DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 31, 38-39, 45, and 48-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660).
Regarding claim 31, Wang teaches a method performed by a wireless communication device configured for use in a wireless communication network, the method comprising:
generating a subscription concealed identifier that conceals a subscription identifier part of a subscription permanent identifier; and transmitting the subscription concealed identifier (Paragraph [0064]……Indeed, such NF instance selection is possible even under circumstances where the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A conceals the subscription identifier (e.g., SUPI 20) over-the-air so as to conceal the identity of the subscriber 13 from the network equipment 26 and/or even where different sub-domains are associated with different ranges of subscription identifiers. For example, the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may generate a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) that conceals the subscription identifier associated with the subscriber 13, e.g., by encrypting at least a portion of the subscription identifier such as the portion that specifically identifies the subscriber 13. The user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may then transmit at least a portion of the SUCI 34 in lieu of the subscription identifier itself (e.g., in lieu of the SUPI 20);
and conceals a set of one or more data fields which is agnostic as to a type of data that the set conveys (Paragraphs [0204, 0218]…… the method 400 may also comprise generating a subscription concealed identifier to include a field that indicates the sub-domain code (type) 32 (Block 420) and transmitting a message that includes the subscription concealed identifier (Block 430)).
Regarding claim 38, Wang teaches the method of claim 31, wherein said transmitting comprises transmitting the subscription concealed identifier in a registration request or a service request to the communication network (Paragraphs 0084, 0110, and 0119).
Regarding claim 39, Wang teaches a method performed by a network node configured for use in a communication network, the method comprising: receiving a subscription concealed identifier that conceals a subscription identifier part of a subscription permanent identifier (Paragraph [0064]……Indeed, such NF instance selection is possible even under circumstances where the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A conceals the subscription identifier (e.g., SUPI 20) over-the-air so as to conceal the identity of the subscriber 13 from the network equipment 26 and/or even where different sub-domains are associated with different ranges of subscription identifiers. For example, the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may generate a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) that conceals the subscription identifier associated with the subscriber 13, e.g., by encrypting at least a portion of the subscription identifier such as the portion that specifically identifies the subscriber 13. The user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may then transmit at least a portion of the SUCI 34 in lieu of the subscription identifier itself (e.g., in lieu of the SUPI 20) and conceals a set of one or more data fields which is agnostic as to a type of data that the set conveys (Paragraphs [0204, 0218]…… the method 400 may also comprise generating a subscription concealed identifier to include a field that indicates the sub-domain code (type) 32 (Block 420) and transmitting a message that includes the subscription concealed identifier (Block 430)).
Regarding claim 45, Wang teaches the method of claim 41, further comprising, based on the conveyed data, configuring the communication network for use by the subscription (Paragraphs 0005, 0024, 0030, 0141, and 0204).
Regarding claim 48, Wang teaches the method of claim 39, wherein said receiving comprises receiving the subscription concealed identifier in a registration request or a service request from a communication device (Paragraphs 0084, 0110, and 0119).
Regarding claim 49, Wang teaches a communication device configured for use in a communication network, the communication device comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to: generate a subscription concealed identifier that conceals a subscription identifier part of a subscription permanent identifier and transmit the subscription concealed identifier (Paragraph [0064]……Indeed, such NF instance selection is possible even under circumstances where the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A conceals the subscription identifier (e.g., SUPI 20) over-the-air so as to conceal the identity of the subscriber 13 from the network equipment 26 and/or even where different sub-domains are associated with different ranges of subscription identifiers. For example, the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may generate a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) that conceals the subscription identifier associated with the subscriber 13, e.g., by encrypting at least a portion of the subscription identifier such as the portion that specifically identifies the subscriber 13. The user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may then transmit at least a portion of the SUCI 34 in lieu of the subscription identifier itself (e.g., in lieu of the SUPI 20), and
conceals a set of one or more data fields which is agnostic as to a type of data that the set conveys (Paragraphs [0204, 0218]…… the method 400 may also comprise generating a subscription concealed identifier to include a field that indicates the sub-domain code (type) 32 (Block 420) and transmitting a message that includes the subscription concealed identifier (Block 430)).
