DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action is in response to application filed on 04/05/2024. Claims 45-64 were previously pending. Claims 45-64 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 04/05/2024 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
3.1. The drawings FIG.1 are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) “110” mentioned in the description: “network nodes 110” (Spec PGPub [0038].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4.1. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
4.2. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
4.3. Claims 45-47, 49-52, 54-57, 59-62, and 64 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zou et al., (“Zou”, US 2021/0092584 A1) in view of Frenger et al., (“Frenger”, US 2012/0252525 A1).
Regarding Claim 45, Zou teaches, a computer-implemented method, performed by a first node, the method being for managing one or more indications, the first node operating in a communications system, the method comprising:
determining a scheduling of a transfer of data to or from a device along a predicted route to be followed by the device during a time period, the determining of the scheduling being further based on(Zou, [0095], FIG.4, UE 402, cells 404, 406, predicted route 408, [0097]: The predicted route has the UE 402 entering cell 1 404 at time t1 and exiting the cell 1404 at time t2. The context of UE 402 is transferred to and maintained at cell 1 404 during this time from Tc1_start until time TC1_end. The cell-Radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for UE 402 is reserved at cell 2 406 and the context transferred and maintained at cell 2 406 from time Tc2_start until time Tc2_end. [0072]: the determining of the predicted route is based on beam coverage level accuracy); and
initiating providing one or more indications to the device based on a first result of the determining of the scheduling (Zou, [0095], FIG.6, [0101]: the network sending mobility prediction information to the UE. An inactive UE RNAU message or location update indication can also trigger the network to update its prediction and send to the UE. The network also send schedule and reservation update message to the nodes on the route whenever the mobility prediction update is taking place).
Zou does not expressly teach
the determining of the scheduling being further based on a type of energy used by a plurality of cells providing radio coverage along the predicted route.
Frenger teaches (Frenger,FIG.3, energy management unit 105, [0045]: a central node comprising an energy management unit 105. The central node comprising the energy management unit 105 may be the O&M system (e.g. OSS). Relevant information concerning e.g. energy source information, such as e.g. AC grid, diesel, solar, wind, hybrid; energy reliability information (battery reserve, current renewable energy surplus, AC grid reliability).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for utilizing renewable energy sources instead of non-renewable energy sources to reduce energy costs, operators can divert traffic to nodes with renewable energy (Frenger, [0003-4]). Including the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Frenger.
Regarding Claim 46, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 45, wherein the determining comprises determining whether the transfer of data is to be initiated at a first cell comprised in the plurality of cells, or delayed until the device reaches a second cell comprised in the plurality of cells, based on the predicted route to be followed by the device during the time period, the determining of the scheduling being further based on at least one or more of:
a. whether or not the first cell uses renewable energy, partially or entirely,
b. whether or not the second cell uses renewable energy, partially or entirely,
c. a first location of the device with respect to a second location of the second cell,
d. a data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, FIG.1, cell 104, 106, 108, route 114, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114), and
e. a predicted amount of energy available at a second network node serving the second cell, based on the predicted route.
Regarding Claim 47, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 46, wherein the one or more indications indicate at least one or more of:
a. the data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114),
b. the plurality of cells along the predicted route,
c. whether or not the plurality of cells use, respectively, renewable energy, partially or entirely,
d. respective signal strength of the plurality of cells,
e. respective predicted amounts of energy available at the respective network nodes respectively serving the plurality of cells,
f. the predicted amount of energy available at the second network node and a predicted amount of energy available at a first network node serving the first cell,
g. a timeline of the transfer of data along the route, wherein the timeline is one of: i) an instruction to be applied by the device, and ii) a recommendation overwritable by the device,
h. a potential downtime of the device based on the timeline, and
i. a predicted impact on a Quality of Experience based on the timeline.
Regarding Claim 49, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 45, wherein the one or more indications further indicate a reward for the device with the proviso the device follows a recommended timeline for the data transfer (Zuo, FIG.2, UE 202, areas 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, distributed unit (DU) 294, [0091]: The DU 204 has a plurality of TRP/beam coverage areas 210, 212, 214, 216, 218. In this example, the location of the UE 202 in real time at 6:24 is in the TRP/beam coverage area 212. However, the predicted location of the UE 202 at time 6:24 is in TRP/beam coverage area 218. If this difference in location exceeds a threshold, then the UE 202 sends a location update message or a signal with predefined pattern 220 to the DU 204. The DU 204 then updates the mobility prediction information and transmits an updated mobility prediction information message 222 to the UE 202 (“reward”)).
