DETAILED ACTION
2. The amendment filed June 19, 2026 has been received and entered. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code, not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. Any rejection set forth in a previous Office action that is not specifically set forth below is withdrawn.
3. Claims 1 and 6-10 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
4. Newly submitted claims 7-10 are directed to an invention that is independent or distinct from the invention originally claimed for the following reasons:
New claims 7-10 are drawn to a method of treating low anterior resection syndrome by administering prune. Original claim 1 is directed to a composition comprising prune. The linking technical feature between the two sets of claims is the prune composition. However, this is not a special technical feature because prune composition were known in the art prior to the effective filing date.
Since applicant has received an action on the merits for the originally presented invention, this invention has been constructively elected by original presentation for prosecution on the merits. Accordingly, claims 7-10 are withdrawn from consideration as being directed to a non-elected invention. See 37 CFR 1.142(b) and MPEP § 821.03.
To preserve a right to petition, the reply to this action must distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement. Otherwise, the election shall be treated as a final election without traverse. Traversal must be timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are subsequently added, applicant must indicate which of the subsequently added claims are readable upon the elected invention.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions are not patentably distinct, applicant should submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. In either instance, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
5. Claims 1 and 6 are examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
These claims are indefinite because it is unclear what is meant by “health functional food.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
7. Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural product without significantly more.
MPEP § 2106 sets forth the Subject Matter Eligibility Test to determine if a claim is directed to patent eligible subject matter. Step 1 asks if a claim is directed to a statutory category of invention. Applicant’s claims are directed to a product; thus, the answer to Step 1 is Yes.
The analysis then moves to Step 2A, Prong One, which asks if a claim recites to a product of nature. In this case, applicant’s claims recite a food composition in the form of a tablet, capsule, powder, granules, liquid, or pill comprising prune. A prune is a naturally occurring food product. Thus, the claims do recite products of nature. MPEP § 2106.04(b) states that “When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners should use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A.”
MPEP § 2106.04(c)(I) states that “if the nature-based product limitation is not naturally occurring, for example due to some human intervention, then the markedly different characteristics analysis must be performed to determine whether the claimed product limitation is a product of nature exception…”. To perform the markedly different characteristic analysis, MPEP § 2106.04(c)(II) states “The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties…”.
In this case, the closest occurring natural product to a prune is the prune itself. Liquid compositions comprising prunes, i.e. prune juice, are naturally occurring, and dried, powdered, prunes are also naturally occurring. Thus, there cannot be any markedly distinct characteristics between the natural product and the claimed product because they are one and the same. In addition, claiming the judicial exception in a particular amount, i.e. 60g to 100g, is not considered to create a marked distinction because it simply indicates that the exception is present in an amount. Therefore, the answer to Step 2A, Prong One, is Yes.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2A, Prong Two, which asks if the claim recites additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) this evaluation is performed by identifying whether there are additional elements recited in the claim beyond the judicial exception and evaluating these additional elements to determine whether the claim as a whole integrates the exception into a practical application. In this case, applicant’s claims are directed to a composition with an intended use of treating low anterior resection syndrome. MPEP § 2106.04(d)(2) specifically states that a claim is only directed to “an intended use of a claimed invention or a field of use limitation, then it cannot integrate a judicial exception under the ‘treatment or prophylaxis’ consideration.” Therefore, applicant’s intended use is not sufficient to integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. Thus, the answer to Step 2A, Prong Two, is No.
Thus, the analysis must move to Step 2B which asks if claims recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. MPEP § 2106.05 states that this evaluation is performed by “Evaluating additional elements to determine whether they amount to an inventive concept requires considering them both individually and in combination to ensure that they amount to significantly more than the judicial exception itself.” In this case, the additional element in the claims is the incorporation of the prune into tablets, capsule, granules, or pills. However, MPEP § 2106.05(d) states that well-understood, routine, and conventional activities are not sufficient to show that the claims amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Incorporation of prune into these well known dosage formulations does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because formulating pharmaceutically active ingredients into tablets, capsule, granules, or pills is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field as demonstrated by the prior art references cited below. Thus, the formulation of prune into tablets, capsule, granules, or pills does not amount to significantly more than a combination of judicial exception because formulating compounds in this manner is well-understood, routine, and conventional in the field.
In addition, applicant’s intended use of treating low anterior resection syndrome is not considered to amount to significantly more. As discussed in MPEP § 2106.05(I)(A), “Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use” is not considered to be enough to qualify as significantly more. An intended use of a claimed composition only generally links the exception to the field of use. Therefore, the additional elements are not considered to amount to significantly more. Thus, the answer to Step 2B is No. Consequently, the claims are not directed to patent eligible subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jiang (CN 105410527 A – English translation).
This reference teaches a composition with 90g, 60 g, 100g, or 80g of dried plum (prune) powder (see Embodiment 1 and Examples 3, 4, and 5).
The reference does not teach that the composition is used for the same purposes as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
9. Claim(s) 1 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Smith (US 5,869,085) with “Canned Prune Juice” (https://tools.myfooddata.com/nutrition-facts/167753/wt1) providing evidence.
Smith teaches a composition comprising ¼ cup of prune juice (see column 2, lines 36-38). A cup of prune juice weighs about 256 g (see “Canned Prune Juice”); thus, ¼ cup weighs 64 grams.
The reference does not teach that the composition is used for the same purposes as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
10. Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goel (US 2014/0308374).
This reference teaches tablets, capsules, powder, liquids, and granular products containing prunes (see paragraphs 11-13).
The reference does not teach that the composition is used for the same purposes as claimed by applicant. However, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
11. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUSAN HOFFMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1655