CTNF 18/698,597 CTNF 84591 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Examiner acknowledges receipt of the preliminary amendment filed 4/4/2024 in which claims 1-20 were cancelled and claims 21-40 were added. Claims 21-40 are pending and presented for examination. Specification 06-31 AIA The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification. Drawings The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the subject matter of claim 22, specifically where the angle between the top surface of the anode and the horizontal plane (which in Fig. 1 is labeled as angle α) is within 30° and 50° must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Fig. 1 shows the angle α to be greater than 90°. The angle between the bottom surface of the anode and the horizontal plane could be within the claimed range of 30° and 50°. No new matter should be entered. 06-22 Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 9-28, the claim refers to singular “first portion”, “second portion”, “third portion”, and “thin film transistor” when a plurality of each respective item is claimed in lines 5-8. Therefore, in order to maintain proper antecedent basis, each of the singular items mentioned previously should be changed (respectively depending on the particular item in question, i.e., instead of first, it would be the second portion or the third portion, etc.) to –each of the first portions– or –a first portion of the plurality of first portions– (and then change to the portion for the following mentioning of each item) or something along those lines . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 22-30 and 33-36 are objected to because of the following informalities: the claims respectively refer to singular “first portion”, “second portion”, “third portion”, and/or “thin film transistor” when a plurality of each respective item is claimed in lines 5-8 of claim 21. Depending upon how the issues in paragraph 6 are addressed, claims 22-30 and 33-36 should be modified accordingly . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 7-26, the claim refers to singular “first portion”, “second portion”, “third portion”, and “thin film transistor” when a plurality of each respective item is claimed in lines 3-6. Therefore, in order to maintain proper antecedent basis, each of the singular items mentioned previously should be changed (respectively depending on the particular item in question, i.e., instead of first, it would be the second portion or the third portion, etc.) to –each of the first portions– or –a first portion of the plurality of first portions– (and then change to the portion for the following mentioning of each item) or something along those lines . Appropriate correction is required. 07-29-01 AIA Claim 39 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim refers to singular “first portion”, “second portion”, and “third portion” when a plurality of each respective item is claimed in lines 3-6 of claim 37. Depending upon how the issues in paragraph 8 are addressed, claim 39 should be modified accordingly . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. Claims 21-36 and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 21 recites in lines 6-7 that the “planarization layer [is] located on a side away from the driving circuit layer, of the first substrate” and in lines 16-17 that “a first through hole [penetrates] through the thickness of the first portion.” Claim 21 further recites in lines 23-24 that “the anode is electrically connected with the thin-film transistor through the first through hole”. However, the first through hole only penetrates through the first portion of the planarization layer, which, according to lines 6-7, is formed on the opposite side of the first substrate from where the driving circuit layer comprising the plurality of thin-film transistors is formed. It is unclear how the anode formed on one side of the first substrate is electrically connected with a thin-film transistor on the other side of the first substrate when the through hole only penetrates through the first portion of the planarization layer. In view of Fig. 1 and applicant’s specification as filed, the planarization layer is actually formed on a side away from the first substrate of the device layer and not as claimed in lines 6-7. Therefore, Examiner interprets the limitation where the “planarization layer [is] located on a side away from the driving circuit layer, of the first substrate” to mean that the – planarization layer is formed on a side away from the first substrate of the device layer –. Claims 22-36 and 40 inherit the deficiencies of claim 21. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-20-02-aia AIA This application currently names joint inventors. In considering patentability of the claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) prior art against the later invention. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 21, 23, 32, 37, 38, and 40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al (US 2019/0131563 and Liu hereinafter) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0352263 and Lee hereinafter) . As to claims 21, 23, 32, and 40: Liu discloses [claim 21] a display panel (Fig. 1; display device; [0046]) comprising a plurality of subpixels (A; [0047]) , wherein the display panel comprises: a first substrate (1; [0047]) ; a driving circuit layer (comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2; [0047]) located on a side (top surface) of the first substrate (1) and comprising a plurality of pixel electrodes (2; [0047]) ; a planarization layer (portion of 3 over 2 and located away from 2; [0047]) located on a side away from the driving circuit layer (comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2) , of the first substrate (first substrate 1; see paragraph 11 above for a description of how this is interpreted) , and comprising: a plurality of first portions (area of 3 within “A”; [0047]) , a plurality of second portions (31; [0047]) , and a plurality of third portions (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31; [0047]) ; wherein in a direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to the first substrate (1) , a thickness of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) is less than a thickness of the second portion (second portion 31 has a height that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 31 that is greater than a height of 3 within “A” that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 3 within “A”) , and a thickness of the third portion (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) is less than the thickness of the second portion (second portion 31 has a height that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 31 that is greater than a height of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31 that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) ; an orthographic projection of the second portion (31) on the first substrate (1) encloses (31 can surround the recess above “A” in 3; [0048] and [0051]) an orthographic projection of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) on the first substrate (1) ; the orthographic projection of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) on the first substrate (1) covers an orthographic projection of a light-emitting region (region where 4, 5, and 7 overlap; [0047]) of a subpixel (A) on the first substrate (1) , and an orthographic projection of the third portion (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) on the first substrate (1) is within an orthographic projection of a region between light-emitting regions (as there are a plurality of “A”, each defined third region will be between adjacent “A” as each defined third region is on either side of the subpixel) of adjacent subpixels (A) on the first substrate (1) ; a first through hole (Figs. 1 and 2; 32; [0047]) penetrating through the thickness of the planarization layer (3) ; a plurality of light-emitting devices (comprising 4 and 40, 5, and 7 overlapping; [0047]) located on a side (top surface) away from the first substrate (1) , of the planarization layer (3) ; wherein the light-emitting device (comprising 40, 5, and 7 overlapping) comprises an anode (40; [0052]) ; the anode (comprising 4 and 40) covers the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) and a lateral surface (41 covers left sidewall of rightmost 31; [0052]) adjacent to the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) , of the second portion (31) ; an angle between a surface (top surface) at a side (top side) away from the first substrate (1) , of a part of the anode (41) covering the lateral surface (left sidewall of rightmost 31) of the second portion (31) and a surface parallel (horizontal surface) to a plane (horizontal plane) where the first substrate (1) is located, of the anode (comprising 4 and 40) , is greater than 0 (the angle shown is greater than 90°) ; the anode (comprising 4 and 40) is electrically connected (through 4; [0047] and [0052]) with the pixel electrode (2) through the first through hole (32) ; and a pixel definition layer (6; [0047]) located on a side (top side) away from the planarization layer (3) , of the anode (comprising 4 and 40) ; wherein an orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer (6) on the first substrate (1) covers an orthographic projection of the first through hole (32) on the first substrate (1) ; [claim 23] wherein in the direction perpendicular (vertical direction) to the first substrate (1) , the thickness of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) is equal to the thickness of the third portion (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) . Liu fails to expressly disclose [claim 21] where the pixel electrode is connected to a thin film transistor such that there are a plurality of thin-film transistors; where the first through hole is formed in the first portion and the first through hole penetrates through the thickness of the first portion; [claim 32] further comprising: a second substrate on a side away from the first substrate, of the pixel definition layer, and a filling layer between the second substrate and the pixel definition layer. Liu discloses a display device and only specifically mentions the pixel electrode 2 on the substrate 1 and where the first through hole 32 is formed outside the first portion that is area of 3 within “A”. Lee discloses in Figs. 1, 2, and 6 and [0028] a display device with a first region 420 that contains a first portion of planarization layer 400 and a second region 410 that contains the second portion of 400 [claim 21] where the pixel electrode (Fig. 6; portion of 242 on top of 300; [0066]-[0067]) is connected to a thin film transistor (driving thin film transistor comprising 210, 220, 230, 241, and 242; [0066]-[0067]) such that there are a plurality of thin-film transistors (each pixel includes a driving TFT; [0065]-[0067]) ; where the first through hole (contact hole in Fig. 6; [0074]) is formed in the first portion (area of 400 within 420) and the