DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 4/5/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the power control module must be shown, including a reference number, or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because of the implied language in the first sentence “The present disclosure provides” and the language expressing benefits in the last sentence “so that the surgical robot can work safely and reliably”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Response to Amendment
The examiner notes the submission of a preliminary amendment at the time of filing the instant application 4/5/2024. The examiner has examined the amended claims.
Claim Objections
Per 37 CFR 1.75 (i) please paragraph (further indent) the following claims 2 & 3.
Claims 2 & 3 objected to because of the following informalities: each claim has the grammatically awkward phrases “to that a” and “to that the”, these should be changed to eliminate “that”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being clearly anticipated by Steinberg (US2016/0067006).
A power supply control method for a surgical robot (Abstract), wherein the surgical robot comprises a power control module for outputting power (¶0449, ¶0450, ¶0805 “a multi-functional controller 253 which includes a plurality of electric power sockets 254”, ¶0806 “Multifunctional controller 253 typically receives electric control and power inputs from the operator”, ¶0885), and the control method comprises:
reading starting time sequence information of corresponding electrical devices of the surgical robot (¶0175 to ¶0181 “time starting operation”, ¶0200, ¶1081 to ¶1088 “real time starting operation plan…sequence of coordinated movements…in response to inputs supplied thereto by a controller”);
controlling the power control module to supply power to the electrical devices, according to the starting time sequence information (¶0198 to ¶0202 “….sequence is derived from the final real time starting operation plan…”, ¶1088 “final real time starting operation plan as modified interactively in real time by the surgeon, a desired sequence of coordinated movements”, ¶1104).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al (US9837853) in view Zhang et al (US2023/0376436).
A power supply protection circuit (fig. 1 & col. 2 ll 28-36) for a surgical robot, comprising a main power supply module (10), a backup power supply module (11) and at least one selection circuit (20), wherein,
the main power supply module and the backup power supply module are located at an input end (fig. 2) of the selection circuit and are respectively configured to provide main power and backup power to the selection circuit (col. 8 ll 24-26); and
the selection circuit is configured to determine one of the main power supply module and the backup power supply module (fig. 3) as power inputted according to input voltages detected (“voltage regulating circuit” & “voltage converting circuit” in for example fig. 3) from the main power supply module and the backup power supply module (“voltage regulating circuit” & “voltage converting circuit” in for example fig. 3), and output power to supply power to the surgical robot.
Chen does not disclose that the power supply protection circuit is usable with a surgical robot.
Zhang discloses power supply control (¶0019 1st sentence) with a power selection circuit (¶0027 1st sentence, ¶0039 1st sentence) usable with a surgical robot (¶0076 last few lines “an intelligent robot” & “medical surgery”). At the time the invention was made to one of ordinary skill in this art, it would have been well known to utilize the power control device of Chen with a surgical robot as disclosed by Zhang. One motivation for this improvement to Zhang would be to provide an all-important reliable backup power for a robot performing surgery on a human. This art combination follows the KSR case law for obviousness rationale C; use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way.
Claim 2 Chen discloses the power supply protection circuit according to claim 1, wherein the selection circuit is configured to: select the main power supply module as the power inputted in response to that a first input voltage (“main power supply of 12VDC”) corresponding to the main power supply module is not less than a second input voltage (“backup power supply of 9VDC”) corresponding to the backup power supply module; and select the backup power supply module as the power inputted in response to that the first input voltage is less than the second input voltage (col. 3 ll 16-20, col. 4 ll 23-27, col. 7 41-52).
Claim 3 Chen discloses the power supply protection circuit according to claim 2, wherein the backup power supply module is configured to: output power to the selection circuit in response to that the backup power supply module is used as the power inputted (in various figures “backup power supply” is shown as a supply to “selection circuit”), and store power in response to that the main power supply module is used as the power inputted (col. 7 ll 38-40, col. 16 ll 25-26).
Claim 4 Zhang discloses a power supply protection circuit for the surgical robot according to claim 3, wherein the power supply protection circuit comprises at least two selection circuits (“selection circuit (SW1)” & “selection circuit (SW2)”) with different output voltages (fig. 3 for example SW1 & SW2 will see different voltages).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
MICHAEL C. ZARROLI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3658B
/MICHAEL C ZARROLI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658 /M.C.Z/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3658.