DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/15/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 14, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0015197 (Mi) in view of US 2022/0097866 (Whitehouse).
Regarding claim 1, Mi teaches a monitoring signal transmitter apparatus (wireless power transmitter system 10 of Fig. 1), the monitoring signal transmitter apparatus comprising a monitoring signal transmitter circuit (send unit 12; see Fig. 1), wherein the monitoring signal transmitter circuit comprises:
a first electrical path between a voltage input and a first node, the first electrical path comprising an inductor (a send side compensation circuit 23 comprises a first path comprising a first path having an inductor Lf1 coupled at an input node A and a first node between Lf1 and C1; see Figs. 1, 2);
a second electrical path between the first node and a second node, the second electrical path comprising a monitoring signal transmitter coil and a first capacitor, wherein the monitoring signal transmitter coil is electrically connected in series with the first capacitor (a second path comprises capacitor C1 and transmitter inductor L1 as claimed; see Figs. 1, 2; see [0081]);
a third electrical path between the first node and the second node, the third electrical path comprising a second capacitor, such that the second capacitor is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal transmitter coil and the first capacitor (a third electrical path comprising a capacitor Cf1 is configured as claimed; see Fig. 1); and
a fourth electrical path between the second node and the voltage input (a fourth path is formed between the node connected to Cf1 and L1 and input node B; see Figs. 1, 2).
Mi fails to explicitly teach a monitoring signal transmitter apparatus configured to be used in an aircraft moveable element monitoring system.
Whitehouse teaches a monitoring signal transmitter apparatus configured to be used in an aircraft moveable element monitoring system (an inductive transmitter system 115 is configured to be installed on a respective moveable element of an aircraft; see Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of an inductive power transferring circuit arranged to determine a condition of the one or more moveable elements by comparing the detected electrical signal to a predetermined signal characteristic.
Regarding claim 2, Mi teaches further comprising a monitoring signal generator, the monitoring signal generator comprising: a connection to a DC voltage supply (send unit 12 comprises a DC power source 21; see Fig. 1; see [0043]); an H-bridge configured to controllably connect the connection to the DC voltage supply to the voltage input (a H-bridge comprising transistors S1-S4 to couple DC power source 21 to an input at nodes A and B of the send side compensation circuit 23 and send coil 24; see Figs. 1; see [0043]); and an H-bridge driver circuit configured to control the H-bridge so as to provide a time varying voltage signal to the voltage input (controller 25 controls switches S1-4 to output an AC output signal at a desired frequency; see Fig. 1; see [0043]).
Mi fails to teach a connection to an aircraft DC voltage supply.
Whitehouse teaches a connection to an aircraft DC voltage supply (a DC source is provided for a transmitter coil 110, wherein the DC source would reasonably be understood to be a DC source of an aircraft since the control surface element monitor system 100, 200 is a monitoring system of an aircraft; see Fig. 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of powering the system using a power supply of an aircraft.
Regarding claim 3, Mi teaches wherein the H-bridge driver circuit is configured to control the H-bridge to selectively connect the connection to the aircraft DC voltage supply to the voltage input such that the varying voltage signal is a substantially square wave voltage signal (the H-bridge comprising switches S1-S4 is controlled by controller 23 to output a square wave voltage signal; see Figs. 1, 12A,B; see [0047], [0071]).
Regarding claim 4, Mi teaches wherein the angular frequency, of the substantially square wave voltage signal satisfies the conditions ω= and (see equation) ω = (see equation),where L1 is the inductance of the inductor, LP is the inductance of the monitoring signal transmitter coil, C1 is the capacitance of the second capacitor, and C2 is the capacitance of the first capacitor (Mi teaches the equivalent circuit as claimed and the claimed conditions would be implicit to the LCC circuit; see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Mi teaches a monitoring signal detector (a receive side converter 33; see Figs. 1, 2);
a monitoring signal receiver coil electrically connected to the monitoring signal detector (receive coil L2 is connected to the receive side converter 33; see Figs. 1, 2); and
Mi fails to teach one or more moveable element signal transmission units; wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit comprises a first signal transmission unit coil and a second signal transmission unit coil, the first signal transmission unit coil being electrically connected to the second signal transmission unit coil; and wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit is configured to be installed on a respective moveable element of an aircraft, such that the monitoring signal transmitter coil, the one or more moveable element signal transmission units and the monitoring signal receiver coil form an inductively coupled transmission line.
