Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/25/2024, and 05/13/2025 was filed before the mailing date of the first action on the merits. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10,12, 13, 25 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Su et al, CN 101752476 A.
Su teaches:
1. (Original) A packaging member (figure 1b), comprising a cup-shaped support (110), a light-emitting chip (120) and a packaging glue (130) mixed with a photoluminescent material (machine translation) (120), wherein the light-emitting chip is fixed at a bottom of the support (110) and emits light towards an opening of the support (figure 1b), the packaging glue (130) covers the light-emitting chip, the packaging member comprises a light scattering structure (131s), and the light scattering structure is configured to scatter light. (machine translation)
2. (Original) The packaging member according to claim 1, wherein the light scattering structure (131s) comprises a plurality of grooves (machine translation) provided on a surface of the packaging glue (130) away from the light-emitting chip (120), the grooves being recessed toward a direction close to the light-emitting chip. (figure 1b) (machine translation)
In regards to claim 3, this claim is being treated as a product by process claim and will not be given patentable weight.
3. (Original) The packaging member according to claim 2, wherein an inner surface of at least one of the plurality of grooves is formed by rotating a curve about an axis by 360°.
In regards to claim 4, since the dependency is upon claim 3, it will also be treated as a product by process claim.
4. (Original) The packaging member according to claim 3, wherein the inner surface of the at least one of the plurality of grooves is a portion of a spherical shape or a portion of an ellipsoidal shape.
Note: Su teaches the formation of colloidal particles (see machine translation)
In regards to claim 5, this claim is being treated as a product by process claim and will not be given patentable weight 5.
(Currently amended) The packaging member according to claim 2, wherein a plurality of sub-grooves are further provided on an inner surface of at least one of the plurality of grooves; and
wherein an inner surface of at least one of the plurality of sub-grooves is formed by rotating a curve about an axis by 360°.
In regards to claims 7 and 8, since the dependency is upon claim 5, it will also be treated as a product by process claim.
7. (Currently amended) The packaging member according to claim 5, wherein the inner surface of the at least one of the plurality of sub-grooves is a portion of a ball shape. Note: Su teaches the formation of colloidal particles (see machine translation)
8. (Original) The packaging member according to claim 5, wherein an inner surface of at least one of the plurality of sub-grooves is spike-shaped. Note: Su teaches the formation of colloidal particles (see machine translation)
10. (Currently amended) The packaging member according to claim 1, wherein the light-emitting chip is an LED chip; or
wherein an inner surface of the support comprises a plurality of convex reflective surfaces, and the light scattering structure comprises the plurality of convex reflective surfaces. (see machine translation)
11. (Canceled)
12. (Currently amended) The packaging member according to claim 10, wherein at least one of the plurality of convex reflective surfaces is a portion of a spherical surface or a portion of a conical surface. Su teaches the formation of colloidal particles (see machine translation)
13. (Currently amended) A manufacturing method for a packaging member, the packaging member being the packaging member according to claim 1, the manufacturing method comprising:
filling a support fixed with a light-emitting chip with a packaging glue (130) mixed with a photoluminescent material (machine translation), wherein the support (110) is cup-shaped, the light-emitting chip (120) is fixed at a bottom of the support (110) and emits light (120) towards an opening of the support (110), and the packaging glue (130) covers the light-emitting chip; and (machine translation)
curing the packaging glue to form a light scattering structure for scattering light in the packaging member. (machine translation)
Su further teaches:
25. (Currently amended) A backlight source assembly, comprising the packaging member according to claim 1. (machine translation)
26. (Original) A display apparatus, comprising the backlight source assembly according to claim 25. (machine translation)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fei et al, CN 113299809.
Su fails to teach:
9. (Original) The packaging member according to claim 2, wherein orthographic projections of the plurality of grooves on a plane where the support is located are distributed in an array; or among the orthographic projections of the plurality of grooves on the plane where the support is located, orthographic projections of four grooves closest to each other are connected into a diamond shape.
Fei discloses the following technical features (Fig. 1B): the grooves are arranged in an array on the substrate, and the grooves close to each other are projected into a quadrilateral.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Fei, with the primary reference of Su because [t]he micro-light emitting element of the invention can provide a multi-angle light refracting surface to improve the light emitting efficiency. (abstract Fei)
Claim(s) 14,15, 17 and 19, 21, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su et al, as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Zheng et al, CN 101887939 A,
Su fails to teach:
14. (Original) The method according to claim 13, wherein the step of curing the packaging glue comprises:
pressing a surface of the packaging glue away from the light-emitting chip by a mold, wherein a surface of the mold has a plurality of protrusions to form a plurality of grooves on the surface of the packaging glue away from the light-emitting chip, the grooves are recessed toward a direction close to the light-emitting chip, the plurality of grooves are configured to scatter light, and the light scattering structure comprises the plurality of grooves;
curing the packaging glue; and
removing the mold.
15. (Currently amended) The method according to claim 14, wherein a surface of at least one of the plurality of protrusions is formed by rotating a curve about an axis by 360°; and wherein the surface of the at least one of the plurality of protrusions is a portion of a spherical shape or a portion of an ellipsoidal shape.
17. (Currently amended) The method according to claim 14, wherein a plurality of sub-protrusions are further provided on a surface of at least one of the plurality of protrusions; and
wherein a surface of at least one of the plurality of sub-protrusions is formed by rotating a curve about an axis by 360°.
19. (Original) The method according to claim 17, wherein the surface of the at least one of the plurality of sub-protrusions is a portion of a ball shape.
20. (Original) The method according to claim 17, wherein the surface of the at least one of the plurality of sub-protrusions is spike-shaped.
21. (Currently amended) The method according to claim 14, wherein orthographic projections of the plurality of protrusions on a plane where the support is located are distributed in an array; or among the orthographic projections of the plurality of protrusions on the plane where the support is located, orthographic projections of four protrusions closest to each other are connected into a diamond shape; or
wherein the light-emitting chip is an LED chip.
23. (Currently amended) The method according to claim 13, wherein an inner surface of the support comprises a plurality of convex reflective surfaces, and the light scattering structure comprises the plurality of convex reflective surfaces; and
wherein at least one of the plurality of convex reflective surfaces is a portion of a spherical surface or a portion of a conical surface.
Zheng teaches:
injecting colloid into a mold with a convex or concave pattern on the inner surface, then baking and curing it and demolding it to form an independent light-enhancing layer; placing the support reflector cup 2 with encapsulating glue 5 into a mold with a hemispherical convex pattern on the inner surface, injecting silica gel, then baking and curing it and demolding it. (machine translation)
Su teaches: wherein a surface of at least one of the plurality of protrusions is formed by rotating a curve about an axis by 360°; and wherein the surface of the at least one of the plurality of protrusions is a portion of a spherical shape or a portion of an ellipsoidal shape. (machine translation)
Su teaches the formation of colloidal particles (see machine translation)
Su teaches: wherein the light-emitting chip is an LED chip (para 005 Machine translation)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Zheng, with Su, because the upper surface of the LED package glue is arranged a ray with a convex array intensifying layer can make the light produce refraction of various angles, it is good for reducing the LED chip is emitted from the surface of the transparent package colloid interface generating the total reflection loss, so as to improve the external quantum efficiency of the LED, so as to improve the light emitting efficiency. (para 36 Zheng- Machine translation)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. CN 101887939 A also teaches a similar invention as claimed.
MICHAEL . LEBENTRITT
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2893
/MICHAEL LEBENTRITT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893