CTNF 18/697,631 CTNF 85158 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Specification 06-11 AIA The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim s 1-6, 8-9, 11 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Russell (20190044060) PNG media_image1.png 647 330 media_image1.png Greyscale Regarding claim 1, Russell teaches a storage element comprising: a first electrode ( fig. 2: 230 ); a resistance change layer ( fig. 2: 205 ) that is formed on the first electrode, contains at least tellurium, antimony, and germanium ( par. 35 ), and is changeable in a resistance value ( par. 35; please not that all the materials taught in par. 35 have a resistance value ); a first interface layer ( fig. 2: 204 ) that is formed between the first electrode and the resistance change layer, and a first heat shield layer ( fig. 2: 224 ) that is formed between the first electrode and the first interface layer, has electrical conductivity ( par. 36 teaches materials having electrical conductivity ), contains boron ( par. 36 teaches adding Boron to the metal ceramic composite material layer ), contains silicon ( par. 36 teaches Si being added to the metal ceramic composite material layer ) in a range greater than or equal to 20 atomic percent and less than 60 atomic percent relative to boron ( par. 36 teaches Si has atomic percentage between 20 at % to about 60 at % ), and blocks heat transfer from the resistance change layer ( metal ceramics are known to have lower thermal conductivity when compared to other materials ). Regarding claim 2, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 1, further comprising: a second electrode (250) that is formed on the resistance change layer on an opposite side to the first electrode; a second interface layer (202) that is formed between the second electrode and the resistance change layer; and a second heat shield layer (214) that is formed between the second electrode and the second interface layer, has electric conductivity, and blocks heat transfer from the resistance change layer (214 is made of the same material as 224). Regarding claim 3, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 2, wherein the second heat shield layer contains boron (par. 36). Regarding claim 4, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 3, wherein the first heat shield layer, the second heat shield layer, or both contain carbon (par. 36). Regarding claim 5, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 1, wherein the first heat shield layer contains carbon in a range greater than or equal to 20 atomic percent and less than or equal to 50 atomic percent relative to boron (par. 36). Regarding claim 6, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 3, wherein the second heat shield layer contains carbon in a range greater than or equal to 20 atomic percent and less than or equal to 50 atomic percent relative to boron (par. 36). Regarding claim 8, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 3, wherein the first heat shield layer, the second heat shield layer, or both contain germanium (par. 36). Regarding claim 9, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 3, wherein the first heat shield layer, the second heat shield layer, or both contain tungsten (par. 36). Regarding claim 11, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 2, wherein a main component of the first interface layer, the second interface layer, or both is tungsten or tungsten nitride (par. 36). Regarding claim 15, Russell teaches a storage device comprising a storage element, the storage element including: a first electrode (230); a resistance change layer (205) that is formed on the first electrode, contains at least tellurium, antimony, and germanium, and is changeable in a resistance value (par. 36); a first interface layer (204) that is formed between the first electrode and the resistance change layer, and a first heat shield layer (224) that is formed between the first electrode and the first interface layer, has electrical conductivity, contains boron, contains silicon in a range greater than or equal to 20 atomic percent and less than 60 atomic percent relative to boron, and blocks heat transfer from the resistance change layer (par. 36). Regarding claim 16, Russell teaches a storage element according to claim 15, further comprising: a second electrode (250) that is formed on the resistance change layer on an opposite side to the first electrode; a second interface layer (202) that is formed between the second electrode and the resistance change layer; and a second heat shield layer (214) that is formed between the second electrode and the second interface layer, has electric conductivity, and blocks heat transfer from the resistance change layer (214 is made of the same material as 224). Regarding claim 17, Russell teaches a storage device according to claim 16, wherein the second heat shield layer contains boron (par. 36) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 10, according to claim 4 , objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 12, according to claim 3 , objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 13, according to claim 3 , objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 14, according to claim 3 , objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 18, according to claim 16 , objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 19 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 18. Claim 20 is objected to based on its dependency on claim 18. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CALEB E HENRY whose telephone number is (571)270-5370. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Eva Montalvo can be reached at (571) 270-3829 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/697,631 Page 2 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/697,631 Page 3 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/697,631 Page 4 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/697,631 Page 5 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/697,631 Page 6 Art Unit: 2818 Application/Control Number: 18/697,631 Page 7 Art Unit: 2818