Whitehouse teaches one or more moveable element signal transmission units (moveable element signal transmission unit 115; see Figs. 1-5; see [0036]);
wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit comprises a first signal transmission unit coil and a second signal transmission unit coil, the first signal transmission unit coil being electrically connected to the second signal transmission unit coil (each moveable element signal transmission unit 115 comprises a first signal transmission coil 116a-c and a second signal transmission coil 18a-c; see Figs, 1-5; see [0036]); and
wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit is configured to be installed on a respective moveable element of an aircraft, such that the monitoring signal transmitter coil, the one or more moveable element signal transmission units and the monitoring signal receiver coil form an inductively coupled transmission line (see abstract, [0010]-[0011], [0017], [0037]-[0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of monitoring the movable elements, such as for skew.
Regarding claim 6, Mi fails to teach wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit further comprises a tuning capacitor.
Whitehouse teaches wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit further comprises a tuning capacitor (capacitors 202a-d are provided to set each control surface element signal transmission unit 115a-d resonant with neighboring units at the frequency selected for operation of the signal generator 108; see [0053]; see Fig. 2C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of tuning the transmission units to the frequency selected for operation to reduce/minimize the impedance such that the current flow within each unit is maximized for a given power input which increases the magnetic field strength around the coils thereby improving the ability to transmit a signal across an air gap between coils. Thus, the use of the capacitors 201, 202a, 202b, 202c, 202d advantageously reduces power consumption whilst improving signal transmission.
Regarding claim 9, Mi teaches further comprising a monitoring signal generator, the monitoring signal generator comprising: a connection to a DC voltage supply (send unit 12 comprises a DC power source 21; see Fig. 1; see [0043]); an H-bridge configured to controllably connect the connection to the DC voltage supply to the voltage input (a H-bridge comprising transistors S1-S4 to couple DC power source 21 to an input at nodes A and B of the send side compensation circuit 23 and send coil 24; see Figs. 1; see [0043]); and an H-bridge driver circuit configured to control the H-bridge so as to provide a time varying voltage signal to the voltage input (controller 25 controls switches S1-4 to output an AC output signal at a desired frequency; see Fig. 1; see [0043]).
Mi fails to teach a connection to an aircraft DC voltage supply, and an analogue phase comparator configured to measure a phase difference between a time varying voltage signal and a received signal received by the monitoring signal detector via the monitoring signal receiver coil; or a microprocessor configured to measure a phase difference between the time varying voltage signal and a received signal received by the monitoring signal detector via the monitoring signal receiver coil.
Whitehouse teaches a connection to an aircraft DC voltage supply (a DC source is provided for a transmitter coil 110, wherein the DC source would reasonably be understood to be a DC source of an aircraft since the control surface element monitor system 100, 200 is a monitoring system of an aircraft; see Fig. 4);
an analogue phase comparator configured to measure a phase difference between a time varying voltage signal and a received signal received by the monitoring signal detector via the monitoring signal receiver coil; or a microprocessor configured to measure a phase difference between the time varying voltage signal and a received signal received by the monitoring signal detector via the monitoring signal receiver coil (the phase of the signal at the signal detector 112 may be compared to an original phase of the signal as produced by the signal generator 108 using a local processor; see [0044]-[0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of an inductively coupled transmission line powered using a power supply of an aircraft, wherein the phase comparison indicates whether the signal as received at the detector is as expected for a normal configuration, or whether skew/loss of a control surface element has occurred.
Regarding claim 14, Mi fails to teach an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claim 5 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements.
Whitehouse teaches an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claim 5 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements (the moveable element signal transmission units 115a-c are mounted on respective moveable control surface elements 106a-c of an aircraft to form an inductively coupled transmission line; see Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of monitoring the movable elements of an aircraft, such as for skew, using an inductively coupled transmission line.
Regarding claim 16, Mi fails to teach an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claim 9 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements.
Whitehouse teaches an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claim 9 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements (the moveable element signal transmission units 115a-c are mounted on respective moveable control surface elements 106a-c of an aircraft to form an inductively coupled transmission line; see Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of monitoring the movable elements of an aircraft, such as for skew, using an inductively coupled transmission line.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2015/0015197 (Mi) in view of US 2022/0097866 (Whitehouse), and in further view of US 2023/0009325 (Lee).
Regarding claims 7-8, Mi teaches wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises a third capacitor, wherein the third capacitor is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil (capacitor Cf2 is parallel to L2; see Fig. 1).
Mi fails to teach wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises an envelope detector, wherein the envelope detector is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil; wherein the envelope detector further comprises a unity-gain buffer.
Lee teaches wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises an envelope detector, wherein the envelope detector is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil; wherein the envelope detector further comprises a unity-gain buffer (a signal processing circuit may comprise an envelope detector 510, low-pass filter 520, and unity gain buffer amplifier 540; see Fig. 3; see [0080]-).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features as taught in Lee into Mi in order to gain the advantage of signal processing circuitry to determine the amplitude of the received signal and impedance match the output signal with the input signal.
