Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 6, 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bok (20210193769).
Regarding claim 1, Bok teaches a wiring substrate (fig. 7: 10), comprising:
a substrate (fig. 8: 100);
a plurality of metal traces (fig. 8: 1211; please note that a metal trace is taken to mean a thin conductive path made of metal) disposed on a side of the substrate; and
an insulative layer (fig. 8: 119) disposed on the same side of the substrate as the plurality of metal traces,
wherein the insulative layer is disposed in a region other than the metal traces (please see 119 is in areas wherein 1211 is absent) and on a portion of surfaces of the metal traces (please see 119 atop 1211),
a distance between a surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer and the substrate is greater than a distance between a surface, away from the substrate, of the metal trace and the substrate (please see fig. 8 which shows this relationship between 119 and 1211), the surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer is capable of reflecting light (par. 162 and 222 teach the pixel defining layers can be made of reflecting material which allows for controlled directing of emittance), and a first aperture is formed in the insulative layer, the first aperture exposing a portion of the surface of each of the metal traces (please see 119 being atop a surface of 1211 in fig. 8).
Regarding claim 2, Bok teaches a wiring substrate according to claim 1, wherein a material of the insulative layer comprises white ink, and the insulative layer covers the metal traces at locations other than the first aperture (par. 162 and 222; as seen in 119 covers multiple surfaces of 1211).
Regarding claim 6, Bok teaches a wiring substrate according to claim 1, wherein each of the metal traces comprises a body metal layer and an alloy layer that are stacked, the alloy layer being disposed on a surface, away from the substrate, of the body metal layer (par. 178 and 179).
Regarding claim 9, Bok teaches a wiring substrate according to claim 1, further comprising: an inorganic protective layer (fig. 8: 150; par. 171), wherein the inorganic protective layer covers the metal traces and an exposed surface of the substrate, the insulative layer is disposed on a side, facing away from the substrate, of the inorganic protective layer, and a second aperture is formed in the inorganic protective layer, an overlapping region being present between an orthographic projection of the second aperture on the substrate and an orthographic projection of the first aperture on the substrate (please see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 10, Bok teaches a wiring substrate according to claim 9, wherein a material of the inorganic protective layer comprises one or more of silicon oxide, silicon nitride, or silicon oxynitride (par. 171).
Regarding claim 12, Bok teaches a method for preparing a wiring substrate, comprising forming a plurality of metal traces on a side of a substrate; and forming an insulative layer on the side, on which the plurality of metal traces are formed, of the substrate (please see fig. 8 which shows 119 must be formed atop 1211),
wherein the insulative layer is disposed in a region other than the metal traces and on a portion of surfaces of the metal traces, a distance between a surface of a side, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer and the substrate is greater than a distance between a surface of a side, distal form the substrate, of the metal trace and the substrate, the surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer is capable of reflecting light, and a first aperture is formed in the insulative layer, the first aperture exposing a portion of the surface of each of the metal traces (please see rejection of claim 1).
Claims 1-3, 12, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Takehara (20160260878).
Regarding claim 1, Takehara teaches a wiring substrate, comprising:
a substrate (fig. 4B: 20);
a plurality of metal traces (fig. 4B: 212) disposed on a side of the substrate; and
an insulative layer (fig. 4B: 25 + 26) disposed on the same side of the substrate as the plurality of metal traces,
wherein the insulative layer is disposed in a region other than the metal traces and on a portion of surfaces of the metal traces (please see fig. 4B),
a distance between a surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer and the substrate is greater than a distance between a surface, away from the substrate, of the metal trace and the substrate (please see fig. 4B), the surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer is capable of reflecting light (par. 19 teaches 25 + 26 is a white resist), and a first aperture is formed in the insulative layer, the first aperture exposing a portion of the surface of each of the metal traces (par. 19 teaches 25 + 26 is a white resist).
Regarding claim 2, Takehara teaches a wiring substrate according to claim 1, wherein a material of the insulative layer comprises white ink, and the insulative layer covers the metal traces at locations other than the first aperture (par. 19 and fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 3, Takehara teaches a wiring substrate according to claim 1, wherein the insulative layer comprises a photoresist layer and a reflective layer; wherein the photoresist layer is disposed in the region other than the metal traces, and the first aperture comprises a first sub-aperture, the first sub-aperture running through the photoresist layer; and the reflective layer is at least disposed on a surface of a side, away from the substrate, of the photoresist layer (par. 19 and 20 teach white photoresist has reflective properties).
Regarding claim 12, Takehara teaches a method for preparing a wiring substrate, comprising forming a plurality of metal traces (fig. 4B: 21) on a side of a substrate; and forming an insulative layer (fig. 4B: 26) on the side, on which the plurality of metal traces are formed, of the substrate,
wherein the insulative layer is disposed in a region other than the metal traces and on a portion of surfaces of the metal traces, a distance between a surface of a side, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer and the substrate is greater than a distance between a surface of a side, distal form the substrate, of the metal trace and the substrate, the surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer is capable of reflecting light, and a first aperture is formed in the insulative layer, the first aperture exposing a portion of the surface of each of the metal traces (please see fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 19, Takehara teaches a light-emitting panel, comprising:
a wiring substrate (fig. 4B: 2), and a plurality of light-emitting diode chips (please see LED chips in fig. 3B and 4B), wherein; the wiring substrate comprises: a substrate (fig. 4B: 20); a plurality of metal traces (fig. 4B: 21) disposed on a side of the substrate; and an insulative layer (fig. 4B 26) disposed on the same side of the substrate as the plurality of metal traces, wherein the insulative layer is disposed in a region other than the metal traces and on a portion of surfaces of the metal traces, a distance between a surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer and the substrate is greater than a distance between a surface, away from the substrate, of the metal trace and the substrate, the surface, away from the substrate, of the insulative layer is capable of reflecting light, and a first aperture is formed in the insulative layer, the first aperture exposing a portion of the surface of each of the metal traces; and the plurality of light-emitting diode chips are correspondingly connected to the plurality of metal traces (please see fig. 4B).
Regarding claim 20, Takehara teaches a display device, comprising: the light-emitting panel as defined in claim 19 (please see fig. 4B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent on claim 4.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-17 are objected to as being dependent on claim 13.
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion,
/CALEB E HENRY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2818