DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a Non-Final Office Action in response to preliminary amendments received on 4/1/24.
Claims 1-14 have been cancelled.
Claims 15-34 have been added.
Therefore, Claims 15-34 are now pending and have been addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 15-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1: Identifying Statutory Categories
In the instant case, claims 15-22 are directed to a method and claims 23-27, 28-34 are directed to a system. Thus, the claims fall within one of the four statutory categories. Nevertheless, the claims fall within the judicial exception of an abstract idea.
Step 2A: Prong 1 Identifying a Judicial Exception
Under Step 2A, prong 1, Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention recites an abstract idea without significantly more. Independent claims 15, 23 and 28 recite methods that transmitting information, wherein the information comprises service information concerning an operator of the charging station; Claim 28 receive information
These limitations as drafted, are a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers methods of organizing human activity (including commercial interactions such as business relations, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions) including interaction between person and computer), but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting the structural elements (such as charging station for an electric vehicle, electric vehicle), the claims are directed to providing charging station information to user of electric vehicle. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation of organizing human activity but for the recitation of generic computer components, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 - This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim merely describes how to generally “apply” the concept of receiving data, analyzing it, and providing service information. In particular, the claims only recites the additional element – charging station for an electric vehicle, electric vehicle. The additional elements are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f).. In addition, limitations reciting data gathering such as “receiving information…(claim 28)“ is also insignificant pre-solution activity that merely gather data and, therefore, do not integrate the exception into a practical application for that additional reason. See In re Bilski, 545 F.3d 943, 963 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (en bane), aff’d on other grounds, 561 U.S. 593 (2010) (characterizing data gathering steps as insignificant extra-solution activity); see also CyberSource, 654 F.3d at 1371-72 (noting that even if some physical steps are required to obtain information from a database (e.g., entering a query via a keyboard, clicking a mouse), such data-gathering steps cannot alone confer patentability); GIP Techs., Inc. v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (presenting offers and gathering statistics amounted to mere data gathering). Accord Guidance, 84 Fed. Reg. at 55 (citing MPEP § 2106.05(g)). Also, the limitations reciting “transmitting information…(claim 15, 23)” are merely a post-solution step of transmitting data —a nominal addition to the claim that does not meaningfully limit the claim. Therefore, these steps are insignificant extra-solution activity. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claims are directed to an abstract idea. Simply implementing the abstract idea on generic components is not a practical application of the abstract idea. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claims are directed to an abstract idea. When considered in combination, the claims do not amount to improvements to the functioning of a computer, or to any other technology or technical field, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(a), applying the judicial exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(b), effecting a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(c), or applying or using the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception, as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(e). Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B: Considering Additional Elements
The claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the claims describe how to generally “apply” to; provide service information concerning an operator of the charging station. The claim(s) do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The independent claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Even when viewed as a whole, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. The claims are not patent eligible. The dependent claim(s) when analyzed as a whole are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea. The dependent claims are not significantly more because they are part of the identified judicial exception. See MPEP 2106.05(g). The claims are not patent eligible. With respect to the charging station for an electric vehicle, electric vehicle, these limitations are described in Applicant’s own specification as generic and conventional elements. See Applicants specification, Paragraph [0011] details “ the electric vehicle can be a plug-in hybrid vehicle or a
fully electrically driven vehicle. By way of example, the electric vehicle can be an automobile, a bus, a truck or a motorcycle, etc. Fig 1 # 2 charging station.” These are basic computer elements applied merely to carry out data processing such as, discussed above, receiving, analyzing, transmitting and displaying data. As discussed in Step 2A, Prong Two above, the recitations of “receiving steps” and “transmitting steps” amount to receiving or transmitting data over a network and are well understood, routine, conventional activity. See MPEP 2106.05(d), subsection II. Furthermore, the use of such generic computers to receive or transmit data over a network has been identified as a well understood, routine and conventional activity by the courts. See Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information); TLI Communications LLC v. AVAuto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610, 118 USPQ2d 1744, 1745 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (using a telephone for image transmission); Presenting offers and gathering statistics, OIP Techs., 788 F.3d at 1362-63, 115 USPQ2d at 1092-93, OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (sending messages over a network); buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355, 112 USPQ2d 1093, 1096 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (computer receives and sends information over a network); but see DDR Holdings, LLC v. Hotels.com, L.P., 773 F.3d 1245, 1258, 113 USPQ2d 1097, 1106 (Fed. Cir. 2014) ("Unlike the claims in Ultramercial, the claims at issue here specify how interactions with the Internet are manipulated to yield a desired result-a result that overrides the routine and conventional sequence of events ordinarily triggered by the click of a hyperlink." (emphasis added)); Also see MPEP 2106.05(d) discussing elements that the courts have recognized as well-understood, routine and conventional activities in particular fields. Lastly, the additional elements provides only a result-oriented solution which lacks details as to how the computer performs the claimed abstract idea. Therefore, the additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the exception. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
