DETAILED ACTION
In response to communication filed on 7/24/2026.
Claims 1-4,6-9,14-17,21,23-26, and 37-39 are pending.
Claims 1-4,6-9,14-17,21,23-26, and 37-39 are rejected.
Response to Amendments
This communication is in response to Applicant’s reply filed under 3 CFR 1.111 on 7/24/2026. Claims 1-4,6-9,14-17,21,23-26, and 37-39 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6-8,14-17,25,26,37 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsai et al. (US Pub. 2021/0051698)(T1 hereafter) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. 2024/0349299)(L1 hereafter).
Regarding claims 1 and 37, T1 teaches a wireless device (WD)(i.e. user equipment)[refer Fig. 5; 500][paragraph 0134] configured to communicate with a network node (i.e.)[refer Fig. 1; 12], the WD comprising one or both of a radio interface (i.e. transceiver)[refer Fig. 5; 520][paragraph 0134] and/or and processing circuitry (i.e. processor)[refer Fig. 5; 526] configured to:
receive a PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration (i.e. configurations for grouping serving cells)[paragraph 0064] for a first configured cell and at least a second configured cell (grouping serving cells include primary cell and secondary cells)[paragraph 0070], receive, in the first configured cell, an indication to transit from a first PDCCH monitoring state to a second PDCCH monitoring state in at least the second configured cell (i.e. PDCCH monitoring behavior can be stopped or turned on for a cell group not including a first cell based an indication that is configured/indicated/transmitted on the first cell)[paragraph 0084]; and
responsive to the indication [paragraph 0084], transit (i.e. applying the dormant behavior e.g. stop monitoring the PDCCH)) from the first PDCCH monitoring state to the second PDCCH monitoring state in at least the second configured cell [paragraph 0087].
However, T1 fails to disclose transmit an intercell physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, monitoring adaptation indication capability information from the WD.
L1 discloses that a UE can transmit capability information and/or UE assistance information to a base station [paragraph 0182], so as to support information for configuring PDCCH monitoring adaptation transmitted by the base station [paragraph 0183].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 for providing adaptive PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate the transmission of UE capability information that would be related to PDCCH monitoring adaptation as taught by L1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of determining a timing point of performing PDCCH monitoring adaptation [refer L1; paragraph 0184].
Regarding claims 2 and 38, T1 teaches the first configured cell is a Primary Cell, PCell [paragraph 0056].
Regarding claim 3, T1 teaches the second configured cell is a Secondary cell [paragraph 0059].
Regarding claim 4, T1 teaches the PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration for the second configured cell is the same as the PDCCH monitoring adaption behavior configuration for the first configured cell (PDCCH monitoring can be activated or deactivated based upon a bitmap for a specific cell group)[paragraph 0083].
Regarding claim 6, T1 teaches the PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration for the second configured cell is different from the PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration for the first configured cell (if the UE receives the second indication on a first cell, the UE may turn ON/OFF the dormant behavior (e.g., stop PDCCH monitoring) of a cell group included the first cell. The UE may not turn ON/OFF the PDCCH monitoring of a cell group not included the first cell (i.e. different))[paragraph 0084].
Regarding claim 7, T1 teaches the PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration for the first configured cell comprises one or more PDCCH monitoring configuration parameters [paragraph 0078]; and
the PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration for the second configured cell comprises the same one or more PDCCH monitoring configuration parameters but set to different values from the one or more PDCCH monitoring configuration parameters for the first configured cell [paragraph 0078].
Regarding claim 8, T1 teaches the PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration for the second configured cell comprises different and/or a different number of PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration parameters than the PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration for the first configured cell (the second indication comprises of information such as subheader/LCID/payload/format to determine whether to apply a dormant behavior on a specific cell [paragraph 0079], if the UE receives the second indication on a first cell, the UE my turn ON/OFF the dormant behavior (e.g., stop PDCCH monitoring) of a cell group included the first cell. The UE may not turn ON/OFF the PDCCH monitoring of a cell group not included the first cell (i.e. different)[paragraph 0084]).
