Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18-20, and 22-23, in the reply filed on 02/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups have unity of invention under 37 CFR 1.475(b), because they are drawn to categories of invention corresponding to combination (3). This is not found persuasive because while 37 CFR 1.475(b) states that a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn to a product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product, and a use of said product, this does not preclude that there is lack of unity of invention under PCT Rule 13.1 and 13.2 (see also MPEP 1850 II). I.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 24-26 and 28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 02/16/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18-20, and 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zong '096 (CN 113,025,096 A) in view of Anderson et al. (US 2016/0222179 A1).
Regarding Claim 1-2, 5-6, 8, and 10-11, Zong ‘096 discloses a composite coating comprising a coating I deposited on a substrate, wherein the coating I is a plasma-polymerized coating formed by plasma containing monomers α and β (para 0005). Zong discloses monomer α as identical to that presently claimed (paras 0007-0009, 0016-0030) and monomer β as identical to that presently claimed (paras 0010-0012, 0033-0036).
Zong ‘096 does not disclose the coating I formed from a monomer γ as presently claimed.
Anderson discloses a polymeric coating comprising organo-silicon materials provides mar resistance (para 0077) and can be applied by plasma enhanced chemical vapor deposition (para 0079). Anderson discloses the organo-silicon material may be selected from phenyltrimethoxysilane, phenyltriethoxysilane, phenyltriacetoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropyltriethoxysilane, gamma-(beta-glycidoxyethoxy)propyltrimethoxysilane, beta-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane, beta-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltriethoxysilane, phenylmethyldimethoxysilane, phenylmethyldiethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropylphenyldimethoxysilane, and gamma-glycidoxypropylphenyldiethoxysilane (para 0077).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to modify Zong ‘096 to incorporate the teachings of Anderson to further include monomers of the organo-silicon material of Anderson (which correspond to monomer γ as presently claimed) when forming the plasma-polymerized coating I of Zong ‘096. Doing so would form a coating with mar resistance.
Regarding Claims 12-13, 15-16, and 18, Zong ‘096 in view of Anderson discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Zong ‘096 further discloses a coating II is formed on the coating I by contacting the coating I with plasma containing monomer γ, thereby forming a plasma-polymerized coating (para 0006).
The monomer γ of Zong ‘096 corresponds to the monomer δ as presently claimed (paras 0013-0016, 0037-0038).
Zong ‘096 does not disclose the coating II formed from a monomer ε as presently claimed.
Anderson discloses organo-silicon material as set forth above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify Zong ‘096 to incorporate the teachings of Anderson to further include monomers of the organo-silicon material of Anderson (which correspond to monomer ε as presently claimed) when forming the plasma-polymerized coating II of Zong ‘096. Doing so would form a coating with mar resistance.
Regarding Claim 19, Zong ‘096 in view of Anderson discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 16 above, including that coatings I and II are each formed from monomers of the organo-silicon material of Anderson, such as phenyltrimethoxysilane (para 0077).
Regarding Claims 20 and 22, Zong ‘096 in view of Anderson discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 16 above, including that coatings I and II are each formed from monomers of the organo-silicon material of Anderson, such as gamma-glycidoxypropyltrimethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropyltriethoxysilane, beta-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltrimethoxysilane, beta-(3,4-epoxycyclohexyl)ethyltriethoxysilane, gamma-glycidoxypropylmethyldimethoxysilane, and gamma-glycidoxypropylmethyldiethoxysilane (para 0077).
Regarding Claim 23, Zong ‘096 in view of Anderson discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Zong ‘096 further discloses the substrate may be an electronic or electrical component, such as a display (i.e. optical device), and may comprise plastic, fabric, or glass (paras 0111-0112).
Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 15-16, 18, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zong ‘096 (CN 113025096) in view of Zong ‘421 (US 2019/0338421 A1).
Regarding Claims 1-2, 5-6, 8, and 10-11, Zong ‘096 discloses a composite coating comprising a coating I deposited on a substrate, wherein the coating I is a plasma-polymerized coating formed by plasma containing monomers α and β (para 0005). Zong discloses monomer α as identical to that presently claimed (paras 0007-0009, 0016-0030) and monomer β as identical to that presently claimed (paras 0010-0012, 0033-0036).
Zong ‘096 does not disclose the coating I formed from a monomer γ as presently claimed.
Zong ‘421 discloses plasma polymerization coating (para 0135) that includes organosilicon monomer such as phenyltriethoxysilane, phenyltris (trimethylsiloxy) silane, or diphenyl diethoxysilane (which correspond to presently claimed monomer γ), and produces a wear resistant coating (para 0139).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the present invention to modify Zong ‘096 to incorporate the teachings of Zong ‘421 and further include one of the above organosilicon monomers of Zong ‘421 when forming the plasma polymerization composite coating I of Zong ‘096. Doing so would produce a coating with wear resistance.
Regarding Claims 12-13, 15-16, and 18, Zong ‘096 in view of Zong ‘421 discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Zong ‘096 further discloses a coating II is formed on the coating I by contacting the coating I with plasma containing monomer γ, thereby forming a plasma-polymerized coating (para 0006).
The monomer γ of Zong ‘096 corresponds to the monomer δ as presently claimed (paras 0013-0016, 0037-0038).
Zong ‘096 does not disclose the coating II formed from a monomer ε as presently claimed.
Zong ‘421 discloses organosilicon monomer as set forth above.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the present invention to further modify Zong ‘096 to incorporate the teachings of Zong ‘421 to further include one of the above organosilicon monomers of Zong ‘421 when forming the plasma polymerization composite coating I of Zong ‘096. Doing so would produce a coating with wear resistance.
Regarding Claim 23, Zong ‘096 in view of Zong ‘421 discloses all the limitations of the present invention according to Claim 1 above. Zong ‘096 further discloses the substrate may be an electronic or electrical component, such as a display (i.e. optical device), and may comprise plastic, fabric, or glass (paras 0111-0112).
Conclusion
/BETHANY M MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787