DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4, 11-12, 30-31, 33-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
- Regarding to claim 1, the term “at least one of the one or more MDT measurement indications is an implicit indication” is not clear what “implicit indication” about. Same rejection for claims 11, 30, 33.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-14, 17, 23, 29-34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Gao et al. (Pub. No. 20130012188).
- With respect to claims 1, 9, 17, 23, Gao teaches a method performed by a User Equipment (UE) for performing measurement logging related to logged Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT) measurements in a wireless communications network (see par. 1 and Fig. 4), the method comprising: receiving an MDT measurement configuration from a network node (see Fig. 4-6 step 400, 500 and 600), which MDT measurement configuration relates to logging MDT measurements in one or more inter-frequency carriers and one or more cells, when operating in an idle mode of operation and in a camped normally state (see par. 117-119 discloses “after receiving the MDT measurement control command, the UE measures the signals of the surrounding cells, such as measuring one or multiple kinds of intra-frequency cells, inter-frequency cells and inter-system cells (according to the ability of the UE); when the signals of one or multiple cells are higher than the threshold in the MDT measurement control command, such as recording that the signals of intra-frequency cell B, and/or inter-frequency cell C, and/or inter-system cell D are higher than the threshold, the UE performs reporting after making MDT measurement record for a period of time”); monitoring the configured one or more inter-frequency carriers and one or more cells, based on the monitoring (e.g. claim 4 discloses the UE performs measurements on surrounding cells (corresponding to one more other cells) and can trigger a newly added measurement event if the signals of surrounding cells are higher than a threshold and perform reporting), logging one or more of: one or more MDT measurements relating to the received MDT measurement configuration, and one or more MDT measurement indications related to one or more other cells that are stronger than the one or more cells in the received MDT measurement configuration (see par. 128-129); and sending a measurement report to the network node, the measurement report comprising one or more of: the one or more logged MDT measurements (e.g. step 201 in fig. 2 and step 602 in Fig. 6), and the one or more logged MDT measurement indications, which measurement report enables the network node to any one or more out of: generating a coverage map, and generating an optimized configuration related to logged MDT measurements (e.g. par. 3 discloses a test result of UE to be used for optimizing the network automatically and understanding an operating condition of the network).
- With respect to claims 2, 10, 29, 32, Gao teaches wherein the MDT measurement configuration configures the UE to log the one or more MDT measurement indications when the one or more cells in the received MDT measurement configuration is not a strongest cell in a corresponding frequency (e.g. ).
- With respect to claims 3, 11, 30, 33, Gao teaches at least one of the one or more MDT measurement indications is an implicit indication (e.g. the MDT measurement 401, 501 and 601 in fig. 4-6).
- With respect to claims 4, 12, 31 and 34, Gao teaches wherein the implicit indication implicitly indicates that at least one of the one or more other cells are stronger than at least one of the one or more cells in the received MDT measurement configuration by omitting the at least one of the one or more cells from the measurement report (e.g. the measurement of cells with threshold and cells higher than threshold consider as stronger than one or more cells).
- With respect to claims 5 and 13, Gao teaches wherein at least one of the MDT measurement indications: comprises any one or more out of: a flag indicating a presence of the one or more other cells, a Physical Cell Identity (PCI) of a strongest cell in a frequency (see par. 96), and a number of the one or more other cells that are stronger than a strongest cell of the one or more cell cells (par. 89 discloses cell higher than threshold).
- With respect to claims 6 and 14, Gao teaches wherein the measurement report comprises any one of: an indication for each of the one or more inter-frequency carriers (e.g. par. 89 discloses UE measure one or more kinds of intra-frequency cells, inter-frequency cells), or an indication of for all of the one or more inter-frequency carriers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
. Examiner's Note: Examiner has cited particular paragraphs or columns and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/PHUC H TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471