CTNF 18/698,346 CTNF 85079 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/3/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman et al., US 2020/0411786 . Regarding claim 1, Boardman teaches display device comprising: a blue light-emitting layer composed of an organic light-emitting diode or a quantum-dot light-emitting diode; and a blue-wavelength conversion layer, wherein the blue light-emitting layer is configured to emit first blue light having a peak wavelength of 455 nm or less, the blue-wavelength conversion layer is provided over at least the blue light-emitting layer and is configured to convert the first blue light into second blue light having a peak wavelength that is longer than the peak wavelength of the first blue light and is 490 nm or less. Although Boardman is silent as to the exact ratio claimed of energy conversion efficiency and photopic luminous efficiency, it is the position of the examiner that since the materials of the prior art are similar to that of the presently claimed device, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to optimize the device to satisfy the claimed ratio. Regarding claim 2, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the blue-wavelength conversion layer is cadmium-free ([0014]). Regarding claim 3, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the blue-wavelength conversion layer contains a first quantum dot material, and the first quantum dot material has a core made of any of InP, ZnSe, ZnSeTe, and ZnTe (claim 10). Regarding claim 4, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the blue light-emitting layer is cadmium-free ([0014]). Regarding claim 5, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches the blue light-emitting layer contains a second quantum dot material, and the second quantum dot material has a core made of any of ZnSe, ZnSeTe, and ZnTe (claim 10). Regarding claim 6, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a peak wavelength of the second blue light is longer than 455 nm, and Page 3 of 7 in a spectrum of light that is emitted by a blue light-emitting portion having the blue light-emitting layer and the blue-wavelength conversion layer, spectral radiance of light at a peak that is longer than wavelength 455 nm resulting from the second blue light is larger than spectral radiance of light at a peak that is equal to or less than wavelength 455 nm resulting from the first blue light ([0048]). Regarding claim 8, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1 and further teaches a red light-emitting layer (Figure 12, 204a) configured to emit red light, a green light-emitting layer (204b) configured to emit green light, and the blue light-emitting layer (204c) are individually provided in a cross-sectional view of the display device ([0065-0066]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boardman in view of Fujita, US 2014/0312339 . Regarding claim 7, Boardman teaches the invention as explained above regarding claim 1, but is silent as to the light emitting spectrum not including a peak that is equal to or less than wavelength 455 resulting from the first blue light. However, in the same field of endeavor of display devices, Fujita teaches that a blue color filter helps to prevent deterioration of emission quality ([0133]). Further, it would have been well known to those of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that color filters could be used to adjust wavelength emission peaks to desired results. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize a color filter in the Boardman device in order to achieve desired emission colors and avoid undesirable emission peak wavelengths . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to teach or suggest the height of the blue wavelength conversion layer over the blue light emitting layer, and at least a part of a height of the blue wavelength conversion layer over the particular light emitting layer is lower than a height at a peak of the bank . Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MARY-ELLEN BOWMAN whose telephone number is (571)270-5383. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday; 7:00 am-5:00 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, James Greece can be reached at (571) 272-3711. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. MARY ELLEN BOWMAN Examiner Art Unit 2875 /MARY ELLEN BOWMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/698,346 Page 2 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/698,346 Page 3 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/698,346 Page 4 Art Unit: 2875 Application/Control Number: 18/698,346 Page 5 Art Unit: 2875