DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Jia et al (US 2024/0241610 A1) in view of CN 115458392 A and Bao et al (CN 110753634 A).
The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Jia discloses providing a base substrate 10 [0123];
forming a dielectric layer group 200 [0129], 50 [0131] on the base substrate (Fig. 3), and performing dry etching (“patterning process” [0131], “etching process” [0133]) on the dielectric layer group by an inductively coupled plasma device [0135] to form a meshed groove 21 (Fig. 6, Fig. 8);
wherein the dielectric layer group comprises a first dielectric layer 200 and a second dielectric layer 50 stacked together; and the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer have different thicknesses (as depicted in Figure 6).
Jia discloses ICP etching of the first dielectric layer [0135], but only broadly discloses etching of the second dielectric layer [0134]. The second dielectric disclosed of Jia is an inorganic material such as silicon nitride [0132], which patterned using a photoresist mask [0133].
CN 115458392 A teaches that a hard mask of silicon nitride (page 4 of English translation, step S1) is useful to pattern by using an inductively coupled plasma device (pages 5 of English translation, step S5). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inductively coupled plasma device to etch the second dielectric layer in the method of Jia because CN 115458392 A teaches that such is a useful technique for patterning hard masks, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer ready for further patterning of underlying layers.
Jia discloses that the second dielectric layer comprises an organic glue such as synthetic organic compound SOC glue, but fails to explicitly disclose that the first dielectric material is made of epoxy, and has a thickness of 5.5 μm.
Bao teaches that organic glues may comprise an epoxy layer (page 6 of English translation, paragraph 8, which refers to Figure 2). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an epoxy as the organic glue in the method of Jia because Bao teaches that they are useful materials for glues, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a glued layers as desired by Jia.
As to the thickness of the epoxy layer, Jia fails to disclose the thickness. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited thickness in the method of Jia because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, and the courts have held that a change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.
As to claim 2, Jia discloses forming the first dielectric layer 200 on the base substrate 10 (Fig. 6, step S631, [0129]);
forming the second dielectric layer 50 (stacked on the first dielectric layer) on a side of the first dielectric layer away from the base substrate (step S632, [0131]);
forming a first photoresist layer 30 [0133] on a side of the second dielectric layer away from the first dielectric layer (Fig. 6, step S632), and exposing and developing the first photoresist layer to form a second mesh pattern (“mesh shape” [0133]);
performing dry etching on the second dielectric layer to remove exposed material of the second dielectric layer and form a second mesh pattern [0133];
taking the second mesh pattern as a mask to perform dry etching on dry etching on the first dielectric layer (S633, [0135]) to remove exposed material of the first dielectric layer to form a third mesh pattern, wherein the second mesh pattern and the third mesh pattern are stacked together to form the meshed groove 20; and
removing a residual part of the first photoresist layer (stripping, [0133]).
As to claim 3, Jia fails to disclose the composition of the etching gas. CN ’392 A teaches that during the ICP etching, a useful etching gas is oxygen gas (see description of “S6” and claim 3). Zhang also teaches to use oxygen gas for ICP etching of epoxy (example 8). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use oxygen gas for etching as cited in the method of Zhou because Zhang teaches that it is useful for etching epoxy materials, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer.
As to claims 6-7, Jia discloses that the second dielectric layer comprises an inorganic material such as silicon nitride [0132]. Jia fails to disclose the composition of the etching gas. CN ’392 A teaches that during the ICP etching, a useful etching gas is tetrafluoromethane (see description of “S5”). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use tetrafluoromethane for etching as cited in the method of Jia because CN ’392 A teaches that it is useful for etching silicon nitride and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer.
As to claim 8, Jia fails to disclose the thickness of the second dielectric layer. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited thickness in the modified method of Jia because the thickness can be optimized according to the etching conditions and desired etching results for a thickness to serve as an effective etch mask.
As to claim 9, Jia discloses forming through a coating process and curing as cited [0130].
As to claim 10, Jia fails to disclose how to deposit the silicon-nitride-second dielectric layer. In a different embodiment, Jia teaches to deposit silicon nitride by chemical vapor deposition [0060. CN ’392 A teaches that PECVD (plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition) is a useful technique for depositing silicon nitride (see description of “S1”). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plasma chemical vapor deposition device to deposit the second dielectric layer as cited in the method of Jia because CN ’392 A teaches that it is useful for deposition technique and such is expected to give the predictable result of a deposited layer.