Furthermore, these steps/components are not explicitly recited and therefore must be construed at the highest level of generality and amount to mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer. Therefore, the claimed invention does not demonstrate a technologically rooted solution to a computer-centric problem or recite an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the function of any computer itself, applying the exception with, or by use of, a particular machine, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, add a specific limitation other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field, add unconventional steps that confine the claim to a particular useful application, or provide meaningful limitations beyond generally linking an abstract idea to a particular technological environment such as computing. Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination does not add anything further than looking at the limitations individually. Taking the additional claimed elements individually and in combination, the computer components at each step of the process perform purely generic computer functions. Viewed as a whole, the claims do not purport to improve the functioning of the computer itself, or to improve any other technology or technical field. Use of an unspecified, generic computer does not transform an abstract idea into a patent-eligible invention. Thus, the claims do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Dependent claims 16-22, 24-27, and 29-34 add additional limitations, but these only serve to further limit the abstract idea, and hence are nonetheless directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claims.
Claims 16-18, 24-26, 29-31 recites transmitting the service information from the charging station to the electric vehicle via a charging cable; transmitting the service information while communication is being established between the charging station and the electric vehicle; transmitting the service information in at least one field of a communication charging protocol that is provided for this purpose. These limitations further limit the service information for charging stations and are directed to same abstract idea as independent claims. These limitations merely adds the words apply it (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception , or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 19-21, 27, 32-33 recite wherein the service information comprises at least one of the following: a telephone number of a hotline of an operator of the charging station; a website of the operator of the charging station; an email address of the operator of the charging station; and/or a social media address of the operator of the charging station; wherein the service information is the email address and/or the social media address, the method comprising: selecting a corresponding message type to create a message to the operator of the charging station; and automatically creating a message template that is aimed at the operator of the charging station and comprises at least one item of information regarding the charging station and/or a charging operation; wherein the information regarding the charging station and/or the charging operation comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the charging station; a geoposition of the charging station; a time; and/or a fault report regarding the charging operation. These limitations further limit the service information for charging stations and are directed to same abstract idea as independent claims. The limitation of automatically creating a message merely adds the words apply it (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception , or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
Claims 22, 34 further recites forwarding the service information from the electric vehicle to a mobile user terminal. The additional element of a mobile user terminal is recited at apply it level. These limitations further limit the service information for charging stations and are directed to same abstract idea as independent claims. The limitation merely adds the words apply it (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception , or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea as discussed in MPEP 2106.05(f). The claims do not provide any new additional elements beyond abstract idea. Therefore, whether analyzed individually or as an ordered combination, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or provide significantly more than the abstract idea.
The dependent claims do not integrate into a practical application. As such, the additional elements individually or in combination do not integrate the exception into a practical application, but rather, the recitation of any additional element amounts to merely reciting the words “apply it” (or equivalent) with the judicial exception, or merely includes instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea (See MPEP 2106.05(f)). The dependent claims also do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements are merely used to apply the abstract idea to a technological environment. These limitations do not include an improvement to another technology or technical field, an improvement to the functioning of the computer itself, or meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of the abstract idea to a particular technological environment. See MPEP 2106.05d. Thus, the claims do not add significantly more to an abstract idea. The claims are ineligible. Therefore, since there are no limitations in the claim that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter. See (Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 15, 17-18, 21, 23, 25-26, 28, 30-31, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Perry (US 2018/0281612 A1).
