Election/Restrictions
Claims 3 and 6 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 5/14/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rutkowski (US 20120080938).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Rutkowski teaches an electrical switch arrangement for electrically connecting a first electrical conductor (positive side of the battery cell or the line from the battery cells 412/424 to the contactor) to a second electrical conductor (output terminal), the electrical switch arrangement comprising:a first circuit path having a first electrical resistance/impedance (the pre-charge contactor 452 combine with a pre-charge resister 462, this path higher resistance/ impedance due the resister R); a second circuit path having a second electrical resistance/ impedance that is lower than the first electrical resistance (the contactor 450 path has low resistance/ impedance when its closed); and the electrical switch arrangement being configured to provide a connection sequence for electrically connecting the first and second electrical conductors, the connection sequence including: a) a first electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are not electrically connected (both contactors are open or normal initial state); b) a second electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are electrically connected by a first circuit path and are not electrically connected by the second circuit path (pre-charge contactor 452 closes first with resistor, see paragraph 38); c) a third electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are electrically connected by the first circuit path and by the second circuit path (The primary contactor 450 closes while the pre-charge contactor 452 still on, see paragraph 38); and d) a fourth electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are electrically connected by the second circuit path and not by the first circuit path (the pre-charge contactor 452 opens after the primary is closed, see paragraph 38), wherein during the connection sequence, the electrical switch arrangement moves from the first electrical connection state, sequentially through the second and third electrical connection states, to the fourth electrical connection state (Figs. 4, 8 and paragraphs 38, 40, 65-66).
Regarding claim 4, Rutkowski teaches the electrical switch wherein the electrical switch arrangement includes a linear switch arrangement (the opening and closing the contactors are done linearly, see paragraph 37)
Alternative Rejection
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kolmonen (EP3457421).
Regarding claims 1 and 2, Kolmonen teaches an electrical switch arrangement for electrically connecting a first electrical conductor 300 to a second electrical conductor 200, the electrical switch arrangement comprising:a first circuit path (position B3 of the blade 410) having a first electrical resistance; a second circuit path (the blade 410 turning counterclockwise, see Fig. 9 and paragraph 89) having a second electrical resistance that is lower than the first electrical resistance (the copper material has higher resistance than silver, see paragraph 112); and the electrical switch arrangement being configured to provide a connection sequence for electrically connecting the first and second electrical conductors, the connection sequence including: a) a first electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are not electrically connected (neutral position B1); b) a second electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are electrically connected by a first circuit path and are not electrically connected by the second circuit path (the blade 410 turning counterclockwise, see Fig. 9 and paragraph 89); c) a third electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are electrically connected by the first circuit path and by the second circuit path (the second contact pin 440 making contact with the first pin 240, se paragraph 89); and d) a fourth electrical connection state in which the first and second electrical conductors are electrically connected by the second circuit path and not by the first circuit path (position B3 of the blade 410, see Fig. 9 and paragraph 93), wherein during the connection sequence, the electrical switch arrangement moves from the first electrical connection state, sequentially through the second and third electrical connection states, to the fourth electrical connection state (Figs. 9 and paragraph 89-93).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, and 7-18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed switch device wherein the first circuit path includes a first contact electrically connected to the first electrical conductor and a second contact electrically connected to the second electrical conductor, wherein the second circuit path includes a third contact electrically connected to the first electrical conductor and a fourth contact electrically connected to the second electrical conductor, and wherein the electrical switch arrangement includes a switch member that: a) electrically connects the first and second contacts and does not connect the third and fourth contacts when the electrical switch arrangement is in the second electrical connection state; b) electrically connects the first and second contacts and also electrically connects the third and fourth contacts when the electrical switch arrangement is in the third electrical connection state; and c) electrically connects the third and fourth contacts and does not connect the first and second contacts when the electrical switch arrangement is in the fourth electrical connection state.
Regarding claim 13, the prior art fails to teach or show, alone or in combination, the claimed switch device wherein further comprising a spring biased element configured to provide a mechanical force in the electrical switch arrangement for connecting or disconnecting the first and second electrical conductors.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Graninger, Johansson and Belisle each teaches a structurally a similar switch device.
/AHMED M SAEED/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2831