This action is responsive to Applicant's amendments/remarks filed 12/11/2025.
Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are currently pending and under examination.
The rejection of claims 1-3, 5, 8-14, and 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2020/0067101 A1, hereinafter Pan) in view of Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1, hereinafter Kim) is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
The rejection of claims 6 and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2020/0067101 A1, hereinafter Pan) in view of Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Long (“Bifunctional polyvinylpyrrolidone generates sulfur-rich copolymer and acts as “residence” of polysulfide for advanced lithium-sulfur battery”, Long et al., Chemical Engineering Journal 414:128799, 2021, hereinafter Long) is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
The rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan (US 2020/0067101 A1, hereinafter Pan) in view of Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1, hereinafter Kim), and further in view of Zhamu (US 2019/0260015 A1, hereinafter Zhamu) is withdrawn in view of the above amendment.
The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1, hereinafter Kim) in view of Long (“Bifunctional polyvinylpyrrolidone generates sulfur-rich copolymer and acts as “residence” of polysulfide for advanced lithium-sulfur battery”, Long et al., Chemical Engineering Journal 414:128799, 2021, hereinafter Long).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Kim teaches a carbon nanotube dispersion comprising carbon nanotubes, a polymer dispersant containing an amine, a phenolic compound including two or more aromatic rings, and a solvent ([0012], claim 1).
Kim teaches (para [0040]) that the polymer dispersant can be polyvinylpyrrolidone which comprises an amide group, which reads on the claimed first dispersant comprising an amide group.
Kim teaches (para [0043]) that the phenolic compound can be tannic acid which comprises a hydroxyl group, which reads on the claimed second dispersant comprising a hydroxyl group.
Kim also teaches that sulfur as an additive is further included in the dispersion to improve life characteristics of a battery, to restrain the decrease of battery capacity, and to improve battery discharge capacity ([0085]).
Kim further teaches that the carbon nanotube dispersion is used in an electrode slurry for a lithium secondary battery ([0064]).
Kim does not teach that a portion or the entirety of the first dispersant is substituted with sulfur by a chemical bond.
However, Long teaches a sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVPS) copolymer which is synthesized by using sulfur powder as raw material to generate chemically stable copolymer (abstract; Fig. 1(g)). Long also teaches that the sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVPS) copolymer has a strong chemical confinement of C-S bond (abstract), and has a same lithiation process as sulfur (p. 6, left column; Fig. 4 (a) and (b)); thus, the sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVPS) copolymer is added to prevent the lithiation of sulfur and prevent the dissolution of polysulfides in a lithium secondary battery (abstract; p. 1, right column, 1st para).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make a carbon nanotube dispersion comprising carbon nanotubes, polyvinylpyrrolidone as a polymer dispersant, a phenolic compound, a solvent, and sulfur as taught by Kim, further comprising a sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone copolymer as taught by Long, in order to prevent the lithiation of sulfur in lithium battery with a reasonable expectation of success, because a sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVPS) copolymer has a strong chemical confinement of C-S bond, and has a same lithiation process as sulfur, thereby the sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone (PVPS) copolymer is added to prevent the lithiation of sulfur in a lithium secondary battery as recognized by Long.
Thus, in the carbon nanotube dispersion as taught by the combination of Kim and Long, the combination of polyvinylpyrrolidone and sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone copolymer reads on the claimed portion of the first dispersant being substituted with sulfur by a chemical bond. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches that a carbon nanotube dispersion comprising carbon nanotubes, a polymer dispersant containing an amine, and a phenolic compound containing two or more aromatic rings, and a solvent, wherein the polymer dispersant and the phenolic compound are in a weight ratio of 100:1 to 100:90 ([0012], [0013]), the polymer dispersant can be polyvinylpyrrolidone ([0040]), and the phenolic compound can be tannic acid ([0043]).
Kim teaches that the dispersion comprises 11 parts by weight to 100 parts by weight of the combination of the polymer dispersant and the phenolic compound based on 100 parts by weight of the carbon nanotube ([0049]).
Kim teaches that the carbon nanotube is in an amount of 2 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the carbon nanotube dispersion ([0033]).
Kim also teaches that sulfur as an additive can be in an amount of 0.1 wt % to 5 wt % based on the total weight of the electrolyte ([0085]).
Thus, the sulfur of Kim can be in an amount of about 0.5 wt % to 5 wt % based on the total weight of a solid content of the dispersion, which falls within the claimed range of “0.01 to 10 wt%”.
The sulfur of Kim can be in an amount of about 2 wt % to 20 wt % based on the total content of oxygen (O) and nitrogen (N) in a solid content of the dispersion, which falls within the claimed range of “0.01% to 20% by weight”.