Regarding Claim 50, Zou teaches, a method, performed by a device, the method being for managing one or more indications, the device operating in a communications system, the method comprising:
receiving, from a first node operating in the communications system, one or more indications, the one or more indications indicating a scheduling of a transfer of data to or from the device along a predicted route to be followed by the device during a time period, the one or more indications being further based on (Zou, [0095], FIG.4, UE 402, cells 404, 406, predicted route 408, [0097]: The predicted route has the UE 402 entering cell 1 404 at time t1 and exiting the cell 1404 at time t2. The context of UE 402 is transferred to and maintained at cell 1 404 during this time from Tc1_start until time TC1_end. The cell-Radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for UE 402 is reserved at cell 2 406 and the context transferred and maintained at cell 2 406 from time Tc2_start until time Tc2_end. [0072]: the determining of the predicted route is based on beam coverage level accuracy; [0101]: the network node transmits the updated mobility prediction information to the UE and transmits the updated resource reservation information to the cells/TRPs/beams on the updated predicted route);
determining whether or not to perform the data transfer based on the received one or more indications (Zou, [0102]: the UE determines whether the actual location differs from the predicted location by a threshold amount or in a time difference according to the schedule; S704 UE determine whether the actual location differs from the predicted location by more than a threshold); and
initiating performing the data transfer according to a second result of the determining (Zou, S706, [0102]: the UE transmits a location update to the network).
Zou does not expressly teach
based on a type of energy used by a plurality of cells providing radio coverage along the predicted route.
Frenger teaches (Frenger,FIG.3, energy management unit 105, [0045]: a central node comprising an energy management unit 105. The central node comprising the energy management unit 105 may be the O&M system (e.g. OSS). Relevant information concerning e.g. energy source information, such as e.g. AC grid, diesel, solar, wind, hybrid; energy reliability information (battery reserve, current renewable energy surplus, AC grid reliability)).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for utilizing renewable energy sources instead of non-renewable energy sources to reduce energy costs, and operators can divert traffic to nodes with renewable energy (Frenger, [0003-4]). Including the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Frenger.
Regarding Claim 51, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 50, wherein the one or more indications further indicate whether the transfer of data is to be initiated at a first cell comprised in the plurality of cells, or delayed until the device reaches a second cell comprised in the plurality of cells, based on the predicted route to be followed by the device during the time period, the one or more indications being further based on at least one or more of:
a. whether or not the first cell uses renewable energy, partially or entirely,
b. whether or not the second cell uses renewable energy, partially or entirely,
c. a first location of the device with respect to a second location of the second cell,
d. a data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, FIG.1, cell 104, 106, 108, route 114, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114), and
e. a predicted amount of energy available at a second network node serving the second cell, based on the predicted route.
Regarding Claim 52, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 51, wherein the one or more indications indicate at least one or more of:
a. the data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114),
b. the plurality of cells along the predicted route,
c. whether or not the plurality of cells use, respectively, renewable energy, partially or entirely,
d. respective signal strength of the plurality of cells,
e. respective predicted amount of energy available at the respective network nodes respectively serving the plurality of cells,
f. the predicted amount of energy available at the second network node and a predicted amount of energy available at a first network node serving the first cell,
g. a timeline of the transfer of data along the route, wherein the timeline is one of: i) an instruction to be applied by the device, and ii) a recommendation overwritable by the device,
h. a potential downtime of the device based on the timeline, and
i. a predicted impact on a Quality of Experience based on the timeline.
Regarding Claim 54, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 50, wherein the one or more indications further indicate a reward for the device with the proviso the device follows a recommended timeline for the data transfer (Zuo, FIG.2, UE 202, areas 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, distributed unit (DU) 294, [0091]: The DU 204 has a plurality of TRP/beam coverage areas 210, 212, 214, 216, 218. In this example, the location of the UE 202 in real time at 6:24 is in the TRP/beam coverage area 212. However, the predicted location of the UE 202 at time 6:24 is in TRP/beam coverage area 218. If this difference in location exceeds a threshold, then the UE 202 sends a location update message or a signal with predefined pattern 220 to the DU 204. The DU 204 then updates the mobility prediction information and transmits an updated mobility prediction information message 222 to the UE 202 (“reward”)).