Regarding claim 50, Wang teaches a network node configured for use in a communication network, the network node comprising: communication circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to receiving a subscription concealed identifier that conceals a subscription identifier part of a subscription permanent identifier (Paragraph [0064]……Indeed, such NF instance selection is possible even under circumstances where the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A conceals the subscription identifier (e.g., SUPI 20) over-the-air so as to conceal the identity of the subscriber 13 from the network equipment 26 and/or even where different sub-domains are associated with different ranges of subscription identifiers. For example, the user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may generate a subscription concealed identifier (SUCI) that conceals the subscription identifier associated with the subscriber 13, e.g., by encrypting at least a portion of the subscription identifier such as the portion that specifically identifies the subscriber 13. The user equipment 12 and/or ICC 12A may then transmit at least a portion of the SUCI 34 in lieu of the subscription identifier itself (e.g., in lieu of the SUPI 20) and conceals a set of one or more data fields which is agnostic as to a type of data that the set conveys (Paragraphs [0204, 0218]…… the method 400 may also comprise generating a subscription concealed identifier to include a field that indicates the sub-domain code (type) 32 (Block 420) and transmitting a message that includes the subscription concealed identifier (Block 430)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 32 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Lindsay et al. (US 2021/0023261).
Regarding claim 32 and 40, Wang fails to teach the method of claim 31, wherein the set of one or more data fields include: a value field and a type field, wherein the value field conveys the data and the type field indicates a type of the data conveyed; and/or a value field, a length field, and a type field, wherein the value field conveys the data, the type field indicates a type of the data conveyed, and the length field indicates a length of the value field or a length of the set of one or more fields.
However, in related art, Lindsay teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the set of one or more data fields include: a value field and a type field, wherein the value field conveys the data and the type field indicates a type of the data conveyed (Claims 4 and 20); and/or a value field, a length field, and a type field, wherein the value field conveys the data, the type field indicates a type of the data conveyed, and the length field indicates a length of the value field or a length of the set of one or more fields (Not selected). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lindsay’s teaching about wherein the set of one or more data fields include: a value field and a type field, wherein the value field conveys the data and the type field indicates a type of the data conveyed with Wang’s invention in order to determine specific data to be analyzed and processed for transmission.
Claims 33 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Perrine (US Patent #9,965,740).
Regarding claim 33 and 41, Wang fails to teach the method of claim 31, wherein the set of one or more data fields conveys data describing communication, service, and/or network resources associated with a subscription identified by the subscription permanent identifier.
However, in related art, Perrine teaches the method of claim 31, wherein the set of one or more data fields conveys data describing communication service (Col 7, lines 4-28), and/or network resources associated with a subscription identified by the subscription permanent identifier (not selected). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Perrine’s teaching about wherein the set of one or more data fields conveys data describing communication, service with Wang’s invention in order to perform data/voice communications between a base station and a terminal in a radio communication system.
Claims 34 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Perrine (US Patent #9,965,740), and further in view of Seed et al. (US 2017/0063931).
Regarding claim 34 and 42, the combination of Wang and Perrine fail fails to teach the method of claim 33, wherein the data describes: a type and/or pattern of communication expected for the subscription; and/or a mobility pattern expected for the subscription; and/or a requirement and/or policy to be met for communication associated with the subscription.
However, in related art, Seed teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the data describes: a type and/or pattern of communication expected for the subscription (not selected); and/or a mobility pattern expected for the subscription (not selected); and/or a requirement and/or policy to be met for communication associated with the subscription (Paragraphs 0401 and 0402). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Seed’s teaching about a requirement and/or policy to be met for communication associated with the subscription with Wang’s and Perrine’s invention in order to able to transmit and receive data with each other.
Claims 35 and 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Perrine (US Patent #9,965,740), and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2017/0248686).
Regarding claim 35 and 43, the combination of Wang and Perrine fail fails to teach the method of claim 33, wherein the data indicates a Manufacturer Usage Description (MUD) file associated with the subscription; and/or a network token associated with the subscription.
However, in related art, Lee teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the data indicates a Manufacturer Usage Description (MUD) file associated with the subscription (not selected); and/or a network token associated with the subscription (Paragraph [0064]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Lee’s teaching about a network token associated with the subscription with Wang’s and Perrine’s invention in order to protect sensitive information.
Claims 36 and 44 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Perrine (US Patent #9,965,740), and further in view of Chai (US 2021/0281997).
Regarding claim 36 and 44, the combination of Wang and Perrine fail fails to teach the method of claim 33, wherein the network resources associated with the subscription include a network slice and/or a mobile virtual network operator associated with the subscription.
However, in related art, Chai teaches the method of claim 33, wherein the network resources associated with the subscription include a network slice and/or a mobile virtual network operator associated with the subscription (Paragraphs [0027, 0038, 0095, and 0219]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Chai’s teaching about wherein the network resources associated with the subscription include a network slice and/or a mobile virtual network operator associated with the subscription with Wang’s and Perrine’s invention in order to help improve network resource utilization rate.