As to claim 13, Jia discloses, subsequent to forming the meshed groove, the method further comprises:
removing the second mesh pattern (etching and stripping the photoresist so as to form the mesh pattern 21 [0133]);
forming a first metal film 400 on a side of the meshed groove away from the base substrate [0142] and taking the first metal film as a seed layer [0144]; and
electroplating the seed layer [0146] to enable growth of the first metal film; and
removing a part of the first metal film outside the meshed groove [0145] to form a metal mesh 40 (Fig. 7, [0146]).
As to claim 14, Jia discloses to form the first metal film of copper [0143].
As to claim 15, Jia discloses that the meshed groove has a width of 1.5 μm [0151]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide less than 1.5 μm in the method of Jia because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, and the courts have held that a change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (WO 2022/222123 A1) in view of CN 115458392 A and Zhang et al (CN 110261365 A).
For purposes of the rejection, reference is made to the U.S. equivalent, US 2024/0047863 A1, of WO 2022/222123 A1.
Zhou discloses a method for preparing a metal mesh (see abstract) with metal lines intersected each other (Fig. 7), comprising:
providing a base substrate 100 (Fig. 5, [0061]);
forming a dielectric layer group 200, 50 (Fig. 5, S121-S122, [0061], [0064]) on the base substrate; and
performing dry etching on the dielectric layer group 50 (‘etching” [0065]), 200 (S123, Fig. 5, [0067] “dry etching”) to form a meshed groove (because mask 50 has a first hollow out pattern 501 in a mesh shape, [0065]);
wherein the dielectric layer group comprises a first dielectric layer 200 and a second dielectric layer 50 stacked together (Fig. 5, S122), and the first dielectric layer and the second dielectric layer have different thicknesses (as depicted in Figure 5, S122),
wherein the first dielectric layer is made of epoxy [0062], and has a thickness of 4 μm or more [0063], which includes the cited thickness of 5.5 μm.
However, Zhou fails to explicitly disclose the cited thickness, even though 4 μm or more is close to the cited value of 5.5 μm and within the range described by Zhou, and would perform in the same manner as a metal mesh at 5.5 μm. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention as an obvious matter of design choice to increase the size to 5.5 μm in the method of Zhou, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.
Zhou fails to disclose that the dry etching process is performed by an inductively coupled plasma device. Rather, Zhou only broadly recites a “dry etching” process. The second dielectric layer comprises organic materials such as resin materials including polyimide, epoxy, acryl, polyester, photoresist, polyacrylate, polyamide, siloxane, and the like [0062]. The second dielectric layer is patterned by using a mask 50 such as silicon nitride [0065].
CN 115458392 A teaches that materials such as polyimide (step S2) may be patterned by dry etching using an ICP (“inductively coupled plasma”) device (step S6). CN 392 A teaches that the polyimide has improved verticality (“Advantage”) when used in combination with a silicon nitride mask. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inductively coupled plasma device in the method of Zhou because CN 115458392 A teaches that to do so is a useful technique for patterning polyimide, with the advantage of verticality, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer.
CN 11545392 A discloses to etch polyimide, but fails to explicitly disclose epoxy. A person having ordinary skill in the art would expect other organic materials like polyimide such as epoxy to be etchable by an inductively coupled plasma (ICP) device. Zhang teaches that using an inductively couples plasma device is useful for dry etching epoxy (example 8). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inductively couples plasma device to form a meshed groove in the modified method of Zhou because Zhang teaches that such is a useful technique for etching epoxy materials.
As to claim 2, Zhou discloses
forming the first dielectric layer 200 on the base substrate 100 (Fig. 5, step S121);
forming the second dielectric layer 50 (stacked on the first dielectric layer) on a side of the first dielectric layer away from the base substrate (step S122, [0064]);
forming a first photoresist layer (“In some examples, step S122 may include successively depositing the third dielectric material layer [50] and a photoresist on a side of the second dielectric material layer 200 away from the base substrate” [0065]) on a side of the second dielectric layer away from the first dielectric layer [0065], and exposing and developing the first photoresist layer to form a second mesh pattern 501 [0065];
performing dry etching on the second dielectric layer to remove exposed material of the second dielectric layer and form a second mesh pattern (“…then performing the etching, and finally, stripping the photoresist to form the pattern of the third dielectric layer 50 including the first hollow out pattern 501 in a mesh shape” [0065]);
taking the second mesh pattern as a mask to perform dry etching on dry etching on the first dielectric layer (S123, [0066]) to remove exposed material of the first dielectric layer to form a third mesh pattern (as shown in Fig. 5, step S123), wherein the second mesh pattern and the third mesh pattern are stacked together to form the meshed groove [0067]; and
removing a residual part of the first photoresist layer (stripping, [0065]).
