Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shen et al. (WO 2020/113148)(published June 4, 2020)(also published as US PGPUB 2021/0393229 and US Pat. No. 12,023,192)
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses a CT scan apparatus comprising: a CT scan unit configured to capture N projection images of an electronic part (Shen, p. 2, Lines 17-20), and a CT image generation unit having an artificial intelligence-based AI model configured to receive the N projection images captured by the CT scan unit and output a CT tomography image of the electronic part (Shen, p. 2, Lines 19-24).
Regarding claim 2, Shen further discloses the AI model is generated by learning N learning projection images, a first learning CT tomography image generated by the N learning projection images, and a second learning CT tomography image generated by M learning projection images (here, M > N) as learning data, wherein the AI model learns the second learning CT tomography image as output data. (Shen, p. 9, Line 27 through p. 10 Line 10)
Regarding claim 3, Shen further discloses the AI model learns the N learning projection images and the first learning CT tomography image as input data (Shen, p. 9 Line 27 through p. 10 Line 10); and the CT image generation unit further comprises a preprocessing module configured to process the N projection images to generate a CT tomography image for input and input the CT tomography image to the AI model. (Shen, p. 4 Line 24 through p. 5 Line 6)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen.
Regarding claim 4, Shen lacks explicit teaching of N is 4, and M is 8 or more.
However, the operating parameters of the neural network, including the number of images required to generate a tomographic image (Shen discloses use of 1, 2, 5, and 10 views, see Shen pp. 3-4) as well as the number of images used to train the machine learning algorithm (Shen discloses a number in the hundreds, see Shen at p. 9) are variables known to affect the outcome of the process, and optimizing those known result-effective variables would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to generate a sufficient dataset for accurate reconstruction while minimizing processing and data utilization resources.
Conclusion
/EDWIN C GUNBERG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2884