Regarding Claims 15, 23 and 28. (New) Perry discloses the method comprising:
Perry discloses transmitting information from a charging station for electric vehicles to an electric vehicle (Fig 2 #202 obtain status information from a charging station, [0042] The method 200 can be carried out by the first vehicle (e.g., the requesting vehicle 102 shown in FIG. 1), or more specifically, a vehicle computing system included therein, such as, e.g., vehicle computing system (VCS) 500 shown in FIG. 5. In addition, to carry out the operations of the method 200, the first vehicle can interact with the second vehicle (e.g., one of the occupying vehicles 114 and 116 shown in FIG. 1) and, in some cases, one or more other components of the environment 100 shown in FIG. 1, such as, for example, one or more of the charging stations 106 and 108, the other occupying vehicle 116/114, one or more of the mobile devices 122 and 124, and/or the roadside equipment 112, using the wireless communication network 110. [0043] at step 202, where the processor obtains status information from a charging station, using a telematics unit of the first vehicle (e.g., TCU 508 shown in FIG. 5), to determine whether the charging station is available for charging or occupied by another vehicle. The status information may include indicators such as, for example, “available” or “unavailable,” “occupied” or “unoccupied,” and/or “plugged-in and charging” or “plugged-in and not charging.” In some embodiments, the processor may obtain availability status information from a group of “nearby charging stations,” or all charging stations within a predetermined radius of a current location of the first vehicle. In such cases, obtaining status information at step 202 can include the processor generating a request for availability status information, obtaining a list of nearby charging stations, and providing the request and the list to the telematics unit. [0032] each charging station may provide (transmit) its GPS coordinates to the requesting vehicle 102.), wherein the information comprises service information concerning an operator of the charging station ([0043] Step 202 can further include the telematics unit sending the request to all nearby charging stations, receiving availability status information from each of the nearby charging stations, and providing the received status information to the processor. Fig 3 #300, 302, 304 shows information for stations ID-1 – ID-5 (Operator of charging station), [0031] charging stations that are pre-selected by a manufacturer of the vehicle 102, a charging infrastructure provider associated with the vehicle 102, or other entity providing services related to charging the vehicle 102.)
Claim 23, Perry discloses the charging station for charging an electric vehicle (Fig 3 #304 charging station, [0001] charging stations for plug-in electric vehicles) configured to transmit information ([0032] each charging station may provide its GPS coordinates to the requesting vehicle 102.)
Claim 28, Perry discloses the electric vehicle configured to receive information ([0043] step 202 can include the processor generating a request for availability status information, obtaining a list of nearby charging stations, and providing the request and the list to the telematics unit. Step 202 can further include the telematics unit sending the request to all nearby charging stations, receiving availability status information from each of the nearby charging stations, and providing the received status information to the processor)
Regarding Claim 17, 25 and 30. (New) Perry discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising:
Perry teaches transmitting the service information while communication is being established between the charging station and the electric vehicle. ([0032] each charging station may provide its GPS coordinates to the requesting vehicle 102. [0034] provide a communication tool for facilitating these and other exchanges between the requesting vehicle 102 and one or more occupying vehicles 114, 116, or other components of the environment 100, using the wireless communication network 110. [0072] a vehicle seeking to recharge a vehicle battery can use a V2I communication protocol to wirelessly communicate with charging stations or other DSRC infrastructure within a predefined radius of the vehicle's current location (e.g., nearby charging stations). The charging stations can send their status, such as, e.g., available, plugged-in and charging, plugged-in and not charging, etc., to the requesting vehicle.)
Regarding Claims 18, 26 and 31, (New) Perry discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising:
Perry discloses transmitting the service information in at least one field of a communication charging protocol that is provided for this purpose. ([0079] a vehicle seeking to recharge a vehicle battery can use a V2I communication protocol to wirelessly communicate with charging stations or other DSRC infrastructure within a predefined radius of the vehicle's current location (e.g., nearby charging stations). The charging stations can send their status, such as, e.g., available, plugged-in and charging, plugged-in and not charging, etc., to the requesting vehicle.)
Regarding Claims 21 and 33, (New) Perry discloses the method according to claim 20,
Perry teaches wherein the information regarding the charging station and/or the charging operation comprises at least one of the following: an identifier of the charging station (Fig 3 # 302, 304 charging station identifier); a geoposition of the charging station (Fig 3 # 304 distance); a time (Fig 3 # 304 Charge time); and/or a fault report regarding the charging operation (Fig 3 # 304 status [0059] the user interface 300 can be arranged as an information table or grid comprising an individual entry 302 (e.g., row) for each nearby charging station and a plurality of fields 304 (e.g., columns) displaying information for each entry 302, or more specifically, the charging station associated with the entry 302. The plurality of fields 304 can include fields for displaying charging station information and fields for displaying vehicle information. For example, in the illustrated embodiment, the plurality of fields 304 includes station identification information for the given charging station; distance information (e.g., from the first vehicle's current location to the charging station); availability status information for the charging station; remaining charge time information for a vehicle occupying the charging station, if any; and messaging capability information for the same vehicle.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16, 24, 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 2018/0281612 A1) in view of Hong (KR20110004293A)
Regarding Claims 16, 24, 29. (New) Perry discloses the method according to claim 15, comprising:
Perry teaches transmitting the service information from the charging station to the electric vehicle ([0032] each charging station may provide its GPS coordinates to the requesting vehicle 102. [0072] The charging stations can send their status, such as, e.g., available, plugged-in and charging, plugged-in and not charging, etc., to the requesting vehicle.). However, Perry does not specifically teach transmitting the service information from the charging station to the electric vehicle via a charging cable.