Zhou fails to disclose etching by an inductively coupled plasma device. Rather, Zhou simply discloses dry etching. The discussion of CN 115458392 A and Zhang from above is repeated here. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform dry etching by the inductively couple plasma device in the modified method of Zhou because CN 115458392 A teaches that to do so is a useful technique for patterning polyimide, with the advantage of verticality, Zhang teaches that ICP is useful for etching epoxy materials, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer.
As to claim 3, Zhou discloses that the first dielectric layer comprises an organic material such as polyimide [0062]. Zhou fails to disclose the composition of the etching gas. CN ’392 A teaches that during the ICP etching, a useful etching gas is oxygen gas (see description of “S6” and claim 3). Zhang also teaches to use oxygen gas for ICP etching of epoxy (example 8). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use oxygen gas for etching as cited in the method of Zhou because Zhang teaches that it is useful for etching epoxy materials, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer.
As to claims 6-7, Zhou discloses that the second dielectric layer comprises an inorganic material such as silicon nitride [0065]. Zhou fails to disclose the composition of the etching gas. CN ’392 A teaches that during the ICP etching, a useful etching gas is tetrafluoromethane (see description of “S5”). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use tetrafluoromethane for etching as cited in the method of Zhou because CN ’392 A teaches that it is useful for etching silicon nitride and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer.
As to claim 8, Zhou fails to disclose the thickness of the second dielectric layer. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited thickness in the modified method of Zhou because the thickness can be optimized according to the etching conditions and desired etching results for a thickness to serve as an effective etch mask.
As to claim 9, Zhou discloses forming through a coating process and curing as cited [0063].
As to claim 10, Zhou fails to disclose how to deposit the silicon-nitride-second dielectric layer. CN ’392 A teaches that PECVD (plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition) is a useful technique for depositing silicon nitride (see description of “S1”). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a plasma chemical vapor deposition device to deposit the second dielectric layer as cited in the method of Zhou because CN ’392 A teaches that it is useful for deposition technique and such is expected to give the predictable result of a deposited layer.
As to claim 13, Zhou discloses, subsequent to forming the meshed groove, the method further comprises:
removing the second mesh pattern (etching and stripping the photoresist so as to form the metal mesh 40 [0074]);
forming a first metal film on a side of the meshed groove away from the base substrate [0075], [0078] and taking the first metal film as a seed layer [0077]; and
electroplating the seed layer [0077] to enable growth of the first metal film; and
removing a part of the first metal film outside the meshed groove [0079]-[0080] to form a metal mesh.
As to claim 14, Zhou discloses to form the first metal film of copper [0076].
As to claim 15, Zhou discloses that the meshed groove has a width of not greater than 1.5 μm [0070].
As to claim 16, Zhou discloses a method for preparing an antenna [0102], comprising:
forming a first dielectric substrate 100 (Fig. 2, [0057]) comprising a first surface (upper surface) and a second surface (lower surface) opposite to each other in a thickness direction of the first dielectric substrate (as depicted in Fig. 2, [0051]);
forming a reference electrode layer 102 on the first surface of the first dielectric substrate (Fig. 1, Fig.2, [0051]); and
forming a radiation part 101 on the second surface of the first dielectric substrate (Fig. 1, Fig.2, [0051]); wherein
at least one of the reference electrode layer or the radiation part comprises the metal mesh prepared by the method according to claim 1 [0054].
As to claim 17, as depicted in Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, the reference electrode layer and the radiation part are both metal meshes, and orthographic projections of hollowed-out portions are overlapped, as cited.
As to claims 18-20, see the rejection of claim 2 (first dielectric sublayer 100, first bonding layer 200, and a second dielectric layer sublayer 50 stacked together, metal meshes forming the reference electrode and radiation part on opposite sides (Fig. 2) and polyimide organic material (see rejection of claim 4 above).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou et al (WO 2022/222123 A1) in view of CN 115458392 A and Zhang et al (CN 110261365 A), as applied to claim 2 and further in view of Haba et al (US 2007/0287289 A1).