Regarding claim 5, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to optimize the proportion of the sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone in the total amount of polyvinylpyrrolidone and sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone, in order to prevent the lithiation of sulfur via a routine optimization thereby obtaining the present invention with a reasonable expectation of success, because the sulfur-polyvinylpyrrolidone is added to prevent the lithiation of sulfur in a lithium secondary battery as recognized by Long. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 6, "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed Fourier-transform infrared (FTIR) spectrum peak of the first dispersant would flow naturally from the teaching of the combination of Kim and Long, because the teaching of the combination of Kim and Long provides substantially the same first dispersant that is a portion of polyvinylpyrrolidone being substituted with sulfur by a chemical bond as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches (para [0023]) that the phenolic compound (the claimed second dispersant) comprises an aromatic ring.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches that the polymer dispersant containing an amine (the claimed first dispersant) and the phenolic compound containing two or more aromatic rings (the claimed second dispersant) are in a weight ratio of 100:1 to 100:90 (para [0023]), which overlaps with the claimed range of “1:10 to 10:1”.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches (para [0031]) that the carbon nanotube has a BET specific surface area of from 30 m2/g to 200 m2/g, which falls within the claimed range of “10 to 5,000 m2/g”.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches (para [0032]) that the carbon nanotube has an average particle size (D50) of from 3 μm to 300 μm, which overlaps with the claimed range of “0.1 to 20 µm”.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches ([0056]) that a method for preparing a carbon nanotube dispersion comprises mixing carbon nanotubes, a polymer dispersant containing an amine, and a phenolic compound containing two or more aromatic rings.
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches that an electrode slurry composition comprises the carbon nanotube dispersion, an electrode active material, and a binder ([0066]).
Regarding claims 14-16, Kim teaches (para [0073], [0074], [0076], [0077]) that an electrode comprises an electrode active material layer formed by the electrode slurry composition. Kim teaches (para [0076], [0077], [0086]) that the electrode can be a negative electrode. Kim teaches (para [0086]) that a secondary battery comprises the electrode.
2. Claims 1-3 and 5-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1, hereinafter Kim) in view of Yoshiwara (US 2016/0340521 A1, hereinafter Yoshiwara).
Regarding claims 1 and 7, the limitation “polycarboxylic amide” in claim 7 is interpreted as a polymer containing both a carboxylic acid group and an amide group.
Kim teaches a carbon nanotube dispersion comprising carbon nanotubes, a polymer dispersant containing an amine, a phenolic compound including two or more aromatic rings, and a solvent ([0012], claim 1).
Kim teaches that the polymer dispersant can be polyacrylamide ([0040]), which reads on the claimed first dispersant comprising an amide group.
Kim teaches that the phenolic compound contains one or more hydroxyl groups ([0041]), which reads on the claimed second dispersant comprising a hydroxyl group.
Kim teaches that the interaction between the aromatic ring of the phenolic compound and the carbon nanotube, and the interaction due to the hydrogen bond between the hydroxyl group (—OH) of the phenolic compound and the polymer dispersant containing an amine keep appropriate balance, thereby restraining the viscosity change over time of the carbon nanotube dispersion ([0042]).
Kim also teaches that sulfur as an additive is further included in the dispersion to improve life characteristics of a battery, to restrain the decrease of battery capacity, and to improve battery discharge capacity ([0085]).
Kim further teaches that the carbon nanotube dispersion is used in an electrode slurry for a lithium secondary battery ([0064]).
Kim does not teach that a portion or the entirety of the first dispersant is substituted with sulfur by a chemical bond.
However, Yoshiwara teaches a carbon nanotube dispersion comprising carbon nanotubes (A), a polymeric dispersant (B) including a sulfonic acid group-containing monomeric unit and an ethylenically unsaturated aliphatic carboxylic acid monomeric unit, and a solvent (C) ([0015], claim 1), wherein the sulfonic acid group-containing monomeric unit is preferably acrylamide-t-butyl-sulfonic acid ([0059]), and the ethylenically unsaturated aliphatic carboxylic acid monomeric unit is preferably acrylic acid ([0064]).
Thus, the polymeric dispersant including acrylamide-t-butyl-sulfonic acid monomer and acrylic acid monomer in Yoshiwara reads on the claimed first dispersant being polycarboxylic amide, and the claimed first dispersant being substituted with sulfur by a chemical bond, and also reads on the polymer dispersant containing an amine as taught by Kim.
