DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in the current application.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from consideration (see discussion, below).
Claims 1-15 are examined in the current application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-15 in the reply filed on June 29th 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 16 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 29th 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hui et al. (CN 113115821 A – Machine translation).
Regarding claims 1-3: Hui discloses an emulsion comprising OPO triglyceride (i.e., OPO structural fat) and a plant-based phospholipid composition, wherein the phospholipid composition comprises 15-30wt% phosphatidylethanolamine (PE) and 10-30wt% phosphatidylinositol (PI) based on the total weight of the phospholipids (see Hui abstract; claims 7 and 8). Since the ratio of phosphatidylethanolamine to phosphatidylinositol recited in claims 1-3 overlap or lie inside the ratio of phosphatidylethanolamine to phosphatidylinositol disclosed in Hui, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 4: Hui discloses the phospholipid composition comprises 25-40wt% phosphatidylcholine based on the total weight of the phospholipids (see Hui claims 7 and 8), which reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 5: Hui discloses the phospholipid composition 15-30wt% phosphatidylethanolamine based on the total weight of the phospholipids (see Hui claims 7 and 8). Since the phosphatidylethanolamine content range recited in claim 5 overlap the phosphatidylethanolamine content range in Hui, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claims 6, 8 and 9: Hui discloses a plant-based phospholipid composition, but fails to disclose the presence of phosphatidylserine, phosphatidic acid and/or sphingomyelin (see Hui whole document), which meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 7: Hui discloses the phospholipid composition comprises 10-30wt% phosphatidylinositol (PI) based on the total weight of the phospholipids (see Hui abstract; claims 7 and 8). Since the phosphatidylinositol content range in claim 7 overlaps the phosphatidylinositol content range disclosed in Hui, a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding claim 10: Hui discloses the plant-derived phospholipid is a sunflower phospholipid (see Hui claim 8), which meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 11: Hui disclose the emulsion comprises 0.4-12wt% of the plant-based phospholipid (see Hui claim 7). Since the plant-based phospholipid content range recited in claim 11 overlaps the plant-based phospholipid content range in Hui, a prima facie case of obviousness exists.
Regarding claim 12: Hui discloses the emulsion comprises 3-10wt% fat/oil (see Hui claim 6; 8th paragraph on page 6), which reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 13: Hui discloses the emulsion comprises 73-90wt% water (see Hui claim 6; 8th paragraph on page 6), which reads on the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 14: Hui discloses using 28wt% OPO oil (see Hui claim 8), which comprise 52 carbons (i.e., oleic acid has 18 carbons and palmitic acid has 16 carbons), where 30-45wt% of the palmitic acid is at the sn-2 position based on the total weight of the palmitic acid (see Hui 2nd paragraph on page 11).
Regarding claim 15: Hui discloses the emulsion comprises 0.4-12wt% of the plant-based phospholipid and 10-50wt% protein (see Hui claims 7-8; 2nd paragraph on page 5), which meets the claimed limitations.
Conclusion
/ASSAF ZILBERING/Examiner, Art Unit 1792