Claim 37 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Stojanovski et al. (US 2022/0070664).
Regarding claim 37, Wang fails to teach the method of claim 31, wherein said generating comprises: constructing a scheme input from the subscription identifier part and from the set of one or more data fields; executing a protection scheme with the constructed scheme input as input, to obtain a scheme output; and constructing the subscription concealed identifier with a data field that contains the scheme output.
However, in related art, the method of claim 31, wherein said generating comprises: constructing a scheme input from the subscription identifier part and from the set of one or more data fields; executing a protection scheme with the constructed scheme input as input, to obtain a scheme output; and constructing the subscription concealed identifier with a data field that contains the scheme output (Paragraph 0062). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Stojanovski’s teaching about wherein said generating comprises: constructing a scheme input from the subscription identifier part and from the set of one or more data fields; executing a protection scheme with the constructed scheme input as input, to obtain a scheme output; and constructing the subscription concealed identifier with a data field that contains the scheme output with Wang’s invention in order to establish security.
Claim 46 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0385192).
Regarding claim 46, Wang does not specifically teach the method of claim 45, wherein said configuring comprises one or more of: allocating resources in the communication network for use by the subscription; selecting and/or configuring network services for the subscription; orchestrating, selecting, and/or configuring a network slice for use by the subscription; configuring an access network for the subscription; configuring a session for the subscription; or allocating an address to for use by the subscription.
However, in related art, Zhang teaches the method of claim 45, wherein said configuring comprises one or more of: allocating resources in the communication network for use by the subscription (Not selected); selecting and/or configuring network services for the subscription (Not selected); orchestrating, selecting, and/or configuring a network slice for use by the subscription (Not selected); configuring an access network for the subscription (Paragraph 0051); configuring a session for the subscription; or allocating an address to for use by the subscription (Not selected). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Zhang’s teaching about configuring an access network for the subscription with Wang’s invention in order for client(s) to connect with the network so that the client(s) can send or receive information from network.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US 2020/0296660) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2021/0385192), and further in view of Seed et al. (US 2017/0063931).
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Wang and Zhang fail to teach the method of claim 46, wherein said configuring comprises orchestrating, based on the data conveyed by the set, a network slice, for use by the subscription, that matches a type and/or pattern of communication expected for the subscription and/or that meets a requirement and/or policy to be met for communication associated with the subscription.
However, in related art, Seed teaches the method of claim 46, wherein said configuring comprises orchestrating, based on the data conveyed by the set, a network slice, for use by the subscription, that matches a type and/or pattern of communication expected for the subscription and/or that meets a requirement and/or policy to be met for communication associated with the subscription (Paragraphs 0401 and 0402). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Seed’s teaching about wherein said configuring comprises orchestrating, based on the data conveyed by the set, a network slice, for use by the subscription, that matches a type and/or pattern of communication expected for the subscription and/or that meets a requirement and/or policy to be met for communication associated with the subscription with Wang’s and Zhang’s invention in order to able to transmit and receive data with each other.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Atallah et al. (US Patent #12,067,368), Nair et al. (US 2024/0007449), Dees (US 2023/0319549), Salmela et al. (US 2023/0300596), Chuang et al. (US 2023/0292109), Ryu et al. (US 2023/0232204), Garcia Martin et al. (US 2023/0171603), Kennedy, Jr. (US Patent #11,586,607), Palanigounder et al. (US 2023/0044847), Targali et al. (US 2022/0337994), Nix (US 2022/0264300), Rosa et al. (US 2022/0256330), Ratil et al. (US 2022/0124079), Phan et al. (US 2022/0116777), Nakarmi et al. (US 2022/0086620), Yang (US 2022/0053306), Giraud et al. (US 2021/0377025), Nakarmi et al. (US 2021/0368345), You et al. (US 2021/0345116), Liu (US 2021/0306849), Targali (US 2021/0185523), Chikkala et al. (US 2021/0176628), Torvinen et al. (US 2021/0153010), Yang et al. (US 2021/0092603), Yang et al. (US 2021/0021993), Chikkala et al. (US 2020/0413253), Aono et al. (US 2020/0359203), Baskaran et al. (US 2020/0344601), Aono et al. (US 2020/0236536), An et al. (US 2020/0213843), An et al. (US 2020/0204985), Thiebaut et al. (US 2020/0170068), Lee et al. (US 2020/0100091), Campbell et al. (US Patent #10,579,724), Lee et al. (US 2016/0248682), Busropan et al. (US 2015/0304430), and Hutchins et al. (US 2006/0059181).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132