Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (WO 2020/113148)(published June 4, 2020)(also published as US PGPUB 2021/0393229 and US Pat. No. 12,023,192)
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a CT scan apparatus comprising: a CT scan unit configured to capture N projection images of an electronic part (Shen, p. 2, Lines 17-20), and a CT image generation unit having an artificial intelligence-based AI model configured to receive the N projection images captured by the CT scan unit and output a CT tomography image of the electronic part (Shen, p. 2, Lines 19-24).
Shen further discloses the AI model is generated by learning N learning projection images, a first learning CT tomography image generated by the N learning projection images, and a second learning CT tomography image generated by M learning projection images (here, M > N) as learning data, wherein the AI model learns the second learning CT tomography image as output data. (Shen, p. 9, Line 27 through p. 10 Line 10)
Shen further discloses the AI model learns the N learning projection images and the first learning CT tomography image as input data (Shen, p. 9 Line 27 through p. 10 Line 10); and the CT image generation unit further comprises a preprocessing module configured to process the N projection images to generate a CT tomography image for input and input the CT tomography image to the AI model. (Shen, p. 4 Line 24 through p. 5 Line 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen.
Regarding claim 4, Shen lacks explicit teaching of N is 4, and M is 8 or more.
However, the operating parameters of the neural network, including the number of images required to generate a tomographic image (Shen discloses use of 1, 2, 5, and 10 views, see Shen pp. 3-4) as well as the number of images used to train the machine learning algorithm (Shen discloses a number in the hundreds, see Shen at p. 9) are variables known to affect the outcome of the process, and optimizing those known result-effective variables would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sufficient dataset for accurate reconstruction while minimizing processing and data utilization resources.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/30/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Shen does not teach the features of prior claims 2 and 3, now amended into claim 1. In response Applicant’s attention is directed to the training process discussed in pages 9 and 10 of Shen. Shen discloses “actually measuring a large number of paired X-ray projection and CT images for supervised training” before outlining a technique Shen believes to be superior. Non-preferred disclosures are disclosures. Furthermore, Shen steps from a large number of generated images for training purposes to allowing the neural network to operate on a sparse dataset for operation, thus satisfying the M greater than N limitation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884