DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claim 1-5 and 7 in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that ‘376 Patent (Buddemeyer et al. US 6,248,376) comprising an inorganic salt and an organic acid does not constitute a special technical feature that makes a contribution.
This is not found persuasive because, first it is noted Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite new limitations in claim 1; second, the recitation of “…at least one inorganic salt and/or inorganic chelate of calcium with potassium citrate…” wherein the “or” is alternative selection, in other words at least one inorganic salt or inorganic chelate of calcium with potassium citrate; hence Applicant’s remarks does not commensurate with the limitation of the claim. Buddemeyer et al. discloses a calcium enrichment composition comprising citric acid (organic acid), calcium oxide (inorganic salt of calcium) (col. 2, ln. 40-41), potassium citrate (claim 27); wherein the composition is free from calcium carbonate (col. 2, ln. 40-41).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Application Status
Amended claim 1-5 and 7 are under examination.
Claim 6 is cancelled.
Claim 8-20 are withdrawn from examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buddemeyer et al. (US 6,248,376).
Regarding claim 1 and 2, Buddemeyer et al. (Buddemeyer) discloses a calcium-enriched composition comprising citric acid (organic acid), calcium oxide (inorganic salt of calcium) (col. 2, ln. 40-41), potassium citrate (claim 27); wherein the composition is free from calcium carbonate (col. 2, ln. 40-41). Buddemeyer does not disclose animal-derived ingredients (col. 4, Example 1, Table 1). With respect to claim 2, Buddemeyer discloses the composition comprising the calcium oxide as an inorganic salt of calcium (col. 2, ln. 40-41).
Regarding claim 3, Buddemeyer) discloses soy milk with the calcium-enriched composition (col 18, Example 16), wherein the soy milk contains soy bean protein (plant-derived protein).
Regarding claim 4, Buddemeyer discloses the composition comprising the calcium oxide as the inorganic salt of calcium (col. 2, ln. 40-41).
Regarding claim 5, Buddemeyer discloses the composition comprising the calcium oxide as the inorganic salt of calcium (col. 2, ln. 40-41) with a range of about 4-15% by weight, based on total weight of the composition (col. 2, ln. 34-36), which is in range with the cited range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buddemeyer et al. (US 6,248,376) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Farber (WO 2005/079819).
Regarding claim 7, Buddemeyer discloses the claimed invention as discussed above in claim 6. Buddemeyer is silent on beta glucan in the composition. Howver, Farber discloses a delivery system for calcium (Abstract) comprising calcium supplement with other functional ingredients to enhance the calcium within the body. Farber discloses functional ingredients including oat beta-glucans (pg. 26, line 17) to promote health of the consumer (pg. 26, line 5-9). Farber and Buddemeyer are of the same field of endeavor of calcium supplement product. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to be motivated to incorporate Farber’s oat beta glucan in Buddemeyer’s composition to promote health of the consumer (pg. 26, line 5-9) as taught by Farber.
Conclusion
/HONG T YOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1792