first through hole (contact hole) penetrates through the thickness of the first portion (area of 400 within 420) ; [claim 32] further comprising: a second substrate (Fig. 6; not shown but interpreted to be the protective layer on the encapsulation layer 700; [0057]) on a side (top surface) away from the first substrate (100; [0030]) , of the pixel definition layer (comprising 610 and 620; [0065]) , and a filling layer (700; [0056]) between the second substrate (protective layer) and the pixel definition layer (comprising 610 and 620) . Given the teachings of Lee, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Liu by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Lee, by employing a driving TFT connected to the light emitting device through the pixel electrode and where the connection is made in a through hole in a first portion of a planarization layer in order to provide a means to control the light emitting device and reduce the non-light emitting region to allow for an increase in light emitting regions by moving the through hole of Liu to that of Lee ([0008]) and to provide an encapsulation/filling layer between the pixel definition layer and a second substrate/protective layer in order to prevent external moisture from permeating into the light emitting layer and to protect the light emitting device ([0056]). As to [claim 40] Liu in view of Lee disclose a display device, comprising the display panel of claim 21 as the invention of Liu in view of Lee is a display device and paragraph 16 discloses the panel of claim 21. As to claims 37 and 38: Liu discloses [claim 37] a method for manufacturing a display panel (Fig. 1; display device; [0046]) , comprising: forming a driving circuit layer (Fig. 1; comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2; [0047]) on a side (top surface) of a first substrate (1; [0047]) ; wherein the driving circuit layer (comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2) comprises a plurality of pixel electrodes (2; [0047]) ; forming a pattern of a planarization layer (portion of 3 over 2 and located away from 2; [0047]) on a side away from the first substrate (1) , of the driving circuit layer (comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2) ; wherein the planarization layer comprises: a plurality of first portions (area of 3 within “A”; [0047]) , a plurality of second portions (31; [0047]) , and a plurality of third portions (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31; [0047]) ; in a direction (vertical direction) perpendicular to the first substrate (1) , a thickness of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) is less than a thickness of the second portion (second portion 31 has a height that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 31 that is greater than a height of 3 within “A” that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 3 within “A”) , and a thickness of the third portion (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) is less than the thickness of the second portion (second portion 31 has a height that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 31 that is greater than a height of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31 that extends from the top surface of 1 to the top surface of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) ; an orthographic projection of the second portion (31) on the first substrate (1) encloses (31 can surround the recess above “A” in 3; [0048] and [0051]) an orthographic projection of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) on the first substrate (1) ; the orthographic projection of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) on the first substrate (1) covers an orthographic projection of a light-emitting region (region where 4, 5, and 7 overlap; [0047]) of a subpixel (A) on the first substrate (1) ; an orthographic projection of the third portion (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) on the first substrate (1) is within an orthographic projection of a region between light-emitting regions (as there are a plurality of “A”, each defined third region will be between adjacent “A” as each defined third region is on either side of the subpixel) of adjacent subpixels (A) on the first substrate (1) ; a first through hole (Figs. 1 and 2; 32; [0047]) penetrating through the planarization layer (3) ; forming a plurality of anodes (40; [0052]) on a side (top side) away from the first substrate (1) , of the planarization layer (3) ; the anode (comprising 4 and 40) covers the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) and a lateral surface (41 covers left sidewall of rightmost 31; [0052]) adjacent to the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) , of the second portion (31) , an angle between a surface (top surface) at a side (top side) away from the first substrate (1) , of a part of the anode (41) covering the lateral surface (left sidewall of rightmost 31) of the second portion (31) and a surface parallel (horizontal surface) to a plane (horizontal plane) where the first substrate (1) is located, of the anode (comprising 4 and 40) , is greater than 0 (the angle shown is greater than 90°) ; the anode (comprising 4 and 40) is electrically connected (through 4; [0047] and [0052]) with the pixel electrode (2) through the first through hole (32) ; and forming a pattern of a pixel definition layer (6; [0047]) on a side (top side) away from the planarization layer (3) , of the anode (comprising 4 and 40) ; wherein an orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer (6) on the first substrate (1) covers an orthographic projection of the first through hole (32) on the first substrate (1) ; [claim 38] wherein the forming the pattern of the planarization layer (Fig. 1; portion of 3 over 2 and located away from 2) on the side (top surface) away from the first substrate (1) , of the driving circuit layer (comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2) , comprises: depositing a planarization layer material (3) on the side (top surface) away from the first substrate (1) , of the driving circuit layer (comprising 2 and portion of 3 on sidewalls of 2) to form the planarization layer (3) ; forming the first portions (area of 3 within “A”) , the second portions (31) and the third portions (portion of 3 that isn’t within “A” and/or isn’t 31 that is to the left of 2 and right of rightmost 31) by performing a halftone masking process (semi-transparent patterning process; [0060]) on the planarization layer (3) . Liu fails to expressly disclose [claim 37] where the pixel electrode is connected to a thin film transistor such that there are a plurality of thin-film transistors; where the first through hole is formed in the first portion; where the anode is electrically connected with the thin-film transistors. Liu discloses a display device and only specifically mentions the pixel electrode 2 on the substrate 1 and where the first through hole 32 is formed outside the first portion that is area of 3 within “A”. Lee discloses in Figs. 1, 2, and 6 and [0028] a display device with a first region 420 that contains a first portion of planarization layer 400 and a second region 410 that contains the second portion of 400 [claim 37] where the pixel electrode (Fig. 6; portion of 242 on top of 300; [0066]-[0067]) is connected to a thin film transistor (driving thin film transistor comprising 210, 220, 230, 241, and 242; [0066]-[0067]) such that there are a plurality of thin-film transistors (each pixel includes a driving TFT; [0065]-[0067]) ; where the first through hole (contact hole in Fig. 6; [0074]) is formed in the first portion (area of 400 within 420) ; where the anode (510) is electrically connected with the thin-film transistors (thin film transistor comprising 210, 220, 230, 241, and 242) . Given the teachings of Lee, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Liu by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Lee, by employing a driving TFT connected to the light emitting device through the pixel electrode and where the connection is made in a through hole in a first portion of a planarization layer in order to provide a means to control the light emitting device and reduce the non-light emitting region to allow for an increase in light emitting regions by moving the through hole of Liu to that of Lee ([0008]) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Yamazaki et al (US 2003/0201716 and Yamazaki hereinafter) . Although the structure disclosed by Liu in view of Lee shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 16 above), it fails to expressly disclose: wherein the angle between the surface at the side away from the first substrate, of the part of the anode covering the lateral surface of the second portion and the surface parallel to the plane where the first substrate is located, of the anode, is greater than or equal to 30° and less than or equal to 50°. Liu in view of Lee disclose an anode that is formed on sidewalls of a dielectric layer that is over a pixel electrode and forms an angle with respect to the horizontal. Yamazaki discloses in Fig. 2B that the anode comprising 36e and 36f can have a taper angle, interpreted to be the angle the exterior/top surface of 36f makes with the horizontal as toward its center is interpreted to mean from the outer surface toward the center of the light emitting area/horizontal plane, can be between 30° and 70° ([0132]). The range of values for the taper angle of Yamazaki overlap with the claimed range of angles. As stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Yamazaki discloses further in [0132] that the angle of the anode comprising 36e and 36f affects the amount of light reflected from the light emitting layer and is thus a result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the taper angle of the anode such that the angle is within the claimed range of 30°-50° as doing so would result in improving the amount of light reflected from the light emitting layer . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee as applied to claim 23 above, and further in view of Beak et al (US 2020/0194509 and Beak hereinafter) . Although the structure disclosed by Liu in view of Lee shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 16 above), it fails to expressly disclose: wherein in the direction perpendicular to the first substrate, a difference between the thickness of the second portion and the thickness of the first portion is greater than or equal to 0.5 μm and less than or equal to 1 μm. Liu in view of Lee disclose that the second portion is thicker relative to the top surface of the substrate than the first portion. Beak discloses a display device in Figs. 4 and 6 where the planarization layer OC has a second portion with a thickness T2 and a first portion with a thickness T1 and the difference between the thicknesses h can be larger than or equal to 0.7 μm, see [0156]. The range of values for h overlap with the claimed range. As stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Beak discloses in [0156] that by modifying h, the luminous efficiency can be adjusted. Thus, h is a result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thicknesses of the first and second portions such that the difference between the thicknesses (h) is within the claimed range of 0.5 μm -1.0 μm as doing so would result in improving the luminous efficiency of the light emitting device . 