Hong teaches transmitting … via a charging cable (page 7 The charging station 100 includes a communication unit 110, a recognition unit 120, a line connection unit 130, and a charging line 140. The communication unit 110 communicates with the charging station server 200 through a wired (charging cable) or wireless communication means and connects with the electric vehicle parked in the corresponding parking space, and performs communication with the charging station server 200 and the electric vehicle 10. It plays a role of relaying communication between each other. The communication unit 110 has a unique identification information (ID) for each charging station for communication with the charging station server 200 and the electric vehicle 10, the wired or wireless communication means is wired LAN, wireless LAN, zigbee (ZigBee) And Bluetooth communication. Page 8 para 2 the communication unit 110 may update a vehicle system of the electric vehicle 10, update a vehicle convenience device such as navigation and audio, a video and a sound source (eg, mp3), and a charging schedule (charge standby) through a connection of the charging station server 200. It can provide a variety of additional services, such as / start) information, the charging status information (current battery charge capacity, the estimated charging time) Page 8 para 5 The line connection unit 130 is a terminal connecting the charging station 100 and the electric vehicle 10 and includes a charging interface for providing a charging current to the battery 12 and a communication interface for communicating with the vehicle system. Page 8 para 1 During the charging standby / progress time, various additional services can be remotely provided not only through the internal system of the electric vehicle 10 through the wired or wireless communication means, but also through a mobile terminal such as a PDA, a notebook, a mobile phone, a smartphone, etc. of a customer)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a charging cable, as disclosed by Hong in the system disclosed by Perry, for the motivation of providing a variety of additional services to electric vehicle such as charging status information (page 8 para 2 Hong)
Claims 19-20, 27-28, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 2018/0281612 A1) in view of Tremblay (US 2018/0072177 A1)
Regarding Claims 19, 27 and 32. (New) Perry discloses the method according to claim 15,
Perry teaches wherein the information comprises at least one of the following: a telephone number, email address ([Fig 3 # 306 messaging application, [0040] the operator can choose a desired level of anonymity for the user-generated message, for example, by selecting whether to include a name, a callback number, or an email address. The messaging application can be configured to enable the user to enter text, record a video, capture an image, record a voice message, compose an email, and/or generate other types of messages to the operator of the occupying vehicle 114/116 using the input devices of the requesting vehicle 102.);
Perry does not specifically teach wherein the service information comprises at least one of the following: a telephone number of a hotline of an operator of the charging station, a website of the operator of the charging station; an email address of the operator of the charging station; and/or a social media address of the operator of the charging station.
Tremblay teaches wherein the service information comprises at least one of the following: a telephone number of a hotline of an operator of the charging station ([0072] sending the command may comprise contacting an operator of a mobile charging unit by telephone, text message or email. [0073]sending the command may comprise updating a status on a social network site.,), a website of the operator of the charging station; an email address of the operator of the charging station sending the command may comprise contacting an operator of a mobile charging unit by telephone, text message or email. [0235] the CSOC 150 could direct an SMS or email message conveying the charging command 900 to a phone number or email address associated with the operator. In other cases, the operator may have a social networking account such that the charging command 900 can be delivered via a user update effected by the underlying transmission mechanism of the social network (e.g., Facebook or Twitter, to name a few possibilities).); and/or a social media address of the operator of the charging station.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the service information comprises at least one of the following: a telephone number of a hotline of an operator of the charging station, a website of the operator of the charging station; an email address of the operator of the charging station; and/or a social media address of the operator of the charging station, as disclosed by Tremblay in the system disclosed by Perry, for the motivation of providing a method of sending the command may comprise contacting an operator of a mobile charging unit by telephone, text message or email([0072] Tremblay).