Regarding Claim 55, Zou teaches, a first node, for managing one or more indications, the first node being configured to operate in a communications system, the first node comprising:
radio circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to (Zou, FIG.10, network entity (transceiver) 1000, transmitter 1006, receiver 1008, processor 1010, [0108-109]: The network entity 1000n includes a transmitter 1006, a receiver 1008, a signal processor 1010, a device-side interface 1012., and the network-side interface 1002):
determine a scheduling of a transfer of data to or from a device along a predicted route configured to be followed by the device during a time period, the determining of the scheduling being configured to be further based on(Zou, [0095], FIG.4, UE 402, cells 404, 406, predicted route 408, [0097]: The predicted route has the UE 402 entering cell 1 404 at time t1 and exiting the cell 1404 at time t2. The context of UE 402 is transferred to and maintained at cell 1 404 during this time from Tc1_start until time TC1_end. The cell-Radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for UE 402 is reserved at cell 2 406 and the context transferred and maintained at cell 2 406 from time Tc2_start until time Tc2_end. [0072]: the determining of the predicted route is based on beam coverage level accuracy); and
initiate providing one or more indications to the device based on a first result of the determining of the scheduling (Zou, [0095], FIG.6, [0101]: the network sending mobility prediction information to the UE. An inactive UE RNAU message or location update indication can also trigger the network to update its prediction and send to the UE. The network also send schedule and reservation update message to the nodes on the route whenever the mobility prediction update is taking place).
Zou does not expressly teach
the determining of the scheduling being configured to be further based on a type of energy configured to be used by a plurality of cells configured to be providing radio coverage along the predicted route.
Frenger teaches (Frenger,FIG.3, energy management unit 105, [0045]: a central node comprising an energy management unit 105. The central node comprising the energy management unit 105 may be the O&M system (e.g. OSS). Relevant information concerning e.g. energy source information, such as e.g. AC grid, diesel, solar, wind, hybrid; energy reliability information (battery reserve, current renewable energy surplus, AC grid reliability).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for utilizing renewable energy sources instead of non-renewable energy sources to reduce energy costs, operators can divert traffic to nodes with renewable energy (Frenger, [0003-4]). Including the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Frenger.
Regarding Claim 56, Zou-Frenger teaches, the first node according to claim 55, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the scheduling by determining whether the transfer of data is to be initiated at a first cell configured to be comprised in the plurality of cells, or delayed until the device reaches a second cell configured to be comprised in the plurality of cells, based on the predicted route to be followed by the device during the time period, wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the scheduling based on at least one or more of:
a. whether or not the first cell is configured to use renewable energy, partially or entirely,
b. whether or not the second cell is configured to use renewable energy, partially or entirely,
c. a first location of the device with respect to a second location of the second cell,
d. a data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, FIG.1, cell 104, 106, 108, route 114, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114), and
e. a predicted amount of energy available at a second network node configured to be serving the second cell, based on the predicted route.
Regarding Claim 57, Zou-Frenger teaches, the first node according to claim 56, wherein the one or more indications indicate at least one or more of:
a. the data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114),
b. the plurality of cells along the predicted route,
c. whether or not the plurality of cells use, respectively, renewable energy, partially or entirely,
d. respective signal strength of the plurality of cells,
e. respective predicted amount of energy available at the respective network nodes configured to be respectively serving the plurality of cells,
f. the predicted amount of energy available at the second network node and a predicted amount of energy available at a first network node configured to be serving the first cell,
g. a timeline of the transfer of data along the route, wherein the timeline is one of: i) an instruction to be applied by the device, and ii) a recommendation overwritable by the device,
h. a potential downtime of the device based on the timeline, and
i. a predicted impact on a Quality of Experience based on the timeline.
Regarding Claim 59, Zou-Frenger teaches, the first node according to claim 55, wherein the one or more indications further indicate a reward for the device with the proviso the device follows a recommended timeline for the data transfer (Zuo, FIG.2, UE 202, areas 210, 212, 214, 216, 218, distributed unit (DU) 294, [0091]: The DU 204 has a plurality of TRP/beam coverage areas 210, 212, 214, 216, 218. In this example, the location of the UE 202 in real time at 6:24 is in the TRP/beam coverage area 212. However, the predicted location of the UE 202 at time 6:24 is in TRP/beam coverage area 218. If this difference in location exceeds a threshold, then the UE 202 sends a location update message or a signal with predefined pattern 220 to the DU 204. The DU 204 then updates the mobility prediction information and transmits an updated mobility prediction information message 222 to the UE 202 (“reward”)).
