng, [0008-0019] and Table 1):
Element
Present Invention, mass%
Teng, wt.%
Teng Example 4
Ag
1.0-3.8
0.1-5.0
1.0
Cu
0.4-0.8
0.4-4
0.7
Sb
0.03-2.90
0.1-10
2.0
In
1.1-4.2
0.5-10
1.5
Ni
0.01-0.14
0.01-0.5
0.01
Bi
0.1-5.0
0.5-10
0.5
Optional Co
0-0.1
0
0
Optional at least one of: Zr, Fe, Ge, Ga, P, As, Pb, Zn, Mg, Cr, Ti, Mn, Mo, Pt, Pd, Au, Al, and Si
0-0.1 in total
P: 0-200ppm, 0-0.02 wt.%
Ga: 0-200ppm, 0-0.02 wt.%
Ge: 0-200ppm, 0-0.02 wt.%
P: 150 ppm, 0.015%
Ga: 0
Ge: 60ppm, 0.006%
Total: 0.021
Balance
Sn
Sn and impurities
Sn
The composition of the solder alloy example 4 of Teng falls within the ranges of claim 1. While claim 1 recites the transitional phrase “consisting of” and Teng also includes small amounts of P and Ge, as noted above, claim 1 is being interpreted as open to the inclusion of impurity levels of the elements listed in the table above.
Alternatively, the broader ranges of Teng overlap with the ranges of claim 1 of the present invention, including the possibility of the elements P, Ge, and Ga to be zero percent, which falls within the requirement that the solder alloy consists of only the elements in claim 1. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fe. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, Teng teaches the alloy of Example 4 has a Relation (3) value of approximately 0.143, i.e., 0.5/(1.5+2.0) = 0.143, which falls within the requirements of claim 2.
Regarding claims 3 and 12, Teng teaches the alloy of Example 4 has a Relation (1) values of approximately 134.67, i.e., 94.269/0.7=134.67, which falls within the requirements of claims 3 and 12.
Regarding claims 8, 9, 10, and 11 , Teng teaches the lead-free solder is any one of a powder, paste, solder ball, coreless or cored solder wire, rod, strip, ingot, and foil (Teng, [0029]). The above uses of the solder of Teng corresponds to a solder ball, solder preform, solder paste, and solder joint comprising the alloy of claims 8-11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-11, and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi et al. (US 2015/0305167 A1, hereinafter “Nakanishi”).
Regarding claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 13, 14, 15, and 16, Nakanishi teaches a solder alloy comprising the following composition (Nakanishi, [0027-0060] and Table 2):
Element
Present Invention, mass%
Nakanishi, mass%
Overlap
Nakanishi Example 34
Ag
1.0-3.8
2-4
Preferred: 2.5-3.8
Preferred within
3.0
Cu
0.4-0.8
0.1-0.7
Preferred: 0.4-0.6
Preferred within
0.5
Sb
0.03-2.90
0.1-5.0
Preferred: 0.4-4.0
Preferred: 0.4-2.90
1.5
In
1.1-4.2
2.2-6.2
Preferred: 3.8-4.5
Preferred: 3.8-4.2
4.3
Ni
0.01-0.14
0.01-0.15
Preferred: 0.04-0.06
Preferred within
0.05
Bi
0.1-5.0
0.5-4.8
Preferred: 2.2-3.0
Preferred within
2.7
Optional Co
0-0.1
0.001-0.008
Preferred: 0.004-0.006
Preferred within
0.005
Optional at least one of: Zr, Fe, Ge, Ga, P, As, Pb, Zn, Mg, Cr, Ti, Mn, Mo, Pt, Pd, Au, Al, and Si
0-0.1 in total
Optional Ge: 0.001-1.0
Preferred: 0.002-0.007
Preferred within
0
Balance
Sn
Sn
Sn
The preferred ranges of Nakanishi either fall within or significantly overlap with the ranges of claims 1, 4, and 5. As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art,” a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fe. Cir. 1990).
Moreover, as Ge can be an optional inclusion, the solder alloy of Nakanishi satisfies the requirement of “consisting of” as a transitional phrase of claim 1. Nakanishi also does not teach the inclusion of any additional elements which satisfies the requirements of claims 4 and 5.
Regarding the Relation (2) expression of claims 4, 7, 13, 14, 15, and 16, the preferred ranges of Ag and Ni are 2.5-3.8 mass% and 0.04-0.06 mass% respectively, which calculates to a range of 0.1-0.228, i.e., 2.5×0.04=0.1 and 3.8×0.06=0.228, which encompasses the range of claims 4, 7, 13, 14, 15, and 16. Moreover, as noted in the above table, Example 34 includes 3.0 mass% Ag and 0.05 mass% Ni, which calculates to 0.15 which falls within the claimed range.
Regarding claims 8-11 and 17-24, Nakanishi teaches the solder alloy is preferably contained in a solder paste bonding material (Nakanishi, [0071]). The above uses of the solder of Nakanishi corresponds to a solder ball, solder preform, solder paste, and solder joint comprising the alloy of claims 8-11.
Claims 8-11 and 17-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakanishi as applied to claims 1, 4, and 5 above, and further as evidenced by Liu et al. (US 2016/0328384 A1, hereinafter “Liu”).
Regarding claims 8-11 and 17-24, while Nakanishi teaches the solder alloy can be used in a solder paste bonding material (Nakanishi, [0071]), Nakanishi does not explicitly disclose the solder alloy is a ball, preform, or joint. However, it is generally known in the art that solder alloys can be used for producing solder joints, solder preforms, solder balls, solder powders, and solder pastes as evidenced by Liu (Liu, [0028]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the solder alloy of Nakanishi as a paste, ball, preform, or joint as presently claimed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2012/0175020 A1 teaches a low silver solder alloy containing, in mass% 0.05-2.0% Ag, 1.0% or less copper, 3.0% or less antimony, 2.0% or less bismuth, 4.0% or less indium, 0.2% or less nickel, 0.1% or less germanium, 0.5% or less cobalt, with a remainder tin (Abstract).
/DANIELLE M. CARDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738