Regarding Claim 20 and 32. (New) Perry as modified by Tremblay teaches the method according to claim 19,
Perry teaches wherein the service information is sent to vehicle ([0050] step 212, where the processor displays, on the vehicle display, information related to the charging station being occupied by the second vehicle, in association with the remaining charge time. For example, the charging station information may include the availability status information obtained at step 202. In some cases, the charging station information may include station identification information, such as, for example, a unique identifier assigned to the charging station (e.g., ID 1, ID 2, etc.) or a name associated with the charging station (e.g., Wells Street station, Oakbrook Mall station, etc.). The station identification information may be received from the charging station at step 202 along with the availability status information, or as part of another information exchange with the charging station using the telematics unit of the first vehicle. [0058] FIG. 3 depicts an example user interface 300 configured to display information related to a group of nearby charging stations, including information associated with any vehicle occupying the station, in accordance with embodiments. The user interface 300 can be displayed on a display screen of the first vehicle (such as, e.g., display 524 shown in FIG. 5) upon completion of step 208 and/or as part of steps 210 and 212 of the method 200 shown in FIG. 2)., the method comprising: selecting a corresponding message type to create a message to the operator of the charging station ([0053] if a given vehicle has the capability to message the vehicle operator, the user interface may display the remaining charge time in association with a user-selectable messaging option (e.g., messaging icon 306 shown in FIG. 3). In such embodiments, the method 200 includes step 214, where the processor receives a user input associated with the displayed information via the user interface, the user input indicating selection of a particular charging station and/or selection of an action pertaining to said charging station. [0054] The method 200 can further include step 216, where the processor determines whether the user input is a selection of a messaging option. If the messaging option is selected (e.g., “yes”), the method 200 continues to step 218, where the processor prompts the vehicle operator (e.g., user) to enter a message to the operator of the vehicle occupying the charging station associated with the selected messaging icon.[0063]); and automatically creating a message template that is aimed at the operator of the charging station and comprises at least one item of information regarding the charging station and/or a charging operation ([0054]selection of the messaging icon may cause the processor to initiate a messaging application (e.g., messaging application 516 shown in FIG. 5) configured to display a prompt (message template) or text box for entering the message.) .
Perry does not specifically teach wherein the service information is sent to mobile device; wherein the service information is the email address. Perry, however, teaches sending message to mobile device ; email address ([0038] The pre-established communication routine may specify which messages to convey, such as, for example, only messages addressed to the vehicle operator, and how to route the messages to the operator (e.g., via text message, email, phone call, or a chat interface for electric vehicle operators). [0040] the operator can choose a desired level of anonymity for the user-generated message, for example, by selecting whether to include a name, a callback number, or an email address. The messaging application can be configured to enable the user to enter text, record a video, capture an image, record a voice message, compose an email, and/or generate other types of messages to the operator of the occupying vehicle 114/116 using the input devices of the requesting vehicle 102. [0055] At step 220, the processor sends a message entered by the user to the second vehicle for relay to a mobile device (e.g., mobiles devices 122 and 124 shown in FIG. 1) associated with said vehicle, using the telematics unit of the first vehicle) and/or the social media address
Tremblay teaches wherein the service information is sent to mobile device ([0146] the communication device 200 includes a smartphone or tablet, the user may download an application (app) from a repository (e.g., iTunes, Android Market, etc.) onto the smartphone or tablet. Upon activation of the app on the smartphone or tablet, the user may access certain features of the charging service locally on the smartphone or tablet. For example, the user may have access to maps and current location information, and may have the ability to enter certain information online.[0164] the CSOC 150 may, upon determining that the electric vehicle is parked (e.g., by observing that the vehicle's location has remained unchanged for a prolonged period of time such as 30 mins or more) and that a condition to charge the vehicle may soon be met (e.g., within 4 hours), send a message (e.g., a text message, an email or a voice message) to the user's smartphone or other communication device asking the user to confirm (e.g., by clicking on a reply button or hyperlink in the message or calling a phone number associated with the CSOC 150 in the message); wherein the service information is the email address ([0072] sending the command may comprise contacting an operator of a mobile charging unit by telephone, text message or email.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included wherein the service information is sent to mobile device; wherein the service information is the email address, as disclosed by Tremblay in the system disclosed by Perry, for the motivation of providing a method of sending the command may comprise contacting an operator of a mobile charging unit by telephone, text message or email([0072] Tremblay) and providing information to user for charging station ([0164] Tremblay).