Regarding claim 14, T1 fails to disclose the PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration for the first and/or second configured cell includes at least one of search space set SSSG switching and PDCCH skipping parameters.
L1, in the same field of endeavor, disclose that for search space set group switching, a UE can be configured with a plurality of SS set groups and the UE may monitor an SS set included in the group according to a corresponding indication and skip monitoring of SS sets not included [paragraph 0113].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 for providing adaptive PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate the monitoring and skipping of SS sets according to grouping as taught by L1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known standard within the field of endeavor that would yield predictable results [refer L1; paragraph 0113].
Regarding claim 15, T1 teaches the PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration is received in Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling (indications can be RRC signaling)[paragraph 0063].
Regarding claim 16, T1 teaches the indication is received in a DCI field in a downlink control information, DCI (indication can be provided by PHY signaling (e.g. DCI))[paragraph 0063], received on the first configured cell (i.e. serving cell)[paragraph 0063].
Regarding claim 17, T1 teaches the PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration comprises a parameter (i.e. information included within the DCI) indicating whether a DCI on the first configured cell can indicate a PDCCH monitoring adaptation for at least the second configured cell [paragraph 0082].
Regarding claim 25, T1 teaches the WD is configured with a specific Radio Network Temporary Indicator, RNTI, indicating that the DCI field contains the indication (the DCI may indicate information based on specific RNTI)[paragraph 0082].
Regarding claims 26 and 39, T1 teaches a network node (i.e. base station)[refer Fig. 5; 500][paragraph 0134] configured to communicate with a wireless device (WD)(i.e. UE)[paragraph 0048], the network node comprising a radio interface [refer Fig. 5; 520] and/or processing circuitry (i.e. processor)[refer Fig. 5; 526] configured to:
transmit a PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration (i.e. configurations for grouping serving cells)[paragraph 0064] for a first configured cell and at least a second configured cell to the WD (grouping serving cells include primary cell and secondary cells)[paragraph 0070]; and
transmit, in the first configured cell, an indication to the WD to transit from a first PDCCH monitoring state to a second PDCCH monitoring state in at least the second configured cell (i.e. PDCCH monitoring behavior can be stopped or turned on for a cell group not including a first cell based an indication that is configured/indicated/transmitted on the first cell)[paragraph 0084].
However, T1 fails to disclose receive an intercell physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, monitoring adaptation indication capability information from the WD.
L1 discloses that a UE can transmit capability information and/or UE assistance information to a base station [paragraph 0182], so as to support information for configuring PDCCH monitoring adaptation transmitted by the base station [paragraph 0183].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 for providing adaptive PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate the transmission of UE capability information that would be related to PDCCH monitoring adaptation as taught by L1. One would be motivated to do so to provide a means of determining a timing point of performing PDCCH monitoring adaptation [refer L1; paragraph 0184].
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over T1 in view of L1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of MolavianJazi et al. (US Pub. 20240422772)(M1 hereafter).
Regarding claim 9, T1 fails to disclose the PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration for the second configured cell comprises fewer PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration parameters than the PDCCH monitoring adaption configuration for the first configured cell.
M1 discloses that a UE is configured with multiple scheduling cells and can monitor sets of DCI formats, the DCI format sizes can be of a differing size compared to others as part of monitoring in a cell [paragraph 0390].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 in which DCI is used to indicate information based on specific RNTI [refer T1; paragraph 0082] for PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate the use of DCI format sizes of differing sizes compared to others as part of monitoring in a cell as taught by M1. One would be motivated to do so to provide the use of a known technique within the field of endeavor to yield predictable results.
Claims 21,23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over T1 in view of L1, as applied to claim 1, in further view of Luo et al. (US Pub. 2023/0292337)(L2 hereafter).
Regarding claim 21, T1 fails to disclose the DCI on the first configured cell further comprises a self-indication indicating the WD to adapt the WD behavior with respect to PDCCH monitoring on the first cell; and
the DCI on the first configured cell comprises a first field for the self-indication;
the DCI field comprising the indication is distinct from the first field.