As to claim 11, Zhou discloses forming a first metal film on the base substrate (broadly interpreted, any overlying layer is also “on” the substrate) [0075] and that the first metal film may be formed as a seed layer (S142, [0077]), and
subsequent to forming the meshed groove, the method further comprises:
removing the second mesh pattern (etching and stripping the photoresist so as to form the metal mesh 40 [0074]);
electroplating the seed layer [0077] to enable growth of the first metal film in the groove; and
removing the dielectric layer and a part of the first metal film on a side of the dielectric layer close to the base substrate (the metal layer etching is not infinitely selective, and will remove the underlying dielectric layer to some extent, [0079]-[0080]) to form a metal mesh.
Zhou fails to disclose that the first metal film is formed prior to forming the dielectric layer on the base substrate. Zhou electroplates the meshed groove pattern without using an underlying seed layer. Haba teaches that electroplating through a patterned mask using a metal seed layer deposited on the substrate before forming the patterned mask is a known and useful technique. More specifically, Haba teaches to
providing a base substrate 21 [0047];
forming a first metal film 22 on the base substrate, and taking the first metal film as a seed layer (Fig. 2a, [0047]); and
electroplating the seed layer to enable growth of the first metal film in the groove (Fig. 2c, [0047]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the seed layer prior to forming the dielectric layer in the modified method of Zhou because Haba teaches that this is a known and useful technique for electroplating, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a plated metal film.
As to claim 12, Zhou discloses to form the first metal film of copper [0076].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-10 and 13-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11 and 20 of 18/016,707 (“Jia”) in view of CN 115458392 and Bao et al (CN 110753634 A).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims are fully encompassed by Jia. Jia discloses providing a base substrate (claim 1, line 3, claims filed 3/8/26); forming a dielectric layer group (second dielectric material layer, third dielectric material layer) on the base substrate (claim 1, lines 16-21), and performing dry etching on the dielectric layer (claim 4) to form a meshed groove (claim 1, line 5 “mesh shape”). The discussion of CN 115458392 and Bao et al from above is repeated here.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an inductively coupled plasma device to etch the dielectric layer group in the method of Jia because CN 115458392 A and Bao teach that such is a useful technique for patterning hard masks and dielectric layers, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a patterned layer ready for further processing.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include an epoxy as the organic glue in the method of Jia because Bao teaches that they are useful materials for glues, and such is expected to give the predictable result of a glued layers as desired by Jia.
As to the thickness of the epoxy layer, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the cited thickness in the method of Jia in order to optimize the thickness for best results because such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component, and the courts have held that a change of size is generally recognized as being within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 IV.A.
As to claims 2-15, see Jia at claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11, 20.
Claims 1 and 1-2, 11-15 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1, 4-5, 7, 9-11 and 20 of commonly assigned Jia. Specifically, see the rejection above.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned Jia, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments, see page 7, filed June 25, 2026, with respect to the 35 USC 112 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of the claims under 35 USC 112 has been withdrawn.
The 35 USC 102 rejection and double patenting rejection over Liang is withdrawn because Liang does not disclose a dielectric layer group. Rather, Liang discloses a single dielectric layer (abstract; claim 1, lines 10-15).
The 35 USC 102 rejection over Jia is withdrawn in view of the claim amendments. The claims are now rejected under 35 USC 103 over Jia and Zhou, variously in view CN ’392A, Zhang et al, Bao et al and Haba, and double patenting over Jia in view of CN ’392 A and Bao et al.
Zhang et al (CN 110261365 A) is newly cited to show ICP etching of epoxy.
Bao et al (CN 110753634 A) is newly cited to show that organic glue layers may comprise epoxy.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed June 25, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Bao and Zhang are newly applied to teach the newly added limitations. As to the argument about epoxy thickness, Zhao teaches 4 μm or greater, which fairly teaches the cited range as described in the rejection. As to the argument about the thickness of 5.5 μm satisfying etch loss radius process requirement, this is not taken as an unexpected result. Applicant appears to argue unobviousness based on unexpected results of etch loss radius, but this is not clear. Nonetheless, the modified method of Jia and Zhao use ICP etching, which is expected to have the same benefit of narrow line width as in the instant invention. Such advantages are well known in the art, as ICP is also a well-known technique to obtain fine etching. Zhang et al (CN 110261365 A) is newly cited to show ICP etching of epoxy in particular.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANITA K ALANKO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1713