07-22-aia AIA Claim s 25, 26, and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Beak in view of Lee (US 2017/0155078 and Lee2 hereinafter) . As to claims 25 and 26: Liu discloses [claim 25] wherein the pixel definition layer (Fig. 1; 6) comprises a plurality of first opening regions (area overlapping with “A” where no 6 exists) ; an orthographic projection of the first opening region (area overlapping with “A” where no 6 exists) on the first substrate (1) is within the orthographic projection of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) on the first substrate (1) ; the orthographic projection of the second portion (31) on the first substrate (1) is within the orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer (6) on the first substrate (1) . Liu in view of Lee fail to expressly disclose [claim 25] where the pixel definition layer comprises a plurality of second opening regions; an orthographic projection of the second opening region on the first substrate is within the orthographic projection of the third portion on the first substrate. Beak discloses in Figs. 4 and 6 a display device with a pixel definition layer BNK ([0141]) that has a plurality of first openings that overlaps with the first portion (area within A1 ([0152]) with thickness T1 ([0110]), a second portion that has a thickness T2 ([0110]) that overlaps with a portion of the pixel defining layer BNK, and a third portion that corresponds to the area over the auxiliary electrode AE where there is a third opening in the pixel defining layer BNK. The auxiliary electrode is outside the area where the anode ANO is provided, which corresponds to the third portion in Liu. Given the teachings of Beak, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Liu in view of Lee by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Beak, by employing an auxiliary electrode outside the anode provided region, which corresponds to the third portion of the planarization layer of Liu, that has an opening in the planarization layer and the pixel defining layer (the second opening) in order to improve the luminance uniformity in the pixel area by reducing the resistance of the cathode ([0013]-[0014] of Lee2). As to [claim 26] wherein a ratio of area of an overlapping region of the orthographic projection of the second portion on the first substrate and the orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer on the first substrate to area of the orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer on the first substrate is less than or equal to 76%, Beak discloses in Fig. 6 that the amount of the pixel defining layer present outside the second portion, represented by “d”, can be modified to adjust the luminous efficiency of the device ([0155]). Thus, d is a result effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the amount of the pixel defining layer present outside of the second portion such that the claimed ratio (which is affected by d) is within the claimed range of less than or equal to 76% as doing so would result in improving the luminous efficiency of the light emitting device. As to claim 29: Liu discloses wherein the forming the pattern of the pixel definition layer (Fig. 1; 6) on the side (top surface) away from the planarization layer (3) , of the anode (comprising 4 and 40) , comprises: forming the pixel definition layer (6) on the side (top surface) away from the planarization layer (3) , of the anode (comprising 4 and 40) ; forming a plurality of first opening regions (area overlapping with “A” where no 6 exists) by a patterning process (inherent as there is a pattern) ; an orthographic projection of the first opening region (area overlapping with “A” where no 6 exists) on the first substrate (1) is within the orthographic projection of the first portion (area of 3 within “A”) on the first substrate (1) ; the orthographic projection of the second portion (31) on the first substrate (1) is within the orthographic projection of the pixel definition layer (6) on the first substrate (1) . Liu in view of Lee fail to expressly disclose where the forming the pattern of the pixel definition layer comprises forming a plurality of second opening regions by a patterning process; an orthographic projection of the second opening region on the first substrate is within the orthographic projection of the third portion on the first substrate. Beak discloses in Figs. 4 and 6 a display device with a pixel definition layer BNK ([0141]) that has a plurality of first openings that overlaps with the first portion (area within A1 ([0152]) with thickness T1 ([0110]), a second portion that has a thickness T2 ([0110]) that overlaps with a portion of the pixel defining layer BNK, and a third portion that corresponds to the area over the auxiliary electrode AE where there is a third opening in the pixel defining layer BNK. The auxiliary electrode is outside the area where the anode ANO is provided, which corresponds to the third portion in Liu. Given the teachings of Beak, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Liu in view of Lee by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Beak, by employing an auxiliary electrode outside the anode provided region, which corresponds to the third portion of the planarization layer of Liu, that has an opening in the planarization layer and the pixel defining layer (the second opening) in order to improve the luminance uniformity in the pixel area by reducing the resistance of the cathode ([0013]-[0014] of Lee2) . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee in view of Beak in view of Lee2 as applied to claim 25 above, and further in view of Yamazaki . Although the structure disclosed by Liu in view of Lee in view of Beak in view of Lee2 shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 21 above), it fails to expressly disclose: wherein a maximum distance between a surface at a side away from the first substrate, of the pixel definition layer and the first portion is greater than or equal to 1.5 μm and less than or equal to 2.5 μm. Beak discloses in Fig. 6 that the distance between the top of the second portion to the top of the first portion, represented by “h”, can be 0.7 μm or greater ([0156]). Beak discloses that by modifying h, the luminous efficiency can be adjusted. Thus, h is a result effective variable. Beak also discloses in Fig. 6 that the thickness “d” of the pixel defining layer BNK can be 0.1 μm or greater ([0155]). Beak discloses that by modifying d, the luminous efficiency can be adjusted. Thus, d is a result effective variable. Yamazaki discloses in Fig. 2B that the anode comprising 36e and 36f can have a total thickness of 0.1 μm to 0.8 μm (100 nm to 800 nm; [0133]). The parameters, including the thickness, of the anode affects the resistance and amount of light reflected by the anode ([0132]-[0133]). The combination of h, d, and the thickness of the anode is equal to the maximum distance from a top surface of the pixel definition layer 6 and the top of the first portion (area of 3 over “A”) in Liu and can equal to 1.6 μm (0.7 μm + 0.1 μm + 0.8 μm). The range of values for the maximum distance overlaps with the claimed range. As stated in MPEP 2144.05(I), “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.” In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the thicknesses of the first and second portions (the “h” value), the thickness of the pixel definition layer (the “d” value), and the thickness of the anode such that the maximum difference between the top of the pixel definition layer and the top of the first portion is within the claimed range of 1.5 μm – 2.5 μm as doing so would result in improving the luminous efficiency, light reflected out of, and the resistance of the light emitting device . 07-22-aia AIA Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Lee as applied to claim 21 above, and further in view of Hong et al (US 2023/0360568 and Hong hereinafter) in view of Jeon et al (US 2021/0191259 and Jeon hereinafter) . Although the structure disclosed by Liu in view of Lee shows substantial features of the claimed invention (discussed in paragraph 16 above), it fails to expressly disclose: wherein a transmittance of the pixel definition layer to light with a wavelength greater than or equal to 380 nm and less than or equal to 700 nm is less than 5%. Liu in view of Lee disclose a pixel definition layer, but not the composition of the layer. Hong discloses in [0083] that a pixel definition layer 220L can comprise a black matrix. Jeon discloses in [0063] that a black matrix can have a transmittance of 5% or less at a wavelength of 700 nm. Given the teachings of Hong in view of Jeon, a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying Liu in view of Lee by employing the well-known or conventional features of display fabrication, such as displayed by Hong in view of Jeon, by employing a black matrix with a transmittance of 5% or less at a wavelength of 700 nm in order to prevent the light blurring phenomenon ([0063] of Jeon) . Allowable Subject Matter 07-43-02 AIA Claim s 28-30 and 33-36 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JOSEPH C NICELY whose telephone number is (571)270-3834. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 7:30 am - 4 pm, EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Steven Gauthier can be reached at (571) 270-0373. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JOSEPH C. NICELY Primary Examiner Art Unit 2813 /JOSEPH C. NICELY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 2 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 3 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 4 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 5 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 6 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 7 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 8 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 9 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 10 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 11 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 12 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 13 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 14 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 16 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 17 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 18 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 19 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 20 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 21 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 22 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 23 Art Unit: 2813 Application/Control Number: 18/698,597 Page 24 Art Unit: 2813