L2, in the field of adaptive monitoring behavior for PDCCH [paragraph 0046], discloses that an indication of a dormancy of a PCell and dormancy of a SCell or SCell group can be in a form of a bitmap, in which the indication of the PCell can be 1 bit and dormancy of the SCell is K bits [paragraph 0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 for providing adaptive PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate as taught by L2. One would be motivated to do so to provide better adaptive ability for the monitoring behavior of PDCCH [refer L2; paragraph 0046].
Regarding claim 23, T1 fails to disclose the number of bits representing the indication is fewer than the number of bits representing the self-indication.
L2, in the field of adaptive monitoring behavior for PDCCH [paragraph 0046], discloses that an indication of a dormancy of a PCell and dormancy of a SCell or SCell group can be in a form of a bitmap, in which the indication of the PCell can be 1 bit and dormancy of the SCell is K bits (i.e. the number of bits for the indication is fewer than the bits representing self-indication)[paragraph 0055].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 for providing adaptive PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate as taught by L2. One would be motivated to do so to provide better adaptive ability for the monitoring behavior of PDCCH [refer L2; paragraph 0046].
Regarding claim 24, T1 fails to disclose the DCI field comprising the indication can alternatively be used for a SCell dormancy indication.
L2, in the field of adaptive monitoring behavior for PDCCH [paragraph 0046], discloses when a terminal receives a DCI, the terminal can obtain SCell dormancy indication information field [paragraph 0061].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of T1 for providing adaptive PDCCH monitoring [refer T1; Abstract] to incorporate as taught by L2. One would be motivated to do so to provide better adaptive ability for the monitoring behavior of PDCCH [refer L2; paragraph 0046].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 1,26,37 and 39, and their dependents by virtue of dependency, applicant argues that the applied reference, Lee et al. (US Pub. 2024/0349299)(L1 hereafter), does not teach the claim limitation, namely, “an intercell physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, monitoring adaptation indication capability information”.
In response to the above-mentioned argument, examiner respectively disagrees.
Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Given the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim language, intercell PDCCH monitoring adaptation configuration can be seen with regards to PDCCH monitoring adaptation that involves more than one cell.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
The examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Tsai et al. (US Pub. 2021/0051698)(T1 hereafter) disclosed receiving configurations for grouping serving cells [paragraph 0064] in which PDCCH monitoring behavior can be stopped or turned on for a cell group not including a first cell based an indication that is configured/indicated/transmitted on the first cell [paragraph 0084]. Which can be seen with regards to a broad interpretation of a type of intercell PDCCH monitoring. However, as noted in the prior Office action, T1 failed to disclose the transmitting of an intercell physical downlink control channel, PDCCH, monitoring adaptation indication capability information from the WD.
L1 was noted for disclosing that a UE can transmit capability information and/or UE assistance information to a base station [paragraph 0182], so as to support information for configuring PDCCH monitoring adaptation transmitted by the base station [paragraph 0183]. It is noted that L1 does provide support for “intercell PDCCH monitoring adaptation,” given its broadest reasonable interpretation, since L1 notes that to receive the PDCCH, the UE may monitor (e.g., blind-decode) a set of PDCCH candidates in a CORESET, PDCCH candidates are CCE(s) that the UE monitors for PDCCH reception/detection, the PDCCH monitoring noted as being performed in one or more CORESETs in an active DL BWP on each active cell configured with PDCCH monitoring, the set of PDCCH candidates monitored by the UE is defined as a PDCCH search space (SS) set [refer L1; paragraph 0145]. L1 further notes that PDCCH monitoring adaptation may refer to an operation for reducing the number of PDCCH monitoring [refer L1; paragraph 0160], the UE may monitor PDCCH candidates included in the search space (SS) sets [refer L1; paragraph 0161].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Ryan Kavleski
/R.C.K./
Examiner, Art Unit 2412
/CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412