Claims 22, 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perry (US 2018/0281612 A1) as applied to claims 15, 28 further in view of Jackson (US 10,180,333 B2)
Regarding Claims 22 and 34. (New) Perry discloses the method according to claim 15, system of claim 28, comprising:
Perry teaches forwarding the information from the electric vehicle to a mobile user terminal. ([0038] each of the occupying vehicles 114 and 116 may use the pre-established communication routine to convey messages received by the telematics unit of the vehicle 114/116 to the mobile device 122/124. The pre-established communication routine may specify which messages to convey, such as, for example, only messages addressed to the vehicle operator, and how to route the messages to the operator (e.g., via text message, email, phone call, or a chat interface for electric vehicle operators).)
Perry does not specifically teach forwarding service information to mobile terminal
Jackson teaches forwarding service information from electric vehicle to mobile user terminal (Col 2 lines 59-66 the system 1 uses the BLUETOOTH transceiver 15 to communicate 17 with a user's nomadic device 53 (e.g., cell phone, smart phone, PDA, or any other device having wireless remote network connectivity). The nomadic device can then be used to communicate 59 with a network 61 outside the vehicle 31 through, for example, communication 55 with a cellular tower 5 Col 7 lines 30-34 The vehicle computer system may output the charging station on a vehicle display, a nomadic device (display forwarded to phone) in communication with the vehicle computer system, or utilize audible output to notify the user of the recommended charging station. )
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included forwarding service information to mobile terminal, as disclosed by Jackson in the system disclosed by Perry, for the motivation of providing a method of outputting the recommended charging station for the vehicle to use given the vehicle environment. The vehicle computer system may output the charging station on a vehicle display, a nomadic device in communication with the vehicle computer system, or utilize audible output to notify the user of the recommended charging station. (Col 7 lines 30-35 Jackson)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Halker (US10,300,805) discusses communicating with a charging system comprising a plurality of charging stations configured to charge an electric vehicle. At least one first signal is transmitted to the charging system via a first communication link while the electric vehicle is a first distance from at least one charging station of the plurality of charging stations. The at least one first signal is indicative of a vehicle identifier of the electric vehicle. Fig 13
Katar (US9,021,278) discloses the electric vehicle can broadcast one or more service matching messages to the charging stations and, in response, can receive attenuation information from one or more of the charging stations. The electric vehicle can analyze the attenuation information received from the charging stations to identify with which charging station the electric vehicle should associate (e.g., to determine which charging station should provide electric power to the electric vehicle) Fig 2 -3
Kusumi (IS 11,535,151) discloses an ECU of a vehicle monitors a charging state when charging is started.
Han (US 9,886,813) discusses providing a multimedia contents service to user equipment associated with an electric vehicle located in an electric vehicle charging station through a wireless access point. The wireless access point may allocate an Internet Protocol (IP) address to user equipment associated with an electric vehicle located in an electric vehicle charging station in response to a connection request message received from the user equipment.
Jackson (US 10180333 B2) discloses the system 1 uses the BLUETOOTH transceiver 15 to communicate 17 with a user's nomadic device 53 (e.g., cell phone, smart phone, PDA, or any other device having wireless remote network connectivity). The nomadic device can then be used to communicate 59 with a network 61 outside the vehicle 31.The cloud may include its own database of information, including information pertaining to charging stations. Such information pertaining to the charging stations that may be utilized by the cloud include, but are not limited to, names of the charging station, location of the charging station, phone number of the charging station, number of ports and the charging station, charging port-types (e.g. voltage, quick charge, etc.), and other similar information. The one or more vehicles 201 may also be in communication with one or more charging station 205. The charging stations 205 may be configured to send charging station information to the vehicles, either directly or through the cloud 203. The vehicles 201 may also send vehicle routing information and vehicle battery information directly to the charging stations 205 through the cloud 203. Additionally, the vehicle computer system may output (on a display or speakers) various information about the charging station location or charging port, such as the cross-roads, telephone number, name, charging port specifications, charging port number, etc.
Hong (KR20110004293A) teaches forwarding service information to mobile user terminal (Page 8 para 1 During the charging standby / progress time, various additional services can be remotely provided not only through the internal system of the electric vehicle 10 through the wired or wireless communication means, but also through a mobile terminal such as a PDA, a notebook, a mobile phone, a smartphone, etc. of a customer)
/SANGEETA BAHL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3626