Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Applicant argued that Moon fails to disclose two conductive layers, a person skilled in the art would not conceive of using vias to achieve electrical connection between two conductive layers in Moon. Therefore, there is no incentive to combine Moon and Chen.
In response, the Examiner takes position that Moon suggests a multilayers substrate having two different transistors (170 and 120; Fig. 8) from two different layer electrically connected to each other by a conductor similar to a via hole. Chen proves that it is known in the art that two different conductive layers are connected to each other by a via hole.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moon (US 20210296421), in view of Chen (US 20180263109).
Regarding claim 1, Moon discloses a flexible printed circuit board, comprising:
a first region (middle region of the substrate 300, Fig. 4) extending along a first direction (Y direction),
wherein the first region comprises a binding area (area TSA) and a track area (area having GL2, GRL2, GL3) arranged adjacent to each other along the first direction,
at least one side of the binding area is provided with a conductive functional area (the side area having line GL1 extend to the track area) along a second direction (X direction), the conductive functional area is electrically connected to a grounding wire (ground line GRL1) in the track area for grounding, and the second direction is arranged at an angle to the first direction (X direction is perpendicular to the Y direction); and
the flexible printed circuit board comprises a substrate layer (substrate 300).
Moon does not explicitly disclose the conductive functional area comprises two conductive layers located on at least one side of the substrate layer, and the two conductive layers are electrically connected with each other through a via hole.
Moon suggests two transistors (170 and 120; Fig. 8) from two different layer and connected to each other by a conductor similar to a via hole.
Chen teaches multiple conductive layers connected to each other through via holes (paragraph 18).
It would have been obvious to one having skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to include multiple conductive layers interconnected via holes in order to fit all the intended circuitry into the limited space of the circuit substrate.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 2, the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, fails to teach or fairly suggest, in combining with other limitations recited in claim 1, a combination of limitations that the binding area comprises a signal connection pin and a grounding pin located on at least one side of the signal connection pin in the first direction, the track area comprises a signal track connected to the signal connection pin and the grounding wire located on at least one side of the signal track in the first direction, and the grounding wire and the corresponding conductive functional area are located on a same side of the first region. None of the reference art of record discloses or renders obvious such a combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (US 20220240386) discloses a flexible wiring substrate, Fig. 4.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BINH B TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847