Regarding claim 15, Mi fails to teach an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claim 7 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements.
Whitehouse teaches an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claim 7 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements (the moveable element signal transmission units 115a-c are mounted on respective moveable control surface elements 106a-c of an aircraft to form an inductively coupled transmission line; see Figs. 1-5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features of Whitehouse into Mi in order to gain the advantage of monitoring the movable elements of an aircraft, such as for skew, using an inductively coupled transmission line.
Claim(s) 10-13 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2022/0097866 (Whitehouse) in view of US 2015/0015197 (Mi) and US 2023/0009325 (Lee).
Regarding claim 10, Whitehouse teaches an aircraft moveable element monitoring system (aircraft moveable element monitoring system of Figs. 1-5) comprising:
a monitoring signal generator (signal generator 108; see Figs. 2-5);
a monitoring signal transmitter coil electrically connected to the monitoring signal generator (signal transmitter coil 110; see Figs. 1-5);
a monitoring signal detector (signal detector 112; see Figs. 1-5);
a monitoring signal receiver coil electrically connected to the monitoring signal detector (signal receiver coil 114; see Figs. 1-5); and
one or more moveable element signal transmission units (moveable element signal transmission units 115; see Figs. 1-5);
wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit comprises a first signal transmission unit coil and a second signal transmission unit coil, the first signal transmission unit coil being electrically connected to the second signal transmission unit coil (each moveable element signal transmission unit 115a-d comprises a first signal transmission coil 116a-2 connected to a respective second signal transmission coil 118a-d; see Figs. 1-5); and
wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit is configured to be installed on a respective moveable element of an aircraft, such that the monitoring signal transmitter coil, the one or more moveable element signal transmission units and the monitoring signal receiver coil form an inductively coupled transmission line (the moveable element signal transmission units 115a-c are mounted on respective moveable control surface elements 106a-c of an aircraft to form an inductively coupled transmission line; see Figs. 1-5).
Whitehouse fails to teach wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises a third capacitor and an envelope detector, wherein the third capacitor and the envelope detector are each electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil.
Mi teaches wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises a third capacitor, wherein the third capacitor is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil (capacitor Cf2 is parallel to L2; see Fig. 1).
Lee teaches wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises an envelope detector, wherein the envelope detector is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil (a signal processing circuit may comprise an envelope detector 510, low-pass filter 520, and unity gain buffer amplifier 540; see Fig. 3; see [0080]-).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features as taught in Lee into Mi in order to gain the advantage of signal processing circuitry to determine the amplitude of the received signal.
Regarding claim 11, Whitehouse fails to teach wherein the envelope detector further comprises a unity-gain buffer.
Lee teaches wherein the monitoring signal detector comprises an envelope detector, wherein the envelope detector is electrically connected in parallel to the monitoring signal receiver coil; wherein the envelope detector further comprises a unity-gain buffer (a signal processing circuit may comprise an envelope detector 510, low-pass filter 520, and unity gain buffer amplifier 540; see Fig. 3; see [0080]-[0086]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the features as taught in Lee into Whitehouse in order to gain the advantage of signal processing circuitry to determine the amplitude of the received signal impedance match the output signal with the input signal.
Regarding claim 12, Whitehouse teaches wherein the monitoring signal detector further comprises: an analogue phase comparator configured to measure a phase difference between a time varying voltage signal and a received signal received by the monitoring signal detector via the monitoring signal receiver coil; or a microprocessor configured to measure a phase difference between the time varying voltage signal and a received signal received by the monitoring signal detector via the monitoring signal receiver coil (the phase of the signal at the signal detector 112 may be compared to an original phase of the signal as produced by the signal generator 108 using a local processor; see [0044]-[0045]).
Regarding claim 13, Whitehouse teaches wherein each moveable element signal transmission unit further comprises a tuning capacitor (each control surface element signal transmission units 115a-d comprises capacitors 202a-d to control the resonant frequency of each element; see Fig. 2B; see [0052]-[0054]).
Regarding claims 17-20, Whitehouse teaches an aircraft comprising the aircraft moveable element monitoring system of claims 10-13 and having one or more movable elements, wherein each of the one or more moveable element signal transmission units is installed on a respective one of the one or more movable elements (the moveable element signal transmission units 115a-c are mounted on respective moveable control surface elements 106a-c of an aircraft to form an inductively coupled transmission line; see Figs. 1-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/STEVEN L YENINAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858