Regarding Claim 60, Zou teaches, a device, for managing one or more indications, the device being configured to operate in a communications system, the device comprising:
radio circuitry; and processing circuitry configured to (Zou, FIG.9, UE 900, processor 904, memory 906, [0105]: UE 900 includes processor 904, a memory 906, and interfaces 910-914):
receive, from a first node configured to operate in the communications system, one or more indications, the one or more indications being configured to indicate a scheduling of a transfer of data to or from the device along a predicted route to be followed by the device during a time period, the one or more indications being further configured to be based on (Zou, [0095], FIG.4, UE 402, cells 404, 406, predicted route 408, [0097]: The predicted route has the UE 402 entering cell 1 404 at time t1 and exiting the cell 1404 at time t2. The context of UE 402 is transferred to and maintained at cell 1 404 during this time from Tc1_start until time TC1_end. The cell-Radio network temporary identifier (C-RNTI) for UE 402 is reserved at cell 2 406 and the context transferred and maintained at cell 2 406 from time Tc2_start until time Tc2_end. [0072]: the determining of the predicted route is based on beam coverage level accuracy; Zou, [0101]: the network node transmits the updated mobility prediction information to the UE and transmits the updated resource reservation information to the cells/TRPs/beams on the updated predicted rout);
determine whether or not to perform the data transfer based on the one or more indications configured to be received (Zou, [0102]: the UE determines whether the actual location differs from the predicted location by a threshold amount or in a time difference according to the schedule; UE determine whether the actual location differs from the predicted location by more than a threshold); and
initiate performing the data transfer according to a second result of the determining (Zou, [0102]: the UE transmits a location update to the network).
Zou does not expressly teach
based on a type of energy configured to be used by a plurality of cells configured to be providing radio coverage along the predicted route.
Frenger teaches (Frenger,FIG.3, energy management unit 105, [0045]: a central node comprising an energy management unit 105. The central node comprising the energy management unit 105 may be the O&M system (e.g. OSS). Relevant information concerning e.g. energy source information, such as e.g. AC grid, diesel, solar, wind, hybrid; energy reliability information (battery reserve, current renewable energy surplus, AC grid reliability)).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou. The suggestion/motivation would have been for utilizing renewable energy sources instead of non-renewable energy sources to reduce energy costs, and operators can divert traffic to nodes with renewable energy (Frenger, [0003-4]). Including the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Frenger.
Regarding Claim 61, Zou-Frenger teaches, the device according to claim 60, wherein the one or more indications further indicate whether the transfer of data is to be initiated at a first cell configured to be comprised in the plurality of cells, or delayed until the device reaches a second cell configured to be comprised in the plurality of cells, based on the predicted route to be followed by the device during the time period, the one or more indications being based on at least one or more of:
a. whether or not the first cell is configured to use renewable energy, partially or entirely,
b. whether or not the second cell is configured to use renewable energy, partially or entirely,
c. a first location of the device with respect to a second location of the second cell,
d. a data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, FIG.1, cell 104, 106, 108, route 114, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114), and
e. a predicted amount of energy available at a second network node configured to be serving the second cell, based on the predicted route.
Regarding Claim 62, Zou-Frenger teaches, the device according to claim 60, wherein the one or more indications indicate at least one or more of:
a. the data requirement for the transfer along the predicted route (Zou, [0080]: the pre-preparation of the target cell(s) 104, 106, 108 allows “global” C-RNTI sharing if needed. Pre-scheduled C-RNTI reservation to the cells 104, 106, 108 covering the predetermined traveling route 114 with expected time of entering and duration of stay within each cell 104, 106, 108 on the pre-determined traveling route 114),
b. the plurality of cells along the predicted route,
c. whether or not the plurality of cells use, respectively, renewable energy, partially or entirely,
d. respective signal strength of the plurality of cells,
e. respective predicted amount of energy available at the respective network nodes configured to be respectively serving the plurality of cells,
f. the predicted amount of energy available at the second network node and a predicted amount of energy available at a first network node configured to be serving the first cell,
g. a timeline of the transfer of data along the route, wherein the timeline is one of: i) an instruction to be applied by the device, and ii) a recommendation overwritable by the device,
h. a potential downtime of the device based on the timeline, and
i. a predicted impact on a Quality of Experience based on the timeline.
Regarding Claim 64, Zou-Frenger teaches, the device according to claim 60, wherein the one or more indications further indicate a reward for the device with the proviso the device follows a recommended timeline for the data transfer.