Yoshiwara also teaches that when the polymeric dispersant includes both a sulfonic acid group-containing monomer and a carboxylic acid group-containing monomer, the aggregation of carbon nanotubes can be inhibited ([0014]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the polymeric dispersant including acrylamide-t-butyl-sulfonic acid monomer and acrylic acid monomer as taught by Yoshiwara as the polymer dispersant in Kim, in order to inhibit the aggregation of carbon nanotubes and also restrain the viscosity change over time of the carbon nanotube dispersion with a reasonable expectation of success, because the polymeric dispersant including both a sulfonic acid group-containing monomer (i.e. acrylamide-t-butyl-sulfonic acid monomer) and a carboxylic acid group-containing monomer (i.e. acrylic acid monomer) inhibits the aggregation of carbon nanotubes as recognized by Yoshiwara, and also because the interaction between the aromatic ring of the phenolic compound and the carbon nanotube, and the interaction due to the hydrogen bond between the hydroxyl group (—OH) of the phenolic compound and the polymer dispersant containing an amine keep appropriate balance, thereby restraining the viscosity change over time of the carbon nanotube dispersion as recognized by Kim, the polymeric dispersant including acrylamide-t-butyl-sulfonic acid monomer and acrylic acid monomer as taught by Yoshiwara still contains an amine group. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, Kim teaches that a carbon nanotube dispersion comprising carbon nanotubes, a polymer dispersant containing an amine, and a phenolic compound containing two or more aromatic rings, and a solvent, wherein the polymer dispersant and the phenolic compound are in a weight ratio of 100:1 to 100:90 ([0012], [0013]), the polymer dispersant can be polyacrylamide ([0040]), and the phenolic compound can be tannic acid ([0043]).
Kim teaches that the dispersion comprises 11 parts by weight to 100 parts by weight of the combination of the polymer dispersant and the phenolic compound based on 100 parts by weight of the carbon nanotube ([0049]).
Kim teaches that the carbon nanotube is in an amount of 2 parts by weight to 10 parts by weight based on 100 parts by weight of the carbon nanotube dispersion ([0033]).
Kim also teaches that sulfur as an additive can be in an amount of 0.1 wt % to 5 wt % based on the total weight of the electrolyte ([0085]).
Thus, the sulfur of Kim can be in an amount of about 0.5 wt % to 5 wt % based on the total weight of a solid content of the dispersion, which falls within the claimed range of “0.01 to 10 wt%”.
The sulfur of Kim can be in an amount of about 2 wt % to 20 wt % based on the total content of oxygen (O) and nitrogen (N) in a solid content of the dispersion, which falls within the claimed range of “0.01% to 20% by weight”.
Regarding claim 5, the polymeric dispersant including acrylamide-t-butyl-sulfonic acid monomer and acrylic acid monomer in Yoshiwara reads on the claimed proportion of the first dispersant substituted with sulfur in the first dispersant being 100 mol%.
Regarding claim 6, "Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established." In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect that the claimed Fourier-transform infrared (FTIR) spectrum peak of the first dispersant would flow naturally from the teaching of Yoshiwara, because the teaching of Yoshiwara provides substantially the same first dispersant (i.e. polycarboxylic amide) substituted with sulfur by a chemical bond as claimed. Therefore, the invention as a whole would be obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 8, Kim teaches (para [0023]) that the phenolic compound (the claimed second dispersant) comprises an aromatic ring.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches that the polymer dispersant containing an amine (the claimed first dispersant) and the phenolic compound containing two or more aromatic rings (the claimed second dispersant) are in a weight ratio of 100:1 to 100:90 (para [0023]), which overlaps with the claimed range of “1:10 to 10:1”.
Regarding claim 10, Kim teaches (para [0031]) that the carbon nanotube has a BET specific surface area of from 30 m2/g to 200 m2/g, which falls within the claimed range of “10 to 5,000 m2/g”.
Regarding claim 11, Kim teaches (para [0032]) that the carbon nanotube has an average particle size (D50) of from 3 μm to 300 μm, which overlaps with the claimed range of “0.1 to 20 µm”.
Regarding claim 12, Kim teaches ([0056]) that a method for preparing a carbon nanotube dispersion comprises mixing carbon nanotubes, a polymer dispersant containing an amine, and a phenolic compound containing two or more aromatic rings.
Regarding claim 13, Kim teaches that an electrode slurry composition comprises the carbon nanotube dispersion, an electrode active material, and a binder ([0066]).
Regarding claims 14-16, Kim teaches (para [0073], [0074], [0076], [0077]) that an electrode comprises an electrode active material layer formed by the electrode slurry composition. Kim teaches (para [0076], [0077], [0086]) that the electrode can be a negative electrode. Kim teaches (para [0086]) that a secondary battery comprises the electrode.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the prior rejections have been considered but are moot, because the arguments do not apply to all of the references being used in the current rejection.
As stated above, claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1) in view of Long (“Bifunctional polyvinylpyrrolidone generates sulfur-rich copolymer and acts as “residence” of polysulfide for advanced lithium-sulfur battery”, Long et al., Chemical Engineering Journal 414:128799, 2021).
Claim 1 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0246028 A1) in view of Yoshiwara (US 2016/0340521 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIAJIA JANIE CAI/Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761