4.4. Claims 48, 53, 58, 63 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Zou et al., (“Zou”, US 2021/0092584 A1) in view of Frenger et al., (“Frenger”, US 2012/0252525 A1), and further in view of Cao et al., (“Cao”, US 2023/0354405 A1).
Regarding Claim 48, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 45, but not expressly teaches wherein determining of the scheduling is further based on at least one or more of: a. a priority of the transfer of data, and b. whether or not the data to be transferred is cacheable or delayable.
Cao teaches a. a priority of the transfer of data (Cao, [0154]: when the data packet of the terminal is the downlink data packet sent by the application server/the another terminal to the terminal, a core network device may determine the scheduling priority of the terminal based on the importance of the data unit to which the data packet of the terminal belongs and the size level of the data unit, and indicate the determined scheduling priority to the access network device).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “scheduling transmission” of Cao into the invention of Zou-Frenger. The suggestion/motivation would have been for scheduling priority of the terminal is determined by the importance of the data to enhance maximizing data unit important and small data packet data corresponding to an application. Including the ““energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou-Frenger was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
Regarding Claim 53, Zou-Frenger teaches, the method according to claim 50, but not expressly teaches wherein the one or more indications are further based on at least one or more of:
a. a priority of the transfer of data, and
b. whether or not the data to be transferred is cacheable or delayable.
Cao teaches a. a priority of the transfer of data (Cao, [0154]: when the data packet of the terminal is the downlink data packet sent by the application server/the another terminal to the terminal, a core network device may determine the scheduling priority of the terminal based on the importance of the data unit to which the data packet of the terminal belongs and the size level of the data unit, and indicate the determined scheduling priority to the access network device).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “scheduling transmission” of Cao into the invention of Zou-Frenger. The suggestion/motivation would have been for scheduling priority of the terminal is determined by the importance of the data to enhance maximizing data unit important and small data packet data corresponding to an application. Including the ““energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou-Frenger was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
Regarding Claim 58, Zou-Frenger teaches, the first node according to claim 55, but not expressly teaches wherein the processing circuitry is configured to determine the scheduling based on at least one or more of:
a. a priority of the transfer of data, and
b. whether or not the data to be transferred is configured to be cacheable or delayable.
Cao teaches a. a priority of the transfer of data (Cao, [0154]: when the data packet of the terminal is the downlink data packet sent by the application server/the another terminal to the terminal, a core network device may determine the scheduling priority of the terminal based on the importance of the data unit to which the data packet of the terminal belongs and the size level of the data unit, and indicate the determined scheduling priority to the access network device).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “scheduling transmission” of Cao into the invention of Zou-Frenger. The suggestion/motivation would have been for scheduling priority of the terminal is determined by the importance of the data to enhance maximizing data unit important and small data packet data corresponding to an application. Including the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou-Frenger was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
Regarding Claim 63, Zou-Frenger teaches, the device according to claim 60, but not expressly teaches wherein the one or more indications are based on at least one or more of:
a. a priority of the transfer of data, and
b. whether or not the data to be transferred is configured to be cacheable or delayable.
Cao teaches a. a priority of the transfer of data (Cao, [0154]: when the data packet of the terminal is the downlink data packet sent by the application server/the another terminal to the terminal, a core network device may determine the scheduling priority of the terminal based on the importance of the data unit to which the data packet of the terminal belongs and the size level of the data unit, and indicate the determined scheduling priority to the access network device).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to implement the “scheduling transmission” of Cao into the invention of Zou-Frenger. The suggestion/motivation would have been for scheduling priority of the terminal is determined by the importance of the data to enhance maximizing data unit important and small data packet data corresponding to an application. Including the “energy management” of Frenger into the invention of Zou-Frenger was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Cao.
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Lovlekar et al., US 2021/0360495 A1, Apparatus For Performing Conditional Handovers And Cell Re-selections Along Known Routes In A Wireless Device, Such As Mobile Phone, Comprises A Processing Element, Which Is Provided To Cause Wireless Device With Radio Resource Control..
Sun et al., CN 108462649 A, Method And Device For Reducing The ONU In The Congestion State At High Priority Data Transmission Time Delay, 2020-07-07.
be directed to CHHIAN (AMY) LING whose telephone number is (571)270-1074. The examiner can
normally be reached M-F 9-6 ET.
USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use
the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
BRIAN J GILLIS can be reached on (571) 272-7952. The fax phone number for the organization where
this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions,
contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance
from